Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 41-60 of 60 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Original
 from Cleveland, OH,  Mar 19, 2011

If you're looking for something different, this is it! It is modern and very cool. Like other reviewers mentioned, you can see the prongs through the shades (which is the only reason I gave 4/5 and not 5/5. Installation was simple. All glass globes are the same size. There is an extra globe included. To assemble the glass globes over the bulbs, I recommend you have one person squeeze the prongs, while another person uses two hands to place the globe over the light bulb. A dimmer switch would be amazing since this light fixture illuminates our large dining room very brighly. We plan to do that soon. I used 40 watt chanelier/ceiling fan bulbs since bulbs are not included. There are two rods to adjust the extension of the fixture from the ceiling. I would recommend this as a unique and fun way to light up your room.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy
 from Denver, CO,  Mar 8, 2011

This is the second "Sputnic" chandelier that we bought. We love the look of this item and added the new Sputnic to the other side of our hallway. The only two things that could have been better on the design of this lamp are (1) the clamps that hold the glass covers. Those clamps show through on a few of the glass covers; no big deal. (2) if you want to use CFLs make sure you buy those that are fairly flat, because the more standard CFLs are to high for the glass covers. I ended up ordering CFL 40watt equivalent bulbs online and compared the different bulb heights to make sure to pick those with the lowest height. This solved the problem. Anyhow, for us it is the design appeal of the lighting fixture and on that dimension this lamp is a solid 5! especially at this price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE IT!!!
 from Simpsonville,,  Feb 10, 2011

This is a GREAT light, very cool, modern looking! Would have given it 5 stars but the globes are too fragile. Otherwise, highly recommended!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Light
 from Austin, TX,  Feb 2, 2011

I lovelovelove this light. It came very well packed, nothing was broken. There was 1 extra globe in the box for future use. It took my dad and me about an hour to open the box, unpack, assemble and hang. I read other reviews that said the metal disk that covers the light box is flimsy and dents easily and that the pole looks cheap. They're both wrong. The disk isn't amazing material, but just don't abuse it. The pole doesn't look cheap, there is no terrible seam that others talk about. It looks like a pole. I admit, there are no wiring instructions, but those are readily available in books, online, etc. You wire it just like any other chandelier. I didn't put mine on a dimmer like others recommend, but I had planned on it. I did put 9 watt CFLs in (9W CFL = 40W incandescent). It probably would be too bright somewhere else, but mine is over my kitchen island, so bright is good. I didn't have any problems getting the bulbs to fit into the globes. I think you wouldn't have that problem with CFLs, just incandescents. I get so many compliments on this light. I searched and searched for something similar once I found this one and this was, by far, the least expensive and the quality is nice. Maybe it could be better, maybe the light could take more abuse, but it's a light. I'm not really planning on touching it to do anything other than change the bulbs when they go out. It doesn't need to be able to take too much abuse. Plus, the box says it was made in America, so hooray for that!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
awesome!
 from Washington, DC,  Jan 13, 2011

This is one of the first things we bought for our new house and it is so awesome. We have light blue walls and mid-century furniture and this light just makes our dining room. Am very happy every time I look at it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great light!!
 from TORONTO, ONT,  Jan 2, 2011

GREAT LIGHT! EASY TO INSTALL! GAVE MY FOYER A MODERN AND FUNKY LOOK! THINKING ABOUT BUYING A SECOND ONE FOR THE HALLWAY. GREAT PRICE FOR THE LOOK AND QUALITY!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect Fixture
 from Sacramento, California,  Aug 11, 2010

I purchased this fixture for my daughter and her husband who are restoring their home in the mid-century style. They looked all over for an affordable light fixture for their interior front entryway before finding this one at Overstock.com. It is just perfect in style, quality, and price. They love it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect
 Jul 6, 2010

Just what I was looking for. Comparable lights are $500 easy

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from Atlanta,  Jun 23, 2010

I replaced an old track lighting system with this light. Coming from that, this light dramatically changes the style of the room. I LOVE it. Easy to install and put together as it maybe took me about 30 mins.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sputnick chandelier
 from Boston, MA,  Jun 8, 2010

This chandelier is AMAZING. It's just the perfect mix of deco and modern for our rustic/modern home. Even the electrician loved it. The amount of light it gives off - lights our entire foyer and illuminates the great room. Except that I later found it for less money on another website, I'd say it's nearly perfect! joycemonkey

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE IT!!!
 from Dallas, TX,  Jun 1, 2010

This is an amazingly beautiful light fixture... Great FAST shipping... Only minor hitch was getting the right size bulbs, but even that was not that bad...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better than the picture!
 from Denver, CO,  Apr 19, 2010

This lamp is REALLY cool! The photo only shows 9 globes on the light but mine actually came with 15 globes on the fixture. It didn't come with the angle mount hinge for the canopy and the hang rod is only about 3ft long. The cord is not that long either so I had to swap it out with 8ft cord to accommodate my high ceiling. You have to take part of the fixture apart to do this. I used 5' long stainless cable to suspend the lamp from the pitched ceiling. Used 13w CFL bulbs (60w equivalent) and it is EXTREMELY bright! Now I can catch a tan while I eat in my totally MOD dining room. Get it before they're gone forever!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love the chandelier
 from Oregon,  Apr 8, 2010

we love the light.It looks great already had some one ask where I got it. there was 1 problem. six globesdid not fit over the small light bulbs . the company took care of this problem. sent me 6 new ones . I will definately shop here again. added dimmer switch fantastic. Thank you overstock

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This is a great light for the price, I had searched everywhere looking for a retro modern chandelier for my master bathroom. This light really fills up the space, with 12 foot ceilings and a bathroom that's 12x15 it works.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Thrilled Thanks Overstock
 from Matt,Cordova State, Tn,  Feb 22, 2010

WOW!!! What a truly gorgeous light. My house is all modern furniture and I have been looking for the perfect light to compliment my furniture now for almost 5 months. I finally found it !!. The light is absolutely beautiful and so well made. The quality of the light was exactly what I wanted. My wife is thrilled and I look like the hero. The light is hanging over my chrome and glass dining table and it really looks spectacular. It was so simple to install and the packaging was unbelievably good. Not a scratch or chipped glass at all. I would definitely recommend this light to my friends who also love the modertn look.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
burst of light!
 from Lexington, KY,  Jan 15, 2010

i agree with the review below, I can not understand the complaints below because this fixture was 1-2-3. By no means am I an light fixture installed or expert nor is my wife, I have put up a few fixtures in the process of our remodel of our new home. While taking all the glass gloves out of the box and noticed 1 broken, I continued to assemble (very simple) just to make sure nothing else was wrong before I called. I was shocked to notice there was a 10th globe (1 extra) there was a tiny piece of paper inside 1 box that said something along the lines of "thank you for your purchase, for your convenience here is a spare globe, in the event one arrive damaged you can use it to replace or keep it for future needs" What a brilliant idea! My and my wife joked that we would probably break it when putting it in storage before we could even use it as a spare. So smart to do that, it really helps out and is a great idea... Hey packaging man, Thanks Dude! Besides that I didn't need to look at instructions, very straight forward looks neat and I as well used a dimmer to "set the mood: OH Yea I forget to tell, Me and Libby are using this fixture over a small round eating table off to the side of the kitchen, it give just that touch of funk we were looking for. Metals are strong and the globes look neat both lit up and in the off/dimmed position. I would say out of a 10 overall from quality to price to ease us use I would rate a 8 but +1 for the globe so 9, not a 10 because nothing is perfect. thank you big O for another great deal.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fun!!
 from Colorado Springs,CO,  Nov 29, 2009

We put this in a kids' "hangout room" along with your "Salsa" rug and turquoise painted walls. It totally makes the room! Everyone comments on what a cool light fixture it is.My electrician complained that it was difficult to install the light bulbs, and the globes are slightly different shades of white. The chrome really shines, though!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
some things to know before install or purchase
 from New York, NY,  Nov 15, 2009

Some things you need to know before you purchase and or install this fixture.1. The metal flange that attaches the fixture to the ceiling while covering the electrical box is very flimsy and is not made of the same steel that the rest of the instrument is made out of. This fixture ships with one of the rods in bolted to it and it can easily bend while removing it from its packing. Also, it?s good to know while affixing the bulbs and globes. To try to distribute the weight evenly by having someone hold it or affixing globes to opposing sides; so that it won?t bend, make a dimple or put un-necessary wear on the flimsy chrome plate.2. Extension Rods. The fixture comes with 2 extension rods. As it is packaged it only allows for 2 lengths. The very long full with both rods assembled or shorter semi flush (located closer to the main sphere of the fixture). DO NOT REMOVE BOTH RODS. You will have a tough time stringing the electrical wire back through the rods. I did because I thought I would use the medium rod instead of the shorter one. It can be done, but you would need extra hardware to affix the rod to the ceiling plate brace. The shorter has two male end threadings. The longer has one end male and the other end female.3. Bulbs. This fixture does not take regular sized bulbs. It takes ?Ceiling Fan? shaped bulbs not to exceed 60 watts each. I used Edison Halogen 40?s A15?s. Regular sized bulbs will not fit through the frosted globe?s opening.4. Wash the globes before assembling. You will see every spec of dust and debris through the glass when light is emitted through it.5. Affixing globes: There are 3 springs that will hold the globe over the bulb. Push 2 of the 3 springs down while placing over the bulb. Then collapse the 3rd to slide the globe and affix the globe into place.I found that the frosted globes are un even in workmanship. It shows defects in either the blowing of the glass or the frosting process.All in all, I would say that it accomplishes the modern retro look but for what I got, I think a lower price point would been more suitable in my opinion.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not Durable
 from NJ,NJ,  Nov 19, 2011

The lamp looks good but it is not durable. Also there are no detail instructions and what size bulb to use. One had to be very careful when installing it. Buyer can feel looking at the shipment when opened that it is from a cheap website. This is the first and last purchase from overstock site for me.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Cheap
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Ok
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dont do it!
 Jul 22, 2010

The fixture is great to look at but poorly made and difficult to install. Multiple globes where broken on arrival and then it is impossible not to break more installing them--they are really flimsy. The company was very difficult and nasty to deal with. In the end, it cost me a bundle to get new globes shipped. I would not only not purchase this fixture but be careful and check the seller and not order anything from them. Learn from my mistake and save yourself a lot of headache and $$$$.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 41-60 of 60 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought