Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Ugh.
 from Rhode Island,  Jul 18, 2012

I have been searching for an entryway bench and thought I had found the perfect one. At 68 lbs. delivery weight that I wrestled into the house, I thought this one would be sturdy and serve me for a long time. Assembly instructions are a bit vague, which is common, however, even fully assembled, the bench leans precariously. The bins are tiny and relatively useless, unless you want to use it for one or two pair of ladies gloves or a few papers. We are going to attempt to fix it by purchasing larger dowels and perhaps gluing them in to offer more support. If not, we will be trashing this and going to a furniture store which, in hindsight, I probably should have done at the onset.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color was fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. unstable, smaller than it appears, dowels too small, cheap, my son won't sit on it for fear it will fall apart.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Kelly blk beanch
 from Florida,  Sep 21, 2012

After reading the previous review I was hesitant to buy this bench. But I had been looking for a while and could'nt find anything and this was the perfect size. It came in 3 days and my husband and I put it together in about 30 minutes. It is very cute. and fits perfect in my mud room. If you have half a brain it is not hard at all to put together and looks just like the pictute

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very nice for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice looking!
 from Blaine, MN,  Dec 9, 2012

Easy to assemble, however my husband had to make the slots bigger with a saw where the shoes go in because they were not accurate. Other than that it looks like great quality and expensive looking.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I love this item
 from Clarksville, TN,  Nov 21, 2012

I am very happy with this product, only down sized is that i have to put it together and the instructions were no really clear. After 3.5 hours I was able to figure it out.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as it looked on the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
decons bench
 from ND,  Jan 3, 2014

This is a nice product and very useful, but extremely hard to assemble. and I have done these assemblies for a living before.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wobbly
 from New Jersey,  Dec 31, 2013

The dowels were too small and fit loosely so the bench was not sturdy. The customer service department sent us to a hardware store to buy products to help solve the problem, but nothing worked. We returned the bench. Very disappointing!

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Paint Chips Easily on Corners
 from Chicago,  Nov 13, 2013

I liked the style of the bench and its size. However, the paint chips off of the corners very easily. I had dinged up both corners just putting it together. It is also a pain to put together.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's ok
 from Scarsdale, NY,  Oct 20, 2013

I received the wrong color in the first delivery and OS had to replace it with the black one. It was a pain to put it together (I did it myself) as the little small pieces of wood doesn't stay in place to hold the boards together. I almost gave up (and I'm no novice when it comes to assembling furniture, etc...) but the thought of having to repackage the whole thing was even more unbearable. The shoe slots are quite narrow but good enough for flat house-slippers when squished together...or just have only 1 shoe in each slot. The cushion on the bench is very thin and slide about so you'd need something like a sticky carpet-stay to "secure" it.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Compartments could be larger
 from Fullerton, CA,  Oct 12, 2013

You can put the bench together by yourself, however, you do need to be creative. Said this review is coming from an engineer. The material seems structurally sound, however, the QC from the manufacturer needs improvement. - the included dowels are loose; take for instance XXXX products you would need a rubber mallet to tap in the dowels and the ones included free float. - like a few reviews prior, this product can be made better with some hardware from your local hardware store. I purchased some 4X L joints and 8X corner joints. I wished the manufacturers came with these structural hardware

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very versatile bench!
 from Eagan, MN,  Apr 30, 2013

This bench is perfect for what I wanted -- a place to store my handheld weights in my living room. This keeps them organized and out of the way until I need them. The bench top and pad also provide an extra sitting area. Very nice.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very solid and seems to be heavy duty.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Seemed right on.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
perfect entryway bench
 from tulsa. ok,  Apr 30, 2013

Overstock delivered quickly as usual. Two of the top corners were very damaged; broken off pieces of wood from transport. I am 2 busy to return and get another so I opted to keep it. I used black Sharpie marker to cover the flaws and with the pillow seat on top out harder to notice unless you get really close. The cubby's are a little smaller than expected. My children are ages 6,8,10 and only one shoe (instead of the pair) fits into one cubbyhole. Flip flops (the pair) fit into one but that's all. I like the clutter off the entryway floor and into the cubby.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks nice, need 4 hands to assemble
 from Reno, NV,  Mar 4, 2013

The instructions aren't very clear on which way is up on all pieces, be leery of the top and bottom. It is labeled on a few pieces. The stickers labeling the pieces don't come off very easily and this wood scratches easily as well. Once it is together it is a nice piece and looks great. I was a little disappointed with the wicker drawers breaking a bit when you put the bottom of the drawer in. My husband wears a size 14 and his shoes fit one in each cubby. My son's shoes and my shoes fit nicely, a pair in one cubby. Fitting the pieces together was a little frustrating by myself, I would have one side in perfectly and the other side would fall out of place... once my husband helped it was easier to get it together.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is excellent.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is nice, but the wood scratches easily during installation. Also the wicker baskets did not hold up very well when you put the bottom of the drawer in, the corners of the wicker broke off a bit.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate description on the site
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Kelly entry bench
 from Idaho,  Feb 22, 2013

I really love this bench, it fits perfectly in my entry way and its not too large for the limited space I have. The quality is nice, and its sturdy too. It took my husband about 45 minutes to put it together because there are a lot of pieces, but once it's put together right it's very sturdy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color compared very accurate to the color on the site
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I was very impressed with the quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description of the product was very accurate on the site
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it.
 from Bay Area,  Nov 8, 2012

It took me a few hours to have it installed but I love the end product. There was some scuff at the side when I received it but nothing a permanent marker couldn't hide.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Spot on.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This bench is perfect for my hallway!
 from Houston, Texas,  Nov 7, 2012

The size and color are just like the picture. This is perfect for my needs. The shoe spaces are not wide but since it is deep the one pair of shoes fits pretty good. The bench is sturdy and looks nice not cheap like others I have seen. I was able to put it together within 1 hour pretty easy. This bench is just what I was looking for :-)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great! The cushion is a little thin but overall I am happy with it
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? just like described
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Three hour, three person, shoe cubby
 from OK,  Oct 30, 2012

Have ordered many things from Overstock over many years.Have had very few problems. This is by far the worse experience of any and all orders. The directions were sparse. There was no easy assembly ! Three adults, one of which is aircraft analyst, yet after three hours of little wooden pegs falling off and not aligning and the cam locks not working with included cam screws due to items having no proper set length or markings. My easy little bench is still in as many parts as when delivered .The only thing different is I have been banned, by son and husband, from making any purchases on line that "requires some assembly ! "We build many things, we run a small ranch,the point is we build and have tools, this should have been simple and yet is not simple, pleasing or a project that we feel can ever be completed. This project requires a minimum of three people to try to hold and align it at the same time and yet it still will not pull together.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? spray is spotty
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very cheaply made
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Mine is still in pieces, have no idea.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what we wanted!
 from Napa, CA,  Oct 16, 2012

We are very pleased with our purchase. It was pretty tricky to put together, it took two people, but once it was together, it's great! It is very sturdy, the color is very close to what is portrayed in the description. A good buy!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very close.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Wooden Shoe Bench wth Cushion and Storage
Today $138.41
Compare $205.60
Save 33%
Entry Hall Storage
Today $103.94
Compare $160.52
Save 35%
Broadway Black Shoe Storage Cubbie Bench
Today $138.99
Compare $224.64
Save 38%
(125)
Back to top