Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
One Big Summer Clearance
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-40 of 165 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Talisman 2 drawer writing desk
 from Harrisburg, PA,  Oct 15, 2014

Product arrived one week after purchase, Product came in two boxes with no missing parts. Requires 4-5 hours to assemble. Desk is a nice size with plenty of work space. We are happy with purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect Desk with Multiple Design Errors
 from Santa Rosa CA,  Sep 27, 2014

Ah, I should have listened to those online reviews! I knew I was in for a challenge but this is ridiculous. It is two weeks later and I am still trying to get the keyboard drawer shut (have to hire someone handier than me to fix this), the drawers still are getting stuck on the screws. It's like the holes were drilled on angle which disallows the screw to lay flat. The desk per se is gorgeous and lovely to look at, perfect size but it is a beast to put together. Took about 8 hours due to the fact that 2 close parts were mislabeled. Once this was figured out, and what was built was taken down and rebuilt again it fit. Honestly this will challenge even the best of handy people. There are so many flaws in the overall design it is not worth the stress or money.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great looking desk
 from Frederick, Ma,  Jun 9, 2014

Great desk, very compact and useful. Two complaints. It's hard to put together. It's definitely a two person job. It took us (two people, one an experienced carpenter) a total of 6 person hours. Second the key board tray is a bit small. It accommodates my keyboard but is a little too tight for my mouse. I'm used to working with the two on the same level and this deducts a little speed from my work (I write professionally and therefore spend a lot of time on the keyboard)

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A few things you should know
 from Memphis, TN,  May 4, 2013

I'm very happy with the size, color, and feel of this desk; the only exception being the interior of the drawers. You ultimately get just over 2 1/8 inches of usable drawer depth. That being said, the sheer size of the workspace is awesome for productivity, and the desk surface actually measures out to 63" in length. A few not-so-common things you'll need for this assembly: 1.) Rubber Mallet 2.) 4mm Hex Key/Hex Driver 3.) The standard 4" Phillips head screw driver may not give you the force you need to get all of the screws in, so consider picking up one with a 6" shaft. The assembly itself is pretty labor intensive, and you'll probably need a friend to help you install the top of the desk. All in all, I would buy again, and I am happy with this purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great looking, and overall a sturdy product. The drawers are pretty shallow, and the drawer bottoms are flimsy in comparison the rest of the product.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice quality solid desk
 from Milwaukee, WI,  Dec 4, 2011

I work out of my home as a computer programmer and was looking for a simple solid desk to replace the old table I had been using as a work area. I am pleased with the desk overall and I would purchase again, but I have some comments: 1. Assembly - My husband is pretty handy, and has assembled quite a few pieces from overstock for me. This one took him almost 4 hours to complete, which was more than I had originally hoped/expected. He mentioned that the instructions were not a good as they could be in some areas. and he could not always use the marked "predrilled" holes as they were not as exact as they could be. He has had other pieces he's assembed where he would comment on the actual materials as being inferior, and that did not come up with this desk at all (I rewarded him a bottle of scotch after to thank him because I know it was more than the usual challenge to assemble.) 2. Looks: It looks just like the photo on O. The piece turned out very lovely, heavy and solid. when complete. It looks to be a quality piece. I have it in a room with two other mahogany older pieces. One thing I didn't catch when I ordered this was that there is actually matte black paint/stain accenting the drawers. I like it and it kind of pulls together nicely with the black desk mat and other black items in my office. 3. Use: I have a computer monitor on it, and I use a keyboard and mouse, both of which I have in the keyboard drawer. I am working at this desk about 9 hours a day, so I have noticed a few things that irritate a little. One of the reasons I wanted the desk was because of the keyboard drawer, in order to bring the keyboard lower. It works well for that, except I feel it would be nicer if the keyboard drawer were a couple inches wider. I can fit the standard-sized keyboard on it, and I have very small mouse pad and mouse next to it. The issue is that the area for a mouse next to the keyboard is not large enough. I have to tuck part of the mouse pad under the keyboard. Alternatively, If I put the mouse pad on the desk itself, then I have to reach up and forward every time I use the mouse, and that got tedius. Admittedly, I hadn't paid much attention when ordering to how large the keyboard tray was, as I hadn't thought of it as possibly being an issue and just assumed it would be as large as a similar desk I had purchased from a local furniture store whose keyboard tray is a few inches wider and works with both the keyboard and mouse, without feeling a tad squeezed in. It's not a deal-breaker for me, but I might have looked closer at another desk if I had understood better the impact of the width of the keyboard tray. Also, the keyboard tray hinge is not recessed, so you cannot slide the keyboard over the drawer portion. (This is not like my other desk, where it was recessed.). This is bothering me a little more, and I'm considering looking for replacement hinges. I saw the comments of others about the keyboard tray not staying up. I have not experienced that, but I am pretty careful to not put up the front of the drawer until the whole tray has been slid back in place, and when I open it, I put the front down and them pull it out. I know this sounds picky, but it makes a difference in how the drawer closes.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matches well to site.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality piece
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic Desk!
 from Atlanta,  Jan 1, 2010

I looked long and hard for a quality desk. This one fits the bill. Very sturdy and looks like it costs much more.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great!
 Aug 10, 2016

Great but it takes a while to put it together!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Overall a Nice Writing Desk
 Jul 7, 2016

I would have given a 5 Star but I couldn't since I had to go and buy a flat head bolt/screw to fit one of the knobs due to it being stripped. It is a lot heavier than what i thought it would be and whatever you do don't over tighten the inserted screws as they will strip very easy; besides that it does look good as it will be used in a computer/office room.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice
 Jun 13, 2016

I really like the desk and it's very nice. The only reason for taking one star off is because the directions aren't very clear (no directions, just drawings) and there are a lot of parts to decipher in the unclear directions.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Handsome and Solid, Substantial
 Jun 8, 2016

Very nice desk, heavy wood, attractive. Would have given 5 stars but as others have noted, the middle pull out for computer keyboard doesn't have strong enough magnets to stay closed and was a real pain to assemble. While the desk is very sturdy, the hardware was not and we had to get extra magnets etc. It seemed the assembly directions could have used a lot of improvement too. The end product is worth the hassle, but understand that it will not go together easily because of the directions and the flimsy hardware.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
KEYBOARD DRAWER GLITCH
 Jun 1, 2016

I really like the desk in general. Nice heavy wood, good construction. There is one glitch though. If you want a front on the drawer for the keyboard, buy a different desk. The front of the drawer is heavy and there is only a weak magnet on the left side of the front and none on the right side. Therefore, the front of the drawer will not stay in place when you are through and want to close up the drawer. I had my son just take off the front of the drawer and leave it that way.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Desk...
 May 31, 2016

I love the desk, especially the size of the top. It's large and was just what I was looking for my home office. My only complaint is that the magnets for the keyboard tray are not strong enough, so it will not go into the upright position, it is always open. Other than that it is very well made and very sturdy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful desk
 Mar 18, 2016

This is a beautiful desk, but it definitely requires 2 or more people to put it together.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well made large desk
 Feb 13, 2016

Desk for teen sons room works well large and well made

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous and sturdy
 Jan 14, 2016

I'm very pleased with this desk. It is larger than I expected which is a bonus because it allows for my laptop and two monitors with space to spare. The wood finish is beautiful and I know where I'm hiding during an earthquake because there is so much hardware hidden in there it can probably withstand the roof caving in on it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Customer
 Jan 2, 2016

We have been very happy with the design and quality of this desk.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Talisman desk
 Nov 16, 2015

Heavy and well built. Larger than I expected.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Office Admin
 Oct 30, 2015

Beautiful and sturdy. My new assistant picked it out and loves it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great value
 Sep 21, 2015

A very big writing surface. Looks super nice. Great quality. Easy to assemble.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Miss Trish
 Aug 21, 2015

Love this desk. I was looking for a little larger than standard desk with class and this fit the bill.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-40 of 165 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought