Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 44 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Poor manufacturing QC and poor customer service
 from Texas Hill Country,  Jul 21, 2014

Ordered this bookshelf unit in spite of reviews that mentioned problems with notched shelves. Unfortunately, unit arrived with bottom shelf notch broken off. In addition, this same shelf was split from outer edge approximately 8" toward the center of the shelf - a manufacturing flaw, since shelves are comprised of rough-hewn planks that are glued together. In the case of the bottom shelf, the planks were so bowed and misshapen that the glue could not/did not hold them together. E-mail sent to info@overstock.com produced a "we've forwarded your inquiry to our parts department" reply several days later. Waited a week with no response from the elusive parts folks before sending a second request to the "info" folks. Received the exact same response several days later from "info". "Parts" folks remain silent. In the meantime, I have a product that cannot be assembled or used. Because the bottom shelf serves as a significant structural component of the unit, I wouldn't even consider an attempt to repair myself to render bookshelf usable. I've been an enthusiastic and frequent Overstock customer for multiple years and this is the first order that has been problematic. I'm underwhelmed with customer service.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Rustic shelves without the high price tag
 from Milwaukee, WI,  Oct 8, 2013

I bought these two 5-shelf bookshelves and the matching TV stand. I wanted an entire wall of rustic looking shelves for my newly remodeled living room but since rustic is the trend these days, rustic shelves have very expensive price tags ($1000 each isn't uncommon). At one point, I thought I would have to construct some shelves myself using reclaimed wood and iron plumbing pipe but luckily I came across these on Overstock. I had purchased the coffee table that is in this same collection and was very happy with it so decided to give these a go. The shelves are heavy wood and look like reclaimed barn wood (I don't think they really are but they certainly look like it). The top and bottom shelves are fixed with screws and the middle three have notches that allow them to just sit on the shelf rungs. The shelves are heavy so I don't see them going anywhere. The shelves are not adjustable. The placement you see in the picture is the only configuration possible. Also, one of the shelves was not completely straight so it rocks on the unit (like your dinner table does when one of the legs is longer than the others). I fixed it by putting a small shim under the shelf in one corner. Only one shelf out of ten did this and I don't think it's the norm. I also recommend that you attach this to the wall to prevent tipping. The shelf is heavy when it is put together and if it tipped over on a climbing child, it could really hurt him or her. The hardware to attach it to the wall t is included with the shelf. The wood is darker than is shown in the picture. It's actually a very dark brown. I have the feeling that the light the photographer used makes the wood look lighter than it is. The wood is also rough and not smooth (which is the rustic look I was after). One of the things I'm not that keen on is the metal support legs. They're not really heavy metal - they feel like aluminum with a powder-coated black matte finish. However, they do look good and are strong enough to support the shelves so I'll go with it. The other problem area were the X supports on the back of the shelf. You absolutely do need these because the shelves are ultra wobbly without them. However, the two supports cross each other in the back and you are supposed to screw the two together in the middle of the "X". The problem is that the manufacturer only gives you a screw to do this and no nut to put on the screw so the two supports don't stay together even with the screw. I had to dig a nut out of my own collection and use that on the screw. Otherwise, the two supports come apart. It doesn't effect the support of the shelf at all; it just looks untidy. The middle part where you screw them together is hidden behind the middle shelf so you won't see it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Appearance
 from Fl,  Oct 9, 2013

Happy with the appearance, installation was easy on the first, complicated on the second unit. The top of the boards have a distressed look to them, the bottom of each board does not. Not a big deal but worth mention for those who care. I found the finish on bottom of the boards to look fine for the purpose. Should you receive the right pieces: When assembling, you will need to use a little pressure when screwing in the last leg of the the cross bars. Nothing to worry about as it flexes out a little, but not to bad. Nothing to it and the instructions are a step above ikea. (The wood finish is miles ahead of Ikea!) Our second unit did not come with a board marked "D". This is the bottom board, and is no different then the middle boards with the exception of some very important pilot holes. One board was unmarked (the "D" board by process of elimination). Because the boards do not fit snug to the frame (this is by design/not a bad thing) the installer is reliant on the pilot holes to ensure the board sits properly centered / flush with the frame. I believe I lined everything up, but find that when putting the units side by side, the bottom and top boards do not line up with the adjacent unit. Be aware of this if you are planning on putting multiple units side by side.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Restoration Hardware Quality
 from Dallas,  Aug 7, 2013

Such a great sturdy piece of furniture. Super easy to put together. Only complaint was 2 pieces had chipped/broken off around the iron support rods. I just glued them back with gorilla glue and you can't even tell. Very happy with the purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent quality and construction
 from Northern Idaho,  Jun 2, 2013

Love the rustic look of these shelves. Everything arrived in perfect condition, shelves are thick and solid. No breakage at the corners as several other reviews stated. My husband was very happy at how quickly and easily he was able to put them together (he usually gets very frustrated with things I buy that have to be assembled). I love the space between shelves. I have our granddaughters toys in bins on the bottom 2 shelves which keeps them out of site between their visits. My projects are in bins on the upper shelves and there is still plenty of room for decorative items as well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as stated. The rustic look is a perfect fit for our home.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solidly built, heavy duty. Can hold a lot of weight. Recommend securing to the wall.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly as described.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
WOW
 from CA,  Jan 23, 2013

This is one great looking piece. I wasn't prepared for how great it would be. I felt like we got a big bang for our buck! O comes through AGAIN

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Almost exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality and GREAT look
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
chicmama
 Sep 2, 2015

Color me shocked! Looks high-end! Good value - hubby used a drill to assemble and it took hardly any time.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Satisfied customer
 Aug 25, 2015

I like this bookcase very much. It looks great in my space and the shelves are very deep. I had trouble with the X bar in the back but it stands pretty steady.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

The product was very easy to assemble. The dark rustic wood shelves look great against our brick walls. We were hoping the metal was more solid.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent purchase!
 Jul 27, 2015

I was hesitant to buy such a large item online but was assured by the other reviews. This is a beautiful bookcase. The shelves are solid wood and have a lovely distressed look (but not overly so). It is sturdy and very easy to put together. One shelf is a bit warped due to the style but my husband just put a little bumper under it so it didn't wiggle. Very beautiful and I am very happy with my purchase!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

bought this on sale and i am so happy i did. the only thing is it is not as sturdy as i thought it would be (shifts if you apply pressure to it on one side with nothing on it), however it sturdy enough and serves it's purpose once it's filled with decor and such.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome bookshelf!
 Jun 28, 2015

Love the look of it and it is actually very sturdy!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

This just arrived today and every single shelf was broken. There needs to be better quality control and packaging. It's amazing that every single shelf has a broken piece, it takes effort to be that terrible.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE IT!
 Jun 15, 2015

I ordered this bookcase to display my scrapbook albums on. The height in between each shelf is more than ample to store our large albums. It's a very versatile look, as it combines rustic with a touch of modern. It fits in perfectly with our desk and decor. It's very sturdy and is holding a lot of weight, which tells me it's definitely a quality product. I highly recommend if you are considering purchasing it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Shelves
 Jun 3, 2015

I ordered these shelves after spending lots of time online looking. I decided on these because of the style and price. The boxes they arrived in are huge, and it actually took me more time to unpack the boxes than assemble the actual shelves. I assembled the shelves in about 15 minutes each all by myself. I have small children so I attached the anti tip brackets and ties, but actually hid them along the top shelf and you can't see them at all. Overall, I am extremely happy with the shelves and the style looks great. I think they look more contemporary than industrial modern. For the price you can't beat the quality and look. I think the quality and assembly are better than other big box retailers I have tried. This was the first time buying furniture from Overstock and the process was very easy and the shelves are perfect.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I shopped for shelves on what seemed like hundreds of sites for weeks. I wanted to stay under the $$$ budget and attempt to get somewhat decent quality (fully aware it would not be *********** *********). I am pleasantly surprised with these shelves. They are nice looking, sturdier than expected and were easy to assemble. They were together in less than 1 hour. overstock shipping is obviously reasonable and so fast there a no complaints in that department. Overall I am very pleased. I wish there was a matching desk in this grouping.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful, classic
 May 22, 2015

Very happy, sturdy...nice quality

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gwendolyn P.
 May 15, 2015

Love the industrial look, along with additional pieces desk, etc. with a feminine touch of gold desk assessories as well as decor pieces. awesome look!!! Great quality for the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
designer
 Apr 20, 2015

an unbelievable piece of furniture for the price! shelves are deep and perfect for a number of books/decorations.very happy with the purchase and it came in 3 days!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
MBueno
 Apr 13, 2015

Great bookcase! Beautiful and sturdy! I just bought a second one!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 44 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought