Why the low ratings in some categories? Because the quality of the construction is less than I expected. It's a nice design and looks great, unless you look closely.I settled for the second unit that was shipped as the first one was damaged. That said, the second unit had some of the same issues (wall hung unit). Seams that dont quite meet or fit properly and scratches in the finish. Instead of trying for a third time, Overstock gave me a credit, so I was happy with that. I honestly considered spray painting it black to hide the seams.The funcitonality is great and it does give off a little bit of heat. The gel fuel has an odor, so I've started burning candles at the same time I light the gel cans. The odor can be intense (especially) at the end of the gel life of each can (make sure you put the lids back on the cans right away to avoid some of this). It's clean and easy-to-use. The Gel Fuel can be pricey, expecially if you use this a lot.The one thing I absolutely hate is having to peel the labels off the gel fuel cans before lighting them. This is ridiculous. There's got to be a better way. I would be happy if the cans were shipped without labels with simply a disclosure in the top of the gel fuel case when you open it.Yes, I would buy another one. It is priced appropriately and it does exactly what you expect it to do.
This is a neat piece. However, it's not shiny at all, as the picture portrays. I have brushed steel in my home and thought it would compliment it well, but the fireplace is dull and porus and retains fingerprints easily. Also, the anchors that came with it were flimsy and didn't pop open on the other side of the wall. I had to go to the hardware store to get better anchors and screws. I think it looks very nice in my bedroom, it's just the surface is different than what I expected.
I just received my fireplace and I don't know if I'll keep it. First, I expected a polished satin finish as it appears in the photo. Instead, the surface is like a brushed steel painted mat finish. There is a slightly more than hair-thin gap where the top and sides meet and also the backing didn't go all the way to the edge on one side, so I could see straight thru. I haven't mounted it on the wall yet, but possibly at eye level or higher those gaps might not be so noticeable. I'm hoping that if I do have it replaced, the workmanship will be better. But if this is standard, than I have to say for overall quality and appearance, I feel that it should be half the price.
I purchased this a while ago - we are still decorating, and just opened the box. I am very disappointed in the fireplace. It looks cheap and has a very dull appearance. Over the weekend, I purchased silver leaf paint to bring it up to the standard I was expecting. I think I will move this to another room and purchase something else to replace it. Be careful if you are looking for the wow factor!
I only have one compliant regarding this fireplace. It was not high gloss as shown in picture. Other than that it.was exactly what I wanted. I had suggested a friend purchase it last year. She did get a high gloss fireplace looked great in her living room on a wooded wall so I had to have one.
Instead of using the gel fuel, can I burn bio-ethanol if I use a proper stainless steel canister?soraia2014 on Jul 3, 2014Please enter a valid question.Answer This Question
Thank you for contacting us soraia2014. We do not advise using any other product than FireGlo gel fuel. If using something other than gel fuel it will void all warranty.
Please let us know if you have any further questions.
overstockcustomercare1 on Jul 8, 2014
How do you wall mount this? There was nothing in the box that would make it so I can wall mount itdorothy1355 on Dec 26, 2012Please enter a valid question.Answer This Question
According to the instructions you drill 3 - 3/16 holes.
The hole is 7 3/4 inch from the edge and is spaced 7 and 1/8 inch between the holes.overstockcustomercare1 on Dec 26, 2012
Be the first to ask a question about this product.
Usually leaves our warehouse in 1 business day.
Standard Return Policy:
Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More details
FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.
This item cannot be shipped to Alaska or Hawaii.
Shop Overstock.com and find the best online deals on everything for your home and your family. We work every day to bring you discounts on new products across our entire store. Whether you're looking for memorable gifts or everyday essentials, you can buy them here for less. O.com Prices™