Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-18 of 18 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Well-priced, solid set
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Jul 22, 2011

I live in a large white loft that has a relatively smallish kitchen area. I got the Susan 5-piece because of the dark color, the simple lines, the basic feel and most of all, the low price. It has not disappointed. The chairs and table are used and abused all day long, thanks to several roommates and lots of friends coming over all the time, and I am impressed with their durability and comfort. Overall, this was a great purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not bad, but not great
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Aug 24, 2011

This table has a nice finish and the colors are as you would expect. The problems are that the chairs seem rather skinny and somewhat flimsy. I'm an averaged size person and the chairs do wobble somewhat. Also, the seat bottoms do not have support and the chairs are a bit on the small side. Once you get used to all the shortcomings, the product is usable...but my guess is it won't last 5 years.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Pretty well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of the table surfaces was very nice and smooth. The problem is with everything else. The legs of the table are a bit more sturdy than the legs of the chairs. The chair has no cushion backing in the seat area.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cheap, crap table Not real wood.
 from Maryville, MO,  Mar 28, 2013

This is a cheap, flimsy, cardboard table. The chairs are not much better. I'm 170lbs and am almost afraid to sit on them. Spend a little more for some quality

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
just comfort
 from houston,  Nov 9, 2012

When I buy furniture I want it to have a simple and fine design, to be comfortable and affordable, so I always come to Overstock. Since I made my first purchase I always come here as I know I will find what I need, just as this great dining set. Every piece is high quality and solid, while the chairs are comfortable and cozy. All on a highly affordable price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
perfectly affordable
 from houston,  Nov 8, 2012

I was searching for dining table and dining chairs for some time and made my calculations that maybe it will cost me extra money if I want to pair it up so they would match. This dining set solved my problem and Iíve got it for less than it would have cost me to buy these items separately. Thanks for the tip overstock.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
UPGRADE!
 from Boston,  Apr 19, 2012

This dining set is a huge upgrade for me! I've always eaten on the couch but I hear this is a bad thing to do because you'll eat more than you intended if you sit for dinner in front of the TV. Here's to a healthier me thanks to my new dining set!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Svelte dining set!
 from Minneapolis,  Apr 19, 2012

I love the dining set! It's on the smaller side of things and is simply designed, so it fits in with minimalism or works great if you already have a lot going on stylistically in your dining area.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

One comparatively minor gripe: the chairs have narrow seats and narrow backs. I'm not a large person, but if they were any narrower I think they would be unmanageable even for me. Check the dimensions before you buy, but other than that, this is great! The table is the ideal size for me and it seems sturdy and well-made.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bought a few sets for an event!
 from Great Plains,  Apr 5, 2012

I'm an event planner and had a small event to put together that required a unique dining arrangement. I purchased several of these Susan sets and dressed them up with great centerpieces and table settings for the client. They worked unbelievably well and fit well within the budget. They are not commercial grade by any means and the chairs wobble a bit, but for the event they were more than adequate!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great in my daughter's college apartment
 from Nashville, Tennessee,  Apr 3, 2012

I bought this as a surprise gift for my daughter, who is living with a few friends in an on-campus university owned house this year at school. We assembled it together and got some take out directly afterward. It was a nice visit and I hope she makes great use of it with her friends and even for studying. It's a nice size for a starter dining set.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Better than expected!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ideal for casual dining
 from Omaha, NE,  Apr 2, 2012

This set is on the smaller side which is just perfect for my dining nook in front of my sliding doors leading to our patio! It leaves ample space on every side for us to be able to walk around and through to the patio as needed. The table is especially sturdy. I'd recommend a table cloth or at the least a runner and some placemats to avoid staining or water spots since it is not finished with a sealant.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality, especially the table
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid, basic, well-priced set
 from Maryland,  Jul 24, 2011

I was looking for a simple, well-priced, well-made, basic dining set that would fit in my small kitchen to replace an old diner set and the Susan 5-piece Brown Wood Modern Dining Set has done the trick. In just a few moments after receiving the shipment, which arrived on time, superbly packaged and in perfect condition, my kitchen got a nice facelift. Immediately, the look and feel was more contemporary. This is a solid, very basic set that I am happy to recommend.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
simple elegance
 from new york, NY,  Jul 18, 2011

Simple, minimalist and elegant; this Susan 5-piece Brown Wood Modern Dining Set is perfect for my taste and expectation. I love sophisticated and comfortable furniture and I knew I will find what I need on Overstock. The chairs are comfortable and perfectly sized for my apartment dining room and the table is large enough for the family. I was surprised about the price as the quality is amazing. Everyone searching for elegance, simplicity and style should have a set just like this.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wish it worked out.
 from Louisiana,  Jul 10, 2011

Set looks nice but chairs are not very sturdy; quite wobbly. I do not think they will hold up well to use 3x day. Table was damaged in shipping so I am returning and not replacing this set. Table looked nice though. I still love OS.com. Great company. Best customer service!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great little table but damaged in shippment, OS taking care of the return. Sadly the chairs are not very sturdy so I'll not do an exchange.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for price.
 from Chicago, IL,  Jun 19, 2011

Set is great value for price. Table looks like nice quality wood but came with small ding. Chairs are very light-weight and I was worried about how strong they were but they seem pretty sturdy. My main complaint about chairs is that they don't have a lot of surface area to sit on. They are also very hard to put together in a way that leaves all chair legs even on the floor. It helps when you use them on a carpet. Overall, a very good buy! Also, they came by fed ex in 2 days!!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Good for price
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect fit
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Jun 13, 2011

I hesitated to buy it at first but went ahead and ordered as I needed this size and color. The table arrived early and in great shape. It's very pretty, very sturdy and doesn't scratch easily as those I've seen in stores. The chairs are pretty comfortable. With several kids at home, I need a set that can be wiped clean all the time. This set turns out to be a perfect fit for us. Simple and cater for all functions, dining and breakfast.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Very Sturdy
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Really worth the price
 from Los Angeles, CA,  May 20, 2011

The quality of this dinning set is far beyond what I expected with this incredibly low price. Recommend to buy!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Buy!
 from Fallon, NV,  May 19, 2011

I was very impressed with these chairs they look great in my dinning room, I had a table that was dark oak and had no chairs and when i purchased these they match great and with grand kids i don't have to worry about them getting stained and now my dining room looks like its worth a lot more than i spent, the family raves about the look. Great Chairs. They were a little hard to put together but worth it in the end.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Lovely
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-18 of 18 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Sweden 5-piece Dark Brown Modern Dining Set
Sale $341.99
Was $379.99
Compare $834.95
Save 59%
(52)
Elsa Brown Wood 5-Piece Modern Dining Set
Sale $413.99
Was $459.99
Compare $779.00
Save 47%
(36)
Back to top