Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 107 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Wouldnt buy again or recommend.
 from Sheboygan, WI,  Feb 29, 2012

Not happy with it. Doesnt look how I wanted and isnt the greatest of quality. Wont buy here again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Awful Color. Not oak at all looks more like cherry
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Its fair.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Color was terrible. Overall description was ok.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pretty Junky
 from Florida,  Aug 13, 2012

OK, so I guess you can't expect too much for less than $200 these days, but this made-in-Chine (surprise) "solid birch" cabinet is actually made of fragile particle board with a cardboard back. The first of the white-metal cam-locks that hold the thing together broke when I tried to install it, and it comes with no extras. The wooden parts had various dents and dings in them, and I would have sent it all back if it weren't just too much trouble to do so. The paper-thin veneer trim on the face of the glass doors is actually split all the way through in one place and would not have passed any self-respecting inspector in a U.S. factory, I suspect. Upon assembly, which is a bit of a pain with vague instructions, the fit and finish is poor, with doors that don't line up and one that scrapes the top of the cabinet. Cheap screws strip easily and pucker the particle board when pre-drilled holes don't line up with hardware, etc. You get what you pay for, but if you want to buy something this junky, go to Wal-Mart or Kmart and see in person what you are buying before you fork over the cash. BTW, I bought another media cabinet from Overstock a while back for twice the price, and the shelves are already sagging badly from the (not much) weight of some DVDs. Thought before ordering this that maybe I'd just picked out a bad product that time and the "solid birch" would be better, but I thought wrong. -- MQ

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not so good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fair
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pain
 from SLC, UT,  Jan 25, 2008

The instructions were very difficult to follow; the pictures were not in connection with the step-by-step instructions. Also once assembled it┬┐s wobbly, if you have small children it should be anchored to the wall.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product for the price
 from Knoxville, TN,  Oct 5, 2011

This is a really pretty piece, the first piece of furniture we've ever bought online. We had some issue with a damaged door but Overstock's customer service department took care of it right away. We found it very easy to put together, took us just under an hour. We regret not purchasing a second!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
quality
 from michigan,  Sep 23, 2010

I bought two of these to hold our massive dvd collection. They both worked. Little darker finish then I was hoping for but overall I am happy with them. No missing parts. Extras included for both sets. Finish throughout was consistent and no marks were made during shipment. Easy to essemble and mount to the wall so our toddler can't tip them over. Only thing I wish it had was a hinge lock on the outside instead of pull knobs for the door. Kids can get into them easily.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poorly made, low quality
 from Orem, Utah,  Sep 10, 2007

When the cabinet arrived, many pieces looked used. There were wear spots on the shelves. Four pieces of hardware were missing from the packaging. Overstock customer support told me it would be another week until they could deliver new hardware. Two of the other pieces were defective -- one camlock broke as we tried to use it and one of the screws had no threads. This cabinet did not seem to go through any quality control. This cabinet is definitely NOT worth the money.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Okay, but with some caveats.
 from California,  Apr 5, 2014

Okay for an inexpensive media cabinet, but the quality is a little below average. Not too difficult to assemble if you have some mechanical abilities. The back panel is supplied in two pieces with a piece of tape holding them together from the back side. This aids in packaging the unit into a smaller envelope size, but takes away from the structural integrity of the unit while the back panel is screwed to the back of the unit . I would recommend placing two steel straps on the back from corner to corner to help with this design weakness, or a couple of flat metal brackets to hold the two back panel pieces together and attached to the back of the shelves. The oak laminate is very thin, too thin, and I can already see the laminate peeling off from some of the edges along the front of the unit. Don't try to move the unit after it is filled with DVD's as you may experience a structural failure. Lastly, one of the doors appeared to have been warped so I received a replacement from the seller. It turns out that the predrilled holes for the hinges were not drilled square with the door as the replacement exhibited the same problem. Now I have to try and figure out how to make it square. From far away, the cabinet looks attractive enough, though it does appear to be darker than the picture on Overstock's website. It's worth the money even though I have had to work through some of these annoyances.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This media cabinet is a little difficult to assemble, but it is really a nice cabinet for the price. It's darker than I thought, but goes fine with the rest of my furniture. I would recommend this if you are looking for something simple to store your cd's and/or DVD's.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointed
 from DE,  Dec 27, 2010

It looks nice, but not as sturdy as I expected. I did not see any mention of the fact that the cabinet must be anchored to a wall (preferably with one anchor in a stud) in the product description. This is essential information dependind on where you want to place it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I was so excited when I got this product; shipping was super fast......and then I opened it. The instructions were overly wordy as well as confusing, the diagrams two pages away from pertinent directions (if any at all were available), and the veneer was damaged in several locations. It took a total of four hours to assemble this piece, and that's after remembering my drill about an hour and a half into the ordeal! Holes were missing, or in the wrong place. Several pieces weren't even mentioned in the directions, though they were shown in diagrams... And once I was finally finished putting the silly thing together, I discovered that there was absolutely no way I could have it on carpeted floors without anchoring it to the wall! To make matters worse, the screws provided to anchor it into the wall didn't fit the anchors!! I got nearly to the point of tears out of sheer frustration.Finished, if you overlook the dings and scuffs that were visible as soon as I opened the package, the piece is lovely. Don't get me wrong; it'd be much better in real, solid wood. It's a fantastic display cabinet for all the little odds and ends we seem to accumulate, and the size is perfect for what we need... but the sheer frustration, plus the visible wear and tear that it started off with? I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone, be they friend, stranger, or enemy. Spend the extra few bucks for a better quality piece, you won't regret it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Glass Paneled 6-shelf Oak Media Cabinet
 from St. Louis, MO,  Nov 30, 2007

We purchased this cabinet to use for our DVD and CD collections. It looks great in the living room. But, it came with a few flaws: Pieces missing, damaged shelfs, one undrilled hole. The cabinet had lots of pieces to be put together. My husband is handy at putting stuff together so it was not a problem for him. After contacting the company about replacement parts, they sent a shelf with the wrong finish. After a quick call to them it was taken care of. I should be getting the correct shelf in a few days. Overall, we are pleased but do wish the product had more solid wood in it and not fabricated material. I would have been glad to pay extra for a better-made product. I guess this cabinet will last for a few years before it shows much wear and tear considering it is not constructed of solid wood on all parts.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

If you have a lot of time to put this together and are very very very patient, by all means buy it, because it looks pretty nice. I had to drill quite a few of my own holes and do a lot of creative "fitting" of the pieces though because many of the holes do not line up, or, where they do line up, it creates a lopsided piece.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A nigtmare from start to finish
 from Utah,  May 18, 2007

This product took hours to assemble. There are hundreds of bits and pieces to put together. However the worst part is that once assembled the cabinet tiltled forward. The boards making up the sides of the cabinet were uneven. A dangerous hazard considering the weight of the item and that it has glass doors! After all that work, we disassembled it immediately for fear someone would bump into it and it would fall over!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wow super set
 Jun 19, 2015

This looksikr I have finally found what I leave been looking for!!! A lot of storage! Very excited to get it fina

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
media cabinet
 May 31, 2015

a bit smaller than i thought but over all great quality and holds a lot of dvd/cds

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Buyer
 Apr 24, 2015

A very fine looking cabinet. I am very impressed with the product and the ease of assembly. So much, that I am going to order a second unit.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I highly recommend this product to all types of consumers. A discerning eye will see that it is not a $1,000 bookcase... but it does fit in nicely in my family room full of Stickley furniture. It arrived nicely packed, on time and looks like it did on-line. You do have to put it together and the instructions could be better but I managed to get through it and I'm not the most adept person with a set of tools.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
NICE
 Apr 4, 2015

It's exactly what I was looking for. Very cute and functional. Not real sturdy, but looks just like the photo.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pretty media cabinet
 from High Point, NC,  Jan 17, 2015

I really enjoyed the styling of this piece that I bought two of them. After downsizing but not ready to give up my music, I really enjoy the wood and the glass doors to create stylish organized space for collections.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice cabinets.
 from Atascadero, Ca,  Dec 31, 2014

Quality for the price is really good. Takes a while to assemble these but the end product is worth the effort, I purchased a second one once I finished assembling the first.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 107 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought