Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 23 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Very happy, with one caveat...
 from Orange County, CA,  Oct 10, 2010

I've only just assembled this bed, so haven't had it a long time. Nevertheless, my first impression is that this is an excellent bed. Solid, easy to put together (took me about 45 mins). All holes lined up easliy, etc. The faux leather is very good quality - nice and soft to the touch (not the plasticky kind) with very dark brown color (not black, but almost). Love the stitching detail - I was debating buying this or a three-leather-panel one, and I'm glad I got this 5 panel one as the stitching breaks up the head board area very nicely. Few things: 1) The leather is quite thin - no problem, but I do worry that it will tear easily. I have kids who love jumping and messing around on the bed, but have all but banned them from doing this on the new bed precisely becuase of this! 2) Check the boxes when they arrive - two of mine had huge gashes that cut right through to the parts themselves that I missed when I took delivery, but thankfully there was just a scratch on the headboard leather when I upacked this that I can easily live with. 3) The only real negative thing I would say (and the caveat I referred to in the title) is that I didn't feel like there are enough mattress support slats supplied- they are rather thin (about 2 inch width?) and only 4 of them supplied, There are legs supplied to put in the middle of each that support the middle of the mattress (curiously, as normally a central beam from head to foot board would supprt this part - but probably one of the reasons why this bed is not hugely expensive), and this felt ok when I put the mattress on, but was worried about the slats coping over time with the weight and just not being able to do so longer term with my wife and I sleeping on this (we weigh about 310 pounds combined, by the way, so nothing crazy). So I ended up going to the local hardware shop, buying some 1 x 3 board and cutting them to size, then bolting new foot-blocks (also cut to size) in the middle just like the supplied ones did. I am glad I did as the bed feels sturdier now with the heavy mattress on top. Also, we went from a bed frame with boxes to this non-box platform type mattress only bed, and my mattress felt a little softer - the extra slats/legs I made feel like it is more firmer again. This is the reason I knocked 1 star off the rating - feels like the maufacturer skimmed a little on that part. However, overall, I am very happy with this purchase and would defintely recommend, with you making your mind up when you put it together if you need to make the extra slats too (very easy to do so, but a little time consuming).

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Looking Bed, Terrible Construction.
 from Michigan,  Dec 31, 2011

I was excited to get this bed, and after reading the reviews I thought it would be a good purchase. I was wrong! The first day my husband and I slept on the bed, the wooden support frame broke. They give you 4 thin wooden slats and 4 pegs to screw into the middle for support. My husband is 200 lbs. and I am 128 lbs., clearly not too heavy where the support should have snapped. We ended up calling overstock and they sent us additional support slats, but it still did not hold our matress and started to buckle with in days. We ended up purchasing a metal frame to fit within the outside frame and just threw out the wooden support slats. I would say you get what you pay for with this one.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color matched perfectly.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Low quality support frame.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quick and Easy Set UP
 from Joliet, IL,  Nov 9, 2010

We love the bed, it was quick and easy to set up and my husband was able to do it solo. We deceided to add a few additional braces to the king size frame just to make sure it was strong and sturdy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great except for slats
 from NJ,  Mar 5, 2012

The bed is good for the most part. Like everyone else said in their reviews the slats were very flimsy. My husband had to go purchase more wood in order for the mattress and box spring to hold it otherwise it would have for certain broken. If you are ordering this in the future make sure when you get the box spring for whichever mattress you should get a low profile box spring which is like 5 inches as opposed to the standard 9 inches. Right now the bed is so high that when we make the bed you can't really see the headbord part due to the pillows on the bed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It was darker which is what I preffered, so that worked out well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice bed
 from columbus ohio,  Feb 16, 2012

Nice bed- arrived in 2 weeks and was fairly easy to put together. Other reviewers have mentioned the supplied slats being too flimsy. In my case they seem to have worked fine. One thing to point out is the bed came with no instructions and knowing where the different sized bolts would be going was very confusing. The bolts are all the same diameter, so they will fit in any spot- If you decide to choose this bed, I would make sure Overstock sends instructions.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. 8 out of 10
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accuratte
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Recommend it to anyone.
 from Ord, NE,  Apr 30, 2012

Assembly was a little time consuming. An hour and a half when it was all said and done. Great quality materials! I love it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? As close as I could expect it to be.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality, far exceeding what I expected for the price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful bed, even better price.
 from Los Angeles, CA,  May 29, 2013

Just like others, I was skeptical about buying a bed online. So my wife and I perused all of the furniture stores in our area (lots of stores in So. Cal.), and for our price range, everything was junk. So we decided to take a look at Overstock again and found this brown faux leather bed. And just like most other people, the great reviews prompted us to take the chance on this bed. What can I say? It is a beautiful bed. It's sturdy, well built, and rivals beds we looked at in brick and mortar stores that were upwards of $1000 and more. Now, the slats are flimsy, but we knew that going into the buy, so I also bought some plywood and layed it down. There is no way those slats will hold a memory foam mattress up. Other than that, I can honestly say that this is the most beautiful bed I've ever owned. If you're looking for a beautiful bed at a fraction of the cost of your hometown stores, this is the one to get.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color is exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this bed!!
 from Illinois,  Apr 5, 2013

Great quality bed and it looks alot more expensive then it was!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous bed
 from Charlotte, NC,  Feb 26, 2013

This bed is so sleek and stylish, but more support is needed for the mattress slats. We added two flat wood boards over the slats for support. We simply measured the perimeter of the inside of the frame and had the local home improvement store cut us two flat pieces of plywood to use for support on top of the slats. We are using the Select-A-Firmness foam mattress with this and it sleeps quite well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent but more support is needed for the mattress slats. We added two flat wood boards over the slats for support.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Satisfied overall
 from Salt Lake City, UT,  Nov 16, 2012

Overall the bed is very nice. The top corners of the headboard were compressed due to the packing straps that were around the box. After about five weeks the compression marks are slowing going away. Assembly was pretty straight forward and I had it together, mattress in place, and bed made in about 60 minutes working by myself. Everything lined up well and all necessary hardware was provided. I like the low footboard and rails; however, they do seem a little flimsy and I am careful to not lean, kneel, or step on them. Delivery took about 2 weeks and it arrived in good condition.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good color match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. as expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
as expected
 from Austin, Texas,  Jul 3, 2012

This bed is a good product for the price. My 8yo and I(avg female) put it together in about an hour. All hardware was present and everything fit together well. As others have said, there are only four flimsy slats. There is no way it will support a memory foam mattress without some kind of additional support. I had home depot cut 1" plywood in the dimensions of the bed which was slightly larger than a king mattress. If you have a boxspring you will not need to do this. I read the reviews and knew what to expect. I am very pleased with my purchase abd would make the same decision again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bed Not Supported!
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jan 12, 2012

This bed does not come with the correct number of slates to support it. If you purchase this bed be prepared to provide your own supports for the mattress. I've purchased twin beds at a fraction of the price that come with more slates to support the bed. It's crazy that support system is so flimsy for a King Size Bed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It took a little bit but we are happy now
 from Durango, CO,  Apr 28, 2010

My husband and I ordered this bed, and we received it quite quickly after we had ordered it. There weren't enough supports sent when the bed was packaged and the back of the headboard had a rip in it. Even though we'd never see the rip, we called customer service and they quickly sent us another headboard and the right support beams to add to our existing bed frame. Our 2nd headboard came very quickly again! However, they sent the wrong size of support beams and screws to fit into our frame holes. So my hubby had to run to the hardware store and get a different size of screw. It was an easy fix but a little frustrating we were being sent the wrong parts. Customer service was very friendly and helpful. Now we are very happy with the bed.. Overall we are please with this product and love the look of it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A+
 from Florida,  Apr 5, 2010

Overstock deserves my 5 minute review since their Customer Service has been from great to excellent on this purchase. The bed arrived in good shape, and even though it was missing some slats with it, I contacted them and they immediately shipped them to us. We are very happy. Good quality. It looks like a more expensive bed than what it cost! The color is dark chocolate, a little darker than in the picture I think. The slats are not too low so if you get a thick mattress like a 9" try first with a low spring box (the 5" ) but if you have a 12" to 14" mattress then maybe you won't even need a spring box at all.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from Kansas City,  Mar 16, 2010

What you see is exactly what you get! I received my order within a week of placing it. The three packages came undamaged and it was relatively simple to put together. It's very sturdy. I recommend buying a 5" (shorter) box spring because the regular size box spring will make the bed sit up really high. The faux leather is beautiful and I get tons of compliments on this bed!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful bed!
 from San Mateo, California,  Nov 24, 2013

The bed arrived quickly and in perfect shape. My husband put it together in 35 minutes. I am really impressed with the faux leather. The look and feel are great. The only thing missing is the smell of leather. In any event, this looks good enough to me, and I'm a perfectionist at most things. I have the box springs and bought the Slumber Solutions Gel Memory Foam 12-inch King-size Mattress from Overstock. It was a perfect fit. I would highly recommend both.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Simple and sophisticated
 from illinois,  Jan 5, 2013

Simple and sophisticated. Good quality and easy to put together. Lower to the ground than I would expect.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
King size bed
 from Dallas, TX,  Nov 4, 2012

The only problem I had was that it didn't come with instructions for assembly

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love my new bed
 from Woodstock, IL,  Aug 28, 2012

The bed was easy to set up. The delivery was great, they were on time and the men who delivered it were friendly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? OMG! I couldn't of picked out a more perfect bed
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of the bed is excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 100% accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value
 from Oakland, CA,  Nov 13, 2010

I'm very pleased with this purchase. It's a nice looking piece of furniture and sturdy. I put it together by myself without much difficulty.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 23 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top