For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 23 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
In love with my bed (not the other way around)
 from Rocky Mountains, USA,  Aug 17, 2011

I purchased this "mattress" a couple of weeks ago, with no reviews to help make my decision. Not ordinarily the way I work, but I rolled the dice, nevertheless. I researched the family owned company, their innovations, and tried to see how committed they were to bringing a healthy, sustainable product to market, and whether this product line was merely opportunistic as so many marketers have the sheep lining up to "go green". I almost loathe the green marketing, as it creates so much work for skeptics like me. I take nothing at face value. Anyway, I trust that these guys are legit. The mattress: It is firm by my standards. I truly believed I'd been sleeping on a firm conventional mattress before (with a 2.5" memory foam topper) but now I think maybe not. I'm 150 pounds and sink in just enough. No pressure points and no hot spots. The mattress breathes fine and I wake up feeling great. I knew that if I found this to be uncomfortably firm, I could always add a softer topper for little additional expense. After a week, I've grown accustomed to the additional firmness and won't need to supplement with anything. Last night's sleep is what has motivated this review. I am primarily a back sleeper, transitioning to my side frequently throughout the night, as I unconsciously seek a more comfortable position. Inevitably, I also end up on my stomach, mostly in the morning. The problem with this has been that back pain eventually wakes me, and it only takes a few minutes on my stomach for the pain to arrive. This has been happening since I was a toddler in a crib, with every single mattress I've ever owned. I can't even remember any exceptions, and I've stayed in some pretty nice places, 5 star hotels and otherwise. This morning, I was semi-conscious, and thinking to myself, "where's the pain?". I've just come to expect it, so I stayed in this position as long as possible and woke up again, still pain free, and still on my stomach. I'm so excited and thankful to have another sleeping option after being denied so long. Not sure if I'm alone in my dilemma, but it may just be that I'm one of those people that plan to turn my body back in well worn and virtually falling apart.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Fine.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High. Very, very high
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Quite.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this mattress
 from Greensboro, NC,  Dec 27, 2011

I have severe nasal allergies and so I am allergic to most mattresses that are made with smelly chemicals. I was taking a big risk ordering a mattress from the internet that was not 100% organic like my last mattress, but I needed a new mattress and could not afford to spend another $2000 right now. The other reviews were promising, so I decided to try this mattress, since it claims to be free of toxic chemicals. It did have a faint odor when it first arrived, but it was not very bad compared to traditional mattresses. I have had the mattress a few weeks now, and I don't smell anything anymore. It is very firm, but I wanted a firm mattress to support my back. My other mattress was too soft and caused aches, so this on is an improvement in that regard. I might recommend a simple mattress topper if you get it and it is too hard for you. That is probably what I will get next, but overall, this mattress was a GREAT BUY!!! Please don't buy a traditional mattress full of toxic chemicals!!! They make people very sick and should be banned!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome bed in suprising pacakge
 from Rockford, IL,  Feb 9, 2013

No smell like some other reviews. Maybe a VERY faint linen smell. Comes rolled up in a box like a pig-in-a-blanket. Expands quick and perfectly fits my queen frame. Registering for the warranty with Spaldin was easy with the card included in the box. I like a firm bed and this was just the ticket.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Its only been a few nights but the out-of-the-box impression is its going to last!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not what I expected
 from Sacramento, CA,  Jun 17, 2014

I always thought I preferred firm mattresses, so I thought from the reviews that this sounded perfect. Unfortunately, we've had it for several weeks now and it still feel like I'm sleeping on a ThermaRest on the floor. I'm a side sleeper so I wake up with sore shoulders, even though I've never had a shoulder problem before on ANY mattress. Also, this is advertised as a queen bed, but seems more like a full. It is smaller than the queen box spring and the queen frame that we have it on. I'm so disappointed that I spent so much money on this when it isn't even a standard size!

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Very Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this bed!
 from Minneapolis,  Jan 9, 2014

Simple, comfortable, convenient, this is a wonderful mattress! My husband and I have been sleeping like logs since we purchased this mattress.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
pleased with this purchase
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Oct 27, 2013

We were desperate for a new mattress, and really wanted one that was made from materials that weren't going to slowly kill us in our sleep. Unfortunately, the budget was tight, and most natural mattresses are crazy expensive. I'm not sure how truly eco-friendly or natural this mattress is, but overall I am pleased with this purchase. The mattress was initially a little too firm for our liking but now, after a few months, it feels softer, but without body impressions. It is still on the firm side, but I now wake up feeling more refreshed and without the stiffness or tension that I used to have with a softer, innerspring mattress. I think this is a perfect mattress for a second home or a guest bedroom. As your main number one mattress, I'd say this mattress is good for those with a tight budget who are looking for a quality bed. If you have a bigger budget, don't buy this expecting it to feel like a thousand dollar mattress. It's good for what it is, especially if you prefer a firmer bed.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Mattress
 from Roanoke, VA,  Oct 15, 2013

We bought this mattress after years of waiting to buy a 100 % organic one, and then realizing the price of those was just not fitting in the budget. This mattress allowed for a middle ground compromise. Not traditional and ravaged with chemicals and not expensive and 100 % organic. It feels great, not super firm but firm enough to do the job of good support. Slight odor out of box, gone within 3 days. Overall very happy and highly recommended.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best sleep in 5 in five years!
 from Tacoma,Wa,  Mar 13, 2013

My wife and I where looking for a bed that eco friendly and that is healthy for our home to replace our crappy sleep # bed we bought only 5 years ago. We did go to the Spaldin site did some research and read lots of reviews. So we took our chances buying a mattress online we had high hopes and were not let down. The first night we bought our mattress we opened it up with no smell of rubber like a few people said and let it set itself up and put it to use it has been great sleep ever since. It felt firm but I am a side sleeper and I have not had any shoulder pain or back pain I recommend this mattress to anyone wishing to have a great night sleep. The other bonus is you and your family do not have to breathe in toxic chemicals while you sleep and you are making a little difference in the world by investing in a great eco company who also care about your health.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? looked identical
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. super quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? completely accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Firm
 from New Mexico,  Mar 6, 2013

We've had this for a year now. We really like firm mattresses, and prefer foam to anything with springs, so this is nice for us. It has held up well so far. For the price I would definitely recommend it. The only downside I can think of it that the cover on the mattress (the only part of it that is actually natural or organic, or whatever they claim, is only padded on one side, so that it is kind of impossible to flip the mattress, as we like to do regularly. We still flip it every few months, just top to bottom. Of course we also have a mattress pad/cover so this isn't much of an issue, and if we had a topper it would be totally moot.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fine
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect!!!
 from Reno, NV,  Jan 30, 2013

This is the best purchase I have made in a long time!!! This mattress is perfectly firm, to the touch it is soft but as you lay down it is heavenly.. It shipped for free and was delivered to my doorstep very quickly. I opened the box and packaging and within minutes the mattress unfolded to its actual size with no problems. Some people had left comments that this mattress had an odor for several weeks, but I never noticed any strange smell at all. This is an absolute steal for a natural/green mattress and the Spaldin company offers a reasonable warranty on their products as well that is hard to beat at this price. If you want a chemical free sleeping option I highly recommend this one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color of the organic cover is a cream/off white.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very nice, very high quality, very impressed.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great mattress from a great company
 from Mills River, NC,  Jan 28, 2013

My wife and I had our previous traditional innerspring mattress for right at the ten-year mark, and in the last year or so we had noticed it was on its last leg, since it had gotten heavy and started to sag. My lower back would hurt to the point that it would literally take me a couple minutes to sit up and get out of bed so my back could "unwind" from the terrible sleep quality each night. Needless to say we'd had it with our old mattress. We ordered this Spaldin mattress because we wanted a high-quality memory foam mattress made as naturally as possible, becasue we had some concerns about off-gassing and the toxicity of innerspring mattresses, not to mention the landfill issues and lack of sustainability of innerspring. We felt very good as we read about the Spaldin company, so we knew we wanted to order from them. Once that decision was made, we were pleased to find several Spaldin options on Overstock.com, which is one of our favorite online retailers. We went for the firm 8" mattress because we wanted a slimmer profile than our previous 10" innerspring, and we know we both sleep better on firm surfaces. This, in my opinion, is the perfect firmness because I was concerned about "sinking in" to a memory foam mattress as I've heard and read about, plus I didn't want to feel sucked in because I'm typically warm-natured. This mattress keeps you on top of the memory foam while allowing just enough cushion to support your natural curvature. I can sleep in all my usual positions on this mattress, and I'm actually waking up more and more comfortably as I grow accustomed to it (we've had it right at a month). It's also great for sitting up on if you like to read at night as I do. It's much more comfortable in a sitting position than an innerspring. One other note re: off-gassing. We unrolled the mattress as soon as we got it, but we only let it air out one night because we were so tired of our old mattress and anxious to give this one a try. Yet, we didn't notice a bad odor. I would think that Spaldin's use of more natural materials contributes to this, but we were fine with only 24 hours of initial breathing time before we used it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Well-made and durable
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So far, so good!
 from Phila,  Jan 10, 2013

I'm only one night in to sleeping on the mattress, but so far, so good. Delivery and set up were a breeze; the compact bundle expanded into a lovely mattess (though it's 77 inches, not 80 long). We slept very well last night; no odor, very comfortable, firm but plush enough. This feels like a real bargain. I would recommend it--.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very nicely made
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice, firm mattress
 from Seattle, WA,  Dec 11, 2012

This mattress was exactly what I was looking for. It's certified to not contain any bad chemicals. It did smell a bit on the first couple days, but the smell quickly went away.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matches
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exactly what I was looking for
 from Fl,  Oct 25, 2012

This mattress was what I was looking for, like I said more firm than I thought but I'd rather that anyway. The delivery process was not good they just dropped it at our front door! No knocking or anything! And it was raining, but packaged well and we were home so now were sleeping great, although I may get a topper to soften it a bit.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality, it's more firm than I thought but I'm happy about that. Feels genuine
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It was pretty accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice mattress
 from Oshkosh, WI,  Oct 18, 2012

I bought this to replace my daughters old mattress. I wanted something that would easily go up our hairpin turn to the upstairs, but still be a great quality mattress without paying an arm and a leg. I was also interested in one that didn't emit any harmful gases. The mattress immediately retained it's full size right after I cut it loose from the plastic. There was a slight odor, but that dissipated after a few days. It was a little firmer than my daughter liked, so I bought a soft topper and now it's great. She loves it and says she never wants to get out of bed!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The mattress was just as described. We are pleased with it.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Mattress for the Price!
 from Lansing, MI,  Sep 22, 2012

I was amazed at how quickly the mattress arrived! Once it was opened, it regained shape quickly, and there was no smell. It is definitely a firm mattress, which is exactly what I was looking for. If you're looking for an affordable, eco-friendly mattress, this is a great choice!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it.
 from DC,  Sep 9, 2012

Love this mattress. When lying on it, it feels very comfortable and firm. Sitting on the side, I sink in much more than I would have expected but this is my first foam mattress, so maybe that is to be expected.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Affordable Green Mattress
 from Imlay City, MI,  Aug 28, 2012

I purchased this for myself after getting a smaller one for my child. I'm very happy to find this affordable green option for me to sleep on. The price didn't break my piggy and I'm not breathing in chemicals all night long. I love it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very nicely made.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Matched the descriptions.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sleeping on this is heaven!
 from San Francisco,  Jun 1, 2012

I ordered this for my sister and recently went to visit her. She loves the new bed. The shipping was fast and everything arrived intact. The mattress provides just enough support but is also wonderfully cozy.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Incredible deal!
 from Atlanta, GA,  Mar 6, 2012

We replaced our very old, miserably uncomfortable innerspring mattress with this soy foam mattress. I was skeptical about ordering a mattress online, but the natural latex mattresses we were considering were online as well and cost 6 or 7 times this Spaldin mattress. I figured I could order a $280 natural latex topper for the mattress if it was too firm and still only spend $700 total, but we haven't found a topper necessary. I cannot believe how comfortable it is and that it only cost $410, including shipping. It's very firm (which we love) and was comfortable from the first night - no adjustment period at all. The only negative thing is that it's only 8 inches thick, so even on the box spring we placed it on, it's a lot lower than our previous mattress. We don't mind, but it could look odd on some beds if you're accustomed to a 13-inch mattress.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 23 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top