Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 39 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
lovely and functional but stinky!
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Aug 1, 2011

This is a great idea. Very functional. Good quality. Well built. Heavy duty. The one down side -- an it's a big one, given that we've had it installed for months now and it has not dissapated -- is the odor. I've heard about formaldahyde in furniture, but this is ridiculous! This thing STINKS. It just smells bad and it's not going away. I leave it open to air out when I think of it, but still ... Love the item. Hate the smell. (Only noticable when open.) I would be five stars except for the smell. I've never had this problem with an item before ... ever.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It's darker than the photo which I liked.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Nice quality wood and outside hardware. Had to use upgraded hardware for installation.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate. As expected.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
WOW! Solid and Stylish.
 from Arkansas,  Apr 3, 2011

This desks are solid. They look great hanging on the wall. We bought two and they have replaced a big desk in a small room. The room looks spacious. If you're looking for quality and space saving design, I'd recommend them. I would suggest going to the local home improvement store and buy some lag screws to install in the studs of your wall. The screws provided seemed a little less than adequate for the weight of the desk... not to mention I have a flare up of the "Tim the Tool Man" Syndrome on occasion, so it might be over-kill.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
de-clutter!
 from Arlington, VA,  May 1, 2010

My husband and I are very happy with this purchase. I thought the walnut color might be too light for my espresso furniture in my 2nd bedroom but, it fit perfectly with the furniture and the paint we used for the wall. We just thought the black finish looked slightly cheap, so we took a leap of faith with the walnut and we don't regret it one bit! The measurements in the instructions for securing the screws to the wall were exactly as it should be. We recommend slipping the screws/washers into the wood *before* lifting it to the wall. The piece is heavy, so we had a minor struggle having to reach for the screws after we lifted it. With the correct drilling measurements, however, it was very easy to latch on to the pre-drilled holes. Also, it helps to keep the leg down when mounting it to the wall. Enjoy! We know we will!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
looks nice, poor quality
 from Gillette, WY,  Sep 25, 2012

I love the idea of this desk, it seemed perfect for our needs. And pulling it out of the box, it looked great. But we soon found that one of the interior paper slots was totally torn apart and had fallen out - something you cannot put back in. Also, when folding the desk up and down, the support leg constantly fell out of its' slot and we had to fit it back into the pegs where it belongs. This happened EVERY TIME we folded it up or down. The finish was also rippling in 2 places, one very visible on the writing surface. This has a lot of previous great reviews, so maybe it was just our bad luck that we got a lemon, but this is not something I would recommend.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? right on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love them
 from horatio, arkansas,  Aug 18, 2010

i saw a desk like this in a furniture magazine for around $180.00 so i decided to look for the same desk for a better price. i was looking for this desk to put in my living room so my daughters could do their homework but could fold away when not in use. since the desk was cheaper on overstock i decided to get two. i am very satisfied with the end results. i found a book shelf to go in between the desks and it looks like one unit. i helped my husband mount the desks on the wall. very solid need two people to do it. and you do want to measure where you want them and have screws ready to put in place when you get ready to mount. you also want to mount on a stud because it is a very solid, heavy piece of furniture. we also decided since the desks were for our children that we would put an extra set of screws just for safety measures. i ordered this product on a monday recieved them on a wednesday. my girls love their desks & i loved the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks better in Ad
 from Mid East Coast,  Jun 19, 2013

I hired a guy to come over and help me install it because I wanted to be sure to measure correctly, find the wall studs, mount it level and the right height from the floor, so as to make the table top level when opened. We took a few hours to get all that accomplished and mounted it exactly according to the instructions. We both agreed that the plastic expansion anchors were Not the best way to anchor something that heavy to a plaster wall, but that was what was supplied and suggested in the instructions. Less than an hour after my helper left, the whole thing fell off the wall, crashing on the hardwood floor and breaking the latch that holds the table top and legs up and closed. I contacted the supplier and she shipped me a new latch. The twisted hinge and scratches are a bonus I guess. The desk is built to good to have such a pathetic anchoring system to mount it. USE SCREWS to the studs.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color looks Ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The desk is kind'a light duty (20lb limit on top), but should work. Anchoring system is extremly light duty and will not hold it to wall. Use screws
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It is described Ok. I thought the base legs had glass in them though. Turns out they are a little flimsy because they don't!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Murphy Walnut Fold-out convertible Dest
 from Las Vegas NV,  May 21, 2014

Ok quality of workmanship but was exactly what I was needing for my small office

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
coolest little desk
 from dalton ga,  Apr 26, 2012

We had to down size because of economy.. got this desk as a space saver , It does what a big desk can do I just put my laptop and calculator at bottom after I close it . every one wants to know where did you get this ? I tell them overstock love it

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? on target
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality heavy wood
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good site to see
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it
 from Michigan,  Sep 29, 2010

The oak Murphy Desk looked even better in person than it did in the picture. There is a lot of storage space in such a small place. It was my first purchase from O.com and it came quickly and the price was lower than anywhere else I found this desk. I expect a friend may be ordering one as well. One word of warning, be sure the latch is completely open not to scratch the edge of the desk.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect!
 from Sunrise, FL,  Aug 7, 2010

Everything was just right: delivery speed, condition of desk, quality, color, installation - all top-notch! Love the style and quality of the desk; it looks to be worth way more than what was paid!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
As described
 from Denver, CO,  Jul 22, 2010

Very well made, beautiful finish, lightning fast delivery!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Space Saver
 May 5, 2015

Love this wall desk. Saves my floor space, very sturdy and designed very well.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

The quality of this desk is good. Most of all we enjoy the fact that it can be put away with ease. It looks good and serves it's purpose well. The price is fair.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Desk
 Mar 31, 2015

I have had this desk for years and it is a high quality and durable desk. I received compliments on it all the time because no one had ever seen a murphy desk before. Great desk if you are trying to conserve space!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not good
 Mar 12, 2015

poor quality, came damaged, seemed like it would be hard to hang on the wall too. Returned this item and bought a different desk.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ag
 Mar 11, 2015

Really nice and compact works for a small space

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not bad
 Feb 27, 2015

when I opened it,.some parts were damaged . I fixed it by my self.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I got this for our file room at work because we only had a small amount of space. Love it so I am getting one for home!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I bought this for my teenage daughter who didn't want a desk to take of space in her room. So far, this has worked perfectly. It isn't an eye sore on the wall and she's had no problems opening and closing it etc. After reading the other reviews, we looked at the mounting hardware closely and decided to get bigger wall screws and to put a wooden brace at the bottom of the wall unit. Both the brace and the desk were drilled directly into studs and seem really secure. We also made sure that our daughter knows not to put more than 20 lbs on the desk at any time as that is the weight supported according to the directions. I could see how a smaller child could accidentally pull the desk off the wall if they leaned on it continuously to get other items etc. Overall so far am happy with it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

First, kudos to staff at Overstock as the first one delivered was damaged in delivery. I UPS'd it back and 2 days later a new one was delivered. Great job! Second, the desk itself is a bit darker (walnut finish) than pictured, but not much. Third and most important: The screws used to mount it are too short in my opinion (2") as they have 1/2" of the desk to go through and then 1/2" sheetrock before penetrating the wood stud. I went with 2 1/2" deck screws with washers. 3 of the mounts are 2 top and 1 bottom left, all should be in wall studs. The directions have a 4th screw mount using a tiny L bracket with tiny screw into the base of the desk to mount in the middle along the bottom edge, using a plastic sheet rock anchor for the wall part of the L - I used their tiny L with their tiny screw into the base, but used a 4th deck screw (2 1/2") into a stud on that lower right side.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 39 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought