Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
HORRIBLE OUTGAS SMELL
 from ca,  Aug 31, 2011

GREAT IDEA...loved the desk....horrible fume...this thing out gasses so bad! we sat it outside in the 80 degree sunshine for 2 weeks trying to get the smell to go away....we even painted the inside of the file areas with Kilz...because that area is unfinished and smells the worst...however we hung it inside again and reeks! i have never written a review but i wish this on was here before i purchased this desk....we r now looking for a new desk.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? creamy off white
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. function great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Murphy Desk
 from Tulsa, OK,  Jul 10, 2011

We ordered the Murphy Desk for my 16 year old daughter. It actually came the very next day. It was easy to install and of great quality. She loves it and it looks great. Very sturdy and perfect for space saving in a teenagers bedroom. Great product, price and service. I would recommend Overstock.com to anyone looking for a great deal on furniture!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color looked white but was actually a little off-white
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The Murphy Desk is of great quality and construction.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's so cool!
 from Ohio,  Nov 18, 2013

This isn't exactly the easiest thing to hang -- anchoring is always a little tricky -- but my husband and I have managed to install it in two different homes this year without problem. The only thing I'd recommend is making a point to measure it so that the desk portion will be level when open. (In the first installation, we had it up a tad too high and I had to makeshift a solution to compensate. We were more careful the second time around.) It's just the coolest thing, really. I have a work room that's also a guest room, and this allows me to have a desk in there when I need one that basically disappears into a simple piece of wall art when I don't. I love it. I wish I could have Murphy everything. Footprints are for suckers. This thing ... It's one of my favorite buys.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Product
 from Haddonfield, NJ,  Mar 23, 2013

This is a cool product. My daughter loves it. I had a professional install it. He made sure it was extra sturdy so if kids hung on it, it would not fall down. It is very very heavy. I would never have my husband hang it. It could be a safety issue if you do not get a professional to hang it. The product is awesome! Lots of compliments. space saver!

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
AMAZING!
 from San Diego, CA,  Nov 21, 2012

I recently moved into a 400 sq foot house with my boyfriend. I work from home and this desk is an amazing space saver. I'm a designer and can fit my MacBook Pro AND my Wacom tablet side-by-side no problem. It's holding up very well and I love it. I would like to add that I didn't have an issue with paint smell as I noticed other people mentioned.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
handy desk w/small space committment
 from chicago,  Sep 19, 2011

just what i needed re space available; solidly built; difficult install; good price

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it!
 from Stoney creek ON,  Apr 18, 2013

I got this desk for my daughter who is in college.... she loves the pockets and her and myself bought a mirror on O. and put it on the bottom with hot glue not when she folds it up she has a mirror instead of a block of wood. very impressed and buying another one for myself

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the desk
 from San Jose, Ca.,  Feb 19, 2013

My only complaint about this desk...which I do love!! Is that the paper pockets on the right go all the way down to the bottom of the first one. So if you try to use the top or middle one and your paper is normal length...you will lose it and not be able to get it back out. The only way for me to use them is to fold my item in half and just lay it over the edge. Useless really. But the rest of the desk is amazing!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Amazing quality and didn't have a weird smell like another customer said
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Extremely
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
works
 from new york,  Feb 17, 2013

I found this a little difficult to install by myself , but it works for small space - the color is the only thing that bugs me - its an off white which tends to look green against my furniture and molding but overall good peice for work space - might move it to another area -or paint it !

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Not bright white -
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product with some issues
 from Charlotte, NC,  Jan 10, 2013

Original desk received was defective; but Overstock customer service is great, they sent a replacement promptly. The picture shows the support for the desktop once pulled out looks like a cut-out picture frame, but it is a solid board which I think actually is an improvement -- it makes it sturdier. I purchased this described as Murphy “Winter White” desk to match my white Murphy bed, but the color is actually “greenish-yellow”; nowhere close to white/off-white/ivory/cream. I will have to have the exterior painted white to match the murphy bed after airing it out to get rid the strong odor. I cannot imagine anyone can sleep in the room with that smell. I am lucky that the guestroom is completely isolated from the rest of the house.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Advertised as “Winter White”, but the color is actually “greenish-yellow not even closed to off-white/ivory/cream.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good solid construction, but poor finishing job.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Picture on site is probably an earlier version of the desk.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from Sacramento, CA,  Sep 7, 2011

Love this product, I highly recommend it. Great for a space saver in your child's room, great for homework and projects.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was just right, nice and bright white.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality, great space saver, my daughter uses it for homework and gaming.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Prepac SOHO White Floating Desk
Today $149.97
Compare $188.00
Save 20%
(9)
Floating Desk with Storage
Today $158.99
Compare $259.00
Save 39%
(63)
White Hollow-core Corner Desk
Today $273.99
Compare $677.61
Save 60%
(13)
Back to top