Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 201 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 11 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Convenient But Expensive
 from New Jersey,  Jan 6, 2012

Using these FireGlo Fuel cans with a gel fuel Fireplace is extremely convenient. because the upfront costs are so low. However, if you live in colder climates like up here in the Northeast, the fuel can solution gets pricey. During the winter, I like to spark up the fire in order to warm up the house quickly. The forced air we have takes a little while to bring up the temperature but running the gel fireplace quickens the process. The cans generally don't produce a smell UNTIL they get to the end of the can. Then they generally produce a propane-like smell. The cans last about 2 hours to 2 3/4 hours. So burning the fireplace all day is usually not an option because it would be to costly. I normally only use the gel fuel when there is a chill in the air I want to knock out quickly or on special occasions. I have also noticed a darkening of our olive-colored paint and ceiling above our wall-mounted gel fireplace. The cans do provide a good amount of heat and they allow me to warm up the (part of the) house quicker than just using our forced-air heat. I also enjoy the crackling sound produced by the bubbles in the can. It actually sounds better than a real fire. Overall, the cans produce a good amount of heat and ambiance but they are very expensive to use often or for long periods of time.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? NA
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The cans are generally in good shape although at times there is rust inside when you open them.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description is mostly accurate butI have noticed a darkening of our olive-colored paint and ceiling above our wall-mounted gel fireplace.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I don't understand
 from Pennsylvania,  Dec 25, 2011

I don't understand how so many people gave this glowing reviews. I just set up everything for my wife (xmas present) in the bedroom and the smell that radiated was chemically'. The gel itself smelled like strong alcohol which was fine, but when activated for 5 minutes, the room became covered in this awful chemical smell. It was unbearable and terrifying in a sense. I tried googling if this was normal or harmful but can't find an answer. We ended up capping the can and I am now searching for an electric fireplace. The one we picked is convertible so hopefully we can just find the proper insert because I dont plan on spending our nights fearing for the worst for a little atmosphere. That said, I have 23 unused cans if anyone would like them.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? other than stench
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
interesting product
 from Spring Lake, NJ,  Jan 5, 2012

The canisters emit an initial odor that is unpleasnt and repeat this again much more strongly as they are burning down to the end. The cans do not last as long as I had thought they would. You get about 2 to 2 and half hours max out of them. The plus is they really do produce a large and interesting flame pattern like a real fireplace would and it snaps and crackles while burning like real wood.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Product/Terrible Burnout
 from DC,  Jan 29, 2010

This product gives off heat and has a nice appearance, which is good. But, the downside to this is when you out the fuel fire. A nasty burning alcohol smell comes from the smoke. This causes a lot of work for me because my smoke alarm goes off and I have to end up opening the window for a while. Then I have to remind myself to close it. For an outdoor makeshift fireplace, this works. For indoors, not so much.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hope you want to paint your home!
 from NJ,  Feb 6, 2012

I was pleased with the amount of heat the cans gave off. We dropped down from 3 cans to 1 can. Crackle and flame are nice. Now for the down side...emits a heavy chemical smell when it burns down to the end. Who knows what we're breathing in. The soot discolored the white fireplace, walls and nearly everything in the room. We need to paint in the spring. Looking for an alternative.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
YUCK!
 from Chicago, IL,  Oct 21, 2011

this stuff positively stinks and I will never ever buy it again. hope i can get some that doesn't stink like this. cant imagine this is healthy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? STINKS!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. nice crackle sound,but stink is awful
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? no
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not thrilled.
 from South Jersey,  Jul 11, 2010

I used a different brand in the past, which I loved. I figured, how different can this new brand be. How about very different! Although the crackling of the flame was nice, my house was covered in soot. My air purifier filters turned black. Disgusting. I didn't smell the fuel while it burned, but it had an awful smell when it burned out. My recommendation is try a different brand. I can't imagine the other reviewers didn't experience the filth and smell.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fire Glow
 from Detroit , Michigan,  Dec 15, 2007

I was pleased to receive the Fire Glow. I was a little dissappointed after I opened the box I notice the cans had expired in Sept 2007 I received the cans in November. The cans did not last for three hours. The performance of the cans are great though. Oh and just be careful putting out the fire!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Favorite gel fuel!
 from Long Island NY,  Sep 28, 2013

This happens to be my favorite gel fuel brand. I have purchased many other brands in the past. Just not having to peel the label off of every can is enough to get my vote!! Many people complain of the gel fuel cans giving off a horrible odor. The trick is to keep the lid and after a couple hours of burning, replace the lid back onto the can when there is about 1/4to1/2 inch of gel still in the can. The odors comes when the can is permitted to burn til the end!! Also you can't beat Overstocks great prices and quick delivery times!!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Its fuel. It burns
 from Houston, Tx.,  Jun 2, 2013

It works as expected and I get about 45 mins out of one can which is perfectly acceptable. The big downside is the horrible smell once the fuel runs out. It definitely kills the romance when the girl looks up and asks if its supposed to smell like that.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best Price
 from New York, NY,  Aug 20, 2010

These are the the fuel cans necessary for indoor fireplace. After checking many different websites I realized - as usual Overstock has the best prices!!! When in doubt, Overstock will beat the rest out!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
FireGlo Fuel
 from Kennedale, TX,  Oct 1, 2008

In order to use the logs that I purchased form my fireplace, I have to have gel fuel. I purchased the log set last year to be used over the winter and purchased the gel fuel with them. When I wanted to purchase more fuel I found that there was only one place to buy them and they were overpriced. I was very glad to find them available at a considerably lower price from Overstock.com. I really enjoy the log set and the ease of using the gel fuel. Since a member of my family has asthma, it is not possible to burn wood logs in the fireplace. I've found the alternative to be very enjoyable.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
fireglow fuel
 from Kansas,  Mar 30, 2008

Works well. Does crackle just like the reviews said. It also puts out heat. Would definitely recommend this product

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love my fire
 from florida,  Mar 6, 2014

I have used fireglo for years and love the fire crackle nose with no mess

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love these things
 from Beverly, MA,  Mar 4, 2014

These cans do put off some significant heat after they get going...and they do provide the illusion of a real fire (complete with the odd crackle here and there). Some of the cans were dented and they have the same type of seal found on paint cans, so they can be tricky to open if you don't have the right tools handy to do so. Either way...they are a great deal for my wife and I and we enjoy the ambiance and warmth they lend to our sunroom.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Could burn hotter
 from Dallas, TX,  Feb 7, 2014

Does not provide as much heat as the Real Flame cans, but it's good.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Unhappy
 from San Angel, TX,  Feb 4, 2014

My first purchase is my last purchase with this company. In addition to what I purchased I receive another shipment of another brand name gel fuel. No one in the company knows why I received it or how I am being billed for it. This is a poorly run company and my trust is now broken after my first purchase.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Old Cans :(
 from Upper Marlboro, Maryland,  Feb 3, 2014

Sorry, but I was a little disappointed in this product this time - - because I believe these were old cans. I have ordered this producet many times, from you as well as other vendors and have never encountered MOLD around the top rim and inside cap of the cans. The burn was okay, but gave off a funny smell n the beginning. Then I noticed the usual smell of the ethenol. Also, it could have been my imagination - - but I could swear that they did not burn the normal 3 hours. At one point in time, I remember saying, "Is that one going out already?" it was a little weird that a can of Ethnol gel could grow mold and how did it grow? So this time around I have to give you low scores on this product. Maybe I should order them from someone else.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for gel indoor fire place
 from sc,  Jan 20, 2014

Burns clean and is practically odorless. Easy to open and easy clean up.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Thesecans last almost 3 hours
 from michigan,  Jan 18, 2014

overall they are nice, but very hard to open. Need a strong can opener, not a screwdriver.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 201 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 11 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top