Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 40 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

Love this piece of furniture, adds to the bedroom, solid heavy wood. My only complaint is that the drawers are not real wood but some kind of ply or engineered wood. The screws for attaching the metal sliders actually split this wood when installed at the bottom, as in the instruction, so I had to drive the screws onto the side of the boxes. This causes the screw head to bump onto the rail wheel while pulling the drawer out. Too bad the manufacturers overlooked this piece of detail when they got every thing else so well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good workmanship
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Close, but not quite accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous, real wood
 from California,  Mar 30, 2011

Not much else to say! It's beautiful, dark, heavy. Real wood. A bit small- it sits low - so take measurements and be sure to check the height to make sure that's what you want. I've had it for months and still like it. Two of the drawers don't fit quite right, and that's why i put only four stars. They hit something (I can't figure out what) when closing and make a banging noise every time. I tried moving the gliders for the rails several times and can't get that to fix the problem. It's not too bad to live with, and I use those drawers every day without a problem.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good quality
 from Reno, NV,  Oct 29, 2010

The talisman dresser is an excellent value. Construction is solid with real wood. Packaging was efficient and protective. Good thing that it came in 3 boxes because the total weight is substantial. All hardware components were present with one or two extra of each type in case of loss. Instructions were clear and pieces were properly labeled. All components fit together properly. The instructions suggest two people to build but I had no problem doing it myself. Lots of screws so you will definitely want a power drill w/ screwdriver tips. Good slides on the drawers with nice smooth action. It looks great and I am very satisfied.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just OK
 from Bozeman, MT,  Jun 23, 2010

Best part about this purchase is that arrived at our doorstep very quickly! OK, so we knew it was going to be a beast to assemble....and it was. It's certainly a 2-person job & even then, it's long and tidious (but, in all fairness we knew that going into it).. The color is nice. However, two of the drawers came with scratches in them. And, the top of the dresser has a small crack in it. I feel that for this price range these imperfections that the dresser arrived with are unacceptable. I would not purchase this dresser if I had to do it all over again, nor would I recommend this to a friend.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful piece of furniture!
 from Lake Charles, LA,  May 4, 2012

This is one of the best piece of furniture I have bought from Overstock. I was hoping but not expecting it to be as good of quality as it turned out to be. Good quality is one thing but this is better than just good quality furniture for the price. It is heavy and sturdy. And such a beautiful piece of furniture. It went so well with the bed I bought. The wood color is so rich and even. I am in awe of the workmanship put in this. The boxes was a little worst for wear but not a scratch on the pieces. I would buy this again in a minute and hope to buy another piece in this collection soon. Thanks, Overstock, for offering such quality and beautiful furniture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? On point
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy and constructed very well.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? To the tee!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality dresser
 from Los Angeles, CA,  May 1, 2012

This is an excellent dresser -- all solid wood, no particleboard. The drawers glide very smoothly, and the drawer pulls give it a contemporary look. This was delivered in three packages, in good condition. The instructions for assembly were quite clear, but it did take me and my husband several hours to finish putting them all together. There are plenty of screws, so have your power tools handy. Make sure you assemble them in place as it is quite heavy. Overall, I am very, very happy with this purchase

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is a solid piece of furniture. Better than what I've seen in most furniture shops in this price range.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great value and better than expected quality
 from NE OHIO,  Feb 7, 2012

Plan a couple of hours to assemble and get ready to be impressed by the quality and appearance of this dresser the very detailed and extremely accurate assembly instructions make this project a dreeam to complete. Drawers slide in and out on sturdy metal rails highly recommend

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Built to last
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Quality
 from North Carolina,  Nov 5, 2011

I paid someone to do the assembly. They were very impressed with the quality, as am I. Very satisfied.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? True color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very impressed
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? On track
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice dresser
 from Clearwater FL,  Oct 31, 2011

one heavy piece of real wood furniture. The drawers move freely and close easily. i am pleased with the quality and craftmanship. i did have some assemble but it was worth the $$$ to have it done right. Moving it was work enough, like I said, this is one heavy piece of real wood furniture

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. well built, I hired someone to assemble
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality Dresser
 Feb 15, 2011

Overall, I have to say I am very pleased with this dresser. We have 2 1/2 year old twins who are sharing a room and we needed more space for them to divide their things. The six drawers allow each of them to have a "side" to the dresser. At the same time, since they are sharing a room and this will only be for a few more years at most (due to them being boy/girl twins), we didn't want to spend a ton of money on something like this. After shopping around at some furniture shops, I was shocked at the high price tags and poor quality of the items out there. So, I checked overstock because I have purchased rugs, etc. from them and have been very pleased. I wasn't sure how I felt about "building a dresser", but decided the reviews were positive enough to give it a try (and the shipping fees were definitely worth it!) So, my father-in-law and I (a chick) tackled the task. We are both very thorough individuals who like to fully understand things before going for it, so it took us about 2 1/2-3 hours from start to finish. The end result? A fabulously solid piece of furniture. I LOVE how heavy/sturdy it is. It really is a beautiful piece! We will be able to use it in our guest room when our children finish with it. I love the mission style details on it as well that I hadn't noticed before ordering. There are two complaints I have about it, but they are minor an not at all enough to make me regret my purchase. 1) the drawers have a black detailing around the edge that I did not notice when ordering, but it really looks more like shadows of the same wood once placed in the room. 2) the knobs are hideous (in my opinion). For such a nice, heavy piece of furniture that is made of a nice wood, the knobs are this cheap looking pewter/silver that look plastic. That can be fixed in the future though if I find I cannot live with it anymore. Again, overall great piece, fair price, fast shipment, directions pretty good too. I do not think you will be disappointed!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quite Surprised!!
 from Bronx, New York,  Nov 6, 2010

I was actually trying not to spend alot of money and read all the reviews. I settled for this dresser and was not expecting much since there were others that cost more but were over budget. The assembly was done by one person in 2-3 hrs. He asked me for help once. He said there were some screws missing and had to go to the hardware to complete. The dresser is simply beautiful and sturdy. The drawers do not all open and close as I would like but this might have been from how it assembled. I am going to have the guy look at them maybe its minor It is a great buy and for the price EXCELLENT

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
EXCELLENT
 from CALIFORNIA,  Apr 12, 2014

VERY PRETTY...JUST WANT I WAS LOOKING FOR...GREAT VALUE FOR THE MONEY

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A beautiful dresser.
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Apr 25, 2013

This is a great looking dresser, even more beautiful in person. Good construction with nice detail. It took some time to assemble, but the results were worth it. It looks much more expensive than it actually is. I only wish Overstock still carried this item as I would have purchased another as a buffet for our dining room. Perhaps the manufacturer has discontinued this item. If so, it's a shame!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Talisman 6-drawer Dresser
 from New York,  Feb 12, 2013

Lots of parts and pieces to assemble, but instructions were great!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Overall quality is average. VERY heavy chipboard !
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was not as specific as i'd like....
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Talisman 6-drawer Dresser
 from Midlothian, VA,  Jan 28, 2013

It is the perfect size dresser. It tool all day to put together and then the drawers did not fit the way I thought they should. Did not like the way the drawers had to be assembled. They were more like a kitchen cabinet then dresser draws that I was use to.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality was not all that was expected. Did not like the way you had to put the drawers in. Still a bit off
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Somewhat
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy, but took a while to put together
 from Birmingham, al,  Jan 23, 2013

Loved the contrasting colors, and it looks better in person. The knobs leave something to be desired. Took my fiancÚ and I 3 hours to put together. The tricky part was the outer construction.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Actual
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality, heavy pieces. I had to buy my own wood glue for the wooden dowels though.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!!
 from Texas,  Jan 1, 2013

Excellent product @ good price, I defenitely will recommend it, love it!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very similar
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Nice quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Pretty fair
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy elegant dresser
 from Bay Area California,  Dec 27, 2012

There is always some hesitation when buying furniture on line, I'm certainly one of the strongest skeptics. I trust the reviews on Overstock and so when something I purchase exceeds my expectations, its important to share that with the other shoppers. The quality of this dresser was a surprise, very sturdy wood (it comes in three boxes and some are heavy). The instructions were the best I've seen (30 + years of modular furniture experience) and it even comes with extra parts. Be prepared to spend some time putting this piece together, its not difficult just time consuming. You wont be disappointed. I also purchased the matching night stands, equally impressed with the whole set.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color match was perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality was surprisingly top notch
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was perfectly on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Dresser, Hire a handyman
 from Kansas City, MO,  Dec 6, 2012

Great Dresser, but, if you are like me, hire a handyman. It should cost less than $50 and it is well worth it as the dresser is actually of a higher quality than the price here on Overstock. I am a tough rater so what is listed as 4 stars would be 5 if it were not for the extra labor incurred. However, if you get around your workbench well, and you have time on your hands (it is quite consuming) then it would be 5 stars.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Quite Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Pleased
 from Colorado Springs,  Dec 5, 2012

We ordered the dresser and one night stand. We were trying to match the Hudson-style bed on PB that we've had for a few years, and this set is very close with the walnut/cherry combination and the simple lines. We've ordered other furniture through Overstock that required assembly, so we were prepared. My husband assembled both pieces on his own with no trouble--patience is the key and the proper tools. The quality is very good--the drawers glide nicely with no problem. One drawer had a fairly large, flat chip on the back corner (about 2 inches in diameter) of the particle board, but we glued the piece back on and moved forward. It's completely hidden and doesn't affect the appearance or the drawer movement. As others have said, both pieces are very heavy. I had checked various furniture stores and just couldn't find what we were looking in our price range. We're really pleased with the end result. Shipping was prompt, took about a week to get here.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as expected.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 40 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought