Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Much Improved
 from Paducah, KY,  Dec 28, 2013

I had used a box of SunJel previously (ordered directly from the company's website, not here at Overstock). The formulation had ethanol and propanol in it. I am not sure if the combination made a difference in the burn ability or not. This seems to have primarily (or only) propanol as the burning compound. I can say that the first three cans from this box from Overstock live up to reviews I had read about SunJel. I had read in several places that it burned with less of a smell than the other products. The first case I used (last year, and again directly from SunJel) in NO WAY lived up to that claim. However, the first burn from this case did. I have used another brand, ordered from here several times; and more reasonably priced. However, the smell, though not overwhelming, is much more noticeable than this current SunJel product- and has been consistently noticeable through 3 cases over the last 2 years. If the rest of this SunJel case performs as the initial cans I may be an exclusive SunJel user. There is a light smell, but significantly less compared to the other product I have mostly used. I would recommend trying different brands to see what you like best, but I am already pleased with this current purchase. Other Pros: 1) Good burn time (approximately 2.5-3.0 hours) 2) Not as thick as other products (including previous case of SunJel) - wonder if less organic thickener reduces the smelly byproduct. 3) Simple packaging, no extra paper to remove from around can as with previous products.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
suesue
 May 18, 2015

absolutely LOVE this product for my mini fireplaces

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointed
 Apr 23, 2015

Cans were dented, some cans weren't full and didn't burn as long as promised, disappointed. Expensive and not happy with them but couldn't return because I didn't notice the partially full cans till after started to use them.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Burns Just as described! I am very happy with this product! I will buy again!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Florida senior
 Mar 4, 2015

We have enjoyed using so much that we have placed another order

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Horrible!
 Mar 1, 2015

Inside the can and lid is all rusted. Product only 3/4 of the can. Product only burns for max 2 hours. Will never order this brand again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

We lit our first fire last night, and while these do have a bit of a fume-y smell when you first open them, you do not smell it when they are lit. They do actually have believable fire sounds as well. Hissing, crackling, the whole bit. The only negative is that the instructions say to only extinguish them with a certain snuffer tool, that was not included and I don't remember reading about it in the item description. So, I will have to buy one, although last night we were able to put them out easily with a large metal ladle. Gotta do what ya gotta do.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
always dependable
 Jan 20, 2015

each can burns 3.5 hours.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not Worth It!
 from Toluca Lake, CA,  Jan 4, 2015

I ordered in the hope that some of the other reviewers got a "bad" case and mine would be different - however, the cans are only about 2/3's full and barely burn for 2 hours! I will stick with Real Flame - at least they consistently burn for 3 hours or more...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
perfect
 Dec 31, 2014

first time user, fuel exactly as stated. lasts 2 1/2 to 3 hours, great glow and real crackling sound. Perfect

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
SunJel the Best
 from Connecticut,  Dec 26, 2014

SUNJEL 24 pack is, in my opinion, is a perfect product for use in a vent less fireplace. There is no chemical smell, it burns clean, and is easy to light. The flame looks real and the sound of a burning fireplace is very real. I would recommend this product to anyone who likes to use their vent less fireplace without all the mess of a real one.....

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for gel fireplace!
 from Crofton, MD,  Dec 16, 2014

I love this for my gel fireplace. I just wish they lasted longer or weren't as expensive

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
One of the Top Brands Available
 from Show Me State,  Nov 23, 2014

Honestly I have not found any Gel Fuel that meets the same overall performance of the original "Real Flame" product. However, I only purchase the "Real Flame" gel fuel when it's available at a discounted price (it's lately been extremely expensive compared to its (granted) inferior competitors...That said, the Sul Jel brand is almost as good and typically at a cheaper price. So for me I recommend this product when it's found at a cheaper price than the "Real Flame" brand. Happy Holidays!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value!
 from olmsted falls,  Oct 31, 2014

Great value and really like the fact I don't have to peel off paper every time.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Customer Service
 from Cranston, Rhode Island,  Feb 4, 2014

This got sent to a house I sold, and Overstock was terrific about resending. It's cold and I ran out of oil, so I was really happy to have some heat!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
SunJel 24 pack
 from Balcklick, Ohio,  Jan 24, 2014

The cans were only three quarters full. Some were only 2/3 full.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not bad but not so great
 from Arizona,  Jan 21, 2014

I like the flame.but I like the cracking sound like real wood burning.what I didn't like was the fact it only burns about 2hours and used 3cans each time.becomes costly. I wish I had gone with the electronic fireplace

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought