For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 163 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Quality book tower at half the price of others
 from Mission Viejo, CA,  Aug 31, 2011

I saw my first book tower in a retail store in black, and knew it was just what I needed, but it seemed very pricey. On checking Overstock I saw the same idea, but in silver grey instead of black, and at just over half the price. Now that I have it I realize that the color barely shows, and makes no difference. It was delivered in near record time. I assembled it myself, and it was quite easy, even though I had read a review that said it was difficult. Believe me, it's easy. I am very happy with the purchase and the transaction.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Picture was very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality was excellent, heavy, well balanced, sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description of product was absolutely accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decent copy of more expensive version
 from Philly,  Jun 12, 2008

I have been looking to get the vertical book shelf offered by stores such as DWR and Chiasso, but the cost + shipping surcharge was too much, in my opinion. I saw this version on Overstock recently and after reading the reviews, I ordered it immediately. Bottom line: It is a good quality product, but it lacks the same design aesthetic as the other offerings. It is not glossy powder-coated steel. Rather, it is textured steel with a light gray color. It also appears slightly more boxy and bulky as far as the footprint, which is larger. It only comes in one height; I would have preferred another 12-18 inches. Even so, it's a great buy for the price and $2.95 shipping, and once you cover it up with books, it mostly disappears.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Spine Book Tower
 from Pleasanton TX,  May 27, 2009

I always wanted one of these to store those "look at books" that we usually put on the coffee table, but the towers that I saw were always too expensive for my budget. It takes up so little floor space and stores so many books. I was a little concerned when I saw the five-pound per shelf limit but the heaviest books are on the base and everything is fine. It was easy to assemble and my friends rave over the "book sculpture" in the living room.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cool!!
 from St Petersburg, FL,  May 2, 2009

I have been eyeing these spine bookcases all over the Internet. Many companys and manufacturers offer them in a ton of price ranges, most of them at least 60 to 80 dollars more than here. I bought this and placed it in my bedroom. I am very satisfied. It took my husband about 8 minutes to assemble and he had no problems whatsoever. All pieces were completely straight and perfect. The shelf holds a lot of books for the small footprint size. I would recommend this to my friends, that is if they don't already die wanting one when they see it. It's so much better than those cheap compressed pieces.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Catchy
 from California,  Oct 20, 2008

Love it! Make sure you understand how tall it is. As another reviewer mentioned it's a little shorter than I anticipated but once filled with books it looks amazing. All my guests are perplexed and intrigued by this unique book shelf. I bought one but plan on buying another to create two seemingly precarious towers of books aside my sofa. Great price for such a distinct piece.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice modern bookshelf
 from Washington, DC,  Apr 7, 2012

I have another spine bookshelf from a different company that's a slightly different style, and they complement each other nicely. I actually prefer this one to the other one, which was more expensive and "high end". Easy to put together and very stable.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Tower of Power
 from Louisiana,  Apr 5, 2012

this book tower is built to last!! it is sturdier than the more expensive ones i bought elsewhere. the color/finish "is what it is"- so i sprayed it with Rustoleums' metal paint to match other furnishings. 2 years later it looks and works great.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Passable
 from Madison, WI,  Oct 2, 2012

I own a number of spine-style shelves, but all my existing ones are Sapien Bookcases. I assumed these would be similar, and they are; however, the quality is not as good. The edges and welds are a bit thrown-together seeming, and the fact that the shelves must be screwed on instead of just lifted in like the Sapien style is a bit annoying. This makes it harder to remove or add shelves as needed. Also, the distance between shelves is less useful on this model; the Sapien shelves are wider apart and fit a good quantity of books. On these, I had to leave some of the shelves off to make room for larger stacks. I'm not a metallurgist, but the finish on these seems almost sprayed on, and sort of chintzy in a way that is hard to qualify. Also, instead of nice embedded rubber feet on the large base, these just come with adhesive pads. Not terrible, but I would actually recommend paying just a bit more for better bookcases of this style.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Decent quality, slightly shoddier than expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate enough
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bookcase
 from Walnut, California,  Oct 22, 2009

We love it, we love it, we love it! We saw the same type of shelving from a sales catalog for about 50 dollars more. Though the color is grey and not orange like the other one we saw, by the time we placed the books on the shelves the room looked instantaneously warmer from the books on display. The slender vertical configuration is perfect if you only have a small space but need to store lots of books. If you place the bigger books at the bottom it will lend a nice, balanced look. Assemblage was very quick and easy, but you will need two people.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
spine book tower
 from Orange, NY,  Feb 27, 2013

It is a space saver but I can't use the top shelf for books because it is missing a screw to secure it. Overall I am enjoying the book case

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color is as expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. there is a screw for one of the shelves missing
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Sapine Substitute
 from MIlwaukee,  Dec 20, 2012

I was excited to see an affordable version of the Sapine bookcase. After assembling the tower and adding books and dvd cases, I will be purchasing more in the future. I would be so happy if the vendor made other colors! So here are my two cents. 1) The item was well packaged, all holes and screws fell into place, no warping. Comes with a small allen wrench which is all you will need to assemble. 2) Assembly was very easy. Something you could do while watching tv with the family and be done in 10-20 minutes. Most of the time is spent tightening screws. 3) The finish is not luxurious, I would prefer a laqcuer, but I understand I would have to pay a premium for that. I am stuffing this tower so that it looks like a giant stack of books, so the only place the finish shows is at the base. 4) Stability. I have a good amount of large, hardcover books, they seem to be holding up well. The spine is not bending. I made sure to put the heaviest books on the bottom shelves. Again, the original I am sure is stronger, but for the price, this is a good piece. 5) It holds a lot of books in a small footprint. 6) Removing shelves does involve some unscrewing, but I am using all the shelves now. So this is not an issue for me. Overall, I am very happy with this purchase and just hope I can get it in more colors, but will settle for the silver if that never happens.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality for price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very handy
 from Denver CO,  Apr 15, 2012

Love it. It's very useful when you have a space constraint!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good enough
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Aug 23, 2011

I purchased this after seeing a similar product at CB2. The quality of this product not equal to that of CB2, but it looks great and does the job. However for the *** saved if I could do it over I'd by the Tower Bookshelf from CB2.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not as sturdy as I had hope
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Pretty Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Spine Book Tower
 from Shreveport, LA,  Jun 9, 2008

The Spine Book Tower is great! This is the second one I've ordered. Holds lots of books in a small "footprint" and you can "dress it up" with a can of spray paint. Wonderful product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Purchase
 from Tulsa, OK,  Dec 4, 2007

I couldn't be happier about this shelf. The price is 50 dollars less than other location and this is a very heavy piece of furniture. I really really like it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Spine book tower
 from New york,  Aug 19, 2014

Small enough to fit in a corner and display pictures and in knicknacks.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Innovative design at a great price
 from Palm Springs, CA,  Aug 12, 2014

I have a lot of books and modern furnishings so love having the option of this unique design.First ordered one to try it and now on number 2 . Not possible or desirable to overload but each little shelf can hold max 3 books depending on weight and size. I like it a lot.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Book Tower
 from Designer-Santa Barbara, CA,  Jul 6, 2014

This can be used for many trhings and especially a combination of books mags and stuff!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Neat Little Bookshelf
 from Chicago,  Jun 13, 2014

I love this bookshelf. It barely takes up any floor space. All of the shelves are the same size, but sturdy enough for several small books or a couple larger ones. It was easy to put together and came with the required Allen wrench. Plus it looks cool!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Slats misshapen
 from San Francisco, CA,  Mar 7, 2014

One of the slats was bent so the shelf could not fit in. Poorly made product. We have a sapien bookshelf at home and I thought that I could find a similar product, expecting it not to be as well made, but at least functional. Proof to pay extra for a superior product that you will enjoy and will last.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 163 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top