Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 24 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Check reviews for assembly tips.
 from New York exurb,  Aug 15, 2014

I read the reviews and the tips from others who assembled these shelves. One I did not read will be a big help to putting these together quickly and easily. We assembled the side pieces to the top shelf, per instructions, adding each additional shelf in order. the closer we got to the bottom, the more difficult it became to fir in the shelves. Our suggestion is to assemble the bottom shelf after the top one, thereby relieving the tension, and spreading out the side pieces properly. Then assemble the rest of the shelves from the top down, and tighten all screws after assembly is complete. You will still find that the overhang varies on the shelves, but they're too beautiful to notice. My wood shelves came with some damage, so examine the shelves carefully before assembly, so nicks can be hidden. It was too much trouble to wait for replacements. There are levelers on the shelf units, and the first unit was perfectly level upon assembly, but we were never able to properly level the second. A felt pad on one leg helped. The shelving units are stunning against my teal study walls.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love these shelves!
 from PA,  Nov 27, 2012

These shelves are great. I received them within two days of ordering and they were easy to put together. They are sturdy, stylish, and of good quality. I highly recommend.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Addition
 from Georgia,  Sep 20, 2013

I have seen this book shelf for sale at other "discount" online retailers for hundreds more than I purchased it at Overstock. I put it together myself and it took about an hour. WIth two people it would have gone faster. It was not hard to assemble. I put the unit in my kitchen and use it for cook books and displaying enamel wear and baskets. The grey is antiqued and the wooden shelves are Vermont Maple if matched to Minwax online color chart http://www.allreclaimedwoodfurniture.com/wood-stain-color-minwax-water-based/ This shelf would fit in with industrial,country or classic decor. It feels sturdy and I think it looks expensive. My husband loves it and everyone who has seen it compliments it's looks.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Meh
 from VA,  Sep 26, 2014

I love how these shelves look but after putting them together they are just overpriced junk from ........... Only 2 shelves lined up enough to have all 4 screws in and not all of the shelves had the screw inserts. There are no holes for the wood screws. As I was putting the shelves together I had to push against the frame to line up the screws to get them in. And after 3 days they still smell funny.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cheap Appearance
 from San Francisco, CA,  Aug 8, 2013

I was quite disappointed with this bookshelf. I read so many reviews and was looking roward to this shelving unit. First, two of the shelves came damaged so I have to awkwardly place books over the scratches. I was also disappointed with the color of the shelves themselves. The color hints more towards golden that true rich brown. I compared the pictures to a separate piece of furniture I purchased on O.co and they looked almost identical in color, but in person they are least three shades off. I was also not happy with the color of the frame. It's silver, but the black overlay is very streaky and you can see the lines from the horrible paint job and doesn't look worn or antiqued. Overall I think this looks nice online and from a distance, but not from up close. It is sturdy and can hold many things and is a decent buy for the price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the wood is more yellow and lighter than the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. decent for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? the dimensions were correct
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
5 shelf
 from Seattle,WA,  Apr 4, 2013

This shelf has a few quality control issues as in the shelves do not match well. But they do have metal supports underneath which is better than most. There are a few visible gaps in the welds and the screws for the top shelf are way to visible. But for price and function I recommend it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great shelfs.
 from Norfolk VA,  Mar 27, 2013

Overall a good purchase. The shelves are study and attractive. The distance between each shelf is greater than I'd prefer (~17"). The assembly wasn't too bad, better than most pre-fab sort of things.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Close but the wood is little lighter
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good for this type of pre-fab thing.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good, although the measurements were confusing, the height was listed as depth.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Almost Crisis
 from Savanna, IL,  Nov 29, 2014

We ordered four shelving units. One shelf out of 16 was not set correctly and we had to improvise. The holes for the screws did not line up to the soldered braces to the frame. Luckily we had wood screws and washers and were able to improvise. The shelves are heavy, sturdy, and look fantastic in our family room. We attached the shelves to the wall for extra stability. It took about 45 min to put one shelving unit together.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality Book/display Shelf!
 from VA,  Apr 22, 2014

This bookshelf is a great deal. I, a middle-aged woman, easily assembled it myself and it is very sturdy, even now that it's fully loaded with books. I did need the loan of a drill to start the pilot holes when screwing in the shelves, but that was manageable. The style is elegant and fits perfectly with my Hemingway in Africa decor (well, okay, that's just what I'm aiming at). Much more attractive than the usual solid wood bookcases, without losing the "solid" feature.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
On The Fence (or shelf)
 from Mobile AL,  Feb 5, 2014

As the title says I'm On The Fence. Have ordered LOTS from O and have loved every purchase. Orleans shleving delivered tonight(early as usual which is great) but don't have time to assemble. But reviews were mixed about coloring so I opened smaller box to see color of metal cause I was worried about that most. Nice! But the color of shelving compared to website is way off! More of a cherry/red which was very disappointing and not like the darker wood tone displayed. Again' I've ordered lots and colors have always matched. Have never returned anything to O so Iand I'm nervous about opening rest. Great value and style is right so I'm considering redoing the shelves to get the right color. Stay tuned.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice piece of furniture.
 from Lawrence, MA,  Mar 13, 2013

I received the bookcase earlier than I was initially expecting which is always a nice bonus. It was packed well and arrived with no damage. The construction took about an hour and a half because not all of the holes lined up for the screws. Once it was together, I moved it to it's spot and began filling it. It's a very handsome piece and looks great. It adds a nice touch of a finished semi industrial look while being a solid attention getter as well. I've received many compliments on it. It's a good buy!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy and an expensive look.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great basic piece
 from Ft Worth, TX,  Feb 20, 2013

I bought this 5 shelf piece for my office. I needed a storage piece that would blend in with an eclectic mix of transitional, industrial, mid-century pieces. I am very happy with the look and quality of the shelves.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly as shown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was very accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Value
 from Raleigh NC,  Jan 10, 2013

I bought two of these to use for displaying items in my husband's office. They were easy to assemble, though a couple of holes didn't line up perfectly, so I had to use my drill. The other pieces of furniture are of much higher quality, and I was concerned the shelves might not work, but they look very nice! Very happy with them.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Just what I expected.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Value for $
 from New Orleans,  Oct 23, 2014

Sturdy, well built. Easy to assemble. Neutral style goes with most decors.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great shelves
 from New York, NY,  Sep 29, 2014

These shelves are sturdy and look great. Assembly took a little work, but was worth it in the end. I think the shelves look expensive and high quality given the price. The product arrived in 2 boxes on 2 different days. For some reason they didn't arrive together.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
"Orleans" Vintage-look Shelf Unit
 from Southern CA,  Aug 14, 2014

After searching several websites and purchasing other units, finally a substantial unit with style, function and fair price. Would go with most decor. Love the look!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for the Kitchen
 from Los Angeles,  Aug 12, 2014

I love seeing this bookcase as soon as I walk into my kitchen—it looks so great and it makes me feel like I've scored a stylish hit. The tones of the metal and wood are perfect. I have a mix of regular (but nice) dishes as well as vintage pottery. It looks modern but not too modern and it doesn't look cheap, even through the price is great.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better than it looks online
 from sc,  Apr 27, 2014

Sturdy and attractive... Worked we'll for our office

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy & Industrial
 from Maryland,  Feb 19, 2014

Took longer than expected to put together by two people. Seemed to be poorly cut so that it was hard to line up the pieces for installation. But once complete, the piece looks just as I expected and fits in well with our decor. Very sturdy piece, hopefully lasts a long time.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Even better in person
 from Danville. Ca,  Feb 2, 2014

We selected these shelves for a client, and after seeing them in person - I love them even more. They look very high end, and are great quality at a fantastic value.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 24 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought