Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
Our Biggest Labor Day Sale Ever
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 38 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
smoked brisket as good as I have every had
 from Shreveport La.,  Aug 15, 2012

cooked ribs and brisket so far. Both were very good. I have other wood burning smokers. This was much easier to use and the food came out just as good. Just set the temp @ time and add pellets every half hour for smoke. The surprise was how easy and good it was to clean. I sprayed the inside with POWER DISSOLVER waited 1/2 hour and washed down with hose.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. so far so good, let's wait a year and see
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Who would have thought you can get good BBQ in CT?
 from Essex, CT,  Aug 9, 2012

My old Char-Broil $69 water smoker finally rotted away and I found this on Overstock. It comes with a HUGE supply of rack and grates - normal, fine for jerky, tee-pee style for ribs, hooks for hanging sausages. My only issue is where to store all this extra stuff! I've only used it twice so far, once for chicken and another time to smoke a corned beef brisket (try it sometime, really! It's a different twist on a brisket sandwich). It held temp evenly. My only problem that I am having is that the door gasket keeps popping out of the groove when I close the door, like the hinge is not adjusted correctly. I've seen a similar unit at Home Depot for $199 but it wasn't stainless.. The side loading chute for chips/pellets is clever. Another demerit is the mfr's website. Cajun Injector's site is pretty much dedicated to sauces and syringes and barely mentions this gem. I am awaiting a response on the gasket issue, I hope I don't have to send it back.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Stainless steel is stainless steel....
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems well built with one issue I am trying to resolve
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Superior product.
 from Texas,  Mar 27, 2014

I have used this thing twice so far. It has done a brisket and a chicken. The chicken I didn't believe that the temperature probe was correct and took it off too early. Had to finish in the oven. Won't make that mistake again. And note, it was MY mistake. Second time we bought a pre marinated 6 pound brisket. I put my Texas style rub on it and left it 12 hours. Had one of my grand children over the next day and she would not eat anything else. So, I may be biased but she wasn't. It was a SUPER brisket. Great "bark" wonderfully flavorful. The meat itself was tender the bark a bit tough. But, again, I let the water pan dry out. It is real easy to start and forget this thing because you don't have to check on it. So lessons learned. Trust the probe, and keep water (or your liquid of choice) in the pan. Great convenience to have the probe temperature digitally displayed on the face of the smoker. The time left to smoke and the current internal temperature as well on the readout. I have always been a charcoal kind of guy. But then I tried a propane smoker. With charcoal, it is a VERY hands on process, keeping the temperature where you want it. The propane was almost NO problem. Only had to check it every hour or two. With electric, it is, as I said, real easy to start it and forget it. I will set timers next time to have me check. The fit and finish are very well done. Double walled construction. Electronic are working well. The stainless steel doesn't stay stainless, bit it is easy to clean and looks sharp. I would recommend and when I kill this one, I will buy another. I have never had a Cajun Injector product, but this is well made and I highly recommend.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Smoker with all Accessories included
 from Santa Paula, California,  Oct 15, 2013

This is my first smoker( I am just a beginner) and this product is great. Works right out of the box. Easy to use, just "plug and play", no assembly (unless you count screwing on the small handle), fully automatic for setting times and cooking temperatures, very easy to program with little to no monitoring required after you press start Just wait for it to automatically shut down when the time has expired...... and the end result us delicious. I smoked some beef jerky for my rookie try and it cam out great. I did visit my local butcher shop for some advise and recommendations on the best cuts of meat to use for jerky and for some smoking techniques. My only comment/suggestion for the Cajun Smoker folks is that I would have liked to seen a beginning "smokers" handbook for do's and don'ts, a few recipes, and some starting suggestions for rubs and marinades.....but I found most of what I needed and answers on the internet after a little searching. Quality product, quality results., I would buy it again and highly recommend this item if your looking for a top of the line quality smoker for easy family use. DG

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Simple. Easy. Good!
 from Seattle, WA,  Sep 16, 2013

I cannot find a single thing bad, off, or detrimental to say about this unit, and I tried. Comes with many different styles of racks and oven mitts. Done 6 briskets and 2 chickens (chickens at same time) so far. Yes, the manual is for basic 'how to turn it on, set time, temp, etc', as it does not tell you HOW to smoke. There are plenty of websites and the like that can tell you this. Buy it. Experiment with it. Side loader is great for reloading chips w/o opening the door. Follow the advice of others: LINE the drip pan with foil and clean up is easy. Soak your chips for a good long time first, squeeze out the extra water, and load the hopper. Add more if you like. Applewood is great, but often needs a 'boost' for my taste. Strong smokes like mesquite should be one-and-done. Temp probe works well. It's up to YOU to pierce the meat at the right spot for the right internal setting. I've used the "225F' set point for the unit for beef, and 200F for chicken. Works for me, my taste and my time requirements. Look - nothing lasts forever anymore, but if you know how to operate it, keep it clean and covered when not in use, and aren't trying to 'open a restaurant' with it, this is just the right family and friends smoker out there. Recommend it? I bought 2 other family members their own. Now it's their turn to cook for me/us. :-)

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love ot
 from North Carolina,  Jun 12, 2013

Not disappointed. Hubby loves it. Makes a great Father's Day.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Smoker!
 from Chicago,  Jun 12, 2013

This smoker has all the bells and whistles of a restaurant quality unit in a size and at a price point the home user will appreciate. I've used smokers ranging from a self-made wood shed fueled by coal and wood, a steel unit fueled by propane, and an aluminum unit with an electric heating element. The Cajun Injector Stainless Steel Electric Smoker beats them all hands down. True automatic time and temperature set-it-and-forget-it operation assures uncomplicated operation for the novice and unlimited custom settings for the professional. The initial set up couldn't be easier; just plug it in, put in some wood chips or pellets, turn it on, and in an hour your smoker is cured and ready to go. We tried some pork ribs, and smoked mac and cheese first, both amazing. Seafood is a snap with the two included fine mesh grates, and the also included rib rack and sausage hangers put this smoker over the top as far as included accessories go. Another important feature of this smoker is it's superior insulation. The outside of the unit stays cool even at the highest heat settings, a testament to this units ability to hold in heat and keep temperatures constant regardless of outside temperatures, this is very important for those in cold climates that want to use their smokers in the winter months. The only thing this unit does not come with is a weatherproof cover, but if you call their customer service they will send you one for $8.75 plus $8.41 shipping = total of $17.16. These units are probably not mass produced, which would explain their lack of advertising, if they were to produce these in large quantities and aggressively advertise them I'm sure they would easily become the #1 choice in the home-user electric smoker category.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Converted wood/charcoal guy to electric smoker
 from Northern Wisconsin,  Dec 18, 2012

I live in the cold north country where it's difficult to maintain consistent heat while smoking. The stainless smoker has a double latch to seal the door tight. The fully insulated design maintains a constant heat even while cold smoking (I use this method for smoking saausage) under extreme weather conditions. Uses very little wood chips to keep a continuous smoke throughout the smoking process. I was introduced to the cajun smoker while visiting a friend in Fargo. I love it and will not go back to the conventional wood/charcoal. Just set the temp and time and let it do its thing.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent design features, easy to use and clean up a cinch
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stainless Steel Electric Smoker
 from Central, AR,  Aug 25, 2012

I've only used it twice Ribs and a Chicken, both turned out great. Some reviews of electric smokers said it was difficult to maintain the temperature below 240-50, but I didn't have any problem maintaining 220 or 225 on this unit. I like the double clasp on the door. I put mine on a cabinet section, which makes loading and unloading a breeze, it also serves as a place to keep my racks and wood chips, gloves, and utensils. It arrived timely and in good condition, this is my first purchase from overstock. I gave it 4 stars because I only used it twice.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Stainless Steel is Stainless Steel
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This appears to be a well built smoker, the chip tray is light sheet metal but other than that it looks great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Problem with Bracket
 from New York,  Aug 21, 2012

I would recommend the smoker upon it usage but the bottom bracket to close the front door rusted out after the first week! It is suppose to be stainless steel, stainless does not rust!!!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The bracket to close the front door is already rusted out after only a couple of weeks!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fine
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Loveing Life
 from upstate NY,  Jul 6, 2012

I have used this 3 times so far ..Every one i give my smoked meat loves it...This smoker is everything i wanted in a smoker....

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This somker is built great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Tom
 May 12, 2016

Have used it twice. I'm happy with the unit.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Home owner
 Apr 15, 2016

seems to be constructed well hoping it last awhile

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Jaketheboss
 Feb 23, 2016

I've had it a couple winters that it has sit outside. And works well except now some of the LED is missing a few dots,but works fine. I advise putting it in the garage,although the cover has been well worth the money to preserve its lifetime .Another tip. oil the hinges before you use ir and after you're done for the season. The y are a little cheezy and rust quickly. however still work fine

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mr
 Jan 20, 2016

Very nice smoker and good price

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great little smoker so far
 Jan 3, 2016

Have done 2 turkeys, 2 pork loins and some ribs. Just set the temp and time and let it work. No problems with the chip chute. If it holds up I will be happy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Upan
 Dec 10, 2015

Great item. Great quality. We've made sausages and smoked fish. easy to use. Best value.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Smoker
 Nov 27, 2015

This is a good smoker. You do have to set the timer before it will start warming up (I figured this out the hard way). I haven't figured out how to smoke a lot but it's great for turkeys. I have to shove the foil turkey pan in there but I make it fit.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
buyr007
 Aug 14, 2015

Power button does not work, door seal keeps coming apart, Chip and heater components sit on one another (not good safety hazard). Buy another name brand this one has become cheap......

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Be Prepared for a short life span
 Jun 22, 2015

Purchased this smoker in April 2014 and it only lasted for a year. In that time frame, had door replaced (leaking seals) and power unit replaced (cost was $30.00). On the positive side, it does a great job of smoking meats, but it quit on me last month and there was no way to repair. Never in the rain and always covered when not in use. Used it about 10 times. Customer Service was good. Durability is the issue. I just bought a Masterbuilt, which I haven't used yet. I'll keep you updated.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 38 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought