Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 339 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 17 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous Bed
 Nov 25, 2010

I LOVE this bed! It is very, very beautiful and excellent quality. Definitely need 2 people for assembly. When I was researching this bed and reading reviews, I had questions that no one else touched on. So I want to make my review helpful to others that might be looking for the same information instead of just reviewing the shipping, and all the points that have been overreviewed in my opinion. The bed is true to color in the picture. Underneath is very roomy, leaving 12.5 inches from floor to underside of slats. There is 1 and 3/4 inches between the slats and the top of the rails. A 10 inch mattress works perfectly with this bed. Yes, it is a platform and does not need a boxspring (slats are sturdy) but I do NOT feel low to the ground. I feel the exact same height as when I had a boxspring and mattress. A pain to assemble alone (especially the headboard) but very easy with two people. Don't let the other reviews scare you about assembly, just get help, it'll go smoothly, and you'll love this bed!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

This bed is really beautiful, but the pegs on the bottom kept falling off. I finally made some of my own and did a little reinforcement, but it doesn't really seem like I should have to do that.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sharp edge and flimsy slats
 from San Francisco,  Feb 11, 2007

I bought the whole bedroom set and a different line of rubberwood side table for the living rooms. I believe that they are all made by the same manufacturer. The fit and finish of the headboard and footboard are excellent. All the exposed parts and major structures are of solid wood. Now some complaints. The edge of the foot of the bed comes to a point and protrudes slightly. This looks esthetically pleasing but is painful on the shins in the dark. The 10-12 supporting slats for the mattress are of a flimsier wood and are screwed directly on to the frame. This may limit the number of times that the bed frame can be assembled/reassembled. I would definitely buy the Vermont nightstands and cubbord again. Without a drill, plan on 3 hours of assembly time. I would not buy the bed as it is not as well constructed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Bed
 from N.New Hampshire,  Mar 23, 2009

I"ve looked at this bed for the last year and couldn't make up my mind about buying it. I spent a lot of time reading the reviews and in the end that was the deciding factor on purchasing. So I'll do my part and submit a review. First of all, I've assembled some furniture and I had no trouble assembling this bed alone,(didn't want to wait for my husband to get home from work). I'm not sure what others were talking about but the bed is partially assembled when it arrives. All the pieces were well packed and everything was in perfect shape and the manufacturer supplied extra parts which in my book is always a good thing. Timewise it took me about 4 hours but I didn't rush and read the directions first, something I'm not sure other reviewers did. Anyway, this is a solid bed, all wood and even the slats are finished! There is not one inch of raw wood on this bed. In other words- excellent quality. Beautiful finish, sturdy construction, better get yours before they're all gone.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful bed
 from Tennessee,  Sep 14, 2006

The bed is beautiful and is worth more than the price! It is very solid and heavy when put together. We were going to put it in the guest bedroom, but ended up using it ourselves. It was easy to put together. We are very happy with it! Thanks!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
What a beautiful Bed
 from NH,  Apr 7, 2008

This bed is everything it says it is. It is beautiful to look at, the color is a very rich reddish brown, it's solidly built, very rugged, but with sexy curves. It has more support and cross pieces than I have ever seen -- and they all screw in -- making it even more rugged. The price was amazing, and I am very happy I purchased it. There was one small crack that we didn't notice when we started putting it together, but it's on the back and doesn't show. The allen wrench that comes with this is useless,as there isn't enough room to turn it unless you have all day to sit around and put it together. We tried that and gave up. Go buy a ball headed allen wrench set before your bed gets there. We went out and bought one half way thru setting up the bed and it made things ALOT easier. All together it took us 4 hours from start to finish. But it was well worth the effort. Knowing what I know now, I would buy it all over again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A little frustrating to assemble
 from Portland, OR,  Jul 29, 2007

I received the bed quickly and with no shipping damage. As other reviewers have mentioned, it's a bit of a challenge to assemble. I did it myself in about 2 1/2 hours and I consider myself moderately skilled at these kinds of things. One hint - when you are assembling the legs to the headboard - try using a phillips screwdriver to get the bolts most of the way in and just use the Allen wrench for the final steps. Otherwise you pretty much have to use your fingers.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Horrible Product
 from Charleston, SC,  Apr 24, 2007

It took 2 days to put this piece of junk together and then the directions where wrong. Some to the pieces were also missing! Whatever money you might save, trust me, it is NOT worth it! Avoid this cheap and extremely hard to put together item!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Excellent product. Very well made. Rich color. We ordered the queen bed, 2 night stands, and the dresser. (Make sure of the dresser measurements. It is more like a bachlor chest. Perfect for my room.) It took my husband 12 hours to assemble the entire bedroom. I helped with holding some of the pieces when needed - but my husband put all of this together by himself. He indicated the instructions were very clear. Make sure you have a power drill and a rubber mallet to make your life easier. Lay the pieces out prior to assembly. I would purchase this entire set again if it came in a twin size. Very well packed and all 9 boxes arrived on time with UPS and in perfect condition.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
looks great, few problems
 from central ca,  Feb 25, 2007

It was easy to put together myself but I am good with tools. As far as the support slats, I did not screw them in. I used duct tape to secure them so they would not move around. I didn't want to screw them in because in case I ever move the bed it would be a pain to remove them all. The first time I ordered it, the headboard was cracked. If this was caused by poor workmanship or just a shipping accident I do not know. My replacement was fine though. The little wood edges at the end of the bed don't look like they stick out that much in the picture but it sure is easy to run into them when you are walking around the bed. I have gotten many bruises on my shins from this.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice bed
 from Seattle, WA,  Sep 13, 2006

We purchased this bed last fall. It arrived super fast in two very large boxes. It takes two people to put it together, however, its not difficult. We were very impressed that they included extra screws ect with the assembly pieces. The color is perfect and the bed has a nice finish to it. We've since had to break the bed down into a few pieces for moving and we re-assembled it with no-problems. We love it and would highly recommend it to anyone, especially for the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bed looks Great!
 from Long Island, NY,  Oct 23, 2010

The bed looks great and the quality is great too. Thankfully I read other buyer's reviews prior to assembling the bed. Beware that the picture number 1 on page 4 of the instructions has an error. Leg C should go where D is and Leg D should go where C is. Otherwise the holes for the side rails will be facing the wrong way. No, it's not easy to disassemble because you have used superglue on the dowels. Just read it all through and be sure you understand what you need to do before starting. This was my first purchase with Overstock.com I was very pleased with the service, the packaging and the list of contents so I knew I had all the pieces. I will certainly use Overstock again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Vermont Bed/Furniture
 from Sonoma, CA,  Mar 29, 2009

I ordered 2 beds, 4 nightstands, and 2 lingerie chests for 2 bedrooms in a vacation home. I was apprehensive ordering so much online - having not seen them in person. But, I have been very pleased. Good Value, attractive, very sturdy, well made, nice styling. They are time consuming to put together and you really have to pay attention to the directions and pictures. I was thankful for a few suggestion in the reviews here (like being sure to get the bed rails right-side up). A rubber mallet is very helpful to gently bang things together. And a ratchet screwdriver is helpful too. I found my cordless screwdriver was a little too powerful for some of the screws and they broke. But there are plenty of extra parts and not a problem. I was able to assemble all pieces by myself. Although a second pair of hands would have been useful. The project was time-consuming, but it wasn't difficult, and I got a little faster with each successive piece. The bed is made to not use a boxspring - and I have to say - even with a mid-range mattress - it is Very Very Comfortable! Yes, I'd recommend these products. Follow the directions and have a little patience.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great bed
 Oct 19, 2006

I received the bed in just a few days. I agree with the other reviews in saying that the bed is somewhat time consuming to put together but well worth the effort. I shopped for quite a while before checking this site and can tell you that this bed is comparable to the upper end beds out there and only a fraction of the price!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful but...
 from Jacksonville, Fl,  Oct 9, 2006

I love the color and design of this bed but it does not allow you to use a box spring so now I have to get rid of my brand new one. And it took about 4 hours for me to put it together because the pieces are difficult to screw in.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
a very nice, solid bed
 from Ithaca, NY,  Jul 1, 2013

I have been looking for a bed for a good while and this bed was a good compromise between what I wanted (a sleigh bed) and what my husband wanted (something very contemporary). I was very pleased with the price and read all the reviews. The bed arrived, very well packaged, and I a pleased with the quality of the finish and the wood. The assembly hardware was all clearly marked and by and large the instructions were fairly clear. I think the hardware is a bit fiddly, but it is possible to get it all screwed together tightly. One thing I will say, though: This bed takes two people to put together and one of them should have the job of pouring scotch for the other one as well as holding things up. I knew my husband and I would never get this done, so I called my gay neighbor and he came over and put it together for me and reminded me that gay men are not a threat to marriages: they actually help hold them together. It helps to have someone who is handy with tools. I would not call this assembly a real amateur job, but we managed to get it put together in about two hours.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? actual color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the bed is well made and sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
5 years later . . . .
 from Mobile, AL,  Apr 28, 2013

I purchased this bed in April of 2008. I left a review then but wanted to come back and let everyone know 5 years and a move later, it's still just as sturdy and durable as the day it was first put together. I love this bed. I did need another helping hand to put it together, mainly to help me stand up the headboard, rails etc. Its very easy to put together. The mattress I use with it is a 10in Bodipedic Memory Foam. It's like heaven. No box spring, just the mattress on the slats. I will say, however, I kept the large part of the cardboard box this bed came in and put those on top of the slats before putting mattress down. It helps keep the mattress from getting slat marks and from seeping in between the slats. I'll never get rid of this bed. One day when my husband and I upgrade to a King, this will go into the spare bedroom for guests. Also, I remember this bed wasn't my first choice. I ordered another style and it was delivered but was damaged. We sent it back and Overstock was a gem! No questions asked and it was refunded to my account. This was what I purchased in its place and I am glad that happened because this bed is beautiful and perfect for us.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Wonderfully.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality-esp for price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Happy
 from Florida,  Feb 14, 2012

I was looking for a solid wood bed, and this fit the bill. The only difficulty in assembling was the headboard bolts that require the allen wrench. The notch cut out to screw the bolt in, did not allow the allen wrench to fit until the bolt was 3/4 of the way screwed in. I used my fingers to screw in the bolt 3/4 of the way and finished with the allen wrench. Overall very happy with the bed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Difficult to put together
 from Downingtown, PA,  Nov 11, 2011

I spent 5 hours with a girlfriend and have not yet finished putting this bed together. The directions are VERY confusing and the superglue makes a mess and is hard to work with. Be sure not to even touch the wood with the superglue or with your fingers if there are tiny traces on them bc it will ruin the wood! The pieces are not all the same size, some fit, some don't - which is probably why they give you extra. It would be nice if this bed only required screws and bolts, like other beds I've had to put together in the past. Since this one requires superglue, you can never take it apart. So make sure it's in a room where you can fit it through the door! Wish I would have spent mroe $ for better quality. If you are a professional bed assembler or some type of expert and can figure out how to put this thing together, it seems like it will look nice in the end. Good luck getting that far!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very similar
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Average
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
superglue?
 from Vermont,  Aug 16, 2011

This bed is ok but not great, just ok. Who has ever heard of superglue being used to hold dowels in? Not me. Cheap it is.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. reasonable
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? ok
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 339 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 17 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought