Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 271 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 14 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Perfect
 from Houston, TX,  Mar 2, 2007

I was a bit aprehensive when I purchased this piece and the matching nightstand. Neither had good reviews when I bought them but I took a chance. I am so glad that I did. I wanted a very rich dark wood to furnish my guest room. I didn't want a huge set since it would only be used when I had guests. This set was perfect. A few have complained about the assembly. I will say this... it seems that the sturdier the furniture, the harder it is to put together. If you want everything tight and sturdy then you shouldn't look for an easy assembly. Tight screws are good! Yes, you will need a good power drill, and I do recommend having 2 people to do the assembly. The instructions are good. If you take your time and really look at the pictures to figure out your next step, you should do okay. If you have these tools and 2 people, it should take about 2 hours. Feel free to use a hammer if a screw won't start. It really helps. As for the size, before you buy this piece, measure out where you want to put this and how much room you want it to take. Then compare it to the size of this item. If you are planning to use this yourself as a dresser, chances are, this piece is going to be smaller than you want. In my case, it was perfect b/c I wanted to keep the room uncluttered but still furnished. I didn't want huge furniture. I would say, this is more like a short chest of drawers than a dresser. And yes, it's true the drawers are not very deep. Currently, I am still looking for a mirror to put up that matches this piece to complete the look. The bottom line is, I searched and searched for this look in the stores and just couldn't find anything unless it was veneer (and it costed just as much!). This is real wood (drawers and backs are dense partical board I think) and so I dont have to worry about the tiniest little thing ruining the finish, or peeling veneer. I have yet to be unhappy with anything that I have gotten from Overstock. The shipping is fast, everything is packaged well, couldn't ask for more. Thanks again Overstock!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice product.....but....
 from Washington D.C.,  Sep 6, 2008

This is a good product but the image is deceiving because you are getting a chest of drawers that is at most 3 1/2 feet tall probably shorter.... So if you are a big guy like me you will not beable to use it for jeans and pants. Works for smaller items like t-shirts, shorts and underclothes...

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Regretful
 from Fall River, MA,  Nov 29, 2008

This is a very nice looking piece of furniture, and it's rock solid, but that's about the most I can say. It's not very practical. After spending over 8 hours putting it together--that's right, 8 hours--I now have a dresser with 6 drawers that are a mere 4.5 inches deep! The product description claims 6 inches. Not so. I would have sent it back but the return shipping would have cost me close to $50.00.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It is so small!
 from Troy, OH,  Mar 6, 2007

Although the photo looks like a full-sized dresser, it is only about one yard tall. Don't make the same bad mistake that I did and neglect reading the measurements, unless you need a miniature dresser.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not bad for the money
 from New York, NY,  Jan 29, 2008

Very decent piece of furniture and it looks good. One complaint however - drawers could be deeper (perhaps 4 rows instead of 5 would do it). Depending on your "handyman skills level" it may take anywhere between 1.5 and 3 hours to assemble. I would say if not power drill then at least power screwdriver is a must. Also one tip for you: put in all of the drawers before attaching back panel just to ensure everything is lined up properly.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent product for the price
 from San Diego, CA,  May 31, 2008

I made a purchase from Overstock.com before. So, I was comfortable ordering the product online. I read lots of review before decided to buy this piece of furniture. So, I knew that it was not a deep dresser. I would recommend everyone who buy furniture online to use the tape measure to gauge the dimesions given on detail page. So, there would be no surprise when you got the product assembled. Anyway, I intended to use this piece in the foyer at the entry door and it was a perfect fit for the space I have. I would not recommend this product as a main dresser for your bedroom. It is too short and too narrow. The craftmanship is great for the price. Armed with an electric screw driver, it took me and my husband 2-3 hours to put together. It was not unusally difficult to assemble or follow the instruction. The pull knobs are too shiny for me. I had to buy new knobs---but for this price it was worth the trouble.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awful
 from NJ,  Feb 3, 2007

Only buy this if you have at least a day to put it together! The assembly is a nightmare and is only possible with a drill (with screwdriver bits). Holes were poorly prepared. In addition the drawers are very shallow and cannot store more than a few items. Very disappointed. I have been using it for a few months and now looking to get rid of.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Thanks Overstock!
 from Chicago, IL,  Oct 28, 2006

We ordered the whole set and built everything over a couple of days. Thank goodness we have a good strong screwdriver, and I have a handy husband. The directions were straightforward and easy to follow (unlike some large companies who also have a lot of assemble-yourself furniture at cheap prices). The dresser drawers are small. We can't kid ourselves about that. But having read the reviews I was prepared for it an ordered it anyway because I really liked the look. It looks exactly like I hoped it did, really nice manufacturing and QC, and great veneer with even coating and great color. Very classy and expensive looking. Another issue I noticed was that the drawers slide a little unevenly, maybe just the particular way we built it. Be very careful as you have to put the slides on yourself. We were maybe overly hasty. Check that as much as you can during installation... Thanks overstock! great deal!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Piece of furniture
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Jul 3, 2008

This is a very attractive chest of drawers. We purchased it to use as a sideboard in our dining room and it is exactly what we wanted. It took about 5 hours to put together but was well worth it. I think the drawers would be a tad shallow if you wanted to use it for clothing, but it suits our purposes perfectly.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A very nice piece of furniture
 from Georgia,  Jun 16, 2008

I am very pleased with this purchase. The chest is very solid and sturdy. It was quite time comsuming to assemble, but worth it for the price. One of the predrilled holes was too big for the screw in one of the drawers, but my husband was able to make it work. I should also note that the drawers are very shallow. It can't be used for a lot of clothes, but it works for my son's room. Overall, it works fine for what we need it for. It is a beautiful piece and looks a lot more expensive than the price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very shallow drawers
 from Grapevine, TX,  Jan 31, 2008

We gave our dressers to our kids, because the drawers were so shallow we could barely fit a lot of adult clothes in it. If you are a size 0 up to an 8 and your a woman, yeah.. this might work for you. We purchased this entire set over a year ago.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great dresser
 from Umatilla, FL,  Sep 21, 2006

I am very happy with the quality of this dresser! It is very sturdy solid wood and looks great. It was not hard to put together, but since it's pretty heavy I needed my husband to help me. Overall, we love the dresser so much that we just bought the matching bed, too. I hope you enjoy the set as much as we have!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A nice little piece of furniture for the money
 from Northern California,  Feb 8, 2008

I bought 2 nightstands through Overstock a few years ago and was looking for a dresser in similar style and color. Chestnut is not real common, and the clean, simple lines of this dresser were close enough to try. I am very happy with this unit. The assembly directions weren't great but accurate and if you've put a few things together not too problematic. The dresser is sturdy except for the flimsy back but since it just keeps the dust out I can live with that. Make sure you check the measurements, though. It is **small**.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chest
 from Nashville, TN,  Dec 20, 2007

Perfect for our guest room. My husband worked in a furniture factory in college. He gives the furniture an A+ rating. It is pefect for us. Exactly as described. We are VERY impressed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not made with correct tolerance
 from Ohio,  Jan 18, 2013

The quality would of been excellent, although the bottom drawer did not have the correct tolerance. Therefore, the bottom drawer will not close and keeps hitting the bottom rail. These pieces are asssembled using predilled holes. We triple checked how it was assembled and it was definitely how the factory drilled the holes. There was also too much sticking with the top drawers, which also had too much of a gap on the top. Overstock did give us options that were "ok," although we would rather have a dresser working the way it should. This is a great example of you always take a chance when ordering online. If we would have received the correctly made product, this would of been an "excellent" review. Good luck...

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality would of been excellent, although the bottom drawer did not have the correct tolerance. Therefore, the bottom drawer will not close and keeps hitting the bootom rail. These pieices are asssembled using predilled holes.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Same
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Too bad it doesn't look like the picture
 from Champaign, IL,  Sep 9, 2011

I was very excited to purchase this. This items does not look as stylish and modern. The cleans lines do not exist in person. The top chestnut color did not match the side ends. I did not even put the item together because the top did not match. I hope this is an isolated issue. The item is quite small as previously describe, but if it fits the space you want. i am sure it is fine. I would not even put this in my guest room. Know the o.com return policy. This items cost $$$ to return.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Two different tones from top and side. One is a little magenta the other is darker
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The top and sides are all solid wood, the drawers appear to be of lesser quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? no very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not for storage
 from Chicago,  Oct 28, 2008

This drawer dresser is to small, the drower can feet just couple items. It is better to go to the store and see what you are buing. Do not buy this item it is realy to small for storage.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not Solid Wood Construction
 from Philadelphia,  Jan 24, 2008

The peice is beautiful, but not made of solid wood. There is wood veneer on the outside but the majority of it is chipboard and not very sturdy

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
onnara
 from Pgh,  May 17, 2007

I was very pleased with both the service I received prior to my purchase and with the product. The furniture is solid wood and the stain is beautiful and the hardware is all good quality. Nothing plastic, no staples, and nice thick wood. The directions could have been a little easier to follow but they did provide extras of all the screws, etc. It took quite a while to assemble but it was well worth the price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVELY............but T-I-N-Y!!!
 from California,  Apr 5, 2007

Although this is a lovely dresser, it's VERY small. I should have paid closer attention to the measurements, although I didn't think something this small could be called a dresser. The style and color is beautiful, but not good for much storage space. I purchased this along with the end tables, those are smaller, but work out fine. Many, many pieces to assemble. My husband covered the floor with the them. Buyer beware, the size makes it seems like it belongs in Mickey's Toon Town!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 271 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 14 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Vermont Six-drawer Lingerie Chest
Sale $258.29
Was $286.99
(187)
Vermont Queen-size Bed
Sale $314.99
Was $349.99
(336)
Milton 6 Drawer Chest
Today $299.99
(93)
Back to top