Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 78 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Very happy with this product
 from Florida,  Jan 29, 2010

Several years ago we bought a ventless fireplace which is not portable and resembles a standard fireplace design with a mantle and wooden uprights, sides, etc. That fireplace has worked so well for us that we talked about adding another, in a different room, this year. Instead, we decided to purchase this portable one, after seriously considering a wall mount. This little beauty arrived yesterday, alongwith a carton of gel fuel cans (sold separately). We're already in love with it. We fired up this charming little gizmo in our kitchen and had a flickering fire while we ate our dinner. Then, this morning, I carried it into our bathroom, lit the fuel, and in practically no time, the chill was gone from the room and I showered in complete comfort and luxury. As Florida residents we do not have long bone-chilling sustained winters, however, we do have enough weeks of non-tropical temps that this purchase makes sense to us. And, since it's portable and small, we can easily store it away if we choose, over the hot summer months, and deight in relighting it when our temps are effected by the artic blasts. Haven't tried the candle option yet, but anticipate that it'll be fine. (My husband thinks we should tell Jim Cantore about this fireplace.) If you are hestitating to purchase one, yet feel drawn to it, have no fears. You won't be disappointed. Easy set up: remove it from the box, mount the glass guards with their small cushions, light the gel fuel, and enjoy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
heat
 from Georgia,  Mar 17, 2010

This is a cute little firebox. It gives very little heat. The fire is not pretty. The gel smells and made my head hurt. I placed it in an area that was big enough for the fumes to dissipate in the air, The order was still unpleasant.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's Fun!
 from Louisiana,  Mar 24, 2010

If you are looking for a large fireplace that puts out a lot of heat, this one is not for you. But if you are looking for "atmosphere" and fun to look at, this is perfect. My husband put it out by our pool and we thoroughly enjoy looking at the flame, along with the water from our pool fountain. We also bought a box of the canned "flame" that you will need for the fireplace, and they really do last 2-3 hours. Very satisfied with the purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great little fireplace
 from Plattsburgh, NY,  Mar 11, 2010

I love this little fireplace! I have it in my dining room right now but plan on putting it out on the porch this summer. It is nice to have an actual fire but since the gel cans are expensive I will use it with pillar candles form time to time. I didn't really notice this from the picture but the glass is not very high and the flames sometimes go higher than the glass so you should have good clearance from nearby items.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
greatbuy
 from Chester, IL,  Oct 13, 2011

We went into this purchase knowing this product would not be heating rooms. We didn't want it to. We got it for ambiance. We have a large screened in porch that fits this perfectly. On nice evenings we fire it up and sit, watch the river until the sun goes down. We really enjoy our fireplace. The gel cans are a little tricky, but if you use common sense, they won't be a problem.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worth the money
 from Austin, TX,  Dec 20, 2011

The fireplace is great. We are using it in our living room as well as our patio. While using it inside, there is a slight odor to it but nothing offensive. The living room is not very large so the heat this unit puts off has been sufficient to prevent the need for the furnace. We use the ceiling fan on low to circulate the heat and it seems to work well. Of course we live in Texas so it never gets that cold here. The only negativity I have is towards the gel fuel but that has no reflection on the quality of the product I am reviewing here. I just wish there was a little larger yellow flame and a little less blue flame, but that's it. I found a formula to make my own gel fuel so I will play with the mixture to see if I can achieve what I am after. The unit itself though, we LOVE. I am very pleased with this purchase and feel that it was well worth the money.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color in the image was slightly misleading but it looks great anyways.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The fireplace is well constructed and feels durrable.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Simply lovely
 from Northern Maine,  Dec 14, 2011

I was so anxious to use this fireplace it was up, fully assembled and burning in less than 6 minutes. The "assembly" is simply putting in the glass. Is it small? Yes. Its an accent piece. Not a major architectural feature. It is perfect for my smallish living room. Certainly not overwhelming but is eye-catching, especially when both fires are going. It needs a little oomph when not in use so I have some pretty Christmas candles in it and a nice little understated seasonal display on top. I always remove the top display before lighting. Its substantial but easily moved around. (Lift with the legs, not the back). After a short while it settled into the perfect area of the room. Using the gel cans is costly so its nice the fireplace has multiple looks. Sunday evenings takes just a minute to get the fire going, pour a cocktail, darken the room and listen to some nice music as the flames flicker around the room.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? since almost all monitors are a bit different its hard to determine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy, substantial, safe, handsome
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Site description was spot on.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
In love with this fireplace!
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Sep 14, 2011

I absolutely love this piece, it's unique, classy and portable to take on the deck or a bubble bath by the fireplace! No smell, perfect size, easy assembly! I Love Love Love this thing!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Great Additon From Living Room to Patio!
 from Queens, NY,  Aug 15, 2011

I purchased this as an anniversary present (after having purchased one of the wall mounted fireplaces last year for my home office). It has been love at first sight. It fits seamlessly in our living room and gives an excellent finish to our non-working fireplace and mantle. It is also a great piece for the cool evenings in our rear gardens and patio area. Excellent ambience and gives off just enough warm for a cool evening outdoors or in our main living space. Once again, Overstock offered a great selection, quick delivery and exceptional product. Already looking forward to the cooler seasons when we can have a crackling fire in our living room. Thank you again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as depicted.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid and sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was totally accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Warm the Outside Atmosphere With a Fireplace
 from Fairbury, IL,  Jun 16, 2011

The description was accurate but the picture online of the product gave the impression that the item was made of finer and sturdier material. The online picture displayed the item as being of higher quality. When received, was a bit upset with the actual item in comparison to the picture of the item online. But, I do use the fireplace on a regular basis. Most of the time I use candles instead of the gel fuel. The gel fuel is very expensive and I found using the candle was cheaper. Except for windy nights, the candles are doing just fine.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes, somewhat.
  • How is the quality of the product? Fine
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? The description was accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Price, but be careful
 from New York State,  Dec 26, 2010

The product is well made but be careful. It requires about 1/2 hour for assembly and it is very light gauge metal and glass. The top portions get much hotter than the lower portions. I kept the top at least 6 inches away from flammable or plastic and that seemed to work for a 5 hour run. I put the appliance on a layer of ceramic tiles and I strongly recommend you do that or similar.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wesley Indoor/ Outdoor Portable Fireplace
 from Washington, DC,  Mar 6, 2010

This is wonderful portable fireplace. I would recommend three improvements to the design. 1. Build in a firebox on the bottom of the unit. I noticed that my floor was warm after 1 /1/2 hours of burning the Real Flame gel canisters 2. Increase the height of the glass on both sides to ensure the flames are below the glass. 3. The canister extingusher was a wonderful idea, especially if you do not want to burn the Real Flame gel for the full 3 hours. The handle on the canister extingusher should be longer and have more of a curve so you can reach over the glass and down to place the canister extingusher on top of the flame without burning your yourself. The glass was warm to hot to the touch, so I did not remove it to extingush the flame. I used kitchen thongs and that worked just fine. Again, wonderful product. I cannot wait until Spring so I can try it out on the patio.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
You get what you pay for; still, I'd recommend
 from Little Rock, AR,  Apr 2, 2012

This is small, but I expected that - the dimensions are in the description, and I read the reviews. It really is a bit too small, but then again if it were any bigger, it wouldn't really be portable. I've used it inside, but it's really not an option because of the smell the gel fuel puts off (and ,as other reviewers noted, it WILL give you a headache. This is the biggest disappointment - I'd originally envisioned using it in the living, bedroom, and outside. Now, I just keep it inside to protect it from the weather, and then carry it out to my patio to use it. This hardly puts off any heat, you wouldn't use it to keep warm - it's just for ambiance. Since it's just basically decoration, it's a bit pricey, but I don't regret buying it - I just make sure I find a good deal on the gel cans.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It's a little lighter in person, which is good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is fine
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Stating this: Each can lasts up to 3 hours on a single burn and puts off up to 3000 BTU is a little misleading since it doesn't include any cans
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful and cozy
 from ky,  Nov 21, 2011

I bought this as a gift for a friend who does a lot for people - and i thought it was time that someone did something for her --- she is madly in love with this fireplace, she uses almost everynight she is off work - she said it warms her living room almost immediately and she does not have to turn her heat on, and she loves the crackling sound of the fire - thanks overstock you all are great!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. could have ask for more - great price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? site was right on target
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not What I Wanted
 from davenport Iowa,  Nov 17, 2011

This product was just as it looked on line but was not what I really wanted. The fuel that I ordered for the product was the problem for me. On the fuel box it says it is an eye irritant. i did not want to take chances with that in the house. You also need ventilation and I want to use it in the house more then outside, during the winter. So, I will return it and get a portable electric Fireplace :-) 123tenten

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The product was smaller then I thought but I did not check measurements
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description and photo was accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great , cozy addition
 from Colorado,  Oct 31, 2011

Such a cute little fireplace for any room. Just moved to a house without a fireplace and missed the old one. This gives the family room a cozy feel when we watch movies. Easy to assemble, lightweight and doesn't damage the floor under it when lit. We've used it 3 times now and are very happy. Bought the gel fuel cans from another website for much less. Love the crackling sound. Puts out a little heat, but don't count on it heating a room. Just for ambiance. Very portable.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. as expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy!
 from Camp Lejuene, NC,  Aug 20, 2011

I gave this to my Parents as a Thank You gift after our wedding, they have been enjoying it in their courtyard! They have been using "Fireglo" gel fire cans, and so far no complaints!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. so far so good!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect size and looked just as expected.
 from Chicago, IL,  Aug 16, 2011

When I received the fireplace, I took it out of the box and immediately got excited. It was exactly what I expected. I put it in my living room in a space that separates my living room from my dining room. Everyone that comes in my house notice the fireplace before they notice any else. Very satisified.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Looked exactly like the color on site.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Looked more expensive than the price paid.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mrs.
 from Stone Mountain, GA,  Sep 19, 2012

Put this portable fireplace on my large front porch and everyone has enjoyed it's looks and warmth. Very easy to move around and adds much ambience to any occasion.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Nice quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great fireplace-ambience and warmth
 from Minneapolis, Minnesota,  Aug 30, 2012

Used this fireplace right out of the box on my covered deck of my townhome where firepits are not allowed. Very sweet and even provided warmth on a chilly night. Highly recommend.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as shown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Well built, easily movable
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 78 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top