Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 28 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
lovely and functional but stinky!
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Aug 1, 2011

This is a great idea. Very functional. Good quality. Well built. Heavy duty. The one down side -- an it's a big one, given that we've had it installed for months now and it has not dissapated -- is the odor. I've heard about formaldahyde in furniture, but this is ridiculous! This thing STINKS. It just smells bad and it's not going away. I leave it open to air out when I think of it, but still ... Love the item. Hate the smell. (Only noticable when open.) I would be five stars except for the smell. I've never had this problem with an item before ... ever.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It's darker than the photo which I liked.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Nice quality wood and outside hardware. Had to use upgraded hardware for installation.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate. As expected.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
WOW! Solid and Stylish.
 from Arkansas,  Apr 3, 2011

This desks are solid. They look great hanging on the wall. We bought two and they have replaced a big desk in a small room. The room looks spacious. If you're looking for quality and space saving design, I'd recommend them. I would suggest going to the local home improvement store and buy some lag screws to install in the studs of your wall. The screws provided seemed a little less than adequate for the weight of the desk... not to mention I have a flare up of the "Tim the Tool Man" Syndrome on occasion, so it might be over-kill.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
de-clutter!
 from Arlington, VA,  May 1, 2010

My husband and I are very happy with this purchase. I thought the walnut color might be too light for my espresso furniture in my 2nd bedroom but, it fit perfectly with the furniture and the paint we used for the wall. We just thought the black finish looked slightly cheap, so we took a leap of faith with the walnut and we don't regret it one bit! The measurements in the instructions for securing the screws to the wall were exactly as it should be. We recommend slipping the screws/washers into the wood *before* lifting it to the wall. The piece is heavy, so we had a minor struggle having to reach for the screws after we lifted it. With the correct drilling measurements, however, it was very easy to latch on to the pre-drilled holes. Also, it helps to keep the leg down when mounting it to the wall. Enjoy! We know we will!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love them
 from horatio, arkansas,  Aug 18, 2010

i saw a desk like this in a furniture magazine for around $180.00 so i decided to look for the same desk for a better price. i was looking for this desk to put in my living room so my daughters could do their homework but could fold away when not in use. since the desk was cheaper on overstock i decided to get two. i am very satisfied with the end results. i found a book shelf to go in between the desks and it looks like one unit. i helped my husband mount the desks on the wall. very solid need two people to do it. and you do want to measure where you want them and have screws ready to put in place when you get ready to mount. you also want to mount on a stud because it is a very solid, heavy piece of furniture. we also decided since the desks were for our children that we would put an extra set of screws just for safety measures. i ordered this product on a monday recieved them on a wednesday. my girls love their desks & i loved the price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
looks nice, poor quality
 from Gillette, WY,  Sep 25, 2012

I love the idea of this desk, it seemed perfect for our needs. And pulling it out of the box, it looked great. But we soon found that one of the interior paper slots was totally torn apart and had fallen out - something you cannot put back in. Also, when folding the desk up and down, the support leg constantly fell out of its' slot and we had to fit it back into the pegs where it belongs. This happened EVERY TIME we folded it up or down. The finish was also rippling in 2 places, one very visible on the writing surface. This has a lot of previous great reviews, so maybe it was just our bad luck that we got a lemon, but this is not something I would recommend.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? right on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks better in Ad
 from Mid East Coast,  Jun 19, 2013

I hired a guy to come over and help me install it because I wanted to be sure to measure correctly, find the wall studs, mount it level and the right height from the floor, so as to make the table top level when opened. We took a few hours to get all that accomplished and mounted it exactly according to the instructions. We both agreed that the plastic expansion anchors were Not the best way to anchor something that heavy to a plaster wall, but that was what was supplied and suggested in the instructions. Less than an hour after my helper left, the whole thing fell off the wall, crashing on the hardwood floor and breaking the latch that holds the table top and legs up and closed. I contacted the supplier and she shipped me a new latch. The twisted hinge and scratches are a bonus I guess. The desk is built to good to have such a pathetic anchoring system to mount it. USE SCREWS to the studs.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color looks Ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The desk is kind'a light duty (20lb limit on top), but should work. Anchoring system is extremly light duty and will not hold it to wall. Use screws
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It is described Ok. I thought the base legs had glass in them though. Turns out they are a little flimsy because they don't!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
coolest little desk
 from dalton ga,  Apr 26, 2012

We had to down size because of economy.. got this desk as a space saver , It does what a big desk can do I just put my laptop and calculator at bottom after I close it . every one wants to know where did you get this ? I tell them overstock love it

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? on target
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality heavy wood
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good site to see
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it
 from Michigan,  Sep 29, 2010

The oak Murphy Desk looked even better in person than it did in the picture. There is a lot of storage space in such a small place. It was my first purchase from O.com and it came quickly and the price was lower than anywhere else I found this desk. I expect a friend may be ordering one as well. One word of warning, be sure the latch is completely open not to scratch the edge of the desk.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect!
 from Sunrise, FL,  Aug 7, 2010

Everything was just right: delivery speed, condition of desk, quality, color, installation - all top-notch! Love the style and quality of the desk; it looks to be worth way more than what was paid!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
As described
 from Denver, CO,  Jul 22, 2010

Very well made, beautiful finish, lightning fast delivery!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Murphy Walnut Fold-out convertible Dest
 from Las Vegas NV,  May 21, 2014

Ok quality of workmanship but was exactly what I was needing for my small office

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fold Out - Wall Desk
 from Florida,  Mar 18, 2014

The unit is made well and is well designed. It is somewhat difficult to mount on the wall and does require 2 people. When received, the front panel (the fold down leg) was broken at the hinge on one side even though it was well packed. The damage was probably from shipping; I don't think it was packed that way. I was able to easily contact Overstock.com, once they understood the problem, they arranged for a replacement panel to be sent. It took about 2 weeks to arrive, but easily installed and fixed the problem. My wife is very happy with this desk.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic desk design
 from Oshkosh, WI,  Mar 11, 2014

I believe the product will work out quite well in my children's bedrooms. The style and design of these fold-out convertible desks will be an excellent, space-saving addition to the layout in their bedrooms. I'm truly looking forward to installing these desks on their walls. I bought these so my children could work on their projects, homework, laptops, tablets, etc. The packages have not been opened yet. So I have not had a chance to specifically inspect or look at the product yet. Unfortunately, the boxes for each desk came extremely damaged (severely gouged and ripped), and I truly hope the product inside is not affected by the poor shipping and handling.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid product
 from Washington, DC,  May 9, 2013

It's hard to capture this entire product on the website, but it's pretty accurate. It's hard enough, heavy enough, and so far functions great. We'll see how it holds up...

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great product
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? not bad
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect Desk!
 from Juno Beach, FL,  Mar 26, 2013

My husband & I moved out of a large house into a much smaller condo, where space was an issue. My husband was looking for a small desk that wouldn't take up too much room. I found this desk online & ordered it for him. Well, I must tell you that, not only does it look fantastic & match the wood on my built-in desk, but it is my husbands favorite desk EVER! I am so happy that we found this item.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Absolutely PERFECT
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very well constructed
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Space saver for a small room
 from Colorado,  Mar 13, 2013

Great desk for a small room. My daughter loves it. Not easy to hang! Measurement have to be exact. Smells like new stain but nothing out of the norm as stated in some of the reviews. Smell seems to have gone away already.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? as described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. sturdy desk
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent workmanship...worth more than price aske
 from LEVITTOWN, PA,  Mar 12, 2013

Excellent workmanship and worth more than the price asked. Measure everything when hanging it and it should come out good. Its already assembled you just have to put it on the wall.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. My hubby is a fabricator and he's surprised this quality of workmanship came with this price. Very true description, good woodwork and sturdy
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great space saver for the city
 from New York, NY,  Sep 27, 2012

A great surprise desk for the corner of a room. the only problem which Overstock doesn't mention is the installation. Now, my husband and I wedged it between the window sill and the perpendicular wall and it fits perfectly and is very snug in that spot. BUT if you don't have a space you can securely wedge the desk, you have to find a WALL STUD to screw the desk to! it sounds complicated and I don't know how to do it, but the desk itself is so heavy, it needs to be securely anchored to a load bearing Wall Stud. This may be a problem for some people and not for others. but everyone should know the difficultly involved.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the color was actually a little bit richer and more vibrant than the website, which was perfect for us.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality, well made, sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love at first sight
 Sep 11, 2012

This product is excatly what I need for my daughters room. Her room is spaced challenge but this allows her to have a desk to do school work and still be able to play with her friends in her room.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It is an awesome quality product
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It was perfect.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Murphy Desk
 from Chicago,  Aug 29, 2012

Study and well made. The installation directions are very clear and easy to follow. Installation took about 15 minutes. Rated excellent for quality for the $125 price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Pretty good, you can see some glue on inside
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 28 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top