Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 586 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 30 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great bed, great value!
 from Cincinnati OH,  Aug 3, 2007

I read all of the reviews and took the advice of many that recommended buying a metric ball end hex wrench set. This definitely made assembly easier. I assembled the bed by myself and it probably took about 3 hours while watching TV. The trickiest part for me was attaching the side boards to the head and foot boards. I was sitting on a small Rubbermaid stepstool while I was putting this together and realized that the step stool was the same height as the bottom of the siderails when attached!! By balancing the sideboards on the step stool it was very easy to attach them to the head and foot boards. I bought a new queen size mattress that is about 18" high and makes the mattress height about 31" off of the floor (without a boxspring). This is higher than I thought it would be and there is only about 11 inches of headboard showing above the mattress. It still looks great, it just isn't exactly the look I thought I would get. Also, I'm glad I waited and didn't order the coordinating nightstand as it is only 20" hight and would not work with my pillowtop mattress (which I love, by the way). Bottom line, I am absolutely satisfied with this purchase. I especially liked the way the hardware was packed. Instead of one big bag full of parts, everything was individually bagged with a number on the bag that cooresponded to the list in the directions, so when you needed a screw that was part #2, you open the #2 bag and there is no question as to which screw is right. Some people have mentioned that you need a drill to screw in the bed slats as the holes are not pre-drilled. I used a ratcheting screwdriver to attach the slats and it probably took me about half an hour to screw them all in by hand, no pre-drilling. Just to give some perspective, I'm a 50 year old woman, not particularly handy, with a bad back and tendonitis in both elbows, and had very little trouble putting this together. Buy this bed, you won't be sorry. Just check your mattress height before ordering the nightstands!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing Quality - Great service and design
 from Boca Raton, Fl,  Jul 17, 2007

Ok.. based my purchace on the reviews of others and I must give mine. This furniture is of TOP quality, TOP design and Overstock got it here in less than 5 days coast to coast. Packed with incredible care, lots of packaging and most of it recycleable. The furniture ( I got bed night stand and chest) where all of the same quality and contruction method. It will take you about 45min to 1 hour for the night stand and a good 2 hours for the chest. The hardware is first rate and the assembly instruction very clear and easy to follow. YOu will need a min of tools and can do it alone but with another person helping these time can be cut by half for sure. This stuff is heavy so expect to need some help moving it around once assembled. The wood is WENGE in color (Chocolate) not expresso which is more black . This is more brown. Once assembled this stuff is STRONG make no mistake that they did their homework here. You cannot go wrong with this furniture and Overstock (it was branded the same name by the way) did a great job getting all 377lbs here safe and pretty fast.. I can HIGHLY recommend this to anyone and the shopping experience as well. For what it is worth we als got the 8" Memory Foam mattress and it too is just perfect. We plan to order the King for our main bed after sleeping on this as a guest bed. I have to give this a TOP rating for everything and I am a very tought customer to please but Overstock did this for us and I must share this will you. Good Luck and I hope you will be as happy as we are with your purchase. We will be coming back for more but pleas read the reviews as they seemed to have been pretty right on here. lc

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Headboard very short
 from Murfreesboro, TN,  Nov 13, 2010

This bed is actually very good quality and was relatively easy to put together (I shouldn't speak for my husband, but he was able to do it by himself). I rate this so low because we have a thick memory foam mattress and because of the position of the mattress support slats, you can only see about 5 inches of the headboard. With pillows on the bed, it's like not having a headboard at all! The picture shows a thinner mattress, but it never occured to me that our above-average mattress would dominate the headboard like it does. It's still not a bad buy for the money, but if I had known how short the headboard would end up being, I would have paid more for one from a store. Overstock.com is great--delivery was fast and the packages were in great condition when they arrived. Have no complaints about the product itself, it just doesn't fill our needs.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful, Solid, Well-Made Bed!
 from Eastern Carolina,  Mar 23, 2009

I purchased this bed based on the overwhelming number of positive and helpful reviews printed here...and I'm glad I did! Firstly, the three boxes arrived quickly and intact with no visible problems. When opened, all three boxes revealed pristine parts, packaged well. Kudos to whoever designed the packaging. Secondly, the instructions could not be clearer. Add to that the tips picked up from the reviews here on overstock.com and wow, I was impressed before I turned a single screw to assemble my new bed. Based on the tips I picked up from others' reviews, I want to share ways to make assembly go quickly, especially if working by oneself. Unpacking: Examine all parts and, based on the ordered of instructions lay them out in an easy to find place next to your work area. Snip open the small plastic bags containing the hardware. My kit had at least one additional piece of hardware in every bag. Don't worry about dust and small bits of Styrofoam that have adhered to the wood. Clean those up later (See below). Read: Spend a several minutes with the instructions. They really are very good. Tools/Equipment Used : Electric drill with assorted small drill bits and phillips head bit, rubber mallet, 4mm ball-end hex wrench (provided), and 5mm hex wrench (provided), Petrolatum. With these tools, assembly really is a snap. Headboard: Skip the superglue and simply tap in the dowels as an alignment device. Assemble the headboard upside down to start and flip over. My kit came with a ball-end hex wrench...an invaluable, time-saving tool! If your kit does not come with one, buy one immediately. ET 35 min. Footboard: The holes for the center rail supports looked small, so I drilled them out a little. I applied a little petrolatum to the screw threads and screwed them in with my phillips head bit. ET 5 min. Side Rails: The long narrow boxes can double as supports while attaching the side rails to the headboard/footboard. Just lay them down parallel with the headboard/footboard and lay the side rails on top. When assembled per the instructions, it's now the perfect time to clean/dust all the assembled solid wood parts. ET 20 min. Support rails: Lay them all out on the side rails, using the extra 80mm bolt as a spacer. If you have no extra 80mm bolt, cut a piece of cardboard to 80mm width (3.15 in.) and use as a template to space the 14 rails. Use a little petrolatum or bar soap to lubricate the screw threads and drop them in the holes. Screw them all in with your phillips head bit. ET 30 min. Stand Back: Look at what you've done! It's a beautiful, solid piece of furniture. Elapsed Time: Unpacking, 30 min. Reading, 15 min. Assembly, 90 min. Packing Material Disposal, 20 min. I highly recommend this bed to anyone!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
You won't find a better deal!
 from Bloomington, IL,  Dec 30, 2007

As the other reviewers have shared, make sure you have ball-end hex key (allen) wrenches to ease the assembly process. If I remember correctly, you'll need 2 sizes: 4 and 6 mm. Attaching the rails to the head and foot boards will be very tedious without them. Total assembly time was about 2.5 hours. For the price, it was a great find. It looks in person very much like it shows in the photo. Our mattress is a pillow top, and so part of the mattress covers the headboard from view. It's not the tallest headboard you'll find, but from the photos, you shouldn't expect anything different. To give everyone some measurements to work from, the mattress is 13" off the ground, and our mattress happens to be 12" tall. From the base of the mattress to the top of the head board measures 28", so there's about 16' of headboard showing. The workmanship is also top notch. The bed is constructed entirely of solid rubber wood, which is a hard wood similar to oak. You'll find some finger jointing in different (structural) parts, but this does not at all take away from the structural integrity of the bed. The visible parts of the bed (headboard, rails and bottom end) all have a very nice professional (semi-gloss?) dark brown finish. The (hidden) structural members are painted a flat black. The wood painted black is not sealed like the stained parts. It's fibrous like oak and might splinter if you don't handle it with care.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Use a Power Driver
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  Jul 13, 2007

I purchased this bed last month after looking at beds for five years and I couldn't be more pleased. The two L wrenches included are about as useful as my thumb in assembling this bed. I used a power driver with an extension piece and star bits to power the screws into place. Getting the screws into the headboard were a bit of a challenge but the flexible extension on the power driver worked here. I was able to assemble the bed by myself. The height from the floor to the bottom of the bedframe is (9 3/8 inches), high enough for storage containers to fit nicely underneath. The dark brown stain is done well and looks rich. It looks closest to dark walnut. I am using both the foundation and mattress because I like the bed high but you do not need the foundation on this bed. There are twelve slats to support the mattress. Don't hesitate on this one.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
comments on all the comments
 from Houston TX,  Dec 28, 2008

I collected page after page of suggestions that others made about how to put together the bed, make it easier, yada, yada. Ok, cut, paste and print this which was what we learned: Get this equipment: Ratchet screwdriver Lay out all the pieces orientated the way they are in the pictures ON TOP of pieces of the packing styro (so you don't dent the wood). Look over the head board for a crack. Orientate it so it will be in the lower left corner (not the upper right). So many others mentioned it but not where that I suspect they all have it. Anyway, ours is in the upper right. And if you've glued it, you can't undo this. Don't glue it. Others suggested not to and it seems to hold up without the glue. The side rails - curved is up (otherwise you will have even less lip for the mattress when the slats are in). The dreaded tightening with the allen wrench. Don't try to tighten all the screws down tight with one go around. Pull the leg slightly away (about 1/4 ") space, and then tighten in the layers (think like tightening a tire onto the axle). When it's loose, it can be pushed back in ways that maintain a good angle. If you try to tighten each screw only once, the angle is bad and you are likely to scratch up the wood. My husband made fun of my ratcheting screwdriver until he discovered his battery charged one wasn't. He wasn't sure where the electric wired one was. Oh, and scrape the screw in hard soap. It will screw down a little easier (I only remembered half way through that someone suggested that). The extra long screw is about the right length for the slats (some one else suggested that). The inner legs don't quite reach the ground. I tore off a couple pieces of cardboard and slipped them under. I also have felt cardboard under all the legs to protect the floor. Move the mattress so that there isn't much space with between it and the headboard. Your pillow won't fall down there now. Others have mentioned that the headboard was a little shorter than expected. Um yeah, a little but it's looks good. It was about 2.5 hours (from opening the boxes to making the bed). We also had several rest breaks. this was our first purchase. very happy with it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beware the Headboard
 from Houston, TX,  Aug 20, 2007

Let me preface this by saying that this bed looks awesome, once completely assembled. I originally purchased this bed a month ago. I was probably 2/3 complete on installation when I noticed that the headboard was cracked....great....To OverStock's credit they were very receptive and sent out another head board within days. This headboard was also cracked. I contacted OverStock and they were willing to either send a new headboard or talk discounts. As I was more interested in having a bed, I chose to roll the dice one last time. Iteration three went as smoothly as the second and OverStock sent this headboard via UPS--the previous shipments looked like they'd been transported in a cement mixer. This board came through unscathed and I am now the proud owner of one sharp platform bed...and a room full of boxes, two cracked headboards and two base boards. As for the headboard┐s troublesome screws, they can actually be almost completely hand tightened (well, more like left pinky and right pointer finger tightened), so the hex wrench isn't really needed for more than two full rotations. The bed is great and I can't complain about OverStock as they were courteous and responsive. I just wish I didn't have a rooms worth of boxes and additional parts to grapple with.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Value
 from Hatfield, PA,  Mar 12, 2007

I got a set: 2 dressers, 2 nightstands and bed. You will find NOTHING of this quality anywhere close to this price range in retail. To boot, it has great contemporary styling (also hard to find). 1) Rule #1: the power screwdriver is your friend, especially for the dresser and nightstand.... many screws to drive. 2) assembly time: 1st nightstand was ~1.25hrs, second was 0.75 hrs; dressers were about 2h each; bed was about 1.5 hrs 3) quality: excellent design. Excellent packing for shipment. You might want to CHECK THE HEADBOARD on shipment. Of all the pieces, this is the largest/thinnest piece of wood. Mine was cracked, probably due to wood shrinkage (not shipping). Luckily, in an inconspicuous place for me. 4) Be careful to square up the dresser well before attaching the back panel, or the small drawers at the top may not align. Rock solid. You could have an elephant sit on the nightstands without consequence. Smooth drawer glides. I'd do it all over again. (BTW, this was my first O-purchase, and my first online furniture purchase. I took the leap of faith based on fellow reviewers, to whom I owe many thanks! I'd been shopping for a bedroom set in this price range for over a year! )

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gone through 3 moves!!
 from Baltimore, MD,  Nov 2, 2012

I bought this bed in July of 2010 and since then it has gone through 2 moves and is still holding strong!! (it is November 2012 now.) I was worried about the quality of the bed when I first bought it, I wanted it to last. I now know, it will. Note: the first move was from Florida to Maryland, it stayed with the moving company for 5 months before I claimed it. They disassembled it without using any instructions and I was able to put it back together in no time. The second move, I disassembled it myself and was able to put it back together in no time again. There are some scratches here and there on the wood, but it is nothing too noticeable. Looks and works as good as new. And for those that are wondering... I am a young (20s) person and I have put this bed through RIGOROUS use. Trust the reviews, assembly is not hassle free, but it's worth it. The bed will last. Buy the bed!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same color.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
China source quality
 from Pasadena, CA,  Apr 20, 2011

After reading all the glowing reviews my wife purchased this bed. Yes it is package well, Yes the shipping was fast, No, it is not solid wood. I do have some buyers remorse, because I was not making accurate comparisons to the more expensive furniture brands. Rubber wood is a moderately hard wood, Rubber wood is sold in smaller-sized boards than other commercial hardwoods, but it can be laminated or finger-jointed, and if you look closely this bed is finger jointed pieces. It is a well constructed bed, if your wife likes pillows, you will never see the headboard, if I had it to do over, I would have wanted to pay less, but still would buy the bed for the guest room.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Fair
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Almost
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

My husband and I bought this bed because it has hundreds of reviews, and the rating is so high. Honestly we are wondering why! Two of our boards arrived severely warped, and assembly for the bed was a little ridiculous (with the way the hex wrench works, you can only tighten 10 degrees at a time!!!!!) and time consuming. The quality of the bed seems to be pretty average honestly, and we felt the bed is overpriced. I would say think twice about getting this bed!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bed
 from texas,  Feb 11, 2008

Based on what other reviews said, i was prepared for assembly challenge and relatively short headboard.... but was not prepared for how GREAT looking it is and so much less "bulky" than my old sleigh bed....so happy with sleek rich appearance and quality of workmanship and material.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous bed
 from Florida,  Nov 18, 2007

This bed was a lot easier to assemble than I thought it would be. I did go out to a few hardware stores to search for a ball end hex and came up empty so I gave up. Yes, you do need patience to screw the nails into the headboard, but I have tiny fingers so luckily I was able to use my fingers until almost the very end. From there I used the allen wrench to tighten them. Assembling the side rails to the headboard and footboard was probably the most difficult part for me. Make sure you do not tighten the screws all the way like I did the first time around because you have to line everything up before they are tightened. Read the entire step of directions before beginning! This is a beautiful bed, and I was able to assemble it by myself spread out into two days. I purchased the 8-inch memory foam mattress along with this and I am very happy with both of them.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Watch Out
 Sep 20, 2007

This item, along with all the others in the Tribeca collection are cheap particle board with a laminate cover on them. If purchasing for a "nice" bedroom setup you will be sorely disappointed. We purchased the entire collection and know we are. Not worth the money or inevitable satisfaction.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Quality, yet inexpensive...
 from Miami, Fl,  Jul 18, 2007

I received all 3 boxes approx. 1 week after ordering, and all items were in great condition, having been securely wrapped and packed with styrofoam. I strongly suggest using a ratchet with a hex drill bit to secure the headboard to the legs, as it will dramtically reduce the amount of time needed to set this bed up. Use a drill for the rest of the bed. Using the ratchet and drill, setup took me no more than 45 minutes, from unpacking to re-setting up the bed and positioning it. The bed looks amazing! It is solid, sturdy, and would easily sell for at least double in any furniture store, not to mention tax and delivery fees. I have been searching for a bed for approx 3 months, and the closest match to this bed was made from particleboard, not solid wood, and would have cost a total of $500. Overall this is a hard deal to beat!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor quality
 from Bronxville, NY,  Apr 10, 2012

This item was purchased in 2007 and was difficult to assemble. It was placed in a guest room, so was used sparingly. Yet, it began to fall apart soon after assembled. We replaced it in 2011. Not worth it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate color
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid bed
 from Indiana,  Oct 14, 2011

This bed is very nice except for the leg supports under the middle. They keep coming loose and have even fallen off! I have to continually climb under the bed to screw them back into the frame. They should have been attached by a different method.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. needs help
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bed :-)
 from Indiana,  Dec 29, 2008

I agree with the people who LOVED the fact the screws, etc, were in separate bags & were labeled, as well as each piece of the bed being labeled.The instructions were easy to follow with some close up views to clarify what pieces went where.The ease of assembling the bed was great although it did take time since I'm used to using a power drill to speed things along.It took me 2 1/2 to 3 hours to assemble it by myself.I'm a 54 y.o. woman but gender doesn't apply in ease of assembly, except as women we may actually read the directions :-)I also love the way the bed looks & expect it to last me for many years. I have had negative experiences putting furniture together from other stores even though I've had a LOT of experience not only assembling furniture but installing light fixtures, etc.. although that experience isn't needed in this instance.This experience was like a breath of fresh air and I definitely would recommend it to anyone I know, family members included. :-)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Need Lots of Patience!
 from Palm Harbor, FL,  Aug 24, 2008

I am a 57 year old women who was a previous owner of a waterbed which I had for 25+ years, but due to constant back problems, thought it was time for a regular bed. The 3 packages came within a week of ordering. They were heavy! But I managed. I hired a man to disassemble my waterbed and asked him how much it would cost to reassemble my new bed. He said $50. But, in order to save some $, I decided to give it a try. Well, let me tell you, if you don't have a lot of patience, or if you haven't had several glasses of wine, you won't like how long it takes to put this bed together. I had the day off from work due to Tropical Storm Fay, and decided to give it a try. I started around 5:00 pm and finally finished at 11:30 PM. Exhausted, but very pleased with myself with my accomplishment! I was very surprised by all the reviews I read and thought I would need special tools. I borrowed a rubber mallet, which is definitely needed to bang in the trowels and I already owned an electric drill, so that is all that was needed. I did use a small rubbermaid stool that someone else suggested in the reviews to hold the footboard when you assembled the headboard which was a big help! All the reviews are correct that state it is a big pain to use the hex wrench that is provided, but I did manage. So, to make a long story short, it is do able even if you are putting it together by yourself. I also ordered the 10 inch memory foam which is simply perfect with the bed. Especially after using a waterbed after all those years, I was very skeptical, but it was the best move I have ever donel The bed looks beautiful and I am a very happy customer. Thanks, Overstock!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 586 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 30 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Vilas Queen-size Bed
Today $438.29
(127)
Back to top