Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 135 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great Desk! Great Price!
 from Cedar Park, TX,  Aug 19, 2009

Remodeling my home office with many highend finishes and fixtures. I had to be smart with my desk selection. I saw the photo and liked it. Recieved well packed. Same old cam lock assembly, seems ongoing but went together very well. Nice feel & color. Just what I was looking for. Fits my highend decor very nicely.Thanks Overtsock!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Writing desk Assembly
 from Santa Rosa, Ca.,  Jun 21, 2013

The construction is sensible. The fit and finish of the parts is excellent. All parts labeled with stick on letters and they match the workbook drawings. Ignore the numbered parts on the outside of the box. They do not match the book. LOL Very well packaged too. The drawings in the manual are good. Use a magnifying glass on some photos as there could be a left-right issue. Really look at the details of the drawings. Hold the part next to the drawing and make sure the orientation is right. Even if you think you know! Do not put wood dowels in both parts of the drawer . Only one side. Luckily I got mine out before the glue dried. There is not enough glue. Get more glue. With the Superglue you can go to your local hobby shop and get a 5-15 second version Cyancryolate that is thicker to take up gaps. Do not let children or pets get near that glue. If you really want to be safe use yellow wood glue or better yet use PL premium construction adhesive and apply it sparingly with a popcicle stick. Wipe off the excess with a damp cloth. Use a dry cloth or paper towel for the PL premium glue. I glued all of the leg structure with PL premium glue on all of the joints but I did not use glue on the top surface in case I ever wanted to move the table easily. I just use the cam locks to detach the top of the table. Make sure to use all of the screws because they all are important. One thing I changed is the tracks on the bottom of the drawers. Don't put the screws that hold on the tracks of the drawers from the bottom as shown. The provided screws have no holding strength at all and will crack the composite. Put the two screws in the side of the track in the holes with the angled edge so the screw fits flush. I put together all the parts on a folding card table. Do not try to just sit on the floor to build this table. It will be a much harder job. (polite description) LOL I am 65, artist and former jet engine mechanic. When you are starting to assemble the leg structure, and you are ready to add the second end piece, ( PART C) carefully sit the entire structure on the floor and then finish that last part while standing up to do the work.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was as pictured. Looks nice.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It is press board furniture. They say "rubberwood" and I read all about "rubberwood" but it still is press wood.Slightly deceptive.It is heavy like pressed wood.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Reletively accurate except the pressed wood description.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk
 from Germantown TN,  Nov 28, 2010

This desk looks wonderful was pretty much easy to assemble and is MADE OF REAL WOOD, except bottoms of drawers..Was exceptionally packaged and came 4 days before the promised date,,you can not go wrong..thanks for a great product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Desk!
 from Chicago, IL,  Feb 16, 2012

This is a great sturdy, high quality looking desk. I only have a couple of complaints: The assembly! Yikes! Took something like 3 hours. I couldn't believe all the pieces there were when I opened the box. Not to mention, the instructions are not very clear. I noticed I had extra screws left after I was done so I went back through the instructions trying to find where they were supposed to be used and saw that I should have put them in before I put the top on. Ooops. Also, the keyboard tray was not right. The wood seemed like it was too long on the ends, causing the flap/front of the tray not to stay up when you closed it (I think others have commented on this). I ended up removing the front flap (unscrewing the hinge), drilling new holes for the hinge and repositioning it so it would close all the way as it should. That was also a pain! All in all, you can't beat the price. Looks like an expensive executive desk.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High Quality - very sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Find
 from Maryland,  Feb 21, 2012

Very happy with this purchase. Somewhat difficult to assemble though

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Large, Sturdy and Open
 from Virginia,  Jun 6, 2014

I was looking for a large writing surface, but didn't look so big and dark. This will sit in my home office, which has little natural light. I loved the openness of the front and sides, so it gives me the large space I need without overtaking my room! The desk was easy to put together until it came to putting on the top Be sure, when you assemble, that all of the pegs are totally upright... otherwise, it will take some work to move individual pegs to align. I left the middle drawer (keyboard drawer) off as I use a laptop and have no desire for a place to stash more junk. I love the extra legroom and space and it does not look like anything is missing.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A few things you should know
 from Memphis, TN,  May 4, 2013

I'm very happy with the size, color, and feel of this desk; the only exception being the interior of the drawers. You ultimately get just over 2 1/8 inches of usable drawer depth. That being said, the sheer size of the workspace is awesome for productivity, and the desk surface actually measures out to 63" in length. A few not-so-common things you'll need for this assembly: 1.) Rubber Mallet 2.) 4mm Hex Key/Hex Driver 3.) The standard 4" Phillips head screw driver may not give you the force you need to get all of the screws in, so consider picking up one with a 6" shaft. The assembly itself is pretty labor intensive, and you'll probably need a friend to help you install the top of the desk. All in all, I would buy again, and I am happy with this purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great looking, and overall a sturdy product. The drawers are pretty shallow, and the drawer bottoms are flimsy in comparison the rest of the product.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice quality solid desk
 from Milwaukee, WI,  Dec 4, 2011

I work out of my home as a computer programmer and was looking for a simple solid desk to replace the old table I had been using as a work area. I am pleased with the desk overall and I would purchase again, but I have some comments: 1. Assembly - My husband is pretty handy, and has assembled quite a few pieces from overstock for me. This one took him almost 4 hours to complete, which was more than I had originally hoped/expected. He mentioned that the instructions were not a good as they could be in some areas. and he could not always use the marked "predrilled" holes as they were not as exact as they could be. He has had other pieces he's assembed where he would comment on the actual materials as being inferior, and that did not come up with this desk at all (I rewarded him a bottle of scotch after to thank him because I know it was more than the usual challenge to assemble.) 2. Looks: It looks just like the photo on O. The piece turned out very lovely, heavy and solid. when complete. It looks to be a quality piece. I have it in a room with two other mahogany older pieces. One thing I didn't catch when I ordered this was that there is actually matte black paint/stain accenting the drawers. I like it and it kind of pulls together nicely with the black desk mat and other black items in my office. 3. Use: I have a computer monitor on it, and I use a keyboard and mouse, both of which I have in the keyboard drawer. I am working at this desk about 9 hours a day, so I have noticed a few things that irritate a little. One of the reasons I wanted the desk was because of the keyboard drawer, in order to bring the keyboard lower. It works well for that, except I feel it would be nicer if the keyboard drawer were a couple inches wider. I can fit the standard-sized keyboard on it, and I have very small mouse pad and mouse next to it. The issue is that the area for a mouse next to the keyboard is not large enough. I have to tuck part of the mouse pad under the keyboard. Alternatively, If I put the mouse pad on the desk itself, then I have to reach up and forward every time I use the mouse, and that got tedius. Admittedly, I hadn't paid much attention when ordering to how large the keyboard tray was, as I hadn't thought of it as possibly being an issue and just assumed it would be as large as a similar desk I had purchased from a local furniture store whose keyboard tray is a few inches wider and works with both the keyboard and mouse, without feeling a tad squeezed in. It's not a deal-breaker for me, but I might have looked closer at another desk if I had understood better the impact of the width of the keyboard tray. Also, the keyboard tray hinge is not recessed, so you cannot slide the keyboard over the drawer portion. (This is not like my other desk, where it was recessed.). This is bothering me a little more, and I'm considering looking for replacement hinges. I saw the comments of others about the keyboard tray not staying up. I have not experienced that, but I am pretty careful to not put up the front of the drawer until the whole tray has been slid back in place, and when I open it, I put the front down and them pull it out. I know this sounds picky, but it makes a difference in how the drawer closes.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matches well to site.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality piece
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic Desk!
 from Atlanta,  Jan 1, 2010

I looked long and hard for a quality desk. This one fits the bill. Very sturdy and looks like it costs much more.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Look
 Apr 23, 2015

This desk was a great size and has a nice look to it. We did struggle a little putting it together and the front keyboard drawer does fall open sometimes. But overall very happy with this desk.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
ct
 Apr 6, 2015

This was so laborious to put together. The other negative is the top of your legs hit the drawer corners underneath the table and ouch, it hurts. Love the look of it though

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

It took my husband a couple hrs to assemble and at the end the magnet didn't work to close the key board drawer. Disappointing. I would go for an antique table next time, which would be cheaper and adds character in the house.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

excellent, as advertised. No more need to be said.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome desk
 Feb 18, 2015

I bought this desk desk because it is wide enough for my wife and I to both use it with our laptops at the same time. We have two chairs at the desk and it works great. Very sturdy and rich looking. Excellent desk that perfectly fits my needs

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This is the largest writing desk I could find and it works great. However, there are a lot of pieces and it took me many hours to put it together.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

Package arrived in two boxes and can be assembled by one person until it comes time for the desk top to mate with the frame. You will be better off with a helper. Allow the materials to acclimate in your home for a day or so to mitigate any warping, especially the thicker desk-top, This piece looks great when assembled but take care positioning the desk as it is a composite wood. Also be sure to take your time assembling the drawers and drawer rail assemblies. All in all I am happy with it and hopefully it will last a long time with care.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

This unit works fine as a computer desk for me. I didn't want a desk with a lot of drawers so I got this one. That being said if the single drawer on each side were an inch deeper it would be a 4 star review. Perhaps if the drawer on the right were a mouse platform instead. Only construction issue is the keyboard drawer where the magnet does hold it closed. Other than that, happy with the purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The desk from hell
 from Colorado,  Oct 31, 2014

This took a lot longer to put together than expected. There were many moments of frustration to the point that my son and I call it the "desk from ****". Next time I would rather pay more for an item that its completely put together! Although it was well packaged, it arrived with some damage.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Buy!
 from Boston,  Oct 23, 2014

I absolutely love this desk. Delivered promptly and looks much more expensive than the price would leave you to believe!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Talisman 2 drawer writing desk
 from Harrisburg, PA,  Oct 15, 2014

Product arrived one week after purchase, Product came in two boxes with no missing parts. Requires 4-5 hours to assemble. Desk is a nice size with plenty of work space. We are happy with purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 135 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought