Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 61 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 

This fixture will only take expensive, low-wattage ceiling fan bulbs. No matter what type of bulbs we tried, they blew out within 5-6 weeks of install. (The fixture was electrician-checked and the problem is not wiring or wattage.) To top that, the bulbs are almost impossible to change, requiring a two-person team. Cool-looking, but it's cheap for a reason.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sputnic chrome light: good deal!
 from Austin,  Dec 9, 2014

Love the look for the price. Relatively easy to assemble and all the glitz I hoped for. Pro tip: install the light bulbs before you put on the glass covers. I realized half way through that I hadn't put the bulbs in and got carried away assembling. Now I get to take them off and put in bulbs--not fun. Also, recommend 2 people for placing glass covers on--one to hold the clips and the other to place the glass. You'll pinch your fingers otherwise!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
positive review
 from Ohio,  Aug 12, 2014

I absolutely love the style and look of this chandelier in our dining room. We get so many complements on it. But, be warned. When it is time to change a light bulb, the fun is over. We broke the globe part the first time trying to change the bulb. Because of the three prong design that holds the globe in place, it is impossible to get off to change the bulb. The globe shattered. Bummer, because we really love this chandelier. But now we have to live with burned out bulbs?

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Looking but Poor Build Quality
 from Saint Petersburg, FL,  Jan 6, 2014

I don't usually write reviews but felt compelled to give anyone thinking of purchasing this lamp some things to consider. First of all this is a great looking chandelier and the price is hard to beat. The bad news is the build quality is poor beyond belief and not to mention the poor design of how the glass globes attach to the fixture, you will crack more than one changing out burnt bulbs. The extension rods and the connecting thread piece dont mesh well at all. The thread on the rods will strip because its almost impossible to hand tighten everything to secure it. I had to wrap teflon tape aroung the threads of the connector just so the rods would catch. I'm replacing my much cheaper chandelier with this one but the build quality of my 10yr old one is hands down day and night better than this one. The only reason I'm giving this chandelier a chance is 1) my return period expired and 2) I'm decorating my home in mid-century style. ******** *******

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cute light, poor quality
 from New Jersey,  Jan 3, 2014

Purchased this light almost 1 year ago exactly. I was happy with the light, despite the quality not being the best. It looks great and gets a lot of compliments. We have it hanging over our dining room table. I went to dust the light off before a dinner party and the down rod basically fell apart! The light was hanging from the electrical wire until my husband was able to tape the rods together. Apparently the threads were completely worn. Disappointing since the light wasn't exactly cheap. We'll try replacing the rod with the extra pieces, but I don't expect this fixture to last. Thankfully it didn't come crashing down during dinner. I'm only giving this light a fair rating because of the style.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love Sputnic!
 from San Mateo, CA,  Jul 21, 2013

Exactly like the picture. It matched our Eichler home with similar large bulbs in the kitchen. We love it and is a conversation piece.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Classic modern
 from Wilkes-Barre PA,  Jun 20, 2013

This is a real eye catcher. If you are looking for something to really light up a room, that's modern and edgy; this is it. Installation was pretty simple if you know what your doing. The instructions are pretty terrible. You need 2 people as well, I couldn't imagine doing it alone. The quality is that of anything you would expect from a retail big box store. It looks really great in my dining room. Only thing I'm concerned about is taking the glass off to change a bulb. I think this may need 2 people as well. The arms that hold the glass on are very tight and you need to pull them off to get to the bulb. Other than that I have no complaints. This is a great modern fixture for a great price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. What you would expect from a retail store
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks good but very tricky
 from Oakland, CA,  May 9, 2013

I just got this installed, and it looks great. However, I'm a little worried it is going to fall down due to the flimsy interior metal workings, and I sliced up my hands trying to get the globes on. One of the bulbs didn't work, and I still haven't figured out how to get the globe off without breaking it to replace the bulb. If anyone has any tips, it'd be great to hear them. I tried calling the number on the slip inside to see if they had ideas, but they just said "be careful". So I have a cool looking fixture with one bulb that doesn't work and bloody hands. But all in all, I guess it is worth the price.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not great
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks awesome.
 from Red Wing, MN,  Mar 28, 2013

I was very please with the final purchase of this chandelier, although I had to return the first fixture because two of the lights did not work. Overstock was great at handling the return and sending a replacement. Keep in mind the bulbs used need to be a skinny style because of the size of the glass globe.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sputnik
 from Chandler, Arizona,  Dec 12, 2012

I like it. It looks good over the table. The lightbulbs give off good white light, not yellow. Was easy to install. No broken pieces. Looks really hi tech. Not a traditional light.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Atom Light Fixture
 from Maryland,  Nov 30, 2012

This light fixture is very different and goes well with my cathedral ceiling. I ordered it and that's when the fun began!! First, the wrong model was sent, one with 15 bulbs, not 9 as ordered; it was swiftly replaced with the correct one, but the promised sloped ceiling adjustment was not included even though it said it was in the product description. So then after MANY calls to both the distributor and to Overstock, the part was finally delivered two weeks later. It was Overstock that came through with the part that could have been included in the package in first place! The distributor, never did send the part even though they kept saying it was in the mail!! It's finally up and looks great.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? N/A
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So awesome looking
 from California,  Nov 18, 2012

I love it! it's very retro looking and really brings the room together.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect
 from Southern California,  Oct 18, 2012

Love it! For some reason reviews on the difficulty of assembling this fixture scared me off for a long time. I could just imagine cracking most of the globes. I changed the lighting in my dining room twice with other fixtures-- but remained unhappy with the results. I love to decorate & re-decorate - I'm always aiming for perfect. I finally bought it after a year of wasting my time & money on the other fixtures - not to mention putting my husband through hardwiring a dining room fixture 3 times. This one is staying up-- can not imagine finding anything better. With 2 people attaching the globes it was a breeze- one to squeeze the prongs- the other to attach the globe. Nine 40 watt bulbs gives us plenty of light - it just looks fabulous!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
groovy lamp
 from texas,  Oct 17, 2012

this is a show-stopper fixture. it is tricky to get the globes on & I'm hoping it will be a long time before bulbs need changing, but I love the funky look

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome
 from Chicago,IL,  Mar 23, 2012

OMG this fixture is amazing, it is over my very modern dining room table and it POPS! It looks like it cost a ton what a bonus! I did read all of the reviews before purchasing and I was a little leary based on some of the complaints about the installation of the bulb covers so with that said I was very cautious when attaching the bulbs to the fixture and everything worked out fine! Those reviews were very helpful and Im glad I did as followed! I want to purchase another but the overstck is out of stock Im hoping they will get it again cuz I want another for a different spot in the house! Also my dining room area is small so I only need the shortest extension rod given but it comes with many different length options, another bonus!!!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. awesome
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
super cool!
 from Kansas City, KS,  Mar 19, 2012

Cool and contemporary w/ a mid-century modern flare! Hung and assembled easily... Love it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate description
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful
 from Boston,ma,  Mar 4, 2012

Its all it is just becareful sliding in the glass balls they are very frgile

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Its very fragile but nice
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very good
 from los angeles,  Feb 18, 2012

we ordered two of these lights --- one for our dining room and one for our stairwell. we love them. they are beautiful and make a great statement in our new home. the big drawback is attaching the gloves to the fixture. they are really tricky to get affixed properly and the prongs make it very easy to break the globes. we did break one and the good news is that they do provide an additional glove. but you are sweating it out that you may break another one and then what do you do?? i dread the thought of a light bulb burning out!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Value - Looks Good
 from Dallas, TX,  Feb 12, 2012

Glad I bought this -- good for the money. Disagree with reviews that you can see the metal shade holders throught the glass. While technically correct, you'd never be looking that closely while the light is off and when it is on, it is so bright you could not look that closely. Agree with other reviewers in that the openings in the globes are randomly sized. We were able to fit all but 2 over our bulb and then had to go buy a different bulb for the last one. Just annoying, but likely to be expected at this price point.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Low Quality, but has the same look of much more expensive fixtures and, once hung, you won't notice
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Pretty good -- but it DOES NOT come with extension rods specified
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent product
 from Vancouver, Canada,  Feb 9, 2012

I had no problem installing the glass bulbs by using two hands then one to squeeze the metal clips and slowly slide the glass bulb. I wish the sputnik was little bit lower though. The metal "U" that is screwed to the electrical box bends easily weight he weight of the chandelier so would need some tweaking to make it a clean installation. All in all, a good value for a modern looking chandelier with historical connotations!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 61 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought