Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 71 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Happy With This Purchase
 from Palm Springs, CA,  Dec 19, 2008

Why the low ratings in some categories? Because the quality of the construction is less than I expected. It's a nice design and looks great, unless you look closely.I settled for the second unit that was shipped as the first one was damaged. That said, the second unit had some of the same issues (wall hung unit). Seams that dont quite meet or fit properly and scratches in the finish. Instead of trying for a third time, Overstock gave me a credit, so I was happy with that. I honestly considered spray painting it black to hide the seams.The funcitonality is great and it does give off a little bit of heat. The gel fuel has an odor, so I've started burning candles at the same time I light the gel cans. The odor can be intense (especially) at the end of the gel life of each can (make sure you put the lids back on the cans right away to avoid some of this). It's clean and easy-to-use. The Gel Fuel can be pricey, expecially if you use this a lot.The one thing I absolutely hate is having to peel the labels off the gel fuel cans before lighting them. This is ridiculous. There's got to be a better way. I would be happy if the cans were shipped without labels with simply a disclosure in the top of the gel fuel case when you open it.Yes, I would buy another one. It is priced appropriately and it does exactly what you expect it to do.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Compliments Any Room
 from St. Louis, MO,  Jun 30, 2008

This is a neat piece. However, it's not shiny at all, as the picture portrays. I have brushed steel in my home and thought it would compliment it well, but the fireplace is dull and porus and retains fingerprints easily. Also, the anchors that came with it were flimsy and didn't pop open on the other side of the wall. I had to go to the hardware store to get better anchors and screws. I think it looks very nice in my bedroom, it's just the surface is different than what I expected.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not overwelmed
 from Los Angeles,  Mar 24, 2008

I just received my fireplace and I don't know if I'll keep it. First, I expected a polished satin finish as it appears in the photo. Instead, the surface is like a brushed steel painted mat finish. There is a slightly more than hair-thin gap where the top and sides meet and also the backing didn't go all the way to the edge on one side, so I could see straight thru. I haven't mounted it on the wall yet, but possibly at eye level or higher those gaps might not be so noticeable. I'm hoping that if I do have it replaced, the workmanship will be better. But if this is standard, than I have to say for overall quality and appearance, I feel that it should be half the price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nothappy
 from Boston,  Jul 28, 2008

I purchased this a while ago - we are still decorating, and just opened the box. I am very disappointed in the fireplace. It looks cheap and has a very dull appearance. Over the weekend, I purchased silver leaf paint to bring it up to the standard I was expecting. I think I will move this to another room and purchase something else to replace it. Be careful if you are looking for the wow factor!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gel Fireplace
 Sep 5, 2010

Very pleased with product. Easy to install. Gel fuel is a little too pricey for me, but candles look great! Exactly what I was looking for - not shiny silver - more of a brushed nickel finish.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy!
 Oct 30, 2008

Overall we love this "fireplace" We give it a 4 star only because we thought the frame would be stainless steel, and it's not. But this is a great contemporary decorative piece that we would recommend to a friend. Looks like a real fire when it's burning, and the gel fuel is very easy to light as well as put out. You won't be disappointed!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not perfect
 from chicago il,  Jun 15, 2008

It was scratched,looks cheap.Photo on web site looks much better then original.Do not recomend.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
gel fireplace
 from Baltimore,Md,  May 1, 2008

I would recommend this product to a friend as a matter of fact I am purchasing another one for a housewarming present for a very close friend. It is very attractive looking and easly installed. Their is an additional tray to hold candles if you choose not to always use the gel fuel, which was a surprise becuase its not mention in the description of the product. That 's the only reasopn I gave ease of assembly a four star. Its really a beautiful fireplace. Get

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice little fireplace
 from Dallas, TX,  Apr 9, 2008

I expected the finish to be more of a brushed chrome, but it's more of rough finish. Easy to use, easy to hang. Good size flames that add a nice effect to the room. Fairly small, so it could go easily in a bedroom or a smaller area.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Added to perfect touch to a hard room!
 from Dallas, Texas,  Mar 19, 2008

I ordered this fireplace based on the ratings that other people gave. I too ordered it on Sunday and it arrived on Thursday! I needed something to add some ambience to a loft that had cement floors and brick walls, it was the perfect touch. At night it makes the room feel warm and cozy, although I wouldn't recommend using three of the gel cans as it puts out a lot of flame and heat. It does have an optional attachment for candles which were just as nice, a lot less money and added the same ambience as the gel cans of fuel. I would highly recommend this product. It is great for a small space and would also be perfect for a bathroom or a bedroom! Thanks Overstock!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice fireplace
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Jun 8, 2014

Just a nice piece of wall decor to add ambiance to a space. Mine is for the master suite.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This fireplace is really sexy.
 from Ft. Lauderdale, Florida,  Feb 7, 2014

I only have one compliant regarding this fireplace. It was not high gloss as shown in picture. Other than that it.was exactly what I wanted. I had suggested a friend purchase it last year. She did get a high gloss fireplace looked great in her living room on a wooded wall so I had to have one.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I need more information about how to use this procuct because i'm afraid to use it. The procuct did not come with the instuction so i was left to guest as to it's safety.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the advertisement was comparable
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. it seems to be worth the money
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? close
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works for my purposes
 from Seattle, WA,  Nov 10, 2012

We inherited a non-working electric fireplace when we bought a condo. I removed the non working part. painted the fireplace white, and inserted this. Love it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? close, but not as shiney
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Overstockrepeatcustomer
 from Lemoore CA,  Jun 23, 2012

Love this and it is mobile - it was great for a small area and really does give off the warmth and look that I was going for -

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? same
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cute fireplace
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Apr 18, 2012

I love this fireplace it's very cute it looks like a real fireplace it also mes e crackling sound like a real fireplace.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The same as picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Same as picture
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Color wasn't so great--had to spray paint it a bronze slightly metallic paint to make it look nicer. Had high expectations based on the reviews but the gel fuel really stinks in a smaller home---very chemical smell and I don't think I have a particularly strong sense of smell. Would I have spent $XXX if I knew what it really looked like ad hw the gel fuel smelled? No. Do I painfully regret buying it? No. Will look for a less stinky gel fuel.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? not the same--real color looks more like a silver primer
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. surprised so many positive reviews--gel fuel STINKS and color is not the same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? not so accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wall Mount Gel Fuel Fireplace
 from Mayhill, NM,  Sep 8, 2011

I have always been very happy with the multitude of purchases I have made at Overstock. However, this Contemporary Fireplace has a very poor and cheap looking surface. I will have to send it back as it is unusable in a high end Mater Bath. Perhaps it would be OK in a garage or outside patio.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color is very poor in compared to the site picture.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The Fireplace arrived in good condition, however, it looked like the surface was somewhat smooth and possibly shiny. It has a hard bumpy surface with no sheen at all. It looks like it might be OK in a garage but certainly not in a Master Bathroom where I had planned to place the gel fueled fireplace.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The size was accurate but the finished is really poor quality.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Buy!!!
 from MI,  Aug 22, 2011

Great Fireplace! This fireplace not only came fast after ordering, the quality is Superb! The color is matte and not chrome - which is just what I wanted. Overstock had the best price. Oh! and the bonus extremely easy to install.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same as pictured.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Delivered as described.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My second one!
 from Hartford CT,  Jun 16, 2011

I bought one of these during the winter, and it was a huge hit with everyone who walked into the room. It actually throws quite a bit of heat, and it definitely adds atmosphere. I decided to get another one for my deck, so I could use the citronella gel in it. We are swarmed with mosquitoes this year - as is everyone - and it definitely helps keep them under control. It also makes the deck lovely on a summer night! Not the most perfect workmanship, but it's not that expensive either! Very easy to install - 3 screws!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? It's not a perfect piece, but for the price it's just fine.
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 71 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Teva Arch Top Wall Mount Fireplace
Today $201.99
Compare $289.99
Save 30%
(184)
Back to top