Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Works fast and in a small space.
 from Chicago, IL,  Dec 5, 2013

This is a very safe portable cook top. I find the directions sort of confusing, but it's just a matter of getting used to using the item and not a design flaw. I bought an everyday tri-ply pan that fries, sautes, and boils. It makes traveling with it easier because I can do it all in one pan. It is also not as loud as I thought it would be. The fan runs while it cooks and even after you turn it off so it can cool down. There has to be a pan on the cook top or it will not heat up. I think that is a very good safety feature. It heats up very fast. Last holiday I used it in the laundry room on top of the dryer because the kitchen was being used, by someone who did not want to share a stove. The clean up was easy, just a simple microfiber cloth with some warm water on it to wipe of any food. It's a little bigger than a traditional hot plate, but with much less risk. One thing just because the cook top doesn't get hot to the touch doesn't mean the pan doesn't. The pan will be hot so you still need to be careful not to get burned by the lid, handles, or spattering hot food. Also the center of the cook top where the pan was will be warm to the touch after you take the pan off. It can still burn food if you leave it unattended. Still it's not as dangerous as an open flame. Some of this maybe obvious to a seasoned cook, but to a newbie like me, I hope you found it helpful.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best portable cooktop
 from Ventura, California,  Apr 15, 2012

Bought this for the granny suite our daughter was moving into. The cooktop is perfect for one person, heats up quickly as promised, is energy efficient and a lot safer than a traditional electric cooktop. The cooktop is sleek and looks great in the room and doesn't take up a lot of space. Finding affordable pots and pans is a bit challenging, but possible. We took a magnet to several stores and tested. Not all pans that are magnetic will work, so be sure to test first before using.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Buy one here at lowest price! Tell your friends.
 from Ft Calhoun NE,  May 1, 2012

Amazed at the quickness of heating and the instantanious change in cooking levels. It is true that very few of my pots and pans qualified for use with this product, however I still seem to use it more than my smooth top stove.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems AOK
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Right on, except for description minus pot compatibilities.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
induction cooktop
 from Maine,  Sep 20, 2012

Great price for a wonderful induction cooktop. perfect size for convenient use.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very professional appearance
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. it works great. nice option to a busy kitchen. quick, safe cooking surface.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sunpentown/Mr.Induction: good but over-priced
 from WA,  Aug 30, 2014

We bought 2 units over 1 year ago. Use daily in lieu of stove. Even as average to poor quality as these are, still saves money off power bills; no more burned food; safer than regular old stove was. Lots easier to clean. One burner will boil 2 liters or quarts of cold tap water, using its highest, 1300 watt setting, takes 9 minutes, at 100' above sea level. Love timer and temperature settings, easy lock-out feature, instant temp response. PANS: Pans: many of our existing pans work on these--surprise!. Pans best if perfectly flat-bottomed [no warps or riser rims], though a few of or old warped ones still work, they can cause hot spots where contact with burner is greatest. PROBLEMS:: 1. Temp control not always what it says on setting. We measured temps which can vary 20+ degrees F. from temp set, so if what you are cooking requires tight temp controls, know that you must test unit and hope it keeps temp the same variable each time---our units can be spot-on one time, and up to 20 degrees out next time, or, can get stuck on a higher temp even after turning it down one click, Resolved that by turning temp down 2 or 3 clicks, then back 1 or 2 clicks to where it's wanted. 2. Hot spots: No matter how perfect the pans, these burners seem to lack uniform heating of pans. Pan will get hotter under segments of it, leaving other segments slightly cooler---this seems more a problem with one unit, less the other. 3. Limited to 1300 watts, the top-end range of what a wall plug can handle. REAL induction [full efficiency] should at least reach 1800 watts+, but higher limits require a 220 plug on a 40 amp or better circuit, and cost a lot more. 4. Electric wall plugs should be grounded, 20-amp circuits with GFI sockets.. Our 2 burner units can limitedly be both used on one 20-amp wall plug, or two wall plugs on same circuit--BUT not when using both at same time on higher wattage. We usually ONLY use 1300 watts to boil water on one, NEVER use second unit at same time as that, IF plugged into same circuit. But we normally can use both burners on same circuit IF only using medium or lower settings. Our circuit has a resettable GFI socket, and, we got a small, Heavy-Duty Appliance mufti-plug strip to plug both units into, with short cord and it's own overload switch. If the 2 units draw too much, the 1st to shut it down is the strip, backed up by the GFI, before it makes a breaker switch issue. KNOW your house wiring quirks! The newer, more digital appliances will reveal many bad wiring tricks that got passed by flaky inspections of work done by whoever wired the place, in the past! Older, less efficient appliances were far more forgiving of those wiring glitches, than the newer ones. NOTE: We are seeking other venues that sell these units at more realistic price.. If one stops working, we'll need to replace it fast. Unfortunately, pricetags obscenely bloated on these units, almost everywhere. We paid $**** each on *****, over 1 year go---that is about all they are worth, IF that. Immediately after purchase, ******* listing jacked up to $**** / unit on that posting, and other postings for same, both as "Mr Induction" and as "Sunpentown", started listing prices of up to a few hundred dollars each! Ridiculous Piracy!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice and safe
 Mar 14, 2016

It's nice and safe cooktop. But if you want to use it for hotpot it is a little bit less powerful. You may need 1500W for hotpot.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
REV
 May 13, 2015

Really great product use it all the time with out burning pan

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
value
 Apr 8, 2015

Wonderful control of temperature!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Induction Cooktop
 Feb 3, 2015

I purchased this as an backup. it work fine.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
first induction cooktop - love it
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jan 16, 2015

Never owned one before but really like it. Doesn't heat the kitchen up as much and, like gas, it's instant on and instant off. Much preferred to the traditional electric stove my apartment is furnished with.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nearly Perfect
 from Atlanta Ga,  Dec 30, 2014

Only used a couple times so can't really comment on the durability of the cooktop, but so far it has performed well. Controls are pretty straight forward. Cooling fan does make some noise but not terrible. Sounds similar to bacon sizzling or water boiling, no biggie. Main complaint is the feet are not adjustable. We have an older house and the counter tops are not perfectly flat and level. Vibrations from the cooling fan cause the pot to slide off the center of the cooktop if you don't have it sitting on a perfectly level surface. This could be dangerous because the pot / pan could slide completely off the cooktop if left unattended. I cured this problem by putting a thin piece of cardboard under the legs on the low side to keep the pan centered. It would be better however if Sunpentown had addressed this issue by having legs that screw in and out so you can adjust the level of the unit. Other than that the machine works well. Boils 16oz of water for coffee by the time you can get the cream and sugar ready. Very fast and efficient. I think you will like this cooktop if you have nice level countertops. If not you might want to find one that has adjustable legs.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome
 from Philadelphia,  Aug 26, 2014

Awesome product, I have been using it almost everyday without any issues.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality
 from oklahoma,  Mar 22, 2014

Cook and heats things up really fast . Good quality of materials , have had it for 2 weeks now and well satisfied with this purchase

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I bought this for my business.
 from Huber Heights, Ohio,  Feb 4, 2014

I bought this for a cafe we are opening and have not used it . It did however arrive quickly. Delivered as described. Price was a good deal.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
induction cooktop
 from Bastrop Texas,  Aug 14, 2013

Precise control of heat, nice looking and easy to clean

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought