For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 79 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great quality, great buy
 from Denver, CO,  Oct 12, 2011

So I read all of the comments before I bought this and could not be more pleased. It is a high quality, solid wood product at an extremely inexpensive price for what it is. If you want to go out and pay $2,500 for a bed frame, please do so and don't complain about this one. It is solid wood (soft to medium hardness) made in Indonesia. It is not laminate, not stained, but treated with some sort of coloring process. It looks great but you can scratch or dent it if not careful. I scratched/dented a very small piece while assembling and covered up with a marker. Impossible to see. The only tricky part of assembly is getting all of the slats onto the frame before tightening everything up since they are all connected with fiberglass tape. Once in place, everything is lined up and easy to secure with hex bolts and screws. All of the center legs are sturdy and supportive. They are able to be leveled if you are on an uneven surface. The only way that I can see that they would come loose is if they were put on incorrectly. My only complaint about assembly is that only some of the slats are secured to the frame so some creaking can occur. It is easy to drill pilot holes and secure them with wood screws or do like I did and just add a dab of glue at those spots and problem solved. I've recently bought the matching nightstands and they have a similar good quality and no assembly is required.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It is as described in comments - dark brown most of time but red hues definitely come out when in direct sunlight
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good especially for price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Simple & Elegant
 from Boise, Idaho,  Jul 20, 2011

I bought this bed for a Sleep Number mattress, and it's been perfect. With the help of a friend, it was easy to put together, and it feels absolutely steady and strong even with my 300 pound, 6'8" husband sleeping in it! I love the color and the simplicity---it helps minimize the size of a very large mattress (California King).

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? True
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Happy With This Bed Frame!
 from Bay Area, CA,  Feb 10, 2014

I have to say I was skeptical to order this bed frame after reading the reviews others have written. I decided to go ahead with it and am very happy I did. The shipment arrived quickly in three boxes, and the pieces were well packaged without a scratch or dent in the wood. The frame was in perfect condition. All of the hardware was included...in fact there was one extra of each screw and washer. The frame was very easy to assemble by the instructions. I was able to put it together quickly and all screws and holes lined up beautifully. I was concerned about the stability of the middle leg and had no problems. The ends on the center pegs are on screws to adjust height if needed for uneven flooring to make sure all is level. I had a carpenter friend come over to take a look before putting the mattress on it to troubleshoot any potential problems that might need added screws or supports and all checked out with him. I did add plywood on top of the slats for a more even surface for the mattress after experiencing challenges with slat frames in the past. The frame is completely stable and solid on wood flooring. It does not move or make noise when sleeping on it. I also took a chance in trying to match a headboard I already had and was thrilled to see the color matched exactly. It is a dark wood with a cherry undertone that shows up under light. Someone mentioned that in a review so I took a chance on the frame since that was the color I needed. The cherry undertone does not standout without more direct light, but it is there. Although I started out skeptical, I am thrilled I took the chance...it is a great bed frame.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Simple yet sufficient
 from New York, NY,  Nov 29, 2011

I was looking for a simple, inexpensive bed for my small apartment and this did the trick. The bed looks nice and doesn't take up a lot of space. It feels sturdy for the most part, despite it's bare bones construction, but I would recommend reinforcing the center support legs. The center support legs aren't part of the main bed frame and you have to attach them during assembly. They are very narrow and slide around when you move in bed. I cut lengths of 4"x4" lumber to replace the center support legs and have been sleeping soundly ever since. Other than that minor inconvenience, I would recommend this bed. You can't beat the price!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Decent for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not good!
 from Savannah, GA,  May 18, 2011

This bed was easy to put together and fit, but was constantly breaking within a week. The center support legs fell out and broke in a few days, and then the side supports broke. My husband fixed it with a few 2x4s and now it is very sturdy, but it was ridiculous how quickly the thing fell apart!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Terrible
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for the price . .
 from San Diego, CA,  Jan 6, 2011

I am really enjoying this platform bed. We did have a few glitches when we received it. The two side rails are not protected well in the shipping box and because of that they were each damaged in shipping. The damage on the box matched up to exactly where the rails were in the box. Overstock customer service was excellent about making sure we received replacement rails, however there were small "dings" in the new side rails also. It was not enough to make a big deal about and are located in an area that does not show in our room. Yes - for the price and the quality, I would purchase again, and I appreciate the way Overstock customer service handled the situation.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice and easy
 from Frankfort, IN,  Mar 18, 2014

Great bed frame. A bit snug with the memory foam mattress. So easy to put together and very pretty too. Overall this was a great purchase!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Very nice product. Easy to assemble, and fits Cal King Mattress beautifully.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bed frame/ great $$$$
 from Fort Lauderdale, FL,  Jan 21, 2014

This is such a great buy & it looks wonderful in my bedroom! I have Brazilian cherry hardwood floors & was looking for something to blend in. I was able to use a separate king headboard also. I found that the front corners were a little sharp & we kept bumping into in the dark; so I bought the small 1/2 circle brown baby bumpers & the problem was solved & hidden under the white down comfort.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great purchase for the price
 from Denver, CO,  Dec 28, 2013

It took my husband only about 45 minutes to put the bed together by himself, using a power drill. The bed is sturdy and doesn't make any noise when rolling over. Our California king box spring and mattress fit perfectly in the California king bed frame. I would recommend this bed to others especially for the price.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love my new mahagony bed
 from mill valley, CA,  Dec 27, 2013

This product was on sale among a few others like it on overstock. $ mattered to me so I was expecting something that was not the best quallity in the word but more functional. I scored! The workmanship of this mahagony bed is real (not paneling or plastic fake wood). It's a genuine piece of furniture that I will carry with me. I need to get the matching bedside table now too!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for the price
 from Raleigh, NC,  Sep 30, 2013

I read quite a few negative reviews on this product, which were mostly based on the out-of-the-box hardware and assembly. I decided to go ahead and purchase, because several DIY-ers indicated that the bed frame could be improved significantly with a few simple modifications to the design. I mean, it's a bed frame, how hard can it be? For the price, so what if I have to come up with a piece of wood or two. It turns out that maybe the company took it upon themselves to tweak the design, because mine turned out not to need any mods at all to make it work. Assembly was ridiculously easy, it took me longer to remove my old bed and vacuum than it did to set this thing up. the hardware was all of decent quality. The wood is indeed pretty light, and the slats are not very strong, but they are strapped together in a clever way and when you get the whole thing together, I found that it was solid as a rock. You don't need heavy duty wood if the design is good and everything fits together right. Have you ever seen these science projects where kids build a tower out of spaghetti that can hold 15 kg? Yeah, like that. Plus, it's easy to move, being pretty lightweight. It also does not creak and groan when it is used, again, just pay attention to how it goes together. I got the Cal-King size and it was exactly correct dimensions, the mattress fits tightly without slipping around. Perfect. I hate it when stuff is labeled "Cal-King" but it is not the right size and is really a King size or some non-standard size. For the price you really can't beat it. The modern styling is great. the wood color is very attractive. Granted, it is only a veneer, but still it is very nice. I plan to pair this with a floating headboard for a very sleek look. Very happy with this purchase!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decent bed but they need to work on pre assembly
 from Savannah, GA,  Apr 16, 2013

I like the bed. It did not take 3 hours for assembly, more like an hour and a half. (Use a power drill...duh). The only complaint I have is that the holes did not line up on the slats.Fixing this is what took the majority of the time. If I had not had my father come put this together for me this could've been a major issue. Also, the assembly probably would've only taken 30 minutes, tops! Aside from that I love it. I've only had it for about a month, so time will tell of the true quality. But it seems sturdy even with its defects.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Simply Beautiful Cal King Bed for the minimalist
 from Palm Springs, CA,  Nov 7, 2012

Easy to assemble. Did it myself with a Philips head and power drill for slats.Came in 3 boxes well packaged and with good instructions. The bed is absolutely rock solid when assembled with proper care. While the manufacturer only included 9 wood screws for the slats, I decided to double that using my own wood screws having secured most of the slats. This takes about 5 minutes more and as a result, the bed is TOTALLY ROCK SOLID WITHOUT A SINGLE SOLITARY SQUEAK OR CREAK. This ia great product and perfect for minimalists/modernists who shy away from trendy overstated beds and headboards. A really GREAT deal. Don't hesitate.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color true to that pictured on site
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Product!
 from Greer, SC,  Oct 25, 2012

This is the second of these platform beds I've purchased from Overstock. The product is simple and the quality is there. Assembly is easy. Makes for a nice platform eliminating the need for a bedskirt if you're tired of them getting in the way.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Description matched product.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bed, buy new slats
 from Los Angeles, ca,  Aug 6, 2012

Geat color and very easy to assemble. I've been using it for three months. You'll want to find different support slats though, as the wood supports included are very flimsy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matched very well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. medium to high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

Easy to assemble. It was not missing any of the pieces / screws. I give it a 3.5 rating. Some of the wood-screws to fasten the slats did not hold on to the side bars well (wood of low quality). Slats are also not very strong. They can snap easily. I had to lay plywood sheets (3/4 inch thick, another $50) on the slats so that any point pressure gets distributed more evenly. Once I did this the bedframe indeed became more sturdy. Overall, this is a good product for the price you pay. Simple and elegant.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was quite close to the one shown on the website.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality in general is good. I was expecting it to be a little bit more sturdier.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate in terms of contents of shipping, product description except the quality aspects
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice, inexpensive, assembly could be better
 from Austin, TX,  Aug 21, 2011

Great platform bed for the price. Solid, nice looking, deep chocolate brown color. My big complaint is the assembly. Some of the pilot holes for the slats were not perfectly aligned, so the screws were hard to put in. The real negative was installation of the inner support legs, which are these weird, small blocks of wood to which you have to screw these really long screw-legs (a screw with a flat disc at the end). The total height of the leg depends on how much you screw in the big screw-leg into the block of wood. So those legs will end up different heights from each other and from the corner solid legs. A pain in the neck!. Why didn't they just include solid inner legs to match the height of the corner legs??

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid, but middle support legs are on the cheap side and difficult to install
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bed Looks Sexy
 from Miami, FL,  Jul 22, 2011

Let me start by saying the bed is sexy. The only thing I don't like is my beds makes some minor noise when I toss and turn. Nothing that takes away any sleep. I built this bed myself. I took longer to unpack, and sort materials than the actual assembly. Once slate was damaged. Got a new at Lowes - no biggy. I did have to purchase 2 custom cut plywood for my Foam Mattress as required by Mattress seller. California King bed fits like a glove with my California King Mattress. Overall Happy! However, when I move this is going to be a Biatch!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Pretty Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Just Enough
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Pretty ok.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not bad, but not great
 from Sacramento, CA,  Jul 5, 2011

Shipped and arrived quickly. Simple enough to put together, not really a lot of parts. Its better to have some help putting it together for sure. If you have wood floors, buy a rug to put under or get a platform bed that doesn't leave space under the bed, too many dust bunnies build and make it hard to clean. I had to buy 8 inch long and about 1/4 inch think wood screws to reinforce the middle legs that support the bed, they kept slipping out and falling off. The screws were only about $8 but not easy to get in, now the bed is definitely solid once those were used. Now I need to find a head board, thought i wouldn't want one but the space between the wall and the mattress is annoying.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? fair
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. medium quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? pretty accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 79 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top