Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 41 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 

The desk arrived all scratched and a corner of it had fallen off. There were assembly pieces missing such as screws. In addition, when I was assembling the desk, the wood would break when I screwed in the screws (especially true on the corner pieces). I wish I had read the reviews prior to ordering the desk and Overstock does not allow this product to be returned.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lovely piece!
 Oct 1, 2008

I really only have two complaints concerning this desk: I'd purchased it thinking I could use the large drawer for filing space, but wasn't paying enough attention to its actual size... and there are *very* visible gouges in the veneer of the desktop itself, not to mention a few dings in the rest of the desk. I know the desktop came out of the box that way, but the other dings could very well be my fault.HAVE A DRILL HANDY! There are about a zillion little screws, and it takes a good two to three hours to assemble the desk, but once it's together it's such a great product, especially for the price. Just remember to take your time and read the instructions CAREFULLY. The diagrams aren't as detailed as one might prefer, so be careful that you don't put the cabinet bottom on backwards (like I did, wups). Overall, I recommend this piece, the color is beautiful and the quality is fantastic for the price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Computer desk
 from Massachusetts,  Nov 18, 2009

The desk is beautiful and went together easily. HOWEVER. when it was delivered, the box was broken open and some pieces suffered minor damage. Old English will fix the scratches. fortunately all the pieces were there. Overall we are satisfied but think the way it is delivered should be reviewed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worth the effort
 Dec 9, 2010

Clearly, the person who wrote these assembly instructions will not be winning the Technical Writer of the Year award anytime soon...but the instructions weren't the nightmare I feared they would be after reading many of these reviews. I recommend having a cordless drill on hand because you will most definitely need to create a few additional holes. The parts are clearly labeled but the illustrations leave a lot to be desired. That said, I was able to single-handedly assemble this desk in just about 5 hours. I think anyone who has assembled ***** furniture should be able to handle this job with some patience (and a glass or two of wine). As others have said, the desk drawers stick a little but I expect with a little WD-40 and continued use that should hopefully go away. The desk itself is beautiful—solid, sturdy, high-quality wood. There were no chips or damaged parts on mine. I'm deducting one star only because of the less than stellar assembly instructions.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Big disappointment
 Oct 14, 2009

I should have read through all of the reviews before buying this desk. It came scratched, banged up (some parts were broken, but we nailed them back together), screws were missing (went and bought more), and there were so many pieces with awful instructions. It took us a total of 10 hours to put it together over 3 days. The drawers are really small and don't slide in/out very easily, so don't buy if you need lots of storage. We're keeping it as a temp desk in our office and will put it in a kids room later. You're better off paying a bit more for better quality!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good looking desk, but beware of assembly
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Jul 2, 2009

Shipping was very fast, only took about 4 days. Assembly took me about 10 hours total. Some of the illustrations made it difficult to understand which size screw to use, and which piece went to what, and vice versa. Some of the wood I received came with a nicks and small scratches on the edges, presumably from the shipping. Overall I like the desk, in spite of the difficult assembly I'm glad I bought it and took the time to put it together myself. Looks great in my room with the dark hardwood flooring.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Desk
 from New York, NY,  Feb 21, 2009

As others mentioned, you need to set aside plenty of time to assemble. Like others, there were not enough screws included. We also have small gouges on the desk top which are quite visible. Waiting to hear how Overstock will handle this. You definitely need an electric screwdriver. The direction manual is not as helpful as it should be. Its guidance is particularly lacking with the keyboard drawer assembly. Once the desk is assembled, it is very nice looking as shown in the picture, and it doesn't look cheap as I worried it might since the price is pretty low.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pleased with desk
 from Virginia,  Feb 19, 2009

This was my first purchase at Overstock. I was impressed when the desk arrived in 4 days. The top and one other piece were damaged so I called the customer service number and they sent replacement pieces which arrived very prompty. The drawers do not glide smoothly, but maybe with use they will get better. The desk looks nice and is the size I wanted. It is 90% wood and that was why I chose it over all the pressed particle board type furniture that is a waste of money. I think this desk will serve me well for many years.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Okay I guess
 from Raleigh, NC,  Oct 22, 2008

It was not packed well and UPS damaged the corners. Not their fault it should have been packed better. If love assembling a million little pieces that sometimes fit together and sometime not then you'll love this. I am VERY experienced with this type of work and it took me 3 hours. The rails for the draws were not the best in quality or fit. Once it is together it is workable. We put the damaged corner to the wall and it works. it is a step up from our old pub table which now we can use as a PUB table.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bottom drawer doesn't open and close properly.
 from Sun City West, AZ,  Aug 19, 2014

It took two of us 3 hours to put it together. The desk looks great! I just wished the bottom drawer hardware functioned correctly.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lovely desk and just what I needed.
 from Sparta, TN,  May 6, 2013

Not hardwood, so be careful of dent/scratching; otherwise, this is a lovely small computer desk accommodating all parts and also providing desk storage. I am very pleased with product and service.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wakefield Mission Desk
 from Unavailable,  Feb 26, 2013

Desk is exactly as the picture shown. Very good quality desk, solid wood. Looks expensive! Very easy to put together, and I did it all myself. so, if I can do it, anyone can. I would highly recommend this product. Not a cheap looking desk at all!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Precise
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Desk, great customer service
 from Phoenix,  Oct 26, 2012

After reading all of the negative reviews on this page I will admit I was a bit hesitent ordering this desk. The desk arrived in short time and while there was a hole in the top of the box, there appeared to be no damage. After a quick inventory I did find my worst fear; there was damage to the desk top. While not all the way through, the desktop was cracked. After a quick call to O.co that night I received word the next day a new top from the company would be shipped within one to two business days. Hearing that, I proceeded to start assembly of the drawer towers and desk. Recommend doing a complete inventory and marking each item off prior to construction. The instructions are very easy to follow and other than attaching the broken desktop, I completed the rest of the desk and drawers in about 90 minutes. The finish is good and it looks great in our study/den. I am not sure why others had such a horrible experience to write about, this was a pretty straight forward furniture kit. I would rate it easy on any scale of difficulty.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The desk is a bit darker than in the photo
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

It was cumbersome to put together-had lots of trouble and wouldn't do it again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful desk, not that tough to put together.
 from Orlando, FL,  May 8, 2012

The desk is beautiful. Only took me 3 hours to put together. Familiarize yourself with the parts and instructions ahead of time. I used wood glue in addition to the provided hardware. The only issue was shipping. When it arrives, its really heavy and it may get tossed around quite a bit. Take pictures of the box when it arrives in case something is broken. In my case all the hardware was missing as it is attached to the exterior of the box. They ay as well throw it out. The manufacturer however promptly shipped replacement hardware at no charge.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality, drawer fit could use improvement.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Craftsman Style Mahogany Computer Desk
 from The Villages, Fl,  Feb 14, 2012

We love the new desk - even though it had to be assembled. It matches our other office furniture and is large enough for the Computer and desk accessories. We wish it had a glass top. That is something we will have to look into purchasing.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Almost perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Desk is very sturdy and heavy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Product was accurately described
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Take A Good Look
 from New York, NY,  Sep 28, 2011

I don't know why people complain about size when this desk is displayed showing size schematics for all of its components including the drawers. BTW the file drawer is built to hold files facing the laterally, not facing front, hence the narrow width. The finish is "distressed" or else it would not appear with the mottled color as represented in the photo. As for broken pieces and missing hardware, you are buying from a remainder retailer and are getting other store's rejects, so be careful when making purchases. The extra holes are probably the result of these pieces being generically cut to fit various furniture pieces in this "Mission" style series. I would consider this desk for purchase, however for this price, I would expect fewer complaints about damaged surfaces, poor packaging and missing parts than what appeared here, especially since this piece is cumbersome and most likely not easily returnable.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? n/a
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. n/a
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? n/a
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfectly Adequate Desk
 from Virginia,  Jul 15, 2011

The desk is perfectly adequate for our new apartment/ starter furniture. The desk is sturdy- so much so that I had to help the UPS man carry the box into my house. As in other reviews, the top piece arrived damaged in a back corner. However, you have to unpack every other piece to discover this. By then, combined with the poor quality packaging, it seems not even worth it to attempt to return. The drawers are a little small inside, so it's not exactly a storage desk, but okay for a small home office. The bottom right drawer on ours doesn't close all the way because the pre-drilled holes weren't aligned properly, but we only noticed once the whole desk was assembled, so pay close attention to alignment while assembling, and if something doesn't look right, just drill your own holes. Speaking of, assembly takes FOREVER- there are so many pieces! Overall, very sturdy, looks fine, and fairly priced. Would recommend if you don't expect perfection and are willing to do some assembly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the photo is a little lighter than the piece
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. fair for the price
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decent desk
 from New York, NY,  Jul 5, 2011

The desk is nice. The only thing I don't love about the design is that the space where your feet go is pretty low, but I am tall so this may not be a concern for you. Now why the low rating? Putting this desk together was a pain, it is missing a drawer handle and because the instructions were so poor, we didn't get all the drawers to line up well, so that sucks. For now I haven't revisited the drawer issue, I am still traumatized from putting this desk together. Would I buy it again, NO! Am I glad I have it now all assembled? Kind of, there are still issues.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. OK
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? OK
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very difficult to assemble
 from New Jersey,  Feb 13, 2011

Once this desk was assembled, it is just what I was looking for. However, the desk was originally sent without any screws, dowels or hardware! The hardware arrived approximately one week after the desk, after 3 calls to inquire as to the whereabouts of same. Assembling this desk is not for the faint of heart! I cannot stress this enough. The directions are virtually useless! If you are not extremely handy and capable of complex assembly I would not recommend trying. My husband is an auto mechanic, and can fix just about anything, and he was scratching his head. But, after about 4-5 hours of assembly, the desk is exactly what i needed. It's small and has a cabinet for a computer tower. It is sturdy and attractive. Good luck.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 41 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Arts and Crafts Cottage Oak Pedestal Desk
Sale $444.59
Was $493.99
Compare $650.90
Save 32%
(21)
Bermuda Pedestal Desk
Today $464.37
Compare $804.74
Save 42%
(4)
Colonial Classics Pedestal Desk
Sale $710.99
Was $789.99
Compare $1000.00
Save 29%
(1)
Three-drawer Desk
Today $292.99
(4)
Back to top