Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 69 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Sputnik Atom Light Fixture
 from metro Atl,  Apr 30, 2010

I watched as my master electrician put this in. I really liked the overall shape, which is why I bought it. I was looking for something mid-century modern or hollywood regency for my entryway. Only problem is, I have a shorter ceiling there. My electrician used the shortest rod and made it work. It comes with three rods of varying lengths that you can apparently put together and make a longer one. I have to admit, if I didn't have to worry about door clearance (the previous light was almost flush) I'd have definitely gone for the longer rods, as that adds more drama. But the benefit is, it fit in my space - and I needed a flush or semi-flush light. So those of you without 13" ceilings, don't worry. Here's a few problems I ran across: 1) My electrician stated that the interior metal fittings of the light are rather flimsy. Where that shows up is that the light moves a little easier than it should. I am a bit worried it will come down. 2) When you get the light, go ahead and open it up, get out one globe, and take it with you when hunting for bulbs. A regular bulb won't really fit. The best fit we found was with a non-CFL ceiling fan bulb @ 40 watts each. Remember: there's NINE globes (plus a tenth extra, which due to the way they're mounted, you will definitely need down the road.) 3) By far, my major concern is the way the globes are mounted. The wires holding them in show through the glass no matter how you try to mount them. That's the main reason I give it four stars - great design, but if you are looking for it to be exactly like the picture, you'll be disappointed. Also, I am worried about the durability due to its flimsy workmanship. It does look great...for now. One note: I did install a dimmer for this light, and it really functions much better that way, but CFL's aren't really dimmable (very disappointing), and due to the opening of the globe, your bulb choices are limited at best.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love It!
 from Texas,  Dec 5, 2009

This is a relay great light. It has a mid century modern look and definately will get noticed. It is VERY bright which is good, but my husband installed a dimmer switch so we can control the brightness of the light. This gives a nice effect if you just want a soft glow sometimes. My husband installed the light by himeself. The actual assembly of the light was very easy. I am not sure what one of the other reviewer was talking about when he said the peices could be easily bent or dented. All off the components of the light were very sturdy, and I did not seen how any of them could be dented or bent. The problem that my husband had was the mounting bracket that came with the light. It did not properly line up with the standard mounting bracket in our ceiling. He had to improvise and get a few components from the hardware store to actually make it work. For that reason it took him a few hours to get up - but once installed it looks and works great.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect
 from Southern California,  Oct 18, 2012

Love it! For some reason reviews on the difficulty of assembling this fixture scared me off for a long time. I could just imagine cracking most of the globes. I changed the lighting in my dining room twice with other fixtures-- but remained unhappy with the results. I love to decorate & re-decorate - I'm always aiming for perfect. I finally bought it after a year of wasting my time & money on the other fixtures - not to mention putting my husband through hardwiring a dining room fixture 3 times. This one is staying up-- can not imagine finding anything better. With 2 people attaching the globes it was a breeze- one to squeeze the prongs- the other to attach the globe. Nine 40 watt bulbs gives us plenty of light - it just looks fabulous!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Puts Out ALot of Light!
 from Chicago, IL,  Jul 9, 2010

Love this chandelier -- using it in our retro kitchen. Unique, very cool. Not wild about the bar, as it looks a bit cheap with the seam, but everything else is great. You'll need to purchase a special bulb for these -- we're using the CHANDELIER energy-saving lightbulbs, and it still puts out a ton of light. Love that during the winter when it gets so dark and dreary. Electrician had no problem installing.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Returning the item
 Jan 4, 2016

Some of the tubes are stripped, so I've been unable to assemble the fixture to hang it. I took the fixture to a local lighting store and it would cost as much to fix the chandelier in order to be able to hang as the whole fixture cost in the first place. Sad.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great but not functional
 Jun 3, 2015

I was so happy with this light for 6 months. It looked fabulous until the bulbs started burning out...the globes are so fragile that they are extremely hard to take off and on. We broke the first one that we tried to change and even worse, one of the arms became unscrewed and it seems like the nut holding it in place fell into the center sphere and can not be fixed. I am having to uninstall and replace the whole fixture because what is the point of a chandelier if you can't easily replace the bulbs? I'm bummed because the look was great but turned out to be a waste of money

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks Great. Options limited on angled ceiling.
 from MD,  Jul 20, 2010

The ceiling housing hole is the exact diameter of extension rod, so the rod will not angle more than about 5 degrees without bending the surface of the ceiling housing. Required modification to hang on ceiling angled at about 30 degrees (made hole bigger with a 3/4 inch bit on a drill press). But I love this light! Otherwise it seems pretty much perfect in every way.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks good but very tricky
 from Oakland, CA,  May 9, 2013

I just got this installed, and it looks great. However, I'm a little worried it is going to fall down due to the flimsy interior metal workings, and I sliced up my hands trying to get the globes on. One of the bulbs didn't work, and I still haven't figured out how to get the globe off without breaking it to replace the bulb. If anyone has any tips, it'd be great to hear them. I tried calling the number on the slip inside to see if they had ideas, but they just said "be careful". So I have a cool looking fixture with one bulb that doesn't work and bloody hands. But all in all, I guess it is worth the price.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not great
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So awesome looking
 from California,  Nov 18, 2012

I love it! it's very retro looking and really brings the room together.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
groovy lamp
 from texas,  Oct 17, 2012

this is a show-stopper fixture. it is tricky to get the globes on & I'm hoping it will be a long time before bulbs need changing, but I love the funky look

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome
 from Chicago,IL,  Mar 23, 2012

OMG this fixture is amazing, it is over my very modern dining room table and it POPS! It looks like it cost a ton what a bonus! I did read all of the reviews before purchasing and I was a little leary based on some of the complaints about the installation of the bulb covers so with that said I was very cautious when attaching the bulbs to the fixture and everything worked out fine! Those reviews were very helpful and Im glad I did as followed! I want to purchase another but the overstck is out of stock Im hoping they will get it again cuz I want another for a different spot in the house! Also my dining room area is small so I only need the shortest extension rod given but it comes with many different length options, another bonus!!!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. awesome
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very good
 from los angeles,  Feb 18, 2012

we ordered two of these lights --- one for our dining room and one for our stairwell. we love them. they are beautiful and make a great statement in our new home. the big drawback is attaching the gloves to the fixture. they are really tricky to get affixed properly and the prongs make it very easy to break the globes. we did break one and the good news is that they do provide an additional glove. but you are sweating it out that you may break another one and then what do you do?? i dread the thought of a light bulb burning out!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Impressive!
 from Decatur, GA,  Dec 31, 2011

Impressive, provides a lot of light! It is difficult to put the globes on as others mentioned and it takes smaller than average diameter bulbs. Other than that, an impressive light fixture!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good for the price
 from Denver, CO,  Mar 27, 2010

This light arrived in a week, the packaging was great, no damage. The one thing to be aware of, on the picture it looks like the balls are different sizes, they are not. Installation was easy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect light fixture
 Mar 7, 2016

This light made my retro room. I constantly get remarks on this light.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
kewl
 Jan 30, 2016

This lamp / Chandelier is great. After reading the other reviews, make sure you use LED bulbs, you won't change them in 5 plus years, tighten all the extensions, the won't come loose... lastly when you put in the LED bulbs make them "dim-able" the room will be bright!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it
 Nov 27, 2015

It looks fabulous but its trendy. So if you want something classic, this isn't it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great!
 Jun 28, 2015

Great looking chandelier, provides a lot of light, goes well with different styles of decor. I've had this for about 4 years now and the only complaint I have is it's a little difficult to clean.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic light
 Jun 5, 2015

we love this! highly recommend. sure it may be tricky to install but worth it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
easy to break balls, not dimmable
 May 25, 2015

love the look of it but really easy to break the glass circle covers. it even came with an extra one. we've broken 3. so are left without 2 covers. also, we've tried 3 different bulbs and have determined that the fixture will not accommodate a dimmer.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 69 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought