Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
tiffany light
 from michigan,  Feb 24, 2009

The light is beautiful BUT I expected amber and cream colors , it is green and orange. Maybe because it is hand made. color varies. Also I expected not alot of light, but I thought it was because of the thick glass but is really due to 40 watt type B lightbulbs.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Tiffany-style Shell Hanging Light
 from virginia,  Apr 11, 2007

very pretty if you were able to use a larger watt bulb, but it does not provide enough overhead light, even in a very small bathroom area using the size bulb it recommends....therefore, the colors aren't nearly as pretty...it also has a oily odor evidently caused from processing the lead to the glass

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good price
 from Louisville, KY,  Jul 10, 2010

Although this light was a very good price and came quickly, I was VERY disappointed that the color was nothing like the lamp in the picture I thought I was ordering. It is lime green when off and a greenish yellow when turned on (instead of amber & white). I also had to use very bright light bulbs to get a useful light. Also, it was supposed to hang down 16" but barely makes a drop of 11". I think this was false advertising and my first such bad experience ordering from Overstock. The only reason I did not send it back was the cost of returning and the fact I was needing a light immediately. I wanted what was pictured so badly!! I would not recommend this to anyone and it causes me to be leary of future orders.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
tiffany-style shell hanging lamp
 from Ocala, FL,  Jun 24, 2010

Nice quality; ample light. A lot more greenish/yellow than depicted by the picture. But remember: Tiffany lamps (or their equivalent) are considered art and as such, are not required to match the wallpaper like a curtain or a bedspread. So enjoy! This one is quite pretty and a great value for the money.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Tiffany-style Shell Hanging Light
 from Michigan,  Jul 28, 2007

I was fairly happy with the Tiffany-style Shell Hanging Light, although a few of the copper wrapped stained glass pieces were not completely soldered, so I had to push the copper down around the glass in places and hope that it is not a problem in the future. I originally placed the lamp in my dinning room, but was not happy with the light output. I ended up using it in the breakfast nook in the kitchen and replaced regular 60 watt light bulbs with halogen 60 watt bulbs. The light output was a lot better after the switch in bulbs and I have had a few compliments already with it only being in place for one week.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice, but going back!
 from MI,  Dec 12, 2009

I am sorry, this is going back! As it says in the description, you need 2 - 60 watt bulbs, that indeed is not true. I requires 2 - 40 "B" watt bulbs. Although the light is nice for ambiance, it is not good for reading or is bright enough to light a room! The shade is mostly made up of yellows and looks nice, however, not so good for lighting a room up. Way to dim for me....

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not the color shown!
 from NYC,  Dec 4, 2011

This light is of good quality, but is a very dark green and looks nothing like the picture on the site.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Not what it you think! The light is a very dark green!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not good, much much darker in person
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful light
 from Kansas City, MO,  Jul 8, 2011

Love the light, but the instructions were awful with no company to contact for clarification. Said to connect the white and black wires when the wires on the lamp were actually brown leaving me to research which is the hot wire. After internet research, I found that the side with the writing is hot and the plain is neutral. This will help you in installation. Otherwise is great product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Has more of a green tint when not lighted, soft light.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Light is beautiful, but came with terrible instructions.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Shell Lamp
 from Keene, NH,  May 11, 2010

Purchased this light as a Mother's day present for my wife. It is replacing a 60's style light in the kitchen. Very easy to install and she is very happy with it. Tried soft white 60 watt bulbs first and there was plenty of light, but decided to replace them with 26 watt compact flourescent bulbs that have 100 watt equivalent light output. Huge difference in light output using much less power in the process. The fixture also claims you can use two 75 watt bulbs on the lamp I received, not 60 watts.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice one!
 from Pune, India,  Apr 30, 2010

I am very happy with I paid for. Good workmanship. Only thing is that as I will be using it in India, we need 220-240 volts, so I may replace the assembly or my electrician will do something for me. It definitely added richness to my living room.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very pretty
 Dec 20, 2009

I think the light is very pretty.The color I order looked like more white background but when I received it was more amber color but I real like it.It seems to give the room a warm feeling.We also got the order faster then we thought and everything was alright in the box.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I agree with a previous review that the light is more orange than shown, but that was a plus for me as my room has some orange in it.The color is somewhat dark and halogen lights will lighten your area better than regular lighting.The light fixture is pretty and will made and is a definate keeper.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful
 from Jacksonville, FL,  Jul 31, 2008

I bought two. They are gorgeous and easy to install. They also cast a beautiful pattern upward.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's beautiful.
 from Houston, TX,  Mar 29, 2008

This light looked excatly like the picture - only the red jewel like glass was more like a deep purple instead of deep red. But it's OK - it's still lovely.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Tiffany Shell light
 from Franklin Square,NY,  Mar 15, 2008

This is a very pretty light. It gives off a warm amber glow. I also like the reflection on the ceiling with a scalloped design. It was easy to assembly and not to difficut to install. Although, not very handy, my husband installed it by himself. I would not recommend it for an area that requires a lot of light. The workmanship is OK and it is coated in a oily base that needs to be vigioursly cleaned.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top