Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 89 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great for the price
 from Oregon,  Dec 5, 2010

We have had this couch and matching ottoman for one year now. It is in my children's play room. Easy to assemble. Looks great. The cushions were a little hard at first. It does a very good impression of real leather. All my friends and family were shocked when I told them it was vinyl. The real reason why I'm writing this is to say, this couch is very sturdy and has withstood a year of multiple kids standing on the back, jumping on the cushions, standing on the arms and down right abusing it. It still looks great. This is why I would recommend this couch.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good enough for me
 from Cincinnati, OH,  Oct 30, 2010

I would recommend this product to anyone who needs a cheap, decent couch and who hates shopping for furniture as much as I do. This is a vinyl couch. It is made in China. It looks like a vinyl couch made in China. It is good enough for me. I wanted a brown couch that would be delivered quickly. This fit the bill and I am completely satisfied with my purchase. I bought $70 of pillows to put on my vinyl couch and it looks fine. Shipping was fast; I received the couch within 5 days. It came in 3 giant boxes delivered by UPS. FYI: UPS will charge you $4 if you want to schedule your delivery for a certain day (for example, if you can't be home during the day on Tues or Wednesday, but Thursday would be fine). The only tool necessary to assemble the couch is a Phillips head screwdriver. The directions for assembly are not wonderful, but I quickly decoded them and I was sitting pretty within 45 minutes of its arrival. When assembled, the couch is sturdy, but not indestructible. I would not allow adults (especially large adults) to jump on the couch. The cushions are firm and the couch is sort of narrow. I am a small person and I could take a nap on it, but I am not sure a larger human being would be able to comfortably sleep on it. Two adults could NOT lay on it together unless one wants to end up on the floor. The only reason that I am not giving this 5 stars is that the vinyl is pretty thin and within 2 days there were a few little scrapes and scratches in the vinyl from where my cat decided to stretch her claws (kitty got a manicure once I noticed the damage). It is hardly noticeable, but if you have clawed animals or humans that wear sharp clothes, consider yourself warned. This couch is not going to last forever. However, I don't want it to last forever. In a few years, when I am on my feet, I will buy a nice brown leather couch, and I will honor the memory of this vinyl couch as I donate it to Goodwill. This couch may not be Mr. Right, but it is a great Mr. Right Now.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dark Brown, firm vinyl sofa
 from San Antonio, TX,  Sep 21, 2009

This sofa goes with the other Uptown Microfiber Vinyl chairs which are Chocolate Brown and sold on Overstock as well as the loveseat which has sold out. For some reason the posting for the sofa doesn't mention the color.<p>The cushions are removable but not reversible. They are supported by fabric webbing. The arms are well padded.Although the box was torn in shipment the only flaw we found was a tear where a the vinyl was attached to the front stretcher bar by staple. But the cushion covers it.<p>The seating is firm but comfortable. I don't know how it will hold up. We've only had it six days.<p>A tag attached to the sofa says among other things "Only quality leather is used to ensure style and durability". This tag is misleading, since the sofa is not leather. But since we purchased it online, didn't see the tag and Overstock clearly stated the fabric was vinyl micro-fiber, the tag did not lead us astray. I do wonder about the veracity of other statements made on the tag.<p>(Due to Overstock review rules I won't name the company whose name appears on the tag.) This petite sofa will add to your home elegance for sure.<p>The sofa was made in Sanxiang Town in Zhongshan City in Guangdong Province southern China. The workers who made the sofa did a fine job.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Sofa!!!
 from Ohio,  May 8, 2013

I've had this sofa for about a year now and I love it. It arrived in just a few days. It was very easy to assemble. I did it alone in less than 30 minutes. It looks great! I like the tailored effect, too. The majority of leather or leather-like sofas are "puffy" and I HATE that. I wanted something that had clean lines and this fits the bill perfectly. It looks and feels like something that would cost much more. It is firm but not uncomfortable and my husband thinks it is more comfortable to sleep on than the mattress we bought around the same time. However, it is a bit short for him! The cushions do tend to move forward, but I don't mind pushing them back in from time to time...usually whenever I fix the throw pillows. I highly recommend this sofa!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality, especially for the price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great
 from Pulaski, VA,  Oct 5, 2011

This thing was a bear to put together, but I love the firmness, the high seat, and the fact that it's up off the floor. Unfortunately, my cats have already beat up the arms and back trying to get to the window, so, if you have cats that like a window seat, I recommend protecting the back and arms somehow. This is not the sofa's fault, though. I'd buy the loveseat, too, but it's out of stock.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? About the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Difficult to put together, but well worth the effort. Keep cat claws away, though O_o
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Couch for the Money
 from Holly Ridge, NC,  Jun 23, 2014

I have a curious fondess for brown leather (or faux leather) furniture. It just makes me feel accomplished. Don't ask me why, maybe I wasn't loved enough or something. But anyways, on to the couch... The couch is much what I expected. I moved all the way around the world to where I am now, and didn't have giant sums of money is reserve to outfit my new pad. Therefor I was looking for something affordable, but pleasent to look at. I found that in this couch. It is soft enough, looks good enough, and does the job well enough to get four stars out of me. However, some complaints.... Firstly the three or four seperate boxes that it came in had holes in it. So I quietly resigned myself to the fact that there would be damage. Luckily there was not, however nearly all the various screws, washers, lock washers and bolts were gone. I gritted my teeth and picked up the necessary pieces from the hardware store. Assembly was not easy, but it wasn't impossible. All in all, not considering my excursion for screws, it took me about an hour to assemble. The second issue was less with the failings of the company and instead with my eyes. I didn't realize from the pictures that the cushions over hang the base of the couch by about 4 or 5 inches. Its not a huge problem, but when you lean forward you have a tendency to slide because of the overhang. Thats really it, you get what you pay for and I'm not disappointed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cushions stick over the frame a lot!
 from Skokie, IL,  Jan 27, 2014

We just got this today and my husband put it together by himself in an hour. The tag says it is leather but online it was clear it is faux and I'm pretty sure it is not leather. The sofa looks fine. The frame is glued together so we won't allow our children to jump on it. Really, we got it for the price and the look. My biggest complaint is that the cushions hang way way way over the frame. This does impact the comfort and I'm worried that the cushions won't wear well over time because the are not laying on the frame properly. Any help from Overstock regarding this would be great. I feel like I'm missing something with the cushions. I studied the photos of it carefully and it does not look like the cushions hang over, yet on ours, in person, it hangs over a lot. I said I would not recommend this to a friend b/c of the cushion issue and because we have had it only a few hours and I'd really like to see how it wears before I recommend it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks nice but design is lacking.
 from Richardson, Texas,  Nov 30, 2013

The sofa looks very nice. Exactly the same as in the photo. We received our first one and there was a hole in the box and a tear on the sofa back inside. Overstock was super helpful and immediately sent out another sofa. The service was excellent. The second one arrived a week later and we assembled it and have been using it for a week. The cushions hang over the frame of the sofa too far. For anyone taller than 5'4, it is not as comfortable as it should be. You can feel the bones of the sofa under the cushions. It looks very good, but because of the comfort I would not recommend it. Overstock however was excellent to work with.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent
 from Manhattan, NYC,  Apr 25, 2013

For less than $400 this couch is everything! It looks good, it's comfortable and I've had it for about three months now and it looks just as it did the day I got it. My roommate and I use it everyday. You really can't go wrong with this piece. We have a decent-sized place in Midtown and it looks great! Doesn't look cheap, at all... Happy shopping!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Dead on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Dead on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice & Comfy
 from Philadelphia,  Apr 12, 2013

This sofa is very nice and it was easy to put together. It's not really soft but I like it that way! It goes great with my home decor an its not to big, its a perfect size for my place. It come UPS in 3 boxes and it came a day earlier than expected.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It's very sturdy!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
ETHAN HOME Uptown Collection Espresso Dark Espress
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Jan 25, 2013

Product was delivered with severe damage. Damaged was caused during time of manufacturing. Unable to receive a replacement because the unit is no longer available, and the parts are also unavailable. Overstock customer support is currently helping me resolve the issue. They are quick to respond to my emails and are doing all what they can to help me resolve and compensate for my issue. Their customer support alone will encourage me to continue using their services to purchase products.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Looking Sofa
 from Cedarcreek, MO,  Nov 15, 2012

This sofa is stylish and modern. It looks great in our den. We have several dogs, and the sofa is holding up well. However, the cats have caused some damage by scratching the arms. I would recommend this sofa, especially to someone without cats. It is a good quality for the price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfectly.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of the sofa is very good for the price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
the sofa
 from WATERTOWN,WIS,  Nov 13, 2012

I LIKE THE SOFA IT LOOKS GREAT IN OUR NEW ROOM. IT WAS BUILT WELL AND IS JUST WHAT I WANTED.THE SHIPING IS WHY I GOT IT FROM YOU.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. it is good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very goog
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid for a rough and tumble house!
 from New Orleans, La,  Nov 10, 2012

I wanted something nice but not crazy expensive. I have a rough two year old and it still looks awesome!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful sofa, just what I wanted
 from Stamford, TX,  Nov 9, 2012

I've had this sofa for a month and love it! It's sleek, sophisticated, and very comfortable (pleasantly firm). It makes a beautiful contrast in color with my white throw pillows. It did take me a while to get the couch assembled. The feet come with threaded bolt-things sticking out that you're supposed to screw into the frame. Two of the bolts were so crooked that the feet wouldn't screw in properly, but after a few whacks with a hammer, they straightened up and the feet screwed right in. The trouble was definitely worth it. My budget was three times what I ended up paying for this couch and I have no regrets!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Right on. The sofa looks black except when it's in the sun, then you can see it's a very dark brown.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great value.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value.
 from Salem, OR.,  Aug 15, 2012

I had to wait to get my sofa as it was out of stock for a bit, and I'm glad I did. This is exactly what I wanted and expected. I wanted a sofa that was long enough to lay down on, firm so that you sit "on" it, not "in" it, and with legs to get it up off the floor to avoid the "heavy" look of other sofas. It was pretty easy to assemble in about an hour. It arrived quickly and had one small blemish on a corner from rough shipping treatment, but not enough to be noticeable. The bicast fabric does an excellent impression of leather and should be easy to care for. I would have liked to see the legs with longer, sturdier screw attachments, that's what kept more score to a 4 instead of a 5. Overall, I'm very pleased with this purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Pretty good quality for the price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
OK
 from Oregon,  Aug 3, 2012

Bought this couch based on all the excellent reviews. Very disappoint with the product. The legs that came with the couch had the screw hole drilled in the wrong side. After the couch was assembled and we put the cushions on they hang off the front two inches. I have two high quality couches and the cushions do not do this. I believe one reviewer mentioned that the cushions occasionally fall off when getting up and I can see how that can be the case. It will be interesting to see how easily our 3 year old can get on and off without the cushion going with him. Oh well, you get what you pay for and you can't expect much at this price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. fair
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

You're better off buying a used "nice" sofa from *** or saving up a little more and buying something nicer. Cushions stick out further than the seat, looks horrible. POS.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? dark brown not black (which is what I thought it was)
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Cheap balsa wood inserts in the back, cheaper quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks nicer than it is
 from Ohio,  Jul 9, 2010

First, thank you to the other reviewers who said the panel lifts up for screwing in the sides - big help! The box came damaged, but everything inside was just fine. It was very easy to put together by myself - only 4 major parts really. Workmanship on this couch is not top notch, but hey, it's a really cheap couch. It looks nicer than it is. I needed something that was shorter than the normal couch, and this worked perfectly. Would be great for spaces you cannot fit a normal couch because it can come apart very easily. I would probably get the microfiber version next time. The stitching on this is not good, and I worry about it coming apart because the pleather may tear if that happens making it harder to repair than fabric. It also gets hot if you sit on it a long time. Very comfortable seating though. The seat pillows stick out a bit - maybe 1/2" - which I don't like. Overall though, a fabulous deal and I am happy with my purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
rigirl1234
 from Rhode Island,  Jul 8, 2010

We've had our couch for three weeks now and love it! It's great for anyone with children or animals. It wipes clean doesn't collect pet hair. I love the fact it's a little higher off the ground than our old couch. We live in a cape style house so it is the perfect size for our living room. It was a little crazy putting it together though as I knew from the reviews that it would be. I would still absolutely recommend this collection!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 89 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought