Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 249 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 13 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great, but not as glossy as I had hoped
 from New York, NY,  Sep 18, 2007

I was hoping that the desk would be very shiny, almost laquer like, but it looks fairly dull up close. However, it does look pretty shiny from far away. If I had seen the desk in person, I might not have bought it. It is a good value for the price and very sturdy and easy to put together, but I was going for a more modern look that I don' t think this captures.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Inexpensive Alternative to West Elm
 from Arlington, VA,  Nov 18, 2010

I've been wanting a West Elm Parsons Desk so when I found this, I jumped on it immdediately. I wish I had read ALL the reviews, because then I wouldn't have expected it to have a glossy finish and look just like West Elm's laquered white desk. The desk was very easy and quick to assemble. Also, the two drawers are a bit shallow so don't expect to stuff too many things in there. Overall, it's a nice, simple desk. While it's a great alternative to the West Elm Parsons Desk, it's not a perfect substitute. If I'm not too lazy, I may look into some spray laquer or shellac to give it that gloss I was hoping for.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not What I Expected
 from Blaine, WA,  Oct 28, 2010

Some people have said that this desk is like the one at "West Elm" (Parson's Desk). But if you are looking for the shiny lacquered finish (piano finish), THIS IS NOT IT. It has a PAINT FINISH, and is definitely NOT HIGH GLOSS FINISH. Other than that it is what it says it is. Just wanted to inform those who were looking at this as a LACQUERED FINISH desk. What I did to solve the lack of high gloss finish, was just buy a glass top and it made it look a lot better.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great space saver
 from Palisades, CA,  Sep 17, 2010

Love this desk. Solid wood and sturdy. Two nice thin drawers to fit printer paper or pens, ink, etc. Can fit a bookshelf or filing cabinet under the desk. Room for our apple desktop and writing area and a printer. Big desk for small space. Looks great.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent simple student desk!
 from Oakland, Ca,  Sep 29, 2007

This desk is made of real wood and was very easy to assemble. It is perfect for a student to spread out their books and paperwork. I am really happy with this desk and you can't beat the price especially for real wood. The drawers are small though, so you will need additional storage for your accessories.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk!
 from MA,  May 22, 2011

I am extremely happy with the purchase. The desk is not as glossy as west elm's version, but is still polished and well painted, and that actually fits my need better. Very easy to assemble. And you can't beat the price.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? excellent
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lovely - West Elm Parsons look-a-like
 from Alexandria, VA,  May 5, 2011

I found this desk after looking for a used West Elm Parsons desk for week. Though this desk is less glossy than the West Elm Parsons desk, it is an excellent and much more affordable substitute. It's very easy to assemble, and has very high resale value. When I moved, I was able to sell my 6-month-old desk for *** and then rebuy it when I got to my new city. If you get an ink mark on it, put a tiny amount of nail polish remover on a cotton ball and use it to remove the stain. This is probably removing a small amount of the paint, but your desk will be stainless! I am a full-time entrepreneur and writer, and I love this desk. Highly recommend!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes. It is a bright white.
  • How is the quality of the product? Excellent. It's fine for everyday use even though it is white.
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
hesitating...should you buy or should you go
 from Louisiana,  May 4, 2011

I have been looking at the west elm desk for about a year. I found this desk and hesitated after reading some reviews. I finally purchased it for my daughter, just didn't want to spend that much money for the West Elm desk when so many things needed to be bought to redo her bedroom, I wanted to put the money on other things. I was SO PLEASED when opening, easy to put together, sturdy, my daughter LOVES it! I would HIGHLY recommend it...it is not lacquered, but at that price who cares!! Simply said, if you don't have a problem spending over *** for the WE desk or you have the time to save the money, buy their desk...for me, I needed the desk, I wanted the desk, when it came down to saving over 50% vs lacquered finish?...that was when I clicked the purchase button...couldn't be happier!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this desk!
 from Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada,  Jan 8, 2013

I've never seen the West Elm parsons desk in person but I have been admiring it for a long time. However, I cannot justify spending over $$$ on that desk. I thought this was a good alternative. Maybe it's not quite as shiny compared to the West Elm desk but I am quite happy with it. The only thing is, it seems slightly wobbly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? More of a brighter white than in the picture.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Heavy pieces of wood but a little wobbly.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exactly as Expected!
 from Las Vegas, NV,  Oct 22, 2012

Saw this desk used for an office in a master bedroom in a Better Homes & Gardens article. It looked great there and looks just as good in my master bedroom office. It is the perfect size, shape, and color and only enhances the decor in my room. Some of your reviews complained that it didn't have the glossy laquered look but the paint is far from dull. It may not be as glossy as some of the higher priced desks but it definitely has the right amount of shine. The two drawers are large enough for those little items necessary in a desk and make it convenient for keeping the desktop clear. The price of the desk is ridiculously low for what you get. I am 100% satisfied with my purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It's white - can't go wrong.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid, clean-cut lines, perfect paint job.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Right on.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
totally worth the work!
 from near boston, MA,  Jan 21, 2012

Pros: I've wanted the West Elm Parsons desk FOREVER & recently contemplated buying it but the shipping & special handling fee added nearly an extra $100 to the price. I read the reviews on this product & liked the similar/modern yet classic lines of this desk. It's very sturdy & well made. It has a sleek look & goes well with any decor. I'm especially happy with the way it looks with my mid-century/vintage decor in my home office/studio. I'd recommend this to a friend in a heartbeat. Cons: The only negative thing I'll say is that while there is limited stuff to put together (you just need to attach the legs to the top), it's INSANELY difficult, given the positioning of the holes & the fact that you need to use an L-wrench. I have a bit for my electric drill & had no luck using it because of the angle required. I have to say that the quality, great look of the desk & price make it well worth my cramped hands & scraped knuckles! Note: If you have arthritis and/or are elderly, this would probably be very frustrating to assemble.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. higher quality than expected (great for the price!)
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect Contemporary Desk
 from Los Angeles,  May 19, 2014

I was looking for a plain white desk with minimal decoration/slight sheen for my contemporary but shabby chic styled bedroom (something that's not too gaudy or distracting). I looked at both *** and decided that the price and look I needed was better suited by this desk. The desk has two side by side drawers that are shallow (like most have said) but glide smoothly even though they do not have a traditional wheel track. Unless you just love drawers popping off track occasionally, I don't see the missing track as a problem. The desk is stark white and should match perfectly with other stark white furniture items. It's also sturdy enough to hold my 50 pound plasma that I've yet to find a sturdy wall mount for, without buckling under the weight. Height wise, this desk is perfectly tall enough for my hubby who's six feet tall as well as short enough for me at five foot three (hope that didn't confuse you). All in all, the desk is perfect and took me under ten minutes to assemble since the only parts you need to attach are the four legs and it comes with the only tools/screws you'll need.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great sturdy desk
 from Sonoma County, CA,  Apr 10, 2014

I was so impressed with this desk. I ordered it based on all of the previous good reviews. It's so sturdy and was very easy to put together. Would highly recommend it.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Student White Desk
 from Irvine, CA,  Jun 25, 2013

This desk was way better than I expected. I was so close to paying three times the price for the parsons desk from a designer store. Then I found this one. I was skeptical because some reviews had said it wasn't as high gloss. I'm picky, extremely picky, but I went ahead anyways because this was for my daughters room. So glad I did! I had a piece of glass cut for the top of it and it looks awesome!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So much better than I expected!
 from Austin, TX,  Jun 10, 2013

Based on the price, I was honestly expecting this to look cheap - but I was pleasantly suprised when I opened the delivery today! The desk looks great and has a good feel to it. As others have said, it's not a high-shine, lacquered look, but it still does have a hard finish. I would call it a satin vs high-gloss. It's too early to say what the finish quality is (whether it will scratch, etc) but it looks really good. I plan to purchase a glass top for it and that should help with any surface scratching that could occur.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very pleased
 from Virginia,  Mar 4, 2013

My husband and I are very happy with this desk. We originally planned to purchase the West Elm Parsons desk, but after seeing it in the store, we weren't as happy with it as we thought we would be, so we took a chance and bought this one instead. It is almost exactly the same size, seems to be just as sturdy, and we saved about $200. Several reviews have mentioned that this desk DOES chip and scratch easily, which I agree with, but I have read the same thing about the much more expensive Parsons desk. Several reviews also mentioned that this desk is not as glossy as the Parsons desk, but I find it to be exactly the level of glossiness that I both expected and wanted. All in all, I am very happy with this purchase, and while I don't necessarily expect it to hold up for a lifetime, I do think it will last for at least the next 5+ years, which is all we are really looking for right now.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very sturdy, but scratches easily
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Parson's knock off
 from Portland, OR,  Feb 26, 2013

This is a decent knock off of W.E.'s Parson's desk, but for a fraction of the cost. Note that the desk is not high gloss white, but a more matte white. If you are so inclined, you could always sand/prime/paint it a high gloss, which I might do at some point. It's not heavy duty and it does scratch if you're not careful. My drawers didn't push in level, so I put a little rubber pad behind one to correct the imbalance, no problem. Regardless, I like the desk, and enjoy it in my office/lady lounge. I think my only "complaint" is that the drawers are shallow and so I can put very little in them. Will have to be creative with my storage needs for pencils, pens, paper, etc.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. decent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great desk for money
 from Charleston, SC,  Aug 18, 2011

While the first desk was left on my doorstep with obvious significant damage just by examining the box, a second replacement desk was delivered promptly from Overstock. I could not have been more pleased with the customer service offered. The first desk was unrepairable and I was in quite a time crunch to get the second one delievered. Overstock reps took care of my situation that day and the new desk was on it's way. I will not hesitate to use Overstock again for future purchases. I am very pleased. Thank you.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly as shown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very sturdy with nice wooden, no particleboard, desktop
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better than expected!
 from San Franicsco,  Jul 27, 2011

I purchased this desk as part of the remodel of my office. It arrived quickly and was easy to assemble. The end result is better than I had expected, and I would highly recommend this well-priced desk for anyone interested in classic style at a great price. Plus, it has two drawers!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect image and exactly as shown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Well made, easy to assemble
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great, simple desk.
 from San Francisco, CA,  Jun 15, 2011

Inexpensive, simple desk with beautifully clean lines. The drawers don't roll out as smoothly as one might like, but for the price, it's a good value.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes.
  • How is the quality of the product? Fine
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 249 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 13 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Bush Aero Desk
Today $143.99
Compare $375.29
Save 62%
(3)
Grey Student Desk
Today $78.99
(16)
White Taylor Writing Desk
Sale $105.29
Was $116.99
(2)
Winslow White Contemporary Computer Desk
Today $142.99
Compare $201.00
Save 29%
(17)
White Retro Office Desk/Drafting Table
Sale $137.70
Was $153.00
Compare $185.98
Save 26%
(8)
Back to top