Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated

Welcome to Overstock!

Activate within the next 5 minutes
5 min 00 sec

7

%

OFF
coupon*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 72 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Poor manufacturing QC and poor customer service
 from Texas Hill Country,  Jul 21, 2014

Ordered this bookshelf unit in spite of reviews that mentioned problems with notched shelves. Unfortunately, unit arrived with bottom shelf notch broken off. In addition, this same shelf was split from outer edge approximately 8" toward the center of the shelf - a manufacturing flaw, since shelves are comprised of rough-hewn planks that are glued together. In the case of the bottom shelf, the planks were so bowed and misshapen that the glue could not/did not hold them together. E-mail sent to info@overstock.com produced a "we've forwarded your inquiry to our parts department" reply several days later. Waited a week with no response from the elusive parts folks before sending a second request to the "info" folks. Received the exact same response several days later from "info". "Parts" folks remain silent. In the meantime, I have a product that cannot be assembled or used. Because the bottom shelf serves as a significant structural component of the unit, I wouldn't even consider an attempt to repair myself to render bookshelf usable. I've been an enthusiastic and frequent Overstock customer for multiple years and this is the first order that has been problematic. I'm underwhelmed with customer service.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Rustic shelves without the high price tag
 from Milwaukee, WI,  Oct 8, 2013

I bought these two 5-shelf bookshelves and the matching TV stand. I wanted an entire wall of rustic looking shelves for my newly remodeled living room but since rustic is the trend these days, rustic shelves have very expensive price tags ($1000 each isn't uncommon). At one point, I thought I would have to construct some shelves myself using reclaimed wood and iron plumbing pipe but luckily I came across these on Overstock. I had purchased the coffee table that is in this same collection and was very happy with it so decided to give these a go. The shelves are heavy wood and look like reclaimed barn wood (I don't think they really are but they certainly look like it). The top and bottom shelves are fixed with screws and the middle three have notches that allow them to just sit on the shelf rungs. The shelves are heavy so I don't see them going anywhere. The shelves are not adjustable. The placement you see in the picture is the only configuration possible. Also, one of the shelves was not completely straight so it rocks on the unit (like your dinner table does when one of the legs is longer than the others). I fixed it by putting a small shim under the shelf in one corner. Only one shelf out of ten did this and I don't think it's the norm. I also recommend that you attach this to the wall to prevent tipping. The shelf is heavy when it is put together and if it tipped over on a climbing child, it could really hurt him or her. The hardware to attach it to the wall t is included with the shelf. The wood is darker than is shown in the picture. It's actually a very dark brown. I have the feeling that the light the photographer used makes the wood look lighter than it is. The wood is also rough and not smooth (which is the rustic look I was after). One of the things I'm not that keen on is the metal support legs. They're not really heavy metal - they feel like aluminum with a powder-coated black matte finish. However, they do look good and are strong enough to support the shelves so I'll go with it. The other problem area were the X supports on the back of the shelf. You absolutely do need these because the shelves are ultra wobbly without them. However, the two supports cross each other in the back and you are supposed to screw the two together in the middle of the "X". The problem is that the manufacturer only gives you a screw to do this and no nut to put on the screw so the two supports don't stay together even with the screw. I had to dig a nut out of my own collection and use that on the screw. Otherwise, the two supports come apart. It doesn't effect the support of the shelf at all; it just looks untidy. The middle part where you screw them together is hidden behind the middle shelf so you won't see it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Restoration Hardware Quality
 from Dallas,  Aug 7, 2013

Such a great sturdy piece of furniture. Super easy to put together. Only complaint was 2 pieces had chipped/broken off around the iron support rods. I just glued them back with gorilla glue and you can't even tell. Very happy with the purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Appearance
 from Fl,  Oct 9, 2013

Happy with the appearance, installation was easy on the first, complicated on the second unit. The top of the boards have a distressed look to them, the bottom of each board does not. Not a big deal but worth mention for those who care. I found the finish on bottom of the boards to look fine for the purpose. Should you receive the right pieces: When assembling, you will need to use a little pressure when screwing in the last leg of the the cross bars. Nothing to worry about as it flexes out a little, but not to bad. Nothing to it and the instructions are a step above ikea. (The wood finish is miles ahead of Ikea!) Our second unit did not come with a board marked "D". This is the bottom board, and is no different then the middle boards with the exception of some very important pilot holes. One board was unmarked (the "D" board by process of elimination). Because the boards do not fit snug to the frame (this is by design/not a bad thing) the installer is reliant on the pilot holes to ensure the board sits properly centered / flush with the frame. I believe I lined everything up, but find that when putting the units side by side, the bottom and top boards do not line up with the adjacent unit. Be aware of this if you are planning on putting multiple units side by side.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent quality and construction
 from Northern Idaho,  Jun 2, 2013

Love the rustic look of these shelves. Everything arrived in perfect condition, shelves are thick and solid. No breakage at the corners as several other reviews stated. My husband was very happy at how quickly and easily he was able to put them together (he usually gets very frustrated with things I buy that have to be assembled). I love the space between shelves. I have our granddaughters toys in bins on the bottom 2 shelves which keeps them out of site between their visits. My projects are in bins on the upper shelves and there is still plenty of room for decorative items as well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as stated. The rustic look is a perfect fit for our home.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solidly built, heavy duty. Can hold a lot of weight. Recommend securing to the wall.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly as described.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
WOW
 from CA,  Jan 23, 2013

This is one great looking piece. I wasn't prepared for how great it would be. I felt like we got a big bang for our buck! O comes through AGAIN

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Almost exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality and GREAT look
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Classy
 Feb 10, 2016

It took me a while to get these shelves up due to a renovation I was doing. In the process, I misplaced the hardware. I contacted Overstock and was so impressed by the willingness of the company to rectify my problem. I LOVE the shelves. They are beautiful and have a classy look. I also continue to love Overstock for the best customer service I've ever experienced from a company!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful!!!!
 Feb 9, 2016

Very pleased! Easy to assemble.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy, great looking shelving
 Feb 4, 2016

This was easy to assemble, looks great and holds lots of books. A great addition to our living room

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome!
 Jan 29, 2016

Very easy to assemble and looks fantastic to display all of my glass bowls and cut china and other glass things that don't quite fit in cabinets.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome bookcase!!!
 Jan 12, 2016

Easy to put together and awesome reclaimed look!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great style and great bookcase
 Jan 6, 2016

Its easy to assemble, the shelves are sturdy and wide. The height of the bookcase makes the shelving unit a bit tippy, but not dangerous. I have not anchored it to the wall yet, Im hoping I dont have to anchor it. If there were children in the house it would have to be anchored to the wall. It looks great--I grouped 2 of these tall units with the media stand and it really looks great along a long wall in the study.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love love love
 Dec 20, 2015

Very sturdy. We have the tv stand too, classy. Just Love

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mom
 Dec 16, 2015

Excellent fit for my home office!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great looking, easy assembly
 Dec 10, 2015

The package was very heavy and hard to move alone, but I was able to put this together by myself in about an hour with no problem. It looks great and is sturdy and stable.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
AED, JAX
 Dec 10, 2015

I normally don't write reviews, but this bookcase is just beautiful. It's rustic, industrial and classic. It fits well in my modern/traditional home. It was easy to put together and looks great in my living space. I would highly recommend it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bookcases
 Dec 8, 2015

High quality. Beautiful wood.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bookcase at a great price
 Nov 28, 2015

Solidly made, good materials, looks great, serves it's purpose.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lots of compliments
 Nov 19, 2015

I have two of these side x side to fill a kitchen alcove and they are awesome. Strong odor when first open box, but it dissipates after a few hours. I'm really happy with them.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
First time to order furniture online.
 Nov 16, 2015

I have never ordered furniture online before, but was very satisfied with shipment. It was packed very well. One small problem was that there were no drill holes in top shelf, but my husband took care of that.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 72 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought