Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 20 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
It's OK - Not all I hoped from other reviews
 from Florida,  Mar 14, 2013

So we ordered this bench and got it in a reasonable time. Overstock was not much help tracking the package - they actually said it was still in there warehouse (via their automated site and a chat with one of their representatives) and it arrived on my door the next day (having shipped several days before). But I digress. The bench itself is OK. The size is a little small (yes the measurements are correct) but it LOOKS bigger in the photos. The manufacturing process is subpar at best, the dowels are either oversized or more likely, the slip holes are undersized. I had to use a rubber mallet to gently persuade them in. Further, I found it interesting that you need an actual power drill to assemble the product because you have wood screws that just go right into the finish. To be fair, you don't see the finish after you've screwed into it, but there are no pilot holes or anything...seemed a little dubious to me. The biggest negative for me is the wood used for the inside storage area. I purchased this bench over many others because I was told it was solid wood instead of particle board. It may be real wood, but it's about 1/8" thick at most and rather flimsy. It doesn't look like it could hold more than 20 pounds without breaking. I was planning on storing some heavier items in the bench so this was a setback for me. The rest of the wood, however, is at least solid in construction and looks nice. Assembly instructions were OK - decent pictures but nothing to rave about. Taking my time, it took about 45 minutes to install with all the proper tools on hand. For the price of ***, I think it's overpriced for the quality. I think around *** would be a fair price. Decided to keep it just to avoid the hassle of returning it but wouldn't buy it again if I had to do it all over.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. fair / poor quality control in manufacturing
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? decent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very nice bench, but
 from Ohio,  Mar 5, 2013

We purchased this bench for our entry. The assembly was not perfect, the lid hinge holes were not aligmed correctly so they had to be redrilled. But once it was assembled, it is a very nice piece of furniture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very nice once it was assembled
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exactly
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Entry Bench
 from Montana,  Jan 9, 2013

I love the bench. When you look at it it appears to be low to the ground. However, when you sit on it to put your shoes on or off, the height is perfect. There is a reasonable amount of storage under the seat. I also like that there are no arms on the bench. It makes the foyer appear larger. Definitely a good buy!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good especially for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Functional Bench
 from Lewisburg, TN,  Apr 9, 2014

This bench was my first purchase from Overstock.com and I have to say that I am very happy with it. The product description was spot on, no surprises.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very pleased
 from Maplewood, New Jersey,  Mar 31, 2014

I had read the other reviews and was a little concerned but I'm so happy with this bench, I just bought another! I'm using the benches on either side of my kitchen table, almost like a booth in a diner. The bench is solid and sturdy, impressive considering the price point. One note, I would make sure to look at the dimensions before you buy. I needed something a little smaller, so it's perfect for me, but if you don't measure it out, you may find the bench a little underwhelming. The bench has no arms, which was a 'must' for me. If that's a must for you too, then I'd say buy. And, I love the storage under the seat - for me that was an added bonus. On the downside, I will say it's not easy to put together, though it isn't hard either. The issue is that although many holes are pre-drilled, for some reason, they're not all pre-drilled. I found that confusing. Also, make sure you have a power screwdriver, many parts are held together by wood screws, and turning them by hand would be awful. But, otherwise, I'm a happy buyer! I'd recommend it.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect Foyer Bench
 from Roanoke, VA,  Feb 18, 2014

This bench is exactly what I was looking for. It is the perfect size for a small foyer with plenty of hidden storage for my kids backpacks, hats, mittens and the like. I love that it doesn't have arm rests because it is less intrusive in the space by the door that way. The color and finish are beautiful. The price made this bench a good value.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Kid size!!!!!
 from Oakland California,  Nov 14, 2013

It's probably just me however once I put this bench together it didn't appear anything like the picture! It's small!! I was planning on using it in the entryway however it was really out of place. It's more of a kid buy for toys, shoes, or books for a bedroom. Once I put it together I was't going to take it apart and repackagae to return. I ended up using it for my daughters personal space.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
arrived broken...
 from Boston, MA,  Oct 30, 2013

allthough this product arrived with a piece broken, the transaction with overstock was great. they refunded me, and held the shipper accountable. minus that one broken piece, I can tell it would have been constructed to be a handsome piece of furninure. ONE thing to look out for if you're selecting this: Make sure that your floor is at perfectly perpendicular to the wall. Because there are no attached arms, the back rest on this bench may float and be exposed to break off should your floor pitch away from the wall, as mine does.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Deal.
 from CA Central Valley,  Oct 24, 2013

EZ to assemble. 2 year old daughter has no problem opening and closing lid. The lid stays open but foresee it will wear with time, by then daughter will have figured out the lid will not stay open, hopefully it will last at least a year. Wife is Happy, I am Happy.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Entryway bench
 from Nevada,  Oct 23, 2013

Nice quality, beautiful finish which was like the photo. Perfect for a narrow to wide entryway.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it
 from Pound Ridge, NY,  Aug 15, 2013

Great quality bench for the price. Not hard to assemble except the directions are unclear about how to position the center interior panel. Turns out we had it the wrong way then couldnt correctly attach the hinge that holds it open. It's the perfect size for our entry hall which is about 5'x11'.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bench!
 from Alsip, IL,  Apr 24, 2013

The bench was everything that was advertised. Color, craftsmanship, size. It was easy for my husband to put together. All the pieces were included and it went together pretty quickly. The only wish would be for the base to be a thicker piece of wood, however it works for us. We keep everyone's mittens, scarves and hats in it. We are very pleased.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matched perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality for the amount paid
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I like it.
 from Snellville, GA,  Apr 3, 2013

Good room my my grandson's toys. Keeps them hidden when he's not visiting! Was a bit confusing to put together, had it all done and then realized that one piece was backwards. Re did and it is nice and sturdy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Product was great, shipping not so much
 from Dallas, TX,  Mar 29, 2013

We love this bench! It adds a lot to our entryway. The only issue we had was that the product was damaged and not packaged very well and we would have sent it back, but shipping is a pain! Luckily our damage was all in the back and my husband was able to fix it and we don't mind keeping it becasue the only visible damage is aganist the wall where it isn't visible. It is a great product, but if you or someone you know cant fix a problem like this, you might want to reconsider. It may just have been our bad luck too! Overall, we are happy with our purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color looks great and more rich than I expected.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality of the product is awesome!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Despcription was perfect!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Overall...Serious Quality Assurance Issues
 from Kansas City,  Mar 19, 2013

Overall, we like the bench. Like others have stated, it was a little shorter than we expected, but that's on us (and other users) to note the dimensions before ordering. The bottom piece of the bench is very flimsy and we're not sure why it's not made of the same material as the rest of the bench. Overstock really needs to up their QA game...first problem: we received two assembly instruction packets and neither one was for the bench. Upon calling customer service, we were told that they needed to contact the warehouse to get the instructions and it could take up to two business days. Thank goodness for a handy father, or we'd still be waiting to assemble this because we still have not been contacted. Next, similar to other reviewer issues of this bench, they did not drill all the necessary holes to the point where you could assemble. You have to basically redrill them..we saw this on the divider piece especially. Also, a large enough slot was not created to fit the bottom piece tightly into the large back piece...yet another correction we had to make ourselves. There was also a noticeable line on the front of the bench missing the varnish/paint. Again, we do like the bench overall, but all this little stuff added up to be a big headache.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid overall, with exception of bottom piece
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy and stron
 from San Jose, CA,  Mar 6, 2013

We have been looking for a good sturdy entryway bench and so glad that we chose this one! The styrofoam packaging was rather messy but the product itself was wonderfully packed and the hardware was labeled that even a pre-schooler could make sense of it. Other than the middle separator (that was not clearly marked and we ended up installing it upside down and had to drill our own hole), we had it together in alittle over an hour.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid , thick wood with easily marked hardware.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice bench!
 from ND,  Jan 5, 2013

This bench is a nice solid wood that looks beautiful & seems as though it will last for many, many years. It has a vented storage space that can hold a lot & a slow close lid so it won't slam shut. I put it together with just a screwdriver & it took about an hour but it was very easy. After I ordered the bench I read the description and was worried that the color would be too light for the dark woodwork in my home but it is plenty dark and could be described as a walnut color in my opinion. The bench looks & feels like it cost twice the amount it did!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very high quality for the price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Great.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
dmr
 from San Diego,  Dec 19, 2012

Generally, this is a good quality product. The pieces are of good quality, but the manufacturing on mine was a little faulty. The manufacturer neglected to drill two of the main dowel holes which left me scrambling to figure out how to get these drilled and set in exactly the right place. Thankfully, I was able to get these dowel holes drilled properly. If you are not handy with tools, beware. There were also two scratches that I was able to repair with a wood floor repair pen. All this being said, now that the bench is together, I really like it. The wood is solid, the design is modern and the color matches my other furniture perfectly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
perfect product
 from Detroit Lakes, MN,  Dec 19, 2012

My husband put this bench together for me. It's in our entryway. It is the perfect size and color. We have it there to sit and put our shoes on.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good workmanship
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very beautiful, easy to assemble
 from Belvidere, IL,  Dec 8, 2012

This bench is beautiful! It looks like it does in the picture. This bench is solid except for the bottom of the bench. If a child climed in/too much weight I think it would break. It's thin compared to the rest of the bench. I have shoes in one side and my kids backpacks in the other and it's holding up. There are two holes in each side of the bench for ventalation which is a big plus! My children have stood on it and it does not move! My big dog scratched the top of it with his nails already so if you have a dog or cat that may get on it you may want to think about getting a coushion for the top. It came nicely packaged in the box and all the hardware was in packages labeled with numbers, very easy to use! The instructions were very easy to follow, they also had pictures of what to do. I would reccomend this to everyone and buy again if I had to.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 20 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Back to top