Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 32 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Rustic shelves without the high price tag
 from Milwaukee, WI,  Oct 8, 2013

I bought these two 5-shelf bookshelves and the matching TV stand. I wanted an entire wall of rustic looking shelves for my newly remodeled living room but since rustic is the trend these days, rustic shelves have very expensive price tags ($1000 each isn't uncommon). At one point, I thought I would have to construct some shelves myself using reclaimed wood and iron plumbing pipe but luckily I came across these on Overstock. I had purchased the coffee table that is in this same collection and was very happy with it so decided to give these a go. The shelves are heavy wood and look like reclaimed barn wood (I don't think they really are but they certainly look like it). The top and bottom shelves are fixed with screws and the middle three have notches that allow them to just sit on the shelf rungs. The shelves are heavy so I don't see them going anywhere. The shelves are not adjustable. The placement you see in the picture is the only configuration possible. Also, one of the shelves was not completely straight so it rocks on the unit (like your dinner table does when one of the legs is longer than the others). I fixed it by putting a small shim under the shelf in one corner. Only one shelf out of ten did this and I don't think it's the norm. I also recommend that you attach this to the wall to prevent tipping. The shelf is heavy when it is put together and if it tipped over on a climbing child, it could really hurt him or her. The hardware to attach it to the wall t is included with the shelf. The wood is darker than is shown in the picture. It's actually a very dark brown. I have the feeling that the light the photographer used makes the wood look lighter than it is. The wood is also rough and not smooth (which is the rustic look I was after). One of the things I'm not that keen on is the metal support legs. They're not really heavy metal - they feel like aluminum with a powder-coated black matte finish. However, they do look good and are strong enough to support the shelves so I'll go with it. The other problem area were the X supports on the back of the shelf. You absolutely do need these because the shelves are ultra wobbly without them. However, the two supports cross each other in the back and you are supposed to screw the two together in the middle of the "X". The problem is that the manufacturer only gives you a screw to do this and no nut to put on the screw so the two supports don't stay together even with the screw. I had to dig a nut out of my own collection and use that on the screw. Otherwise, the two supports come apart. It doesn't effect the support of the shelf at all; it just looks untidy. The middle part where you screw them together is hidden behind the middle shelf so you won't see it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor manufacturing QC and poor customer service
 from Texas Hill Country,  Jul 21, 2014

Ordered this bookshelf unit in spite of reviews that mentioned problems with notched shelves. Unfortunately, unit arrived with bottom shelf notch broken off. In addition, this same shelf was split from outer edge approximately 8" toward the center of the shelf - a manufacturing flaw, since shelves are comprised of rough-hewn planks that are glued together. In the case of the bottom shelf, the planks were so bowed and misshapen that the glue could not/did not hold them together. E-mail sent to info@overstock.com produced a "we've forwarded your inquiry to our parts department" reply several days later. Waited a week with no response from the elusive parts folks before sending a second request to the "info" folks. Received the exact same response several days later from "info". "Parts" folks remain silent. In the meantime, I have a product that cannot be assembled or used. Because the bottom shelf serves as a significant structural component of the unit, I wouldn't even consider an attempt to repair myself to render bookshelf usable. I've been an enthusiastic and frequent Overstock customer for multiple years and this is the first order that has been problematic. I'm underwhelmed with customer service.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Appearance
 from Fl,  Oct 9, 2013

Happy with the appearance, installation was easy on the first, complicated on the second unit. The top of the boards have a distressed look to them, the bottom of each board does not. Not a big deal but worth mention for those who care. I found the finish on bottom of the boards to look fine for the purpose. Should you receive the right pieces: When assembling, you will need to use a little pressure when screwing in the last leg of the the cross bars. Nothing to worry about as it flexes out a little, but not to bad. Nothing to it and the instructions are a step above ikea. (The wood finish is miles ahead of Ikea!) Our second unit did not come with a board marked "D". This is the bottom board, and is no different then the middle boards with the exception of some very important pilot holes. One board was unmarked (the "D" board by process of elimination). Because the boards do not fit snug to the frame (this is by design/not a bad thing) the installer is reliant on the pilot holes to ensure the board sits properly centered / flush with the frame. I believe I lined everything up, but find that when putting the units side by side, the bottom and top boards do not line up with the adjacent unit. Be aware of this if you are planning on putting multiple units side by side.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Restoration Hardware Quality
 from Dallas,  Aug 7, 2013

Such a great sturdy piece of furniture. Super easy to put together. Only complaint was 2 pieces had chipped/broken off around the iron support rods. I just glued them back with gorilla glue and you can't even tell. Very happy with the purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent quality and construction
 from Northern Idaho,  Jun 2, 2013

Love the rustic look of these shelves. Everything arrived in perfect condition, shelves are thick and solid. No breakage at the corners as several other reviews stated. My husband was very happy at how quickly and easily he was able to put them together (he usually gets very frustrated with things I buy that have to be assembled). I love the space between shelves. I have our granddaughters toys in bins on the bottom 2 shelves which keeps them out of site between their visits. My projects are in bins on the upper shelves and there is still plenty of room for decorative items as well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as stated. The rustic look is a perfect fit for our home.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solidly built, heavy duty. Can hold a lot of weight. Recommend securing to the wall.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly as described.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
WOW
 from CA,  Jan 23, 2013

This is one great looking piece. I wasn't prepared for how great it would be. I felt like we got a big bang for our buck! O comes through AGAIN

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Almost exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality and GREAT look
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
designer
 Apr 20, 2015

an unbelievable piece of furniture for the price! shelves are deep and perfect for a number of books/decorations.very happy with the purchase and it came in 3 days!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
MBueno
 Apr 13, 2015

Great bookcase! Beautiful and sturdy! I just bought a second one!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nevadaK
 Mar 18, 2015

We have these for quite a while and they look great. A bit tough to dust as they have a rustic finish on the wood but really are easiest cleaned while using your vacuum. They were twice the price we paid at our local store.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Brings character to the room and fits so much! I get compliments on it all the time. Easy assembly

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy and strong
 Feb 10, 2015

My wife and I bought this for use as a bookcase and it holds the weight very well. Nice look and well built. 2 of the shelves were broken at the corners (looked like shipping damage due to the condition of the box) but Overstock worked with Tribecca and got use replacements at no additional cost. Overall very satisfied.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not Great Quality but Nice Look
 from Boston, Ma,  Dec 23, 2014

This is a very nice looking bookcase but had some real quality issues. There were no pre-drilled holes for assembly -- not that holes were hard to drill because the wood of the shelves is incredibly soft. However, not having the holes pre-drilled put a bit of guess work into assembly that did not need to be there and it took several tries to get it lined up right. The wood of the shelves is so soft that when I slid one of the shelves into place, the small tab that results from the cut-out for the shelf side pole snapped off. Like I said the wood is incredibly soft -- I am using this in a rustic laundry room for storage and it had exactly the look I wanted --so I just glued the broken piece back on. But for the price paid, the quality was disappointing and it will be interesting to see how the shelves hold up under weight.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not so industrial, but wood nicely finished.
 from Miami, Florida,  Nov 22, 2014

The bookshelf looks great albeit the legs are clearly not rustic or industrial. The wood shelves fit perfectly and it was a breeze to put together on my own in about twenty minutes - ten minutes of that time was dedicated to removing it from the enormous box and separating it from the packing material. It was missing one screw but I improvised from what I had in my tool chest.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great rustic look for a fraction of the price!
 from Astoria, NY,  Sep 19, 2014

Great rustic bookshelves. The only problem I had was that two of the shelves came damaged and overstock send us new ones. Great service!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product!
 from washington dc,  Sep 3, 2014

I am using this bookcase to hold approximately 800 albums. The shelves do not sag, it is very attractive, and super easy to assemble. Have bought two other products in the same line of furniture and they are the same. Really good quality and great price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
would do it again
 from Raleigh NC,  Aug 12, 2014

When the massive box arrived I was terrified. But no fear- it was mostly protective packaging & was in perfect condition. All the hardware, instructions & pieces were intact & I knocked this baby together in under 10 minutes. If you are looking for an attractive, affordable bookcase - you have found it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Utter garbage...
 from Fort Collins, CO,  Jun 3, 2014

We ordered this to store various items in our kids "play" room. It arrived damaged and was unusable. Looking at the construction, I can't believe that more than about half of these arrived undamaged. On top of that, it really is quite ugly (IMHO), with sort of fake weathered looked wood finish.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect, Just What I Wanted!
 from Boston, Ma,  May 13, 2014

I love the industrial look of this bookshelf, but I am not using it as a bookshelf. I wanted to used it in my dining room for display of Pots and Pans and Small appliances such as Silver Bread Machine, Vitamix, Dishes, Plants, Cookbooks, etc. Looks sensational. Highly recommend to all. It really holds a lot and did exactly what I wanted by extending my kitchen into my dining room. Wish I could add a picture!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Big and Perfect
 from El Dorado Hills, CA,  Mar 28, 2014

I was concerned about purchasing this particular one because of all the comments about how "rustic" it is, and we have a modern home. I went for it anyway, and it fits in beautifully with everything modern as well because of the very simple lines and open shelving. Love the heft of this too -- great quality. Took us maybe 15 minutes to put together. Great purchase!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love this bookcase!
 from Indiana,  Oct 19, 2013

I am a decorator and put this in the home of a client. The client loved it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 32 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought