Save for Later
Want to know when you'll get it? Go

What is “Estimated Delivery Date?”

This is an approximate delivery date and is not a guarantee. Delivery estimates are available only for select items to be delivered in the contiguous United States, excluding APO/FPO addresses and PO boxes. Your final shipping cost will be available at checkout.

Overstock.com MasterCard®

$20 bonus after first use & 0% Intro APR*
No Payments & No Interest on orders over
$150 if you pay in full within 6 months.
Learn More ›

Sophie Tufted Taupe Velvet Queen-size Platform Bed

Overall Rating Rating 4  |  163 reviews  |  Write a review
Today $389.99
Save $124.01 (24%)
Item #: 80004446
    This elegant queen-size platform bed offers a contemporary style that will suit your modern home. The black platform bed has a wooden frame and velvet upholstery that feels smooth and luxurious....more

Frequently Bought Together

Buy Together and Save 6% *

* Cannot be combined with other promotions.

People Who Viewed This Viewed

Sponsored Links What's This?
    This elegant queen-size platform bed offers a contemporary style that will suit your modern home. The black platform bed has a wooden frame and velvet upholstery that feels smooth and luxurious. A headboard and footboard are included for a finished look.

    • Set includes: One headboard, one footboard, one set of rails, platform slats
    • Materials: Wood frame, velvet fabric
    • Finish: Black
    • Upholstery materials: Velvet fabric
    • Upholstery color: Taupe
    • Upholstery fill: Polyurethane foam
    • Includes 13 bed slats
    • Headboard height: 52.75 inches
    • Footboard height: 9 inches
    • Dimensions: 53 inches high x 65 inches wide x 88 inches deep

    Assembly required. This product ships in two (2) boxes.

    Mattress, box spring, and bedding (comforter, sheets, pillows, etc.) are NOT included.
Materials:
Asian Wood Frame cover with vinyl

Features

  • Color
    Tan
  • Material
    Fabric, Foam, Velvet, Wood
  • Finish
    Cherry, Espresso, Walnut, Wood
  • Bed Style
    Platform Bed, Tufted Bed
  • Assembly
    Assembly Required
  • Furniture Pattern
    Solid
Was this product information helpful?
Yes No
Thank you for your feedback.
 
 
 
Thank you. Your feedback will help us create the best experience for our customers.

Showing 5 most helpful reviews on this product.

  • 5 Stars 72
  • 4 Stars 57
  • 3 Stars 13
  • 2 Stars 3
  • 1 Stars 18
  • Nice bed, good value

    This bed will require help getting in the door of your house. It ships in two large heavy boxes which UPS did not take very good care of. I would recommend waiting for the UPS driver and inspecting the package before it leaves the truck. Our boxes were torn up badly and the small washers and screws inside are NOT packaged in a plastic bag like you expect- they are loosely packed in a small box inside your package. We actually found all the missing washers and screws in the UPS truck before he left- very nice guy for waiting and helping with that. Luckily, there was no damage to the bed itself though the box was tattered and torn. Un-packaging took about 20 minutes and assembly took about half an hour. The bed goes together very easily. The only quality related issues come from the parts you don't ever see- the platform slats and the support legs. The slats themselves are designed as a "ladder." All slats are preattached to nylon straps forming a ladder chain that essentially makes the dozen or so slats one piece. This was a great idea I had personally never seen before. However, the wood of the slats is left in very very rough condition. The can easily cause splinters if you are not careful. The real issue though is the wear on your mattress. As this is a platform bed there is no need for a boxspring, but if you have a mattress that requires flipping then you are likely to end up sleeping on splinters after your first flip. The support legs themselves are simply plastic pegs (which are adjustable in height) that depress into countersunk holes in a few of the slats. These are perfectly suitable if you NEVER need to move your bed. I your bed moves though it is likely you will be on hands and knees reaching under the bed trying to re-position and reattach the legs. So far ours have done just fine. Overall though we are extremely happy with the bed and are actually pleasantly surprised by how sturdy it is. The bed can take some pretty vigorous "exercise" and doesn't wobble or creak one bit. The padded headboard is nice for this also ;) At the end of the day, this was money well spent. (Beware of Chingrish instruction manual though.)

    • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Other reviews claim it to be darker but we think it was pretty accurate.
    • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Overall finish is good, unseen parts are in rough, cheaply made state.
    • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
  • LOVE THIS BED!

    I really love the look of this bed and it was way cheaper than any other tufted bed I viewed online. Has a very luxe look to it. The bed is more of a taupe color, slightly darker than the photo. I was able to assemble it on my own without killing myself (I'm a 25/F) so that was a big plus. I have one complaint, which if you are not handy may be an issue for you. The support posts that were included with the bed were crappy plastic ones that slipped out from underneath the bed as soon as I got on (I don't weigh much either!). I have wood floors and no area rug so that's probably the reason. I had to add extra screws to the beams and also screw in some posts we cut from wood underneath the center of the platform. The bed is super sturdy now. Overall, a beautiful bed!

    • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Slightly darker
    • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality for the price, but needs added support
    • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Somewhat
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
  • great buy

    I love this bed. For the price, you won't find a better deal at this level of quality. However, I had two (now resolved) issues with it. For one, the order comes in two boxes, but I was shipped duplicates. After lugging it up the stairs and realizing this I contacted overstocked and thankfully they were very accommodating and sent me the correct box immediately. Secondly, the plastic supports that go underneath the center of the wooden slats are useless. They may be enough if the bed will be for one person but since it's my bf and I, they kept slipping out and we thought the bed had broken a few times when he would crawl in. So, my bf ended up throwing them away and buying 9" wooden blocks to nail into the slats and now the bed is perfect.

    • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly what I thought it would be
    • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Wonderful
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
  • OK Stop Tripping

    Dear Overstock. I line to feel like I'm a very good gauge. That being said, I take a lot of time accessing a product before buying online. I was so very pleased with what I took from the reviews and basing my critique on what I took from the reviews and pictures. (Don't let the whiners discourage you). This was a good purchase. The color is a Sage Tauge...but you really can tell from the picture. The fabric is velvet but the type you can spot clean if need. I put this in my Master bedroom, and its stunning and for the price! Spectacular!! My son-in-law put it together by himself with power tools in 30 min I tried it with a box spring but that was too high! Just use a mattress. It also will probably look good with dark wood casegoods. But i don't feel locked in with using a fabric color but it's still IMO versatile in a lot of different color palates.

    • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? On Point
    • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very nice
    • How accurate was the on site description of the product? On point
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

    joaniessworl from Reisterstown, Maryland, May 26, 2012

    Flag As Inappropriate
  • In love with my new bed!

    I am in love with my new bed. I have been wanting and searching for a headboard/ bedframe for a while now but thought a stylish and comfortable one would be out of my budget. I was so excited to find this one in a feminine/ modern style with a plush headboard for sitting up and reading. It is a nice cush material and high-quality and ridiculously good deal! I shopped around a lot and this was definitely the best deal and looked a lot nicer than a lot of the other ones i saw in real life. I have an actual photo of this headboard on my blog that shows the true color a little better. http://www.**=004 is the link to the photo. One of the boxes was MISSING INSTRUCTIONS and after initial freakout I calmed down and figured it out without instructions, so the bed is easy to put together. I would say 2 out of 5 stars on how hard it is to assemble. Other reviewers mentioned the plastic support beams which do seem kind of cheapie but they stand fine on my hardwood floors with cats running around underneath.

    • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Not as "neutral" as it looks in the photo. More of a darker color.
    • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality for the price.
    • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good description and reviews. Should offer more detailed and close-up photos of the item. The photo shown is dark and you cannot see the color/ detail of the headboard.
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
View All Most Helpful Reviews
  • Not Happy!

    The bed may look great, but the support boards (that are found under the mattress) were constantly falling off the bed when any kind of pressure was placed onto the mattress. The new wooden boards were splintering and crumbling. Since I was unable to return the item I had to use carpenters glue to adhere the wooden pieces together with binder clips—which worked. Once the boards dried I went ahead and reinforced the boards to the bed frame's center support beam with 8 in. clear nylon cable ties from TheHomeDepot. Honestly, I would not recommend buying this item. It is just not worth the money, time or effort.

    Poor
    Poor
    Excellent
    Poor
    Poor
    Excellent
    Good
    Poor
    Excellent
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
    Flag

    nycmoni from Queens, NYC, Apr 22, 2014

  • Complete garbage!

    This bed is so poorly constructed, it is mind-boggling. My bed started falling apart within months of purchase. The bed frame has no cross-bars that stop the frame from twisting every time the bed needs to be moved slightly, or when adjusting the mattress. Because of this, the wooden slats that form the platform of the bed constantly fall out. The wooden slats are also of very poor quality, and are already starting to splinter. Do not buy this bed. Yes, it looks nice, and the price is great, but it is basically unusable.

    Poor
    Poor
    Excellent
    Poor
    Poor
    Excellent
    Good
    Poor
    Excellent
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
    Flag

    brontozaurus from Hoboken, NJ, Apr 5, 2014

  • LOVE LOVE LOVE

    I LOVE my new bed....so classy and chic, this add so much to my bedroom. My boyfriend assembled bed in less than an hour. Shipping was fast! Thanks UPS, came in 2 heavy boxes. With my mattress and box spring the bed sits really high up, but I like it...I didn't like the look of the exposed box spring, but I used a bed skirt and tucked it in the bed frames and looks fine to me!!! I recommend this bed to everyone! Great price!!

    Excellent
    Poor
    Excellent
    Excellent
    Poor
    Excellent
    Excellent
    Poor
    Excellent
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
    Flag

    riri83 from VA, Mar 26, 2014

  • Disappointed Bed Broke

    One week after setting up the bed the middle support legs broke and bent in the middle of the night causing the support slats to slip out and the mattress to fall. Called Overstock to tell them about the issue and they sent out replacement parts. Installed the legs and slats again and a few days later it happened again. I am pissed off by this time when I call Guardsman. They sent out a technician that looks at it and says I can't fix it because I don't have the right tools or materials and leaves. Several weeks go by without them sending someone else to fix it when I call and they say they are just going to refund me my money for the protection plan. I am furious now and filing a complaint with BBB as well with their company.

    Poor
    Poor
    Excellent
    Fair
    Poor
    Excellent
    Good
    Poor
    Excellent
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
    Flag

    iamupset1 from California, Mar 18, 2014

  • Matches Picture

    The bed looks exactly as its pictured. It is soft and has the right amount of cushion in the headboard.

    Good
    Poor
    Excellent
    Good
    Poor
    Excellent
    Excellent
    Poor
    Excellent
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
    Flag

    matty2013 from Oak Ridge, NC, Mar 15, 2014

View All Most Recent Reviews

Product Q&A

Ask a Question

What is the weight limit for this bed? Including the weight of the mattress nicole042086 on Feb 13, 2014
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Hello nicole042086, thank you for your inquiry! Unfortunately we do not weight test our items; typically this type of bed holds up to 200-250 pounds. I hope this helps. Happy shopping! overstockcustomercare1 on Feb 18, 2014
 
I weight 212 pounds and am using a boxspring and a 12" memory foam mattress that weighs about 80 pounds and am having no issue with this bed at all! esdakota22 on Feb 22, 2014
 
It holds more than that, we have two people on it and four dogs. However we have a regular mattress and box spring on the bed. gafarmer13 on Feb 28, 2014
 
 

What is the velvet fabric like? Soft, lush? Short pile, more of a microfiber? amarelis on Feb 8, 2014
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

to me it feels like a micro fiber'ish velvet. esdakota22 on Feb 22, 2014
 
Rough for a velvet mimioverstock on Feb 24, 2014
 
 

Hi! ive owned this bed for almost a year, however the slats keep falling out - and have done so since the beginning. Is there someone I can use/buy to stop this from happening every night? Thanks ama79 on Jan 3, 2014
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Thank you for shopping with us ama79. I went through the reviews to check if others also had difficulty. A customer did say to check that the center support is level. I also read that replacing the slats with a single length slat that was screwed to the side rail also solved the problem. Have a great day. overstockcustomercare1 on Jan 6, 2014
 
 

Do I have to use the slats? Can I just use my bed rails and box spring? ladybuglily321 on Nov 12, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Thank you for shopping with us ladybuglily321. The manufactured recommends using their system. There is a center support and the slats go from the side rails to the center support. I hope this helps. overstockcustomercare1 on Nov 13, 2013
 
I ended up having to take the slats and the metal frame out of the bed and using a box spring and mattress because every night 1 or 2 of the slats would fall out of the holder and practically scare me to death. The external frame still feels sturdy enough, though it does shift a little if you bump into it, but I am very happy with my box spring and mattress on the floor bonline on Dec 13, 2013
 
 

Do you need a box spring for this as well or just the mattress? theinmans13 on Oct 5, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Hello theinmans13, you can use just a mattress. A box spring would also work, but may look a little awkward because it will cover up most of the headboard. I hope that helps. Thank you for shopping with us. overstockcustomercare1 on Oct 7, 2013
 
I used both box spring and mattress. My bed is sturdy and you can still see plenty of the headboard. nikamac on Oct 31, 2013
 
 

If I purchase this bed am I able to purchase extra slats? It is recommended that slats are no more than 3-4" apart MAX, and I see that these are 6.375 inches apart. Perhaps this is why other slats are breaking due to the increased weight on the 13 provided slats? Thanks so much palmerr925 on Sep 25, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Thank you for shopping with us palmerr925. This uses the Euro style slats. The slats are attached from the side rail to the center rail. This comes with a total of 26 slats. We will help you get replacement slats if they break. I will include the information when it becomes available. Have a nice day. overstockcustomercare1 on Sep 26, 2013
 
 

Will this item ship to Hawaii? chadchelsmc on Aug 29, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Hello chadchelsmc, we appreciate your inquiry. Yes, this item can be shipped to Hawaii, however, there is an additional charge to do so. If you add to the cart on the product page and input your address, it will tell you what that charge is. We hope you have found this information helpful. Thank you for shopping with us. Have great day! overstockcustomercare1 on Sep 4, 2013
 
 

Some of you mentioned making modifications to the bed in order to make the slatted platform more stable and secure. Could you please describe what you did in some detail? overstockshopper496 on Aug 2, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Hello overstockshopper496, I'm sorry That information is not available. Thank you for shopping with us! overstockcustomercare1 on Aug 9, 2013
 
 

What is the distance from the ground to the slatted platform? I am trying to determine how far off the ground the mattress will be (from floor to bottom of mattress, or from floor to slatted platform). overstockshopper496 on Aug 2, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Hello overstockshopper496, Your mattress will set 9 inches off the ground. The side rail is 9 inches high. Thank you for shopping with us! overstockcustomercare1 on Aug 9, 2013
 
 

how high is the top of the frame off the ground? I understand there is 4" from the floor to bottom of bed, but how high does the mattress set from the ground? (I am trying to figure out if it will work with my box spring and not be too high). thanks elmisti1 on Jul 17, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

THE PICTURE SHOWN IS ONLY WITH A MATRESS, ADDING A BOXSPRING WOULD COVERUP MORE OF THE HEAD BOARD. I HAVEN'T MEASURED BUT 4" FROM FRAME'S LOWER EDGE TO FLOOR SOUNDS CORRECT, BUT MY CAT FITS. eml on Jul 18, 2013
 
 

Can you please tell me what the slats are made of ? What do the center support legs afix to ? Thankyou londonbird on Jun 15, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

it's like a wood/fiberboard material- seems very sturdy jfranzen10 on Jun 17, 2013
 
plywood stacey93 on Jun 18, 2013
 
There is a steel/ metal post that is screwed to the center of the footboard then 4 support legs are screwed to the bottom of it to keep it up....the slats seem to be made of a very flexible material I'm guessing plywood they're all curved like this ( badtess1 on Aug 18, 2013
 
 

What is the length of the slats when assembled? How many slats are there? reprdh on May 30, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

The slats won't be long enough that they send. I had to have them send me additional ones and even that didn't work. Ended up getting a credit for this bed because I have noone to build anything for this to sit on. Avoid unless you're handy. stacey93 on Jun 1, 2013
 
Hello reprdh, the Sophie Tufted Taupe Velvet Queen-size Platform Bed includes 13 slats. Unfortunately we do not have the exact dimensions of each slat; however they will be roughly 60 inches long. Thank you for shopping with us. overstockcustomercare1 on Jun 5, 2013
 
 

How far off the ground is the bed frame? (bottom of frame to ground) bobeena24 on May 30, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Hi bobeena24, the height from the ground to the bottom of the frame "rails" is approximately 4 inches. Thanks for your interest, hope this helps! overstockcustomercare1 on May 30, 2013
 
Probably about 2-3" You can't put anything underneath it. stacey93 on Jun 1, 2013
 
 

Is this a slatted frame with horizontal center supports with slats no more than 6" apart? bobeena24 on May 28, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Hello bobeena24, There are 13 bed slats that are 6.375 inches apart. Thank you for shopping with us. overstockcustomercare1 on May 29, 2013
 
 

How would you clean the headboard if it gets dirty? ocarpenter on May 26, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Hello ocarpenter, Spot clean with a sponge and cold water. When dry, brush with a coat brush. Thank you for shopping with us. overstockcustomercare1 on May 29, 2013
 
 

I assume that the 13 slats are wooden what is the weight limit on this bed? karenjo1020 on May 22, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Hi karenjo1020, unfortunately this bed has not been weight tested, typically a queen size bed will hold up to 500 lbs. Thanks for your interest, hope this helps! overstockcustomercare1 on May 23, 2013
 
See my other reviews. Me (140lbs) and my dog (150lbs) fell to the floor on day 2. Woke up sideways like a cartoon. stacey93 on Jun 1, 2013
 
 

The black plastic legs that support this bed have broken around their base -- all four of them. Is there somewhere I can order replacement plastic legs? blackplasticlegs on Apr 21, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Thank you blackplasticlegs fpr your question for the Sophie Tufted Taupe Velvet Queen-size Platform Bed. Unfortunately, we don't sell the plastic legs separately. Thank you for shopping with us! overstockcustomercare1 on Apr 26, 2013
 
 

What is the weight capacity for the full size version? leel1 on Mar 20, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Thank you for contacting us, unfortunately we don't carry this bed in full size. I attached the link below to some others. Please let us know if you have any further question. http://www.overstock.com/Home-Garden/Beds/Full,/size,/2013/subcat.html?sort=Top+Sellers overstockcustomercare1 on Mar 26, 2013
 
 

I already have a mattress and a box...can a box fit in this set? alma3 on Jan 24, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

You will not need a box spring since this bed is a platform bed. Please let me know if you have any further question. overstockcustomercare1 on Jan 28, 2013
 
You don't need it, but you could if you wanted to since the headboard is tall enough not to make it look awkward. I took my box spring off and think it looks better as a platform, but I'm short and don't like high beds. jloviee88 on Apr 13, 2013
 
 

Is the headboard detachable? Is it required to keep the frame together? Thanks! junglejulia on Jan 23, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

The head board is not detachable. The head board is required to keep the frame together. overstockcustomercare1 on Jan 24, 2013
 
 

Be the first to ask a question about this product.
Shipping:

Usually leaves our warehouse in 1-2 business days. *

ApoFpo able
Standard Return Policy:

Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More details

FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

Shipping Information:

Our standard shipping method is ground shipping. We also offer expedited shipping for most items. Your final shipping cost and estimated delivery timeframe will be available at checkout.
Standard shipping details
Expedited shipping details

* For your safety, some orders go through our loss prevention department. If we select your order for this process, we will immediately notify you that there may be up to a 3-day delay on your order.

** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.

Buy Now with Bitcoin Learn More