Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 29 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Digital Convection Oven Rocks!
 from California,  Mar 24, 2008

I love this oven. It will cook a whole chicken in one hour. Cooks fish in 20 minutes or less depending on how much. I have made meat loaves in it too. Have yet to roast veggies but will do that. I heat stuff up in it and it is really fast. A bowl or plate of food will be ready (if heating up) in about 5-10 minutes. I don't use a microwave because I believe they are dangerous, they change the food and make it unsafe. No worries here with this oven it is safe and fast, a great substitute for a microwave in many ways. Plus, you get food browned and crispy if you want it. It is truly cooked like you expect from a real oven. A microwave just destroys food and turns it to rubber. It fits well on my counter top and is fairly easy to clean. For me it has been worth every penny. I eat alot of fish and use it at least 4 or 5 times a week cooking fish, beef or chicken. The first one sent to me was defective but it was easy to send it back and they sent me a new one right away. It works perfectly. I have owned it for about two months now. We will see how long it lasts.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A must in your kitchen
 from Boca Raton, FL,  Sep 11, 2010

I have been using turbo ovens for nearly 20 years. This is my third one and I really enjoy the healthy delicious meals cooked in it - you can grill, bake, broil. When I moved I had to leave my first one behind and I really missed it until I found another one - they are not sold in stores and I do not know why. My second one got overworked for 10+ years of usage and now I have the Narita. Works great, and I would say that all the ads are understatements of its qualities. When you get used to it you will find out it is even better than described. Add to it the great service, provided by Overstock and it is worth every penny. They treat you as VIP and I will buy some more for the rest of my family and friends. It is a great gift, especially for Thanksgiving. The turkey cooked in it with the extension ring will have nothing equal.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fan Bearing Seized after 3 Months
 from Austin, Texas,  Mar 26, 2013

The oven itself was about what I expected when ordered and it works well, though you have to get accustomed to using it as opposed to a standard oven. It heats up very quickly and cooks much faster and is great for just about anything we have tried but cleaning the lid is a pain since it cannot be submersed in water (because of the attached motor) and the best you can do is wipe it down with a rag and whatever cleaner is appropriate. Small issue, but still a pain when cooking anything that causes grease to accumulate. Again, just a minor inconvenience. My wife and I used this oven daily, however, the fan bearing in the lid / motor housing began making a LOT of noise and finally seized up altogether after just short of 3 months of use. I contacted Overstock and they were very prompt in their response with shipping a new unit to us (which we are awaiting to arrive). Honestly, anything man-made (regardless of cost) is destined to break at some point and this bearing is a moving part in an environment that reaches 450 to 500 degrees at times, so I think I may hvae just received the 'one in a hundred' that had a weak bearing from the factory. Things break. It happens. This unit has been excellent for defrosting and cooking entire chickens (we feed our dog a natural diet), reheating pizza, sausage and bacon (no splatters!), small roasts, pork loin, etc. We should have purchased something like this YEARS ago. ** TIP: the racks are great but the times and wires are too far apart to cook items like bacon and sauage on without them falling through. We went to the store and in the kitchen 'gadgets' section found some aluminum wire mesh for $.99 used for grilling out for the exact same reason (you put it on your grill racks to keep things like shrimp, ka-bobs, and similar from falling through the grates.) I simply used a pair of wire cutters to cut it into a circle the same size as the top rack and within 60 seconds I was done. We can now put smaller items on the mesh and cook them without a problem. When done, the mesh simply goes in the dishwasher. Problem solved. All in all, I would recommend this oven as it actually works well, cooks much faster than a full-size oven, is convenient to use, and fits on a countertop. PERFECT for apartments and small kitchens. However, just in case you receive a unit with a weak part, I would recommend keeping the box for a while in the event that it must be shipped back to Narita or Overstock for repair or replacement. Again, it's doubtful - but might happen.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Save my life!
 from Menlo Park, CA,  Oct 30, 2012

I got trouble with the first one I ordered but Overstock's customer service was so helpful and sent me the replacement in 3 days. This oven is really help me save my time of cooking and cleaning whenever I want to grill steaks or spare ribs and lamb chops. Meats are cooked perfectly and the juices are still in the meat whenever i cut them. Now I just store my marinated meat in the freezer and in the morning, I just let in thaw in the sink, comeback from work it only take me 20 minutes to get dinner ready for my family. I will try to cook soups and bake cakes in it. It is the best choice that I made in my kitchen. Thanks a million Overstock! One trick that I learn is to put the foil tray on the bottom to help cleaning the oven easier!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? This oven is not digital but it seems fine to me to turn the knobs by hand.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better products are available
 from miami,fl,  Mar 3, 2008

Small capacity. Roasting a chicken yielded disappointing results. The instruction manual is almost useless. Still, it has its' uses and you can watch your food cook. Why is it called "Digital"?

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Get to know this item....
 from New Orleans,  Jun 17, 2012

It is one good little oven! I am happy and wonder hoer,w I ever cooked for so long with it. However, there are a few things that must be taken into consideration: 1. It cooks very fast and until you get to know the moods of this little oven, the best advice is for you to be in front of it looking at the food being cooked. I burnt my peppers yesterday. 2. The noise that others complained about is not a problem for me....it is like a fan noise. 3. The instructions advise you to 'pre heat it' please don't do this...your food will burn. I am making my second batch of Flan and the pan's contents are swirling....let's see how this turns out. 4. The oven temeprature starts at 300, before that the setting is for 'Thaw'. I had to put my Flan a few inches from the 300 or it would have burnt. 5. I wish it would have included another shelf, not as high as the one that comes with the oven. This shelf would have been ideal for 'bein Marie' 6. I made fish croquettes without a drop of oil and the croquettes were like if they had been deep fried. Great for your health. 7. I hate white...but it is the only color it comes in. 8. page 8: croissants: set thermostat at 220F - where is this? the oven starts at 300 and before that at Thaw...so one must guess where is 220 The first pages of the booklet are full of useless instructions...all they needed to add was 'don't shower with the oven'!!! Got it!!! The good thing about this oven is that it doens't heat the entire house...so it saves me on a.c. bills and that it can go in the dishwasher and that for the price I paid it is worth every penny. Just get to know it/1 Enjoy it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It is white...
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good ...
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Basic info
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value
 from NYC Area,  Jul 1, 2011

Very easy to use. I have already modified some of my recipes for the oven. Great for cooking meats. Bacon cooks quick and crispy. Sausages cook nicely. Fats fall to bottom of glass bowl for easy clean up. Good buy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? No Difference
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. So far so good. No issues
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great time saver
 from Garner, NC,  Jun 9, 2008

I have to say that I do love my Turbo Convection Oven. I get off of work late in the evenings, so I need to be able to cook a meal fast. The Convection Oven allows me to do just that. It takes less than half of the time and a lot less energy than a regular oven. Also, I am trying to lose weight and control my blood pressure. The Convection Oven drains the fat away from what ever type of meat that you are cooking. I am truly happy that I can eat healthier and at a decent time of the evening.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
My husband wonders what we did without it!
 from Honolulu, HI,  Aug 10, 2013

This turbo convection oven is very effective. As the design indicates, it cooks from the top down and by swirling hot air around. We make potatoes in it all the time. We have not experimented a lot with it yet, but pizza and nachos came out great in it. Much better than in the toaster oven. My favorite use so far is to make French-style baked eggs, Oeufs en Cocotte. The French bake eggs with a little cream, wine, and/or on leftovers. I had seen recipes in Julia Childs cookbooks, Jacques Pepin's and just about any good French chef's cookbook collection. I love my eggs with cooked whites, and very runny yolks. It turns out that it is a very healthy way to eat them. So, I finally went to a restaurant to try them cooked in that style and they were heavenly, but expensive. So, I made them at home with my Narita Turbo Convection Oven. Leftover veggies went in the bottom of my dish. I had found a great organic vegan broth powder without MSG from Germany, which tastes a bit like the Lipton's chicken noodle soup flavoring cube, and I put a little of this sea salt broth product on, with a tiny (1 T ?) amount of water, heated it in the oven for a bit until hot, then cracked my eggs on top, put a tiny amount of the German sea salt product on, a little pepper, and put the oven lid back on and cooked it for about 1 minute. Since you can see thru the oven, it is easy to see when it is done--as soon as the egg white turns opaque. I did not have to pre-heat my oven to cook my baked eggs dish, and the whole operation could not have been simpler, or faster. The eggs came out beautifully, just like at the expensive restaurant, and cost a few cents even made with free-range organic eggs and veggies. This dish cost me about $12.50 in a restaurant, made with conventionally produced products! You can of course make a whole casserole pan of this if serving your family or a party. I used some sauteed spinach and potatoes as my bottom veggies, but you can use whatever you have on hand. This dish comes out perfectly in this oven, every time! The top down and swirl around heat is ideal for this type of dish. Someone wrote to say that he had wiped the oven so much that the dial numbers came off. i can see this happening. I try to touch my dials as little as possible. So, a trick I learned because of my heavy hand in turning the dials, always setting too much time, is to keep the handle up after removing my food and setting the lid back on. Lifting the handle turns off the heat, but allows the dial to keep ticking until the time runs out.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BEST PURCHASE BY FAR
 from Pennsylvania,  Jan 5, 2013

I WAS VERY SKEPTICAL WHEN I PURCHASED THIS PORTABLE CONVECTION OVEN. I DIDNT KNOW WHAT TO EXPECT WHEN I OPENED IT . I THOUGHT I WOULD GET RIPPED OFF FOR SURE. MY ATTITUDE HAS CHANGED. I AM IN LOVE WITH THIS PRODUCT. SINCE RECIEVING THE TURBO CONVECTION AT THE END OF DECEMBERI HAVE BEEN USING IT MOSTLY EVEN DAY. I HAVE NOT TURNED MY CONVECTIONAL OVEN ON SINCE. FRENCH FRIES WERE SO CRISPY(NO GREASE), BBQ CHICKEN AMAZING(THE FAT WAS ACTUALLY AT THE BOTTOM OF THE BOWL INSTEAD OF IN OUR BODIES), STEAMED VEGGIES YUMMY, COOKS TURKEY BACON PERFECT AND BEST OF ALL MY HUBBY AND I HAD LOBSTER AND CLAMS FOR NEW YEARS EVE....IT WAS MOUTH WATERING! ALL COMPLIMENTS TO THE TURBO COVECTION OVEN. JUST WISH I COULD FIND A COOD BOOK AND LEARN MORE WAYS TO USE THE CONVECTION OVEN.WORTH EVERY PENNY. A++++++++

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? PERFECT
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. QUALITY OF THIS PRODUCT IS MUCH MORE THAN I EXPECTED
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? PERFECT
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Product
 from Colorado,  Mar 12, 2011

I ordered this for my grandson as a gift for his first apartment (his request) and he loves it. We have used this particular appliance for the past 7 years (2-3 times per week) in our home and simply love it. It cooks meats tender inside, brown outside and without the grease!....I would recommend this to anyone who loves tender, non-greasy meat without heating up the kitchen!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fast food but Healthy
 from Sedona,  Nov 17, 2009

Great cookware!!! Seasoned Salmon in 15 minutes, Temp on 480 degress. Wow!! Not sure the other guy is saying... One for Timer other one for temperature. So simple to use, don't know what they can't figure out. Yeah, the ovew weight a little bit more, but the Pyrex glass is a quality work ensure long durability and safety. Just tried roasted rosemary and lemon chicken in 30 minutes. Sweet!!!! The wonder of convection work so well, it lock the juice and flavor in the chicken. So tasty!!!! Trying a roasted turkey soon. Hungry???

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it, love it, LOVE IT! Excellent product!
 from Tampa, FL,  Oct 26, 2011

We cook many things in the turbo cooker we would have otherwise cooked in a pan with oil. Cooks super fast and evenly and HEALTHY!! Only issue is that there could be another mid-size rack, as the higher rack can burn items (like french fries), but we solved that by placing the top of a springform pan in the bottom of the cooker and then placing a rack on top of that. Be careful, this baby gets HOT! Healthy cooking alternative!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Turbo Convection Oven
 from MI,  Oct 13, 2011

I bought one and liked it so much, my daughter bought one, too. Great price for an excellent oven. I especially like the fan which distributes heat so it cooks evenly and I don't have to move the food around as I did with similar ovens.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent. Now that I have used it, I couldn't do without it.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Same
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
Easy to use, makes clean up fast.
 from California,  Aug 2, 2014

This is my first experience with a turo oven. I use it almost everyday now. It cooks quickly and is very easy to use. Clean up is fast and I do not have to use as many pot and pans. I wish it came with a recipe book but I have been able to look up recipes online. With a little practice I will be able to cook a great deal of the meals I am used to preparing. I bought one for my parents because it is so easy to use I think it will help them eat healthier.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
Perfect Solution
 from Midwest,  Jun 5, 2014

Got for our 19 yr old son (moved into his first place). Knowing he had this incredible appliance to help in that transition made it easier for his mom to come to grips with. :)

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Good Style : Good
The perfect oven for all occasions.
 from Reno, Nevada,  Apr 12, 2014

Originally had a *** for three years, the problem with the *** is that it has a plastic cover that scratches, and falls apart after a couple of years or so. Also the plastic cover is smaller than this ***. When I received my *** (Turbo oven) I was thrilled to see a glass cover. The glass not only retains the heat but it crisps your vegetables, meats even pizza dough to a beautiful consistency. My chickens came out juicier, and my roasted red potatoes and acorn squash crispier. The only problem that I had was cooking biscuits and other baked items that required turning over. One side cooked and the other did not get exposure to cook sufficiently. Unfortunately, the motor burned out ON Thanksgiving day, thank gosh I had a Ronco rotisserie. I had the oven for nine months, and put it through some seriously heavy use for two people. I always buy the protection plan to ensure quick replacement. The only request I would make to the manufacturer was to increase the size of the glass cover to accommodate a 12 pound turkey, and to figure out a way for the oven to cook baked goods all the way through. I am purchasing another in the next two weeks. By the way, if you have a holiday party at work, this is the perfect oven to bring. For bosses day breakfast, I always bake a glazed ham and bring it to work in the oven. The staff was always amazed. if you need an oven, look no further.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
GREAT product!!
 from South Jersey,  Nov 12, 2013

The oven arrived very quickly and in good condition. We love this oven and have been using it often since it arrived. We love the food that comes out of the oven as well. We don't need to add oil and the food is evenly cooked; a very healthy way of cooking. We highly recommend it to anyone!!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
Cook with ease!
 from Albuquerque,NM,  Sep 25, 2013

What a great product cooks fast and evenly wish I had gotten one of these years ago whatever you cook tastes great!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good but hard to clean up
 from Torrance, CA,  May 14, 2013

I bought this oven and used up to 3 times. It is good but it is too heavy to clean up. I gave it away.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Right size
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It does what it said
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 29 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Fagor Red 12-quart Halogen Tabletop Oven
Today $79.95
Compare $116.10
Save 31%
(5)
SPT SO-2003 Digital Convection Oven
Today $94.42
Compare $113.83
Save 17%
Back to top