Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 189 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 10 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
You will be sorry
 from Bartlesville, OK,  Feb 13, 2011

Initially these chairs look good, I bought 10 chairs and I thought they were the answer to my very long table. They are a little difficult to put together but not too bad, No wonder the Warranty is for only for 30 days and limited. I have had these chairs for about 9 months and there are definite problems. The wood for the top piece splits. They chip very easily and the finish has to be touched up fairly regularly. Put a shopping bag on the seat and there is a scratch. I don't have children and I live alone and these chairs have had really light use. Some have never even been sat on but you even look at these chairs wrong--there is a chip. I am extremely disappointed. Don't be taken in by all the other reviews they didn't give enough time for the defects to show up..

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Luckily, my husband is a very experienced assembler because we found no instructions in the box of chairs. He put the chairs together with no problems; however, the lack of instructions could definitely cause some folks problems. The chairs are strudy, attractive and comfortable. The seats are a medium brown, not a cherry color. This is somewhat disappointing since I plan to use them with a cherry table. I like the chairs enough to use them anyway-I think they will look ok. The lack of instructions and the seat color not being the advertised color, cause me to rate the chairs 4 stars rather than 5 stars.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive Review
 from Charleston, SC,  Jul 11, 2011

These chairs are very nice. They are heavy quality and were exactly what I was looking for. They were fairly easy to put together, even though there seemed like lots of nuts and bolts. I did it myself...my boyfriend was impressed. Just make sure you put the frame with the 6 holes for the screws pointing down, not up. Had to re-put it together when I relaized that the screws hold the seat in place. There are no holes in the seat, but the screws gently screw in just enough to hold them. May need a battery charged screwdriver if not strong for this. Other than that, very easy and beautiful. One small issue was that one of the frames had a small crack that really couldn't be seen, but didn't affect the quality of the chair and wasn't worth sending back. Just make sure you check out all chairs before accepting.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color was very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great chairs, good heavy quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid but had issues with uneven legs
 from Bay Area, CA,  Mar 18, 2011

Love the chairs and they match our *** round pedestal table beautifully. The price is terrific, best I could find. Delivery was a breeze too. After putting them together however we noticed that they were really rocking back and forth. The legs were uneven on 2 of the 4 chairs. We ended up having the front legs swapped out via O's excellent CS. They are still a little wobbly because the back legs were actually also uneven. Ugh. The construction otherwise is great and solid. Love the distressing and 2 tone look although I do have cushions on them. Agree with another reviewer about the little feet under the chair legs. Nice touch and will prevent the legs from becoming beat up over time. Pretty easy to put together. Took about 15-20 minutes per chair, if that. Hope this is helpful!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
MacKenzie Dining Chairs
 from Utah,  Jun 1, 2011

I love my new chairs! They look terrific with a table I refinished. The only think I was disappointed in was some slight damage to 2 of the chairs due to poor packaging. I ordered 3 sets of 2. We decided it wouldn't be worth paying shipping back and chose to overlook the slight damage but wish they were perfect. Other than that - we were very pleased with the delivery time and the quality of chair for the price. Thanks overstock!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice chairs, but you'll need a drill
 from Alexandria, VA,  May 29, 2011

The chairs are very nice -- attractive, sturdy, and of good wood. I bought 3 pairs of chairs. They arrived well-boxed, though one side of a chair back was split in two. Wood glue, a vice, and some touch-up paint seemed to fix the problem acceptably -- though I'm dubious about how the repaired back will hold up over time. While one might imagine, as I did, that assembly would be easy and straight-forward, that's not entirely true. The instructions are mostly limited to small-scale drawings (and they do not make clear a further step -- which becomes obvious only when you're left with extra bolts. That, too, is easy enough to remedy). More importantly, however, the instructions did not make clear that a drill is essential for attaching the hardwood seat to the chair frame -- a screw-driver is simply not adequate for the job. Furthermore, an attachment to the drill is needed because a standard bit is not long enough to reach through the pre-drilled hole in the chair frame to drive the wood screw into the seat. Thus, the first chair's assembly was a bit of trial and error; the second was a more serious fix-it operation, and the remaining four were easy (with a drill and attachment).

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? good
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Good Style : Excellent
sturdy, durable stylish chairs
 from Houston, Tx,  Jul 24, 2013

The chairs are very nice looking, love the two tone look, matches my china cabinet and table and the look is very stylish. They are sturdy, durable, heavy chairs. Were very each to put together, only one problem, two predrilledl holes were not right and I had to purchase two longer screws to secure the seat. All is great now, love the chairs.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Sturdy Chairs good value.
 from Closter, NJ,  Jan 3, 2013

I love these chairs. They are just as pictured. Great addition to my dining room. Nice big sturdy chairs with a high back.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? As Pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality was great easy to put together.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
kitcken dining chairs
 from Douglassville Pa,  Jan 2, 2013

I had bought the 5 piece kitchen set and ordered two extra chairs for when I have company. I also use one of the chairs for my kitchen desk. I really love the look. My kitchen is not country but they look contemporary without looking modern or too country.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Buy!
 from Tucson, AZ,  Jul 7, 2011

These chairs are a great buy! I spent a significant amount of time searching for reasonably priced chairs and decided on these chairs. They look great and I have received several compliments on them.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color looks like the picture.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great looking chairs and comfortable to sit in.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The chairs are good quality for the price
 from Corpus Christi, TX,  Jun 29, 2011

This is the 2nd set that I've purchased. The antiqued black with contrasting seat looks great in our transitional style kitchen/den.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? great
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great chair, wrong stain
 from PA,  Feb 25, 2011

Wonderfully built, some marks through the black on the legs when arrived but easily dressed up with a sharpie. I am VERY pleased with the mechanics of how it is fastened together; it will be strong for a long time. These chairs are substantial and of very good size. For assembly: hack saw down the hex wrench so that it fits into a drill (your hands will thank you). Also: you will want to buy some 1.5" square drive (Kreg pocket hole) screws at Lowes or Home Depot to attach the seat since these are easier to use in tight holes and WILL NOT strip out like the phillps head screws provided (it will save you an amazing amount of time in the end and only cost you $3. Now, here is what really concerned us but we overlooked it........the chair top is NOT CHERRY finish, IT IS WALNUT finished. It doesn't match cherry furniture and you may be disappointed if you expected that. We himmed and hawed for the whole evening and eventually just let it go. These are beautiful chairs and they look beautiful anyway. We have six and please follow my recommendation on buying screws and getting the hex wrench installed into the drill.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mackenzie Chairs Set of 2
 from Michigan,  Feb 6, 2011

We ordered 2 sets of Mackenzie Casual Countryside Chairs and were impressed at how easy they were to put together (mechanical phillips drill bit works best). The word Casual in the name of the chairs is a misnomer they are very transitional and could be used in a formal setting. These are some of the most comfortable chairs we've sat in. They look wonderful with our repurposed old country pine trestle table which is now painted black. We look forward to buying from Overstock.com again.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dining chairrs
 from Orlando, FL,  Jan 29, 2011

These chairs (4) were a gift for my son and fiance'. They were delivered a week after I ordered, which is timely. They said chairs were easy to put together, sturdy and eye appealing. They are very pleased with my gift. I was wary of ordering put together chairs from web but cause my son is happy with selection makes me happy also. I would order put together furniture from overstock in future.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Buy!
 from Nashville, TN,  Jan 28, 2011

I was a little nervous ordering dining chairs online. I was pleasantly surprised when I received the well packed boxes. The chairs look like the picture and are comfortable to sit in. I especially like the plastic pieces on the bottoms of the legs to prevent floor scratching. The only down side is that you cannot use an electric drill to screw in screws. My husband's hands were tired and blistered after putting four chairs together using a manual screwdriver.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Rustic and Elegance
 from Grand Junction, CO,  Jan 27, 2011

Chairs are of great quality and arrived with in three days from order. They look beautiful around our dining table. They are the right amount of rustic and elegance. Great deal when compared to prices at other online websites and local furniture stores. Overall very pleased with the chairs and with Overstock.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid
 from ny,  Jan 22, 2011

I was a little nervous buying chairs online, but these were a good bet. They are sturdy, solid and reasonable comfortable for wooden seats, a great deal for the price. The cherry seats are more of a brown than a red cherry tone. One came damaged, but was quickly replaced. I am very happy with my purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice chairs
 Dec 28, 2010

These chairs are really nice. Good quality and easy to put together. I received one of them cracked (looks like damage ocurred during shipping) but it was quickly and easily replaced with no need to return the broken one. I have received many fragile items from Overstock.com in perfect condition. This was the first time something was not perfect but Overstock's awesome customer service made this a non-issue. I would recommend these chairs. I might even buy another set :)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks Great
 Nov 9, 2009

Very sturdy chairs that look wonderful. Easy to put together.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic value
 from Glendale, Az.,  Nov 4, 2009

I own a table and chairs by L. Hitchcock & Company, made of cherry wood and black/cherry chairs with hand painted detail. The chairs were getting weak but I did not want to give up my table. I found your chairs which match the decor with my table. The chairs are quite sturdy, carry thru the black/cherry look and have great design appeal on the chair backs. The chairs will last for years due to their excellant construction and look like a matched set to my table. I am so pleased as L Hitchcock & Co. is not longer in business and the design and manufacturing tools were sold to a company in England making the chairs impossible to replace. I recommend the chairs to anyone intrested in this design style of chair.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 189 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 10 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top