Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 25 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
It's OK - Not all I hoped from other reviews
 from Florida,  Mar 14, 2013

So we ordered this bench and got it in a reasonable time. Overstock was not much help tracking the package - they actually said it was still in there warehouse (via their automated site and a chat with one of their representatives) and it arrived on my door the next day (having shipped several days before). But I digress. The bench itself is OK. The size is a little small (yes the measurements are correct) but it LOOKS bigger in the photos. The manufacturing process is subpar at best, the dowels are either oversized or more likely, the slip holes are undersized. I had to use a rubber mallet to gently persuade them in. Further, I found it interesting that you need an actual power drill to assemble the product because you have wood screws that just go right into the finish. To be fair, you don't see the finish after you've screwed into it, but there are no pilot holes or anything...seemed a little dubious to me. The biggest negative for me is the wood used for the inside storage area. I purchased this bench over many others because I was told it was solid wood instead of particle board. It may be real wood, but it's about 1/8" thick at most and rather flimsy. It doesn't look like it could hold more than 20 pounds without breaking. I was planning on storing some heavier items in the bench so this was a setback for me. The rest of the wood, however, is at least solid in construction and looks nice. Assembly instructions were OK - decent pictures but nothing to rave about. Taking my time, it took about 45 minutes to install with all the proper tools on hand. For the price of ***, I think it's overpriced for the quality. I think around *** would be a fair price. Decided to keep it just to avoid the hassle of returning it but wouldn't buy it again if I had to do it all over.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. fair / poor quality control in manufacturing
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? decent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very nice bench, but
 from Ohio,  Mar 5, 2013

We purchased this bench for our entry. The assembly was not perfect, the lid hinge holes were not aligmed correctly so they had to be redrilled. But once it was assembled, it is a very nice piece of furniture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very nice once it was assembled
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exactly
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Entry Bench
 from Montana,  Jan 9, 2013

I love the bench. When you look at it it appears to be low to the ground. However, when you sit on it to put your shoes on or off, the height is perfect. There is a reasonable amount of storage under the seat. I also like that there are no arms on the bench. It makes the foyer appear larger. Definitely a good buy!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good especially for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

While I still have this piece, I am in the market for a new bench. I bought this piece a couple of years ago but about 6 months into ownership, I noticed two cracks in the seat of the wood. While the cracks aren't deep, it leads me to believe that the crafts work of this bench is poor.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Love this bench. Sturdy and looks nice- got on sale which made it even better!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mr.
 Mar 21, 2015

The door holding clamp broke within couple of days and replacement is yet ro be found and sent

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

The description is right on the money, you do have to assemble it, but it is easy. The fit and finish is nice and it is solid, this will last some time. The amount of storage it provides is great. All the winter hats, gloves and scarves will be living here!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not the right color
 from Chicago, IL,  Oct 11, 2014

Love it, good quality. The ONLY issue was the color, it's not auburn, it's espresso. Which I like better but it was suppose to match my stairway railings. FYI you are never going to find a cushion for this dimension, hope you have sewing skills!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Functional Bench
 from Lewisburg, TN,  Apr 9, 2014

This bench was my first purchase from Overstock.com and I have to say that I am very happy with it. The product description was spot on, no surprises.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very pleased
 from Maplewood, New Jersey,  Mar 31, 2014

I had read the other reviews and was a little concerned but I'm so happy with this bench, I just bought another! I'm using the benches on either side of my kitchen table, almost like a booth in a diner. The bench is solid and sturdy, impressive considering the price point. One note, I would make sure to look at the dimensions before you buy. I needed something a little smaller, so it's perfect for me, but if you don't measure it out, you may find the bench a little underwhelming. The bench has no arms, which was a 'must' for me. If that's a must for you too, then I'd say buy. And, I love the storage under the seat - for me that was an added bonus. On the downside, I will say it's not easy to put together, though it isn't hard either. The issue is that although many holes are pre-drilled, for some reason, they're not all pre-drilled. I found that confusing. Also, make sure you have a power screwdriver, many parts are held together by wood screws, and turning them by hand would be awful. But, otherwise, I'm a happy buyer! I'd recommend it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect Foyer Bench
 from Roanoke, VA,  Feb 18, 2014

This bench is exactly what I was looking for. It is the perfect size for a small foyer with plenty of hidden storage for my kids backpacks, hats, mittens and the like. I love that it doesn't have arm rests because it is less intrusive in the space by the door that way. The color and finish are beautiful. The price made this bench a good value.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Kid size!!!!!
 from Oakland California,  Nov 14, 2013

It's probably just me however once I put this bench together it didn't appear anything like the picture! It's small!! I was planning on using it in the entryway however it was really out of place. It's more of a kid buy for toys, shoes, or books for a bedroom. Once I put it together I was't going to take it apart and repackagae to return. I ended up using it for my daughters personal space.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
arrived broken...
 from Boston, MA,  Oct 30, 2013

allthough this product arrived with a piece broken, the transaction with overstock was great. they refunded me, and held the shipper accountable. minus that one broken piece, I can tell it would have been constructed to be a handsome piece of furninure. ONE thing to look out for if you're selecting this: Make sure that your floor is at perfectly perpendicular to the wall. Because there are no attached arms, the back rest on this bench may float and be exposed to break off should your floor pitch away from the wall, as mine does.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Deal.
 from CA Central Valley,  Oct 24, 2013

EZ to assemble. 2 year old daughter has no problem opening and closing lid. The lid stays open but foresee it will wear with time, by then daughter will have figured out the lid will not stay open, hopefully it will last at least a year. Wife is Happy, I am Happy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Entryway bench
 from Nevada,  Oct 23, 2013

Nice quality, beautiful finish which was like the photo. Perfect for a narrow to wide entryway.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it
 from Pound Ridge, NY,  Aug 15, 2013

Great quality bench for the price. Not hard to assemble except the directions are unclear about how to position the center interior panel. Turns out we had it the wrong way then couldnt correctly attach the hinge that holds it open. It's the perfect size for our entry hall which is about 5'x11'.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bench!
 from Alsip, IL,  Apr 24, 2013

The bench was everything that was advertised. Color, craftsmanship, size. It was easy for my husband to put together. All the pieces were included and it went together pretty quickly. The only wish would be for the base to be a thicker piece of wood, however it works for us. We keep everyone's mittens, scarves and hats in it. We are very pleased.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matched perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality for the amount paid
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I like it.
 from Snellville, GA,  Apr 3, 2013

Good room my my grandson's toys. Keeps them hidden when he's not visiting! Was a bit confusing to put together, had it all done and then realized that one piece was backwards. Re did and it is nice and sturdy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Product was great, shipping not so much
 from Dallas, TX,  Mar 29, 2013

We love this bench! It adds a lot to our entryway. The only issue we had was that the product was damaged and not packaged very well and we would have sent it back, but shipping is a pain! Luckily our damage was all in the back and my husband was able to fix it and we don't mind keeping it becasue the only visible damage is aganist the wall where it isn't visible. It is a great product, but if you or someone you know cant fix a problem like this, you might want to reconsider. It may just have been our bad luck too! Overall, we are happy with our purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color looks great and more rich than I expected.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality of the product is awesome!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Despcription was perfect!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Overall...Serious Quality Assurance Issues
 from Kansas City,  Mar 19, 2013

Overall, we like the bench. Like others have stated, it was a little shorter than we expected, but that's on us (and other users) to note the dimensions before ordering. The bottom piece of the bench is very flimsy and we're not sure why it's not made of the same material as the rest of the bench. Overstock really needs to up their QA game...first problem: we received two assembly instruction packets and neither one was for the bench. Upon calling customer service, we were told that they needed to contact the warehouse to get the instructions and it could take up to two business days. Thank goodness for a handy father, or we'd still be waiting to assemble this because we still have not been contacted. Next, similar to other reviewer issues of this bench, they did not drill all the necessary holes to the point where you could assemble. You have to basically redrill them..we saw this on the divider piece especially. Also, a large enough slot was not created to fit the bottom piece tightly into the large back piece...yet another correction we had to make ourselves. There was also a noticeable line on the front of the bench missing the varnish/paint. Again, we do like the bench overall, but all this little stuff added up to be a big headache.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid overall, with exception of bottom piece
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 25 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought