Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 49 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
nice, very nice
 from San Diego, CA,  Mar 20, 2010

I was a litle skeptical ordering "quality" furniture over the internet (not being able to see or touch it). Upon reading the reviews for this bookshelf, I decided to "take the plunge" and order it. And boy, am I glad I did. This bookshelve is very nice, sturdy and for the price, I can't believe it's real wood, not particle board. Highly recommend this piece. Thanks Overstock from one very satisfied customer :)

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dimensions are NOT accurate on item description
 from Denver, CO,  Jan 21, 2012

Purchased this item to house closetmaid fabric drawers for storage, intended to use for kids storage. Site states 12 inch shelf height, bought 11 inch drawers, they no where near fit. Frustrating as now I do not have a solution, but instead a new problem to solve. It will likely cost me more than I had intended, terribly frustrating. Not at all pleased Overstock, you should be able to list dimensions more accurately. Was considering another furniture shelving purchase, not feeling so inclined at this point.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? true
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. average
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? NOT!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just okay
 from East Lansing, MI,  Jul 19, 2011

Bought two of these. The cases are VERY solidly constructed. They'll hold up to book weight, no problem. The stain is generally okay, but there were a couple of spots of runs or thin stain. Generally, I found that when I put the thing together, I could turn the bad edge of a shelf to the back, so it wouldn't be visible, though. The wood is a bit soft, so it's easily dented. Also, contrary to the description on the site, the shelves are NOT 12 inches apart. They're more like 9 inches. Paperbacks and smaller hardbacks will fit, with no problem, but I have a lot of books that are too tall, and the shelves aren't adjustable.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid, but has weaknesses
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Shelves are NOT 12 inches apart
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
both orders lacked important hardware
 from new york, ny,  Aug 27, 2011

ordered two of these units. Fairly easy to assemble and look very good when finished. The difficulty is that both boxes were missing the hardware necessary to secure the top shelf to the unit. The hardware you need is pretty easy to find at a hardware store (2 inch allen bolts), but be advised that until you get those bolts the top shelf is just sitting on the uprights. But as I said they're attractive units. At this price point you probably wouldn't get higher quality mission shelves, but you'd probably not have to provide your own bolts to put them together. Having said this, I should add that I like the shelves enough to be ordering another set.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent value & appearance
 from Denver, NY,  Nov 23, 2011

I ordered this small bookcase for my living room, where I did not want a large over-bearing piece, but something to fit in with the coffee table & two end-tables I had bought from Overstock last year. I was hopeful that the rubberwood cherry finish described would match, and am delighted that this new bookcase fits in perfectly in color and appearance. It was easy to put together, and as always I am pleased with the bookcase, as I have been with many other items I have purchased at Overstock over the years. It arrived beautifully and safely packed in less than a week from my order.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as hoped
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The rubberwood and finish is very smooth and good-looking
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid and Attractive at a Good Price
 from Henderson, NV,  Aug 25, 2011

Bought two Five-tier units earlier and was pleased with design, quality and appearance so just added one Three-tier for added space. All went together easily and are holdiing up well. Very nice additions to our home.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Product Quality is Very Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurately described
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice bookshelves
 from Alexandria, VA,  Aug 11, 2011

Sturdy, nice design, easy to move without looking flimsy and cheap. Good value!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? 100% match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very nice quality for the $$.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 100% accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Small Bookcase
 from Suburbs of Washington, DC,  Jun 28, 2011

I needed a small bookcase to fit in under a window in my office that was more than 4 feet off the ground. This bookcase looks even better in place than it did in the pictures online. It assembled easily and I had it up and ready for the books I needed to store in probably under an hour. I would love to get a second, larger one if I can get one to fit into the narrow space that I have available. (I also am very pleased with the fact that the wood used is a secondary use of the tree from which it was harvested. It is environmentally friendly--although it took a couple days for the small of the varnish used to dissipate.) I highly recommend this product to anyone who needs an attractive bookcase of the same general size.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes, it was very close to the online picture
  • How is the quality of the product? It is very good, beyond what I expected for the price.
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Measurements were very precise.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy but smelly
 from Maryland,  Jun 27, 2011

The shelves are very heavy and sturdy and a good deal even for the price here (they are less expensive elsewhere). Although they are extremely easy to assemble make sure you have plenty of ventilation when doing so as they are very smelly straight out of the box and will give you a headache if you're not careful. You will also want a place to put them outside for a few days to finish off-gassing (most of the smell is gone within 24 hours but a little longer is better).

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? good
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
excellent product
 from San Diego,  Jun 15, 2011

I purchased two of these smaller shelves and two of the larger ones. The shelves are a deep burgundy color. The two smaller shelves look great flanked on either side by the larger shelves, making a very attractive wall unit. All were easy to put together, I did it myself in under three hours for all four and I have limited movement with my right arm! It would have been easier with two for assembly, especially for the bigger shelves, but these smaller shelves were no problem at all. O.com has once again come through with a quality product, great shipping (there were here within three days and the UPS driver brought them inside) and a very reasonable price.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? excellent
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Accent Piece
 from Osage Beach, MO,  Apr 19, 2011

Needed a bookcase for home office that would be functional as well as match cherry desk & credenza. The shelf is a great complementary piece. It is well designed and sturdy for the price. Looks great and holds regular hard cover-sized books. A good buy for the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice little shelf
 from Chicago, IL,  Nov 24, 2014

Nice little shelf that fits perfectly into the space I had in mind, has shelves that are large enough for most books, is stable, not wobbly, and matches the modern ebony furniture in the room.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful bookshelf
 from Jefferson City, MO,  Feb 28, 2014

I am very please with this bookshelf. Definitely worth the purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent
 from Petaluma, CA,  Jan 31, 2014

I didn't want to spend a lot of money for a small area in our apartment so saw this and thought it would work. It is a dark cherry which works well with the other furniture. It was a little complicated to put together as some of the pieces are similar but not 'quite' the same. Just study the diagram carefully and all works out. It looks great and we are very happy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Book Case
 from Nashville, TN,  Mar 29, 2013

The product assembled easily. Mine had a chip on the rear top shelf, fortunately on the underside so it was not visible when assembled. The shelves are a fixed position and there is not enough height for many of the books we wanted to use it for. The maximum height of a book needs to be no more than 9 1/4" on the two lower shelves and 9.5" on the upper. You can actually put a taller book on the top shelf, but you have to put it in at angle to avoid the front top shelf support bar.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It was accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It was expected, for the price, although mine was damaged
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 100%
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solidly Constructed But Poor Finish
 from Portland, OR,  Mar 5, 2013

The sides and back rails are solid wood, but the shelves and top appear to be particle board covered with a thick coating to try to pretend to be real wood. The whole thing is a bit smaller than expected but it seems very solid, and I expect it could hold a lot of weight if needed. Some of the wood pieces were not perfectly shaped, with small indentations that were clearly there before the finish was applied. The finish is low quality - really more paint than stain, you can't see any grain through it - and it's not quite evenly applied in some places. This is in a spot in our house where it won't get close scrutiny so it's OK. The price was right. Overall the quality is not as good as expected.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Different Color than Image on Site
 from Dallas, TX,  Sep 18, 2012

While I have only had this book shelf for a few days so I can't really talk about the quality of it, I am quite disappointed with the color. It shows as red in the description, but it is not red at all. It is a mahogany color. It still looks nice, I just wanted to let others know in case they were expecting it to be red.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color on the site looks red, it is actually a mahogany.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality seems fine so far.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not accurate since it is pictured as red and it is not.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Book shelf is beautiful!
 from Florida,  Dec 24, 2011

Better quality wood and construction than expected. Have had several comments from visitors as to how nice the book shelf looks.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. better than expected for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? great
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Three-Tier Book Shelf
 from Columbus, OH,  Dec 20, 2011

This is a good quality piece for the price. It was fairly easy to assemble and is nice and heavy. The color is a little uneven in one place and the bottom shelf is a little rough, making it hard to dust.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice unit
 from Dixon Springs, TN,  Jul 15, 2011

Unit went together easily, look great & looks like it will hold up well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 49 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought