Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 163 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Writing desk Assembly
 from Santa Rosa, Ca.,  Jun 21, 2013

The construction is sensible. The fit and finish of the parts is excellent. All parts labeled with stick on letters and they match the workbook drawings. Ignore the numbered parts on the outside of the box. They do not match the book. LOL Very well packaged too. The drawings in the manual are good. Use a magnifying glass on some photos as there could be a left-right issue. Really look at the details of the drawings. Hold the part next to the drawing and make sure the orientation is right. Even if you think you know! Do not put wood dowels in both parts of the drawer . Only one side. Luckily I got mine out before the glue dried. There is not enough glue. Get more glue. With the Superglue you can go to your local hobby shop and get a 5-15 second version Cyancryolate that is thicker to take up gaps. Do not let children or pets get near that glue. If you really want to be safe use yellow wood glue or better yet use PL premium construction adhesive and apply it sparingly with a popcicle stick. Wipe off the excess with a damp cloth. Use a dry cloth or paper towel for the PL premium glue. I glued all of the leg structure with PL premium glue on all of the joints but I did not use glue on the top surface in case I ever wanted to move the table easily. I just use the cam locks to detach the top of the table. Make sure to use all of the screws because they all are important. One thing I changed is the tracks on the bottom of the drawers. Don't put the screws that hold on the tracks of the drawers from the bottom as shown. The provided screws have no holding strength at all and will crack the composite. Put the two screws in the side of the track in the holes with the angled edge so the screw fits flush. I put together all the parts on a folding card table. Do not try to just sit on the floor to build this table. It will be a much harder job. (polite description) LOL I am 65, artist and former jet engine mechanic. When you are starting to assemble the leg structure, and you are ready to add the second end piece, ( PART C) carefully sit the entire structure on the floor and then finish that last part while standing up to do the work.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was as pictured. Looks nice.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It is press board furniture. They say "rubberwood" and I read all about "rubberwood" but it still is press wood.Slightly deceptive.It is heavy like pressed wood.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Reletively accurate except the pressed wood description.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Desk! Great Price!
 from Cedar Park, TX,  Aug 19, 2009

Remodeling my home office with many highend finishes and fixtures. I had to be smart with my desk selection. I saw the photo and liked it. Recieved well packed. Same old cam lock assembly, seems ongoing but went together very well. Nice feel & color. Just what I was looking for. Fits my highend decor very nicely.Thanks Overtsock!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk
 from Germantown TN,  Nov 28, 2010

This desk looks wonderful was pretty much easy to assemble and is MADE OF REAL WOOD, except bottoms of drawers..Was exceptionally packaged and came 4 days before the promised date,,you can not go wrong..thanks for a great product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Desk!
 from Chicago, IL,  Feb 16, 2012

This is a great sturdy, high quality looking desk. I only have a couple of complaints: The assembly! Yikes! Took something like 3 hours. I couldn't believe all the pieces there were when I opened the box. Not to mention, the instructions are not very clear. I noticed I had extra screws left after I was done so I went back through the instructions trying to find where they were supposed to be used and saw that I should have put them in before I put the top on. Ooops. Also, the keyboard tray was not right. The wood seemed like it was too long on the ends, causing the flap/front of the tray not to stay up when you closed it (I think others have commented on this). I ended up removing the front flap (unscrewing the hinge), drilling new holes for the hinge and repositioning it so it would close all the way as it should. That was also a pain! All in all, you can't beat the price. Looks like an expensive executive desk.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High Quality - very sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Large, Sturdy and Open
 from Virginia,  Jun 6, 2014

I was looking for a large writing surface, but didn't look so big and dark. This will sit in my home office, which has little natural light. I loved the openness of the front and sides, so it gives me the large space I need without overtaking my room! The desk was easy to put together until it came to putting on the top Be sure, when you assemble, that all of the pegs are totally upright... otherwise, it will take some work to move individual pegs to align. I left the middle drawer (keyboard drawer) off as I use a laptop and have no desire for a place to stash more junk. I love the extra legroom and space and it does not look like anything is missing.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Find
 from Maryland,  Feb 21, 2012

Very happy with this purchase. Somewhat difficult to assemble though

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice desk
 Jan 10, 2016

This is a sturdy, nice sized desk in a beautiful dark wood color. The only problem with it is that keyboard tray cover falls open at the slightest touch. Otherwise, a great purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful.
 Nov 9, 2015

Just what we were looking for.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice desk BUT...
 Oct 15, 2015

The center flip down drawer does not line up with the magnet meant to hold it in place (yes, installed per the instructions). Will have to rig up another magnet and l-bracket McGuyver style to make it work.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful desk.
 Oct 15, 2015

This desk arrived in two separate packages on different days but within the delivery window. It was a bit of a chore to put together but is beautiful when finished.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best online purchase Ive ever made
 Aug 25, 2015

This desk is the best online purchase I have ever made. It is sturdy and well made. I have move three times with this desk and it has stood the test of careless movers. It took about an hour to put together with two people. Once put together you will not be able to take it apart, just a side note. I love this desk. Buy it now.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just perfect
 Aug 9, 2015

Desk was perfect. the first one showed up with a cracked top of Overstock shipped another the one right away and even paid returnn shipping. great job

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful
 Aug 6, 2015

Gorgeous desk. Not too hard to assemble with two people. The keyboard tray won't stay closed but doesn't bother me :)

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Desk
 Aug 4, 2015

Easy to assemble and it looks and works well. I had no trouble or issues in assembly. Just read the manual. The drawers work well and the drawer slides are fine. The keyboard tray is a little tight and initially it was sticky to extend and retract but I applied some lubricant and now it is fine.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful desk
 Jun 26, 2015

I gave this a 4 star because this desk was difficult to assemble. It is a beautiful very solid desk. Takes 2 people to assemble just because of the weight.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
the keyboard drawer doesn't close.
 Mar 26, 2015

It took my husband a couple hrs to assemble and at the end the magnet didn't work to close the key board drawer. Disappointing. I would go for an antique table next time, which would be cheaper and adds character in the house.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome desk
 Feb 18, 2015

I bought this desk desk because it is wide enough for my wife and I to both use it with our laptops at the same time. We have two chairs at the desk and it works great. Very sturdy and rich looking. Excellent desk that perfectly fits my needs

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Piece - Talisman 2 Drawer Desk
 Jan 24, 2015

Package arrived in two boxes and can be assembled by one person until it comes time for the desk top to mate with the frame. You will be better off with a helper. Allow the materials to acclimate in your home for a day or so to mitigate any warping, especially the thicker desk-top, This piece looks great when assembled but take care positioning the desk as it is a composite wood. Also be sure to take your time assembling the drawers and drawer rail assemblies. All in all I am happy with it and hopefully it will last a long time with care.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Functional with some small issues
 Jan 6, 2015

This unit works fine as a computer desk for me. I didn't want a desk with a lot of drawers so I got this one. That being said if the single drawer on each side were an inch deeper it would be a 4 star review. Perhaps if the drawer on the right were a mouse platform instead. Only construction issue is the keyboard drawer where the magnet does hold it closed. Other than that, happy with the purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The desk from hell
 from Colorado,  Oct 31, 2014

This took a lot longer to put together than expected. There were many moments of frustration to the point that my son and I call it the "desk from ****". Next time I would rather pay more for an item that its completely put together! Although it was well packaged, it arrived with some damage.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 163 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought