Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 46 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

Seriously, this isn't a bad piece of furniture, not for what you're paying, but it arrived with a lot of factory scratches and gouges. Clearly there's no sense of pride in workmanship, and no sense that a consumer deserves a pristine product. Some of it could have been prevented with better packing material--even paper between the layers of parts might have prevented some of the dings. The 'finish' is very thin contact paper, and the 'boards' are loose-pressed wood composite, so it doesn't take much to cause damage. That being said, it does what it's supposed to, even though it's essentially disposable furniture that won't survive a move or last a long time. It fits paperbacks nicely and doesn't look bad from across the room. The shelves are narrow enough that they won't likely bow as badly as when there's a 30" distance between supports. My dissatisfaction is more about the nearly-universal attitude that damaged items are perfectly fine to ship, that the only consumers who deserve better are those who can and will pay more than the national median weekly wage for a single shelf unit. Wood has become expensive, fine, but that doesn't mean that composite materials have to be manufactured with sloppy carelessness. However, I know I'm old fashioned that way, and this is the best I'm ever likely to see from anything but the most elite of manufacturing companies. Thus, my neutral review. This really is about the best one can expect anymore, whether I like it or not.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fatally flawed
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Jul 11, 2007

The fatal flaw with this rack is that whoever designed it clearly didn't actually try putting DVDs on it. The 3 sections all have some "overhang" that covers up the DVD farthest to the left & right on each shelf. This is very annoying, and I ended up pulling them off and covering up the exposed particleboard with tape, but this solution is less than ideal. For the amount that this thing costs, I'd expect decent design (and actually would have hoped it was solid wood and not particleboard).

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT STORAGE
 from Mustang,OK,  Sep 11, 2010

My husband and I assembled this in no time, compared to some things we hae bought over the years that were real pains. We were amazed at the storage capacity and how sleek and compact it is. We highly recomend it and of course Overstock had the best deal , and believe me I did a lot of checking around. Thanks again Overstock!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy and easy to assemble
 from Chapel Hill NC,  May 31, 2011

I am familiar with PrePak, having previously purchased other media storage units from them, so I knew that their products are of good quality. The assembly instructions were, as always, clear and easy to follow and I was able to assemble this myself in a little over an hour, although I did require the assistance of a friend for the final stages due to the size of the finished unit.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Excellent
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy
 from Minneapolis,  Jan 14, 2011

I bought this for my husband and he loves it. It's sturdy and looks good. It was expensive compared to other units I've seen online, but that could be that they are constructed out of lesser materials.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not bad but not the best
 from Raleigh, NC,  Nov 3, 2010

Overall, the trend in media towers goes toward flimsy. The backs are made of cardboard or pressboard, most guide holes are drilled inadequately or missed altogether and the support seems generally lax. This item is no exception. That said, I found it to be the most adequate of every one I've tried. Trust me, I've been around the block a few times on this media tower thing. This one stands without wobble, sits flush against the wall, and is overall not bad looking. I would, however, be sure you have enough media to fill these shelves as the outside pieces are woodgrain colored and the bad and shelves is black.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Media Tower
 Aug 28, 2010

Product was well-machined and easy to assemble. Shelves are easily relocated. Overall look is modern and elegant.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Compact, attractive, but a few flaws
 from Astoria, OR,  Jul 19, 2010

Instructions were confusing in couple of spots but, looking at the illustrations clears up the confusion. All I used for tools was a screwdriver and a tack hammer. The only tricky part is tacking on the cardboard back. There is so little room for error that the tacks came through the veneer in a few places, lifting up small chunks of "wood" (MDF). I pulled the tacks out and dabbed a little white wood glue under the raised chunks and smoothed them back into place with a damp cloth. You can't even tell it was damaged. So be very careful with the spacing of the backing pieces so that your tacks stay perfectly on center. I agree with "onefatman" that the decorative vertical trim obscures some of the shelf space, so you can not see the binder titles of the DVDs stored at the ends of a full shelf. This is less than ideal. The trim should be narrower. I also agree with him about the shelves being too narrow. If there were only a few DVDs on a shelf, they could fall down the space a the back. I understand they did it that way to make it easier to put together but it is certainly less than perfect. That said, I am happy with mine overall and will buy the double-width for future expansion of our ever-growing movie collection. I got all of the movie DVDs from a huge bookshelf in this little storage tower, which takes up a fraction of the space, Nice! Rodney

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Triple Width Oak Media Tower - buying my second
 from St. Louis, MO,  Sep 11, 2009

As always, Overstock ships promptly. I have owned one of these units for five or more years now and it works handsomely to hold DVDs (and anything else I shove onto it... I even put books onto it for a while.) Although it is not solid wood, it has withstood a 600 mile move and being put together backwards, as well as 100 lbs of books on the bottom few shelves. I have never noticed any of the shelves chipping or breaking and I have at least 20 more shelf pieces than I needed anyway, since I only use DVD-sized space instead of CD-sized space. If I recall correctly, it only took me about 45 minutes to assemble this item. However, if you are in a house that has settled at all into an uneven slant, you really will need to latch it onto the wall despite the nice base. I love how slim this unit is because it doesn't really clutter up a room, which is why I am buying a second unit very soon. The only thing that has happened that I didn't like about this unit is that the dowels get stuck in the holes sometimes (I guess maybe I put them in the wrong way or maybe it's made to be tight?) - I needed to use pliers in order to remove them without causing damage. The one I already own probably could not be moved from where it is currently latched to the wall (I have cats that love to jump on top, so I don't really have an option to leave it stand alone), but I am not easy on furniture and neither are my four cats! And, if I have to replace the old one, I am certainly buying another one of these since we're avid DVD collectors in my household. It supports having items on its top for display, also - I would say we have about 3 lbs of decorative pieces on top of the unit, and my 9 lb. cat doesn't seem to disturb it much, even when jumping off at full speed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
DVD shelves
 from Texas,  Dec 13, 2008

Pros: The shelves are easily adjustable to accomodate a large number of DVDs and CDs. Assembly is fairly simple. Looks good. Is relatively stable with a well designed base. Unit arrived quickly and was well packaged and complete.Cons: The unit is cheap. The backing is cardboard. The rest of the construction is particleboard. The shelves chip very easily. You need to be very gentle and careful during assembly. The plastic dowels will sometimes pop all the way through the paper vaneer. I don't think I got good value.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from South Windsor, CT USA,  Jan 30, 2006

This looks very nice in my living room and holds a lot of DVDs. The assembly was easy and took hardly any time at all. It is very sturdy, the package arrived quickly and without damage. Great product and service! I am very impressed with overstock.com.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Jefferson City,TN,  Jan 30, 2006

Product is not of the best quality,but does house a lot of DVD's

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Harrisonburg, VA,  Jan 30, 2006

One of the two boxes arrived damaged, but the product was well packed that it was not touched. It took a while to put it together, but was pretty easy; just be careful putting the back on. The media center looks great and holds a lot of DVDs and VHS tapes. I can finally see what all I have in one place! The media center was definitely worth the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Milwaukee, WI,  Jan 30, 2006

We have been searching for years for a reasonably priced rack for our HUGE CD collection. This one is perfect! Easy to put together, sturdy and good looking! The only thing that's inconvenient is the top row can't be filled up totally because the border comes down about an inch, trapping the CD's so they have to be taken out at an angle.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Laurel, MD,  Jan 30, 2006

Great for reducing the clutter in a room, I was able to store, DVDs, CDs, Videos, Cassettes, & even Camcorder Tapes all in one...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
More-Than-Acceptable
 from Southern Maryland,  Jul 23, 2014

Having read a few negative Reviews of this Media Tower, I took the chance because I had previously purchased three (3) similar towers several years ago that did/are doing the job they were designed to do. I have since moved and my DVD collection has grown, prompting me to purchase another one. It appears they're no longer available, but I see that this one is quite similar, only slightly larger with a slightly different color scheme. I took the chance, despite the neg-reviews, because it closely matches the the previous towers that survived my 40 mile move. This new tower is very much like the others in that it was easy and quick to assemble and appears just as sturdy. Like I said earlier, it also holds even more DVDs and looks nice next to the other three. I would recommend it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great organizer
 from Oklahoma,  Dec 7, 2013

This has been a life saver for all our cd's, dvds. My office is so much more organized and the music and movies are easily accessed for use. could have been better quality but great design

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I bought a second one!
 from Montgomery, Alabama,  May 10, 2013

This tower is great. I had run out of room in my home for any more DVDs or anything else for that matter. These shelves are skinny enough to place in my hallway without obstructing traffic. The pieces all fit together very well - except that for both the towers I bought, I had to sand off a bit of length from one of the wood pieces that pops into the top middle. I now have all of our DVDs in one easy access place.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I have purchased a lot of assemble yourself products over many years. This is by far the cheapest materials, and cheapest hardware I have ever had to deal with. I had to order replacement parts as they did not even hold up to assembly. I doubt this will hold up for a very long period of time. I purchased as a larger replacement storage than the one I purchased 18 years ago. The older one is still holding up great, never had a problem with it. I expect I will not have near the luck with this product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It was close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Inferior materials, poorly designed, cheap hardware for assembly, made the cheapest, designed the worst
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? measurements where correct
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Triple-width Oak Media Tower
 from Severn, MD,  Aug 24, 2012

GREAT product. We are movie lover and have hundreds of DVD's. This was a great way to get them organized. LOVE IT!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great, this is my second Triple-width Oak Media Tower -- the first one, still in great condition after 4yrs.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 46 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought