Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-12 of 12 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Not good...
 from Boston,  Feb 3, 2008

Bed looks great, but it's poorly made. I've had it for 8 months or so. After about 5 months, the veneer started peeling off in large strips. It's really coming off. Now, it just essentially broke. I'm tall, but essentially thin. I'm 6'2", 190, and my girlfriend is tall but thin. You would think a queen size bed would hold us. I just looked underneath the bed, and there is a wood explosion. Not sure that I'd have the wood working skills to fix this mess. I think the bed is done. Yes, the bed is priced nicely - however I'm really upset with it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Bed for the Price
 from Silver Spring, MD,  Apr 25, 2007

I bought this bed a couple of months ago and I am satisfied with the purchase, but I'm not sure that I'd do it again. There were some issues with delivery (yes, it really does take 6-8 weeks) and the color is very different in the light. Pay attention to the "merlot" in the description because when the sun shines on it the color is very red - not at all the way it appears in the photo.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Bed
 from Delaware,  Feb 27, 2007

This bed is very beautiful. The only problem I had is the headboard was pulled apart slightly. Once I put my boxspring and mattress on the frame however, you can't see this. I have gotten alot of good reviews on this bed and the matching dresser and chest. Good quality and very beautiful together. Also, the description says something about satin nickel detail. What you see in the picture is what you get. No satiny anything going on unless my bed is missing something.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great on a budget
 from Clemson, SC,  Nov 11, 2012

I have had this bed for four years (along with the rest of the 5-piece set). For what it is, it has served me very, very well. This was my first bedroom furniture set after I graduated college and moved out, and the furniture is appropriate for the standard of living that the situation suggests. I think the drawer pulls that came on the dressers & nightstand are a good indicator of quality - they were a brushed plastic, not metal. I replaced them immediately and the furniture now has a much nicer look to it. I have never relied on the three flimsy mattress support beams included with the bed. I originally used an appropriately-sized sheet of plywood, and subsequently have used six (6) 1"x3"s that I cut to the appropriate length. I have a pillowtop mattress and low-profile box spring and I have never had problems with the re-engineered mattress support. Though I still use the included boards, they are secondary support at best. The included support beams are three very lightweight boards - pine, or perhaps something even lighter. The "feet" that are intended to support these boards in the middle (compensation I suppose) fell off since they were attached by pointy brackets that lodged into the boards rather than being screwed in. The feet are not an appropriate length for actual support; the legs are too long, leading to the feet being skewed in one direction or another while the bed is in use. This problem is exacerbated on carpet. I had one significant flood event since I've had this furniture. The dressers and nightstand now have some water damage where the furniture contacts the floor and the particle board soaked up water. The bed does not have this problem and you cannot tell that it may have been damaged. There are no lasting watermarks or swelled particleboard. Unlike some other reviews, I have not had any problems with the veneer peeling. I'd guess that in an environment where humidity is not controlled, the furniture would easily fall apart because of the low quality materials. I have moved this furniture 5 times now and it has held up remarkably well. I would have expected it to fall apart or be the worse for wear by this point. The bed still looks the same as when I unpacked it in 2008. I would highly recommend this bed (and the rest of the set if/when available) to anyone who would like low-cost, attractive furniture. If treated well it will remain attractive for a long time. I will note that furniture this dark, particularly the whole set, makes a room feel smaller than it is. Though I don't think bedroom furniture should be selected for a particular room, it is worth considering that in a small bedroom (<11'x12') this will be the dominant item with not much space for other furniture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact. Red-hued espresso as could be inferred from "merlot".
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Average. Veneer over particleboard, NOT wood.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate enough. Overstock does not provide much information at all about materials, etc.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
OK
 from L.A.,  Apr 19, 2012

This bed frame has been holding up for several years, but is not as sturdy as I would like. I have a tempurpedic mattress and the frame seems to creak here and there. It did collapse on one side once. Just a poor design with particle board beams holding up a heavy mattress. Also, there are no drill holes, so you just have to screw right into the particle board. Weird. I think for $$$, you can get something better. Looks nice though.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. fair
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fine
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pretty, but flimsy
 from Charleston, SC,  Oct 21, 2010

This sleigh bed is as stylish in person as it looks in the picture. HOWEVER, the finish is plasticky and shows every scratch and the lightweight rubberwood means that it's very flimsy. The first time my 200 lb husband sat down hard on his side of the bed, the slat cracked and we were unable to fix it. Then the leg piece of the footboard started to separate. We're keeping the headboard, but I'm afraid we'll have to throw the rest of it away. I was hoping for a better quality bed for the price. Very disappointed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
HORRIBLE BED
 Apr 26, 2010

Bought this bed a year and a half ago, the support system is horrible. I purchased am expensive mattress from sleepys and not even 3 months later the mattress had a huge hole in the middle. I called sleepys and they sent an inspector out which confirmed that there was a huge sag in the middle of the bed, however, they said that the supports of the bed were sooo poor and would cause any mattress to sag. Not only would sleepys not replace the mattress, but my warranty is now void - all because the supports that come with the bed are so bad. DO NOT BUY - TOTAL RIP OFF. HOW COULD YOU SELL SUCH A CRAPPY BED FOR SO MUCH MONEY. I have a cheaper bed I bought from **** that has 100 X more support than this horrible excuse for a bed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good for price
 from Brooklyn,  Dec 22, 2009

Just got this bed. There was a ding in one of the side rails due to shipping, but not enough to return. Still it was disappointing. Otherwise it assembled well enough and looks fantastic. I'm concerned about one reviewer commenting about the veneer peeling off, but I don't notice anything so far with the bed.If this is the style of bed you're looking for at a good price than you should consider it. It's a decent value. Not great, but decent.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy
 from Germantown, Maryland,  Apr 17, 2008

This is one purchase I would recommend to anyone. The package came a little damaged, so I was kind of worried, however the bed itself was in perfect condition. The workmanship is great and the assembly was very easy. Great buy, you would not regret making this purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Shipping was really fast! I ordered it on Nov. 9th and they were ready to meet me at my house on Nov. 15 for delivery. I was expecting it to take at least 6 weeks, so I was really thrilled. The bed had a few pretty good size scratches on it, but luckily they were in a location where the Mattress would conceal them. Over all very pleased with the purchase!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful bed
 from alexandria, va,  Oct 19, 2007

Love the bed! Very beautiful wood, classic looking lines. Was easy enough to assemble with an extra person helping, very sturdy. Highly recommended.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brawlaof5
 from Upland, CA,  Apr 25, 2007

I am very pleased with the bed I purchased from Overstock. It is a awsome bed, well made, and very impressive looking. The price I paid for this beautiful bed was easily 50-60% lower than anything I could find locally. The delivery people were very responsible and helpful. THANK YOU OVERSTOCK!!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-12 of 12 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top