Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 28 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Horrible Product
 from Fl,  Oct 26, 2011

This is my worst purchase I've made in a very long time. I wish that I would have flushed my *** down the toilet instead and saved myself a lot of trouble. Everyone's right about it being difficult to hang. In fact, I purchased this 9/2010. After numerous unsuccessful attempts to hang it, I gave up. I would get it out and give it the good ol' try periodically. Unsuccessful, as usual. Then, today, I looked up the reviews, and decided to try again. I used the shimmey like suggested, and finally, the little nuts fell into the slot where they belong. Shocked, my son and I were doing the high-five! We tugged and pulled on it to make sure it was actually on the wall, after all, it had been 13 months trying to get it there. Satisfied it was going to stay, we put a few light weight items on it and walked away, only to hear a loud crash. Not ony did the shelf break apart, but it went crashing down on the few items that had been placed on it. One item was a $150.00 decorated ostrich egg that is shattered. The shelf is actually in pieces, and has a cracked area. I hate this shelf !!!!!!!!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? More brown than expected.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Crap from China
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Poor
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Two-drawer Wall Shelf
 from Tampa, FL,  Aug 30, 2011

The shelf arrived on time and is of quality construction. would rate product as excellent.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? as shown on website
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very well made & sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accruate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Most beautiful Mantle
 from San Francisco, CA,  Dec 12, 2011

I put this up over my 36" flat screen - What a beauty. Strong and pretty, creates a mantle effect immediately without a fireplace. You can get a fireplace screen savor for the TV and place this over the TV - so modern so chic - easy installation as well - I installed in over concrete and even that was easy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. superior
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
fabulous!
 from CT,  Mar 12, 2011

agree with other reviewers: tricky to put up and even on new sheet rocked walls a shimmy (or something like that) was needed. Once one went up the others were relatively easy. Strong and sturdy! Drawers work beautifully. Very neat, clean and classy look.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
floating shelf
 from W.C.H., OH,  Mar 9, 2011

I love the color, matches my new bath vanity. I have a very small bathroom so I need a large shelf for display and for q-tips, etc. This shelf fits the bill for this purpose. Still working on shimming it for stability, it is very heavy and does need to be shimmed. The drawers are great for added storage. A little pricey but is exactly what I was looking for.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Nice!
 from Seattle WA,  Apr 16, 2010

This wall drawer unit is of very high quality. The color is rich and beautiful. The unit is quite heavy, be certain to mount into wall studs if possible. The clear coat finish is much glossier than expected, but still very nice appearance.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Durable, Sturdy, Heavy
 from Durango, CO,  Nov 5, 2011

These are heavy and look great. Installation does take some shimming, which is why I didn't give 5 stars. Nice look and great for small items.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great quality
 from cape coral, fl,  Oct 10, 2011

I debated a while due to the cost, but wow is 't worth it. it actually is a long shelf and the quality stands out. the drawers will be of great use as we have it by 2 comfy chairs with a small table, so great to put pens, puzzles, sudoku in. always handy. would do well in a small office also.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. tops
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Handsome indeed
 from Sonoma County, CA,  Nov 20, 2010

I purchased two of these shelves after being somewhat skeptical of their ability to be supported free-floating by the very small knob and hole locks at the back of each shelf. But due to the reviews, I thought I'd give it a try. I had my contractor install them side by side, so as to appear as one unit. It took quite a bit of adjusting and some cardboard shims on one side to even them out, but to my surprise it came together quite nicely. Aesthetically it is clean and beautiful. Functionally, it appears to hold some books and a laptop quite easily. Time will tell whether they remain as solid as they appear. My biggest concern is that if you accidentally bump it from the underside, then it becomes loose. A bolt from the inside directly into the wall may fix that, but I am using it as is for now. This wall shelf is a great solution for the minimalist who wants both form and functionality. As usual, very pleased with Overstock!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous shelves, but a nightmare to install.
 from Astoria, NY,  Dec 12, 2009

I loved the way these shelves looked, and that they had storage space, so I bought them. They come assembled, which is nice, and are very pretty, but WHAT A NIGHTMARE TO HANG. It took my dad, a very experienced builder/knower of all things home improvement-related, and I literally hours to get them up. If you live in any kind of older building (I live in a pre-war), your walls may not be perfectly flat, but slightly concave/convex. Well if they are, and I'd be willing to bet possibly even if they aren't, you will have a heck of a time hanging these. You mount the bar to the wall but if the wall curves, the bar curves and the shelf will not catch on the button that holds it up. Special thanks to reviewer sgordon1125! When I went back to read reviews looking for inspiration on what we could do, and saw that her husband had put a shim behind the bar, my dad realized that was the only way this was going to work, and did the same. Sure enough, it worked! Now my shelves have been hanging and NOT falling, even under the weight of all my books and dvds, and they look great.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
WOW what outstanding quality for the price !
 from Waterbury CT,  Feb 9, 2013

What quality and so easy to hang....nothing but compliments from friends and visitors. Go....Go....Go.... MY... O

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. outstanding
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poorly Constructed
 from Chicago,  Dec 5, 2012

I ordered two of the product. They shipped them separately and one was lost in shipment . The one I received was damaged but repairable. Overstock refunded my account for the lost item

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Drawer was cracked and had to be glued
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not bad
 from VA,  Nov 4, 2012

It seems that others had a hard time hanging this product... I didn't, I was all by myself and it didn't take me all that long at all, however I think it would have been better if I had the right tools in the first place. I just moved in to a new house and as a female that had lived with her dad... I just ended up borrowing his tools. The instructions were very simple, I think they should have included at least the drill bit size that you need for the wall. I ended up using a bit that was too small at first (I didn't want to make the holes too large, so it would fall). However after trying to adjust the size of the hole so that the screw anchor could be gently hammered in the wall, I found that it was too large (thankfully I have learned from past exp. that you complete one at a time to make sure it is right before filling your wall full of useless holes). After drilling the right size holes and putting the screw anchors in, I started screwing the brace/hanger in the wall, I found that the hanger had gotten bent ever so slightly. I thought about taking it down and trying to straighten it, but I thought my "fixing" it would only cause more damage in the end so I pressed on. I hung the shelf, it did take a couple of tries, but it was not difficult at all... I placed my level on it, and it was nice and even side to side, but from wall to front it was not level at all... I made some shimmies (is that the right word?) to go behind/under the shelf to even it out. I use the shelf every day as side table for my chaise and it is sturdy and (now) even. I like this product and I wouldn't mind buying another if I needed it, just make sure that you know that things don't always come perfect, and you might make a few mistakes along the way, as long as you are well equipped to deal with them, its all good.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fine
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great shelf
 from Florida,  Jul 26, 2012

I installed this shelf in my bath and really like it. Love the drawers for storing combs, razors, etc. They could be a little deeper in order to accommodate a hair brush but that side, a great product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality of this product is pretty good.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Biggest pain mounting this thing to the wall.
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  Jun 11, 2012

The person who designed this thing didn't care, or think about how it would be mounted to a drywall stud wall, The screw holes are not at standard stud positions. It is made to be mounted to a brick wall, or chimney above a fireplace. I had to screw a furring strip to the wall then screw the metal mount to that. Huge pain.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Moderate to high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice shelf
 from New Orleans, LA,  Mar 20, 2012

It looks nice. It is my jewelry box, where I put my every day accessories. It was a little tricky to install it since the metal piece is not straight so you have to try until it gets in the right place.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decent shelf
 from Beaverton, OR,  Mar 6, 2012

This is a large, heavy shelf with two pull out drawers that could be handy in the right situation. In retrospect, I probably would not have opted for one with drawers. The mounting hardware that comes with this is a total joke, and potentially very dangerous. The metal bracket seems okay, but supports the heft of he shelf with only two small welded protrusions that "hook" onto the shelf itself. The real issue is the small screws and plastic wall anchors they send. There is no way I would attempt to hang this shelf, let alone put anything heavy on it, with those small screws/anchors. Either buy your own heavy duty molly bolts, or wall anchors, or better yet, drill out holes 16" on center where your studs are in the wall and anchor them with wood screws directly to the studs.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Mediocre quality. Some of the veneer has delaminated
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great looking shelf
 from Indiana,  Feb 14, 2012

I had a shelf pictured in my mind and found the exact thing on Overstock with the added feature of drawers. I was prepared from the comments of others that hanging it might be an issue. The actual hanging was quite easy but the shelf looked as if it was tipping slightly foward. We fixed that by adding a couple of small rubber bumpers at the bottom underside of the shelf. Now it looks perfect.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was exactly as shown online
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality was excellent for price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Looked exactly as I expected.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Took forever
 from Jacksonville, FL,  Nov 5, 2011

It took me forever to hang ths shelf. I wish I knew what genius designed this so I could question their thought process. They could have made it much easier. Like another reviewer, I live in an older building and the wall isn't perfectly straight. I had place something behind one side of the metal bar (cork shelf liner finally worked for me) to get it to latch on. When I finally got it hung, the shelf sagged a bit, so I had to prop it up under the bottom edge to level it. It looks good now that it's up, but knowing what I know now, I would have bypassed this in search of another shelf...

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid Shelf
 from Walnut Creek, Ca,  Nov 17, 2010

I originally thought this shelf was on the pricey side. After all it is only a shelf, but it turns out that I was pleasantly surprised. The drawers are actually functional and slide very smooth. The build is solid and the bracket is very sturdy. It has to be because it's not light. All in all a very good purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 28 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top