For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 60 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Awesome
 from San Diego, Ca,  Dec 30, 2010

I recently hosted a cocktail party and the fireplace received more compliments than the food I served. It's chique and very modern design in addition to its practicality gets my two thumbs up. It was very easy to assemble and it fits well in very limited space not to mention it actually gives off heat. I didnt notice any notable smell or exhaust from the flames. Great product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous fireplace
 from NYC,  Nov 8, 2011

We bought this to use for both our indoor and outdoor spaces. It's gorgeous, and even quite a bit larger than we thought it would be. Only issue so far is that the gel flames leave a very strong odor as they burn, so we've decided to use it outdoor only. That's the only disappointment though, and I'll continue to hunt for better gel to use.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful, Substantial, Exactly Like Images
 from Phoenix, AZ,  Jan 18, 2012

I have a modern "loft" condo. I put this in the center of a polished concrete coffee table, with a white leather couch surrounding. The idea is that it would be a conversation piece when we had guests over, and a nice "family night" thing like a campfire. Assembly with 20 minutes, 2 people. Quality of all parts is high. Just as it does in the picture, it looks like a cross between a candle and a fireplace. The three of them add to this effect. It crackle subtly, and generates quite a bit of heat out the top. I have sprinklers in my unit, with high ceilings, so I ran a fan just in CASE it caused a problem. Reason this gets 4 stars is more related to the "technology" of the cans. They are smelly when you open and turn off. Not when burning. I would never put this next to a wall, for soot as well as heat/fire issues, but that is me. I didn't observe any soot on the glass walls. I've only used once. But there is a fair amount of "work" getting cans out, taking paper off, prying lids off (like paint cans), carefully putting them in, lighting with a long wand or match, etc. Surely I wouldn't want to do this for more than special occasions. So I think the perfect use of this is for that... for occasional use. Plus you have to realize that the BURNING COST PER HOUR is about $4.50 per hour. Plus your "labor" in setup. I can't compare to other fuel sources. By the way, this would be spectacular on a covered porch or balcony. Or in the center of a room at a party. And frankly in a commercial setting like a restaurant, etc. It's very elegant. I AM a bit concerned with little kids if I use this a lot, what the residue in the air is, regardless of the manufacturer's recommendation. Just like I wouldn't cook smores over "instalight" logs.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very High Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sleek minimalist design
 from Rancho Palos Verdes, CA,  Jun 21, 2012

An excellent fit for my midcentury modern house. I sealed the fireplace flu since it was very drafty and so don't use the gas, let alone burn any logs. This is the perfect peice to place flush with the fireplace facade, while offering an elegant way to use large 4" diameter candles, which I found for $10 at Ikea. It was also a great value as custom glass doors would have been far more expensive. This offers a way to actually use the space in a more interesing way with using candles.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? N/A
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Better than expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is a better design
 from Irvine, CA,  Dec 24, 2010

I purchased a different style table fireplace and had problem with the gel fuel. So I returned both gel fuel and the fireplace to Overstock. After I bought a same style fireplace as this from a local store using liquid fuel. I found a problem with the stainless gets burned marks. The marks are permanent. This fireplace looks like a better design using gel fuel in the can. After they are burned, just throw the cans away and there won't be any dark brown burned marks on the stainless steel. I am going to buy one for my livingroom.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it
 from Chicagoland Area,  Sep 12, 2010

This fireplace is awesome! Very modern and sleek. Very easy to put together and very easy to maintain and clean. Loved it so much that I just purchased a second one for my office. Just can't wait to get it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Classy conversation piece
 from Florida,  Jan 5, 2013

I've had this fireplace for almost 2 years now and it still looks as beautiful as it did the first day I took it out of the box. It is a very classy conversation piece that not only is aesthetically pleasing but also provides a graceful ambience with candles or gel fuel. I personally prefer the candles over the gel fuel because of the characteristics the candles take on while burning and while dormant. It's more unpredictable, and to me, that's more appealing. I had it in NYC indoors for over a year and it's currently in FL on the balcony and has done exceptionally well with the elements. I spend about 2 minutes a week touching up the glass and the chrome to keep it looking flawless. You will not regret this purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Outstanding quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Modern Muse
 from Owings Mills, MD,  Aug 1, 2011

This magnificent mobile structure is a trendseting conversation piece. It sets a tone of elegance and provides actual warmth. I love the clean lines and sophistication of this fireplace. I plan to order an additional one.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Definite Match, clear glass
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The engineering in the framwork is superb. Initially I thought the glass would look too industrial. But after putting in together, it draws a fine line between modern and industrial. The glow is so amazing and odorless when you use the recommended glo fuel.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Dead ON!!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stunning!
 from Scottsdale, AZ,  Jun 27, 2011

This fireplace is just gorgeous!! I love it! I would suggest having 2 people put it together. It's easy to build, but the glass panes are extremely heavy (and I'm quite strong). It would be very easy to accidentally knock a pane over while putting it together. Great buy and beautiful workmanship.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Superb
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
best purchase ever from overstock
 from Westbloomfield,Mi,  Apr 3, 2013

This is an amazing fireplace!!!! best purchase I have ever made from this site. I purchased the fire gel fuel and while burning it did not have a smell at all...after it burned all the way down it did smell but just for about 25 min. The only thing I didn't like is that the gel fuel burned out within 4 hours, and is pricey...and I did purchase the 13oz.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very very nice!
 from los angeles ca,  Feb 1, 2013

Great portable indoor fireplace. If you are looking for a conversation piece then this is it. It definitely adds a modern flare to any room, and adds elegance to any decor. I was concerned about placing the unit on a console table underneath my flat screen ( which is mounted on the wall) because of the heat it gives off but so far it has had no effect on the television and the heat is minimal output. The fuel is pricy and hard to get in stores (ive only been able to receive it through websites) and the cheapest lve found is real flame fire gel. So in Conclusion, overall this is a great buy but be prepared to spend money on the fuel. My suggestion is to buy the 24 package of fuel and light mostly on special occasions since the fireplace doesn't realllllllly give off that much heat, youll save money and enjoy the ambiance longer.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? on point
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. so far great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? on point
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fabulous
 from cleveland,  Jan 6, 2013

I looked at 100's of similar gel fireplaces, and this is without question the best for the price. I have gotten many compliments (recent guest took a pic). Very easy assembly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love this fireplace
 from New York, NY,  Nov 12, 2012

I love this fireplace. It's very modern looking. It's a perfect size for a living room apartment. I put it together myself (plz note that I am a 100lb female!) and it took me abt 30mins max. The gels that I am using on this are real flame which don't really smell but are red in color so you can see red gel when it's burning. Also, some people mentioned that there is always a residue gel left at the bottom. I found that if you stir it up before act using them they will burn all the way to the bottom of the can. I love having a fireplace in my NY apartment. It creates a great atmosphere and ambiance. So, highly recommend this product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? true
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stylish but not completely functional
 from San Francisco, CA,  Sep 21, 2010

An excellently designed modern fireplace that would certainly be beautiful in any home. The only unfortunate thing is that it is not built with a burner. Having to put gel ethanol burners / candles in it seems at times, silly..

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful, modern.
 from Brooklyn NY,  Aug 16, 2014

Really great price for such a nice stainless piece. Actually much bigger than I expected, but still fits and is not too deep. Beautiful.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful, classy, modern piece
 from Boston, MA,  Dec 21, 2013

After I found this fireplace on Overstock I couldn't stop thinking about it and eventually splurged. It's a gorgeous piece that enhances any room. It's even more beautiful when lit. Since the fuel (another product entirely) is rather expensive I only light it about once every two weeks. It gives off a little heat but only if you're close to it so it's purely for asthetics. It's wonderful to be able to have a real fire in my apartment. I use pilar candles in lieu of fuel regularly. This will do just fine until I buy my house with a real wood fireplace. In fact, I'll move this to my bedroom then. Speaking of which, it will take two people to move this around safely, and never move it after you've lit your gel fuel. Enjoy!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Fireplace
 from Centreville, VA,  Dec 15, 2013

My husband and I have owned this fireplace for a year now and I have only great things to say about it. We bought a new house last year and really wanted a fireplace but unfortunately ended up falling in love with a house that didn't have a fireplace. I found this one on overstock and purchased it after reading good reviews. I have to say I don't miss the traditional fireplace w/mantel as this is very portable and has a modern feel. We are a young couple and host lots of gatherings in our home and everyone is always impressed with the modern design and the heat that it throws off. It is definitely ALWAYS a topic of conversation when people see it for the first time. Aside from the look of this fireplace it really came in handy when we lost power last winter and had no heat. We lit this fireplace up and moved it to the entry way so that it would throw heat upstairs and it did just that in about 30 minutes. It was a lifesaver when we were stuck in a home without heat. Overall I recommend this fireplace and would say stop thinking about it and just buy it, you won't regret it.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very good unit, sturdy and stylish
 from Atlanta, GA,  Dec 7, 2013

Well packed and easy to assemble, looks great ....................................

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
HEAVY TO HANDLE BUT DECORATIVE
 from MEXICO CITY, MX,  Oct 7, 2013

IT IS CLEAR THAT IT SHOULD ONLY BE POSTED AS A DECORATIVE ITEM RATHER THAN A FIREPLACE.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Buy!
 from Lynwood, IL suburb of Chicago,  Sep 23, 2013

I love this fireplace! it looks great. Very easy to use indoors and outdoors. it's sturdy and well made. I was in the market for a wall mount fireplace and at the last minute decided on this one......I'm glad I did. I'm able to move this one from the patio to my bedroom easily.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 60 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top