Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 49 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
lovely and functional but stinky!
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Aug 1, 2011

This is a great idea. Very functional. Good quality. Well built. Heavy duty. The one down side -- an it's a big one, given that we've had it installed for months now and it has not dissapated -- is the odor. I've heard about formaldahyde in furniture, but this is ridiculous! This thing STINKS. It just smells bad and it's not going away. I leave it open to air out when I think of it, but still ... Love the item. Hate the smell. (Only noticable when open.) I would be five stars except for the smell. I've never had this problem with an item before ... ever.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It's darker than the photo which I liked.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Nice quality wood and outside hardware. Had to use upgraded hardware for installation.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate. As expected.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
WOW! Solid and Stylish.
 from Arkansas,  Apr 3, 2011

This desks are solid. They look great hanging on the wall. We bought two and they have replaced a big desk in a small room. The room looks spacious. If you're looking for quality and space saving design, I'd recommend them. I would suggest going to the local home improvement store and buy some lag screws to install in the studs of your wall. The screws provided seemed a little less than adequate for the weight of the desk... not to mention I have a flare up of the "Tim the Tool Man" Syndrome on occasion, so it might be over-kill.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
de-clutter!
 from Arlington, VA,  May 1, 2010

My husband and I are very happy with this purchase. I thought the walnut color might be too light for my espresso furniture in my 2nd bedroom but, it fit perfectly with the furniture and the paint we used for the wall. We just thought the black finish looked slightly cheap, so we took a leap of faith with the walnut and we don't regret it one bit! The measurements in the instructions for securing the screws to the wall were exactly as it should be. We recommend slipping the screws/washers into the wood *before* lifting it to the wall. The piece is heavy, so we had a minor struggle having to reach for the screws after we lifted it. With the correct drilling measurements, however, it was very easy to latch on to the pre-drilled holes. Also, it helps to keep the leg down when mounting it to the wall. Enjoy! We know we will!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
looks nice, poor quality
 from Gillette, WY,  Sep 25, 2012

I love the idea of this desk, it seemed perfect for our needs. And pulling it out of the box, it looked great. But we soon found that one of the interior paper slots was totally torn apart and had fallen out - something you cannot put back in. Also, when folding the desk up and down, the support leg constantly fell out of its' slot and we had to fit it back into the pegs where it belongs. This happened EVERY TIME we folded it up or down. The finish was also rippling in 2 places, one very visible on the writing surface. This has a lot of previous great reviews, so maybe it was just our bad luck that we got a lemon, but this is not something I would recommend.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? right on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love them
 from horatio, arkansas,  Aug 18, 2010

i saw a desk like this in a furniture magazine for around $180.00 so i decided to look for the same desk for a better price. i was looking for this desk to put in my living room so my daughters could do their homework but could fold away when not in use. since the desk was cheaper on overstock i decided to get two. i am very satisfied with the end results. i found a book shelf to go in between the desks and it looks like one unit. i helped my husband mount the desks on the wall. very solid need two people to do it. and you do want to measure where you want them and have screws ready to put in place when you get ready to mount. you also want to mount on a stud because it is a very solid, heavy piece of furniture. we also decided since the desks were for our children that we would put an extra set of screws just for safety measures. i ordered this product on a monday recieved them on a wednesday. my girls love their desks & i loved the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks better in Ad
 from Mid East Coast,  Jun 19, 2013

I hired a guy to come over and help me install it because I wanted to be sure to measure correctly, find the wall studs, mount it level and the right height from the floor, so as to make the table top level when opened. We took a few hours to get all that accomplished and mounted it exactly according to the instructions. We both agreed that the plastic expansion anchors were Not the best way to anchor something that heavy to a plaster wall, but that was what was supplied and suggested in the instructions. Less than an hour after my helper left, the whole thing fell off the wall, crashing on the hardwood floor and breaking the latch that holds the table top and legs up and closed. I contacted the supplier and she shipped me a new latch. The twisted hinge and scratches are a bonus I guess. The desk is built to good to have such a pathetic anchoring system to mount it. USE SCREWS to the studs.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color looks Ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The desk is kind'a light duty (20lb limit on top), but should work. Anchoring system is extremly light duty and will not hold it to wall. Use screws
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It is described Ok. I thought the base legs had glass in them though. Turns out they are a little flimsy because they don't!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Murphy Walnut Fold-out convertible Dest
 from Las Vegas NV,  May 21, 2014

Ok quality of workmanship but was exactly what I was needing for my small office

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
coolest little desk
 from dalton ga,  Apr 26, 2012

We had to down size because of economy.. got this desk as a space saver , It does what a big desk can do I just put my laptop and calculator at bottom after I close it . every one wants to know where did you get this ? I tell them overstock love it

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? on target
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality heavy wood
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good site to see
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it
 from Michigan,  Sep 29, 2010

The oak Murphy Desk looked even better in person than it did in the picture. There is a lot of storage space in such a small place. It was my first purchase from O.com and it came quickly and the price was lower than anywhere else I found this desk. I expect a friend may be ordering one as well. One word of warning, be sure the latch is completely open not to scratch the edge of the desk.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect!
 from Sunrise, FL,  Aug 7, 2010

Everything was just right: delivery speed, condition of desk, quality, color, installation - all top-notch! Love the style and quality of the desk; it looks to be worth way more than what was paid!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
As described
 from Denver, CO,  Jul 22, 2010

Very well made, beautiful finish, lightning fast delivery!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Upton Home Murphy Walnut Fold-Out Convertible Desk
 Jan 28, 2016

I'm just a bit disappointed with the workmanship, the trim was not glued on very well, it came off. Other than that it's just perfect for a small area, I have it in a spare bedroom.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I love my desk
 Jan 8, 2016

I really am enjoying my Murphy desk. It was a little difficult to hang on the wall because our house is new construction and the studs were hard to locate. We did have an issue with the screws that bolt the desk to the wall being too short. You should probably purchase 3" screws before you even start the job, because you'll have to stop in the middle and run to the store for more screws. I only complaint. My first unit came broken, but Overstock replaced it within 24 hours. Great job Tyler, thank you for the fast service.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
damaged
 Nov 27, 2015

damaged on delivery-, top completely cracked desk useless. apparently too late to exchange

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great but check it over.
 Nov 10, 2015

Awesome piece, but arrived with the dividers not secured. Some time and glue fixed the problem.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Desk
 Sep 20, 2015

This desk is so beautiful and seems to be very sturdy. My only issue is that it so heavy that it requires at minimum two people to hang. I haven't been able to set it up yet. I took off a star because the it chips easily, when I was trying to measure it to hang I noticed one of the corner rubbed aginst my wall and the coating came off. It's minor, but overall Iwould order this again, just would plan better regarding installation.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
perfect little desk
 Sep 17, 2015

First of all, i have to give two thumbs up to Overstock who had the two desks delivered by the next day. Not sure if this is the norm or not, but we were super excited. The quality is excellent. Solid wood. No weird smell like i read in one of the reviews. I did have a professional come and install it to my wall. It required a little more man power than i could supply. It took him all of 30 min to mount both desks and whala! I give this piece of furniture 5 stars for over exceeding my expectations AND for amazing delivery service.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice!
 Sep 2, 2015

Perfect for my small space--working at it right now. This looks good, and just suits my needs. It's great to just put work out of sight. You need to pare down your contents to keep it uncluttered.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hidden Gem
 Aug 27, 2015

Got this for a small vacation condo, really saves space and has become a conversation piece. I think just people seeing it has sold several more. Great value, solid

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful piece!
 Aug 27, 2015

Loved it! Worth the money, attractive, and well made. Would recommend.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 49 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought