For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 41-60 of 123 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Beautiful piece of furniture for the price!
 from Columbus, OH,  Dec 15, 2012

Beautiful desk for the price. Took a little time for my husband to put together. Make sure that you measure because this desk is much larger than it looks in the picture. All in all a great piece of furniture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality material.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
One annoying feature...
 from Chicago,  Nov 16, 2012

I give this desk 2 stars because the middle drawer will not stay closed. It is a keyboard drawer face folds down to a position parallel with the draw bottom. The problem is the only thing keeping it from folding down is a tiny magnet. The magnet is not strong enough to hold the face of the drawer in the up/closed position. I've had the desk for over a month and this feature has come to annoy me every time I sit at the desk.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fair
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Loved this purchase!
 from Durham, North Carolina,  Nov 14, 2012

This was our first purchase with Overstock. We decided to try this site because we have a tight turn for a large desk to make if we bought it fully assembled. So we decided to go with one we could put together in the room. Had no idea whether this would be flimsy or fine. I was shocked that I could not move the box when it came! It was beautifully packaged for damage-free delivery. We were surprised how many pieces there were to put together. But upon following directions, we quickly realized we would be able to assemble it. Everything was really well-marked and very carefully worded instructions were most helpful. Only problem we had at all was how to install the drawer slides. Insufficient diagrams for identifying top and is bottom. Talisman could make the diagram bigger. But once we had those, we were fine. Impressed with the way it went together, and the quality of the hardware! My husband is so pleased with the finished product. I just cannot say enough positive about it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It was identical! Very accurate photo.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Way surpassed our expectations!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? If anything, this desk is more attractive in person. You cannot see all the detail in the photo.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Spacious Desk
 from San Fran, CA,  Aug 24, 2012

I work from home and require 3 screens- This desk is the perfect size. My only complaints would be that it was VERY difficult to setup and the keyboard shelf does not slide easily or close properly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Beautiful Brown with Black trip
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is a very quality product.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid desk, significant assembly required
 from Fairfax, VA,  Aug 22, 2012

Solid desk, will see how it fares over time. It is a rather complicated assembly. Instructions lacked a couple of significant explanations and images especially regarding direction of draw rails. Cam locks will install with included Allen wrench, but metal on cams is not high quality, so need to be careful when tightening. Found I had to use large flat-head screwdriver for final tightening as hex parts were stripping with allen wrench. Front access panel to keyboard drawer was disappointing. It would not close under desk top when draw guides and magnetic closure were installed using pre-drilled pilot holes. Magnet is also very small and cheap. Should be larger for size of lid. Found location of pilot holes on underside of desk top for the magnetic closure did not match magnetic closure part. I suspect they changed the magnetic closure part and did not adjust width of pilot holes (holes were too close together to align to magnetic closure mounting holes. Aligning all the pins and holes in desk top is a two person drill -- at least. Some required slight adjustment. Not near enough glue for the pegs installed in front decorative pieces on left and right.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid composition, top pressed board under laminate.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poorly Designed Desk
 from San Diego, CA,  Aug 9, 2012

The desk looks very nice in the picture but was a big disappointment. It is very difficult and frustrating to assemble. I've been assembling furniture I've purchased for many years so I'm not a novice at this. I got to the point where the top piece needed to screw in but it wouldn't fit. I ended up scratching the wood and finally got the top to fit in. Then I couldn't get the fasteners to fit in - I ended up breaking a few of them because they wouldn't fit. The last straw was when I attached the keyboard drawer - the front flap would not stay attached to the magnet. The drawer was so much in the way and useless that I decided to throw away the whole keyboard drawer. The two drawers also stick when I open and shut them - I found a screw was rubbing against them and was able to adjust it to make it work. I really wanted to return this desk but I put about 8 hours into building it and it would be impossible to disassemble without breaking it (part of the assembly involves super-glue). It does work as a desk so I'm going to keep it for now. The bottom line is that the wood was not cut properly for customer assembly. If you buy this, be prepared to have to re-cut the wood to make it fit properly and possibly re-drill some of the holes for the fasteners.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color matches well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor quality for assembly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was mostly accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Desk! Great real wood!
 from Maumelle, AR,  Jul 21, 2012

Excellent desk made of real wood - no laminates or veneers! Extremely high quality. Highly recommended. Very solid and heavy once assembled. Perfect for a home office or study!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid wood, nice size, exactly as pictured!
 from Fair Oaks, CA,  Jul 16, 2012

The desk was exactly what I expected when it arrived. My husband and I put it together in a couple hours. The parts are well labeled and directions are easy to follow. The desk is heavy because except for the bottom of the side drawers it is solid wood. There was a crack in one of the rails at the bottom, but Overstock responded quickly and sent out a new rail which arrived quickly. I searched online and in stores for a desk that was not made of particle board and veneers but couldnít find one. I found this one at about the same cost and is solid wood. Overall itís a great desk and expect to have it for many years.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was the same as picture.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is good, wood is softer than anticipated, but still good.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The desk was exactly as described in the description and by other users.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Talisman 2-drawer writing desk
 from Trussville, AL,  Jun 27, 2012

The desk went together really well. The quality of the desk was more than I expected. It was made from real wood! The only negative is the center drawer, the magnet is not strong enough to hold the fold down part in place so I used glue to keep it in position. I don't use it for a computer desk anyway.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful desk
 from New Orleans, LA,  Jun 20, 2012

Love the look and function of this desk, it has been what I was looking for...was a bit time consuming to put together and the center drawer front which drops down does not stay up...magnet not strong enough seems to be the issue.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful piece of furniture
 from Hesperia, Ca.,  Jun 1, 2012

We needed a home office for my husband in our den. It is a functional piece and beautiful. It matched my existing furniture. We are very happy with the purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The measurements were accurate and it was fairly easy to assemble.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Assembly = Mission Impossible
 from Alexandria, VA,  May 22, 2012

Ok, Overstock, you kept asking me to review this product. Here's your review: don't buy this desk. It's beautiful, sturdy, and spacious, but attempting to assemble it yourself will drive you into fits of rage. I am a fairly handy person. I've assembled almost every piece of furniture in our house. Many of them came from IKEA, Target, and Overstock. This desk nearly defeated me. As with most self-assembly items, it uses the cam lock system to attach the top to the legs. However, the desk is much larger than most other items and requires you to match up about 15 screws with cam lock holes. Even the slightest imperfection in the product or assembly makes this task impossible. Since I hate returning things even more than I hate working on a desk for 6 hours, I decided to drill out all the holes myself until I made the desk top fit. My husband was quite alarmed to find me gouging out the top of the leg assembly--it didn't look pretty and it left a pile of sawdust on the floor. In the end, I did manage to get the top attached to the legs, and the desk looks great and works great. Would I do it again? Absolutely not.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very sturdy and beautiful desk. Not well designed for home assembly.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Be Aware! this item will take time to assembly.... it did take me approx 3 hours to complete the darn thing.... and I'm a handy man.... its worth the 3hours because it need to assemble correct. I can assemble it in 1.5hours on the next one... but there will be no need for that. because this desk is pretty strong and made from good wood. It's also not made in china which is even better.... I would not recommend this desk... because i bought it. and i want to be selfish and be the only one that has it.... :-) kidding.... It's worth the purchase

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? a little dar... but the product has a rich mohagony color to it beautiful
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the quality is pretty good for the price... no complaints
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? pretty accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value
 from Texas,  Apr 26, 2012

goes together easily until drawers, instructions are not detailed enough, but by thinking through the operation of the drawers I was able to get it together. 4 stars instead of 5 only because of instructions.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? true to color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. solid wood, sturdy, large but not overly so
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? vert
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
no Spanish instructions included
 from Silver Spring, MD,  Apr 20, 2012

I haven't been able to get it assembled as yet. There were no Spanish instructions and the assembly is quite complex. With all this work it should have been $100 less.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. unknown
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? unknown
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Tailsman 2-drawer writing desk
 from Upper Marlboro, MD,  Apr 18, 2012

This is an assembly job that requires a little common sense and know-how. The quality of the veneer was decent, the base wood was of the hardwood type - not composite, the hardware was decent although I am not too crazy about some of the retaining nuts. The price is I think about $75 - $100 to high. But the design is unique enough that all things considered it's a decent peace.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the machining was good, the veneer good, needs another magnet for the middle drawer front
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice desk
 from Eastern Connecticut,  Mar 21, 2012

This desk came well packed and in good condition except for a minor corner abrasion to the finish. Went together well - difficulty of assembly was about a 4 or 5 out of 10 (with 10 being the most difficult). Huge step up from the typical partical board, chinsy plastic faux wood finish units that seem to be everywhere. Overstock service and UPS tracking was superior.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Virtually as described, no surprises
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy, great looking, roomy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Assembly killed an afternoon
 from Antioch, IL,  Mar 17, 2012

My husband who loves a challenge was thrilled when he opened the two boxes and saw all of the pieces. I mean ALL of the pieces. Be prepared to spend no less than 3 hours assembling this desk. It took an entire afternoon. The finished product is very nice. A sturdy desk that really looks like it cost more than $XXX. I love the black banding detail. I am very happy with the desk.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. happy with the quality--very sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality desk
 from Gaithersburg, MD,  Mar 6, 2012

I was very pleased with the quality of the desk. It was well engineered so it was pretty easy to assemble. Reviews I read before buying it said it was hard to assemble, and while you definitely need two people, I though it was better than many other things I've assembled. Only two pieces were mis-marked but I figured that out and moved on. Solid, sturdy, good looking desk that is wide enough for two computer setups. I won't use the keyboard drawer so I just did not install it. I recommend this desk if you're looking for this size and good quality.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent engineering, very good quality product
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice and Sturdy!
 from Fayetteville, GA,  Feb 29, 2012

Great Desk. It's real wood, except for the drawer bottoms. It's heavy, sturdy and good looking. Love this desk. The only thing I didn't think about was how I hate the look of cords behind the desk. Forgot about that, so I probably should have purchased one with a backing on it. I don't regret this decision though. For what I got at this price, there's really nothing to complain about. My husband took about 2-3 hours to put it together by himself including putting together a new office chair we bought from Overstock as well. Both great buys from Overstock. Thanks, Overstock.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 41-60 of 123 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Andaman Desk
Today $261.99
(69)
Vilas Writing Desk
Sale $251.99
Was $279.99
(24)
Back to top