Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 253 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 13 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Perfect somewhere
 from Scottsdale, AZ,  Dec 21, 2010

Good quality materials and fairly simple to assemble. It's probably not destined to be handed down throught the generations as a family heirloom, but it did add the perfect accent to a wall without protruding into the walking area. Bottom line, yes, it's worth the money.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Product.. Looks great in common hallway
 from Nassau, NY,  Jun 9, 2011

This is a great product and I would recommend this product to my friends

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? good quality
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes it did
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not Wood!
 from NY,  Jan 4, 2011

I ordered the item in hopes of getting a solid wood bookshelf, but only to find that it is only MFD. Don't get me wrong, the item is beautiful and functional, but its not wood. Also, the item chips and scratches effortlessly.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sorry but not worth it
 from Canada,  Dec 13, 2012

I love everything I ordered from Overstock so far, and I ordered a lot, but this was so disappointing. Not a screw lined up with the pre-drilled hole. No pre-drilled hole for the bottom shelf and the screws for it were too short so it did not hold, I had to use other screws. Shelf doesn't line up so sides are not flush with the middle pieces, and I could not, and neither my son, turn the metal holders to hold the top shelf. It is too bad because the style was perfect for the top of the stairs where I wanted to use it. Just hated it....would not recommend to anyone....it doesnt even deserve 1 star.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? not walnut but a reddish brown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very bad, scatches when putting it together even though I was so careful. Screws coming throught the "wood", and no its not wood.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? not.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Walnut Brown Bookshelf
 from Chesapeake, VA,  Mar 3, 2011

Very nice, elegant and sturdy. Easy to assemble my 10 yr. old daughter and I put it together in less than an hour. Color is just as it shows in the picture.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect Fit
 from Glenolden, PA,  Jan 5, 2012

Again, another perfect fit item. I had a small space to store and display my books. This bookshelf did exatly what I wanted it to do - give me a place to put a few of my books and a small shelf for bric-a-brac.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks good but poor quailty for price.
 from Tulsa, Oklahoma,  Jan 17, 2013

VERY Poor packaging for assembly parts. I received screws that were not on the packing list. Pre-drilled holes were too big. It had "Wooden" plugs to cover the screws. I was 5 short and they most were too big for the holes. I had to take a knife and whittle them down just to fit. Some holes were too big for the plug and they pushed too far in. It came with wooden dowels that were pressed cardboard. They either fell to far in the hole or I had to take a hammer to drive them in. Not happy with quality. Other brands are much eaiser to assemble and better quality.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor to fair. Poor quality control of assembly parts. "Wooden" parts were okay just drilled wrong. It was not all solid wood as described.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not solid wood but pressed wood into solid blocks. It looks good and feels solid except for where the pre-drilled were too big. I had to add glue to get them to stay together
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Skip It!
 Jan 9, 2013

Awful quality, held together by a couple of dowels and really short screws that hold nothing. The holes weren;t even drilled in the right places!

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. VERY poor quality, even considering the price
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Damage to book shelf board
 from Sandy Springs, GA,  Dec 1, 2012

I was disappointed that one of the shelves had a big chip in the board and the color was not as dark as what is shown in the picture online

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The actual product color is lighter
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality was average, not great and not the worse
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 90% accurate accept the color which was lighter than the actual color of the product
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
50/50
 from Alabama,  Sep 5, 2012

I bought one of these about a year ago, and it was great, no problems whatsoever. The last one I bought and just received had the most horrible fit and finish I've seen on something in a good long while; countersinks for predrilled holes weren't deep enough, so I had to use other screws than those than came with the product; some of the wooden panels were slightly off by a few mm which translated into a seesaw effect when trying to "finish" the project; some of the predrilled holes were off by a few mm which translated into hardware not lining up (cam locks). All of this resulted in a lot of frustration and finagling on my end. It ended up looking o.k., but I didn't pay for "o.k.," I payed for the one in the photo in the top lefthand side of the screen. In retrospect, I think that the design of the product changed within the past year, as the hardware seemed different than the last one. Also, the instructions were nearly useless.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fit and finish were horrible. If I didn't know my way around a woodshop, it would look terrible right now.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Three-shelf Walnut Book Shelf
 from Cleveland, OH,  Dec 28, 2011

Very easy to assemble - took me 45 minutes to assemble by myself. The color is very dark (which I love). It looks good in my living room entryway. It holds a good number of books.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Buy
 from Rhoce Island,  Dec 25, 2011

this was an excellent piece for the money and very to assemble

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? pretty much exactly as expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. perfect for my intention
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A pain in the neck
 from Annapolis, Md.,  Sep 16, 2010

While the finished bookcase looks fine completed, it was a pain in the neck assembling it. Had I known that I would have to put the case together myself, I would not have bought this piece of furniture. Some of the materials provided were not up to standard and I had to drill holes, glue and clamp the wood. As such, it was very overpriced. My decision to assemble it was probably not a good idea, because it took me hours. I am happy with the end result, appearance wise. I just hope it doesn't fall apart some time down the road.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This sucks
 from Spring Hill, Fl,  Jun 5, 2014

Poor construction,. the first step involved MDF wood. The holes were not lined up for dowels.The dowels were too long and did not fit. Poor instructions. I have put together furniture many times before. I should not have continued, but due to my stubbornness I forced the issue and severely damaged the product by continuing. Its useless now. I not bothering to return, because I'll probably have to eat the shipping costs and get denied a return. ABSOLUTLEY DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT..

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Clearly designed for rocket scientists
 from Texas,  Jun 4, 2014

Great piece, but a PAIN to put together! The instructions were impossible. I'm actually really good at putting together prefab furniture, but this one was taxing even for me. Sorry to brag. It's not a great skill, but it's what I've got. Anyway, the first step was actually two steps. No biggie, it was easy to break it up. Step two, however, was twelve steps, including one that was left off the instructions completely. Then the last two steps were a step each. Seriously, if this form allowed me to upload photos, I'd include one. DO NOT ATTEMPT UNLESS YOU ARE AN ****NINJA!!! Once I got it put together, though, I loved it. Sturdy and looks great!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well built, attractive,reasonably priced
 from Georgia,  Jun 4, 2014

Wanted bookshelf for kitchen that would hold my cookbooks as well as open shelving for computer printer. Perfect for our needs. Holds all my cookbooks easily a dozen, spacious bottom shelf for printer & leaves me top shelf for decorative items like pictures.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is a Quality Bookshelf
 from Vermont,  May 20, 2014

My wife and I love this bookshelf. It is definitely of great quality and structure. There are a lot of parts and the instructions tend to be overwhelming, but if you take your time and logically put it together step by step, it goes together easily. I did not rush myself and took 2 hours to put it together, just so I did not miss a step. I highly recommend this bookshelf. It is a more unique design and adds to the attractiveness of our room. Wood is sturdy and strong.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not Solid Wood
 from NC,  Apr 23, 2014

Veneer covered particle board, it is not solid wood.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I live this bookshelf and would recommend it.
 from Salt Lake City, UT,  Mar 24, 2014

Coming this July I will have have had this shelf for two years. I purchased it to place my TV on it. Placed some of my books in the middle of it. Put my VCR and Direct TV box underneath the bottom shelf. Place bills and other papers on top of the bottom shelf. Totally works perfect for my limited space. I am also pleased with the product being made of solid wood. The only hardware I had a problem with are the cam locks. It did not show in the instructions for how on earth to do them. I finally figured it out on my own. I put the shelf together with no assistance. Probably took about an hour or less. It's even better in person!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice shelf unit.
 from Diamondville, WY,  Feb 23, 2014

This bookshelf is attractive and serves the purpose for which I purchased it which is an end table and storage unit in one. It is not, however all solid wood. Much of it is furniture grade pressed wood, so be careful assembling not to strip the screw holes. Overall it is a good value for the money and I am not disappointed with this purchase.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 253 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 13 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top