Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 40 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

I purchased three sets from this Sonore Solid Wood Mid-century Style Dining Chair for my dining room and I am thinking of buying two more for my mother. These chairs look amazing with a great design, and the fabric is also high quality. I adore retro style and these chairs fit perfectly into that category. The chairs are not only beautiful but solid enough to last for a long time.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Eye-catching, well-made chairs
 from Newport, RI,  Aug 14, 2011

When I saw these chairs on Overstock, I immediately paused. I was taken by their unique, eye-catching design. I got one set as side chairs but now Iím thinking of replacing my dining chairs with these. They are really comfortable, well-constructed and the walnut color of the wood adds a nice layer of warmth to my home. They arrived well packaged and earlier than expected. Another nice job by Overstock.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid Chairs and very Stylish
 from Alexandria, VA,  Aug 31, 2011

I'm very happy with these chairs. They fit perfectly within my kitchen decor. They were easy to assemble, and very stylish.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? They were the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I have ordered two sets from this Sonore Solid Wood Mid-century Style Dining Chair and I have to say the chairs are amazing. The solid wood matches perfectly with the large oak dining table giving the elegance of classic beauty. The chairs have a great quality and the mid century design gives the charm of this type of furniture. I think I will buy some more sets as they are top quality and affordable.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Light-weight but sturdy
 from nyc,  Jan 26, 2011

Ordered a set of two. Arrived quickly and almost assembled. No damage. Well packaged. All you have to do is attach the seat to the frame. Low profile. Happy with how the look. Was going to order six more but inventory too low.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bought 4, 1 damaged
 from Brighton,  Feb 29, 2012

These are packed without hardly any padding or wrapping inside the box. One of my four chairs had a cracked leg but Overstock was swift in replacing it! It was refreshing to see customer service as competent as Overstock's. Bravo to the people who fixed this problem so quickly and seemingly without effort!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good but packing could be better
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great mid century style shairs
 from philadelphia, pa,  Aug 3, 2011

These chairs are great mid century modern style pieces....really nice walnut color solid wood, nice vinyl seats that are pretty comfortable. I have been eying similar chairs that cost 3X the price. The only downside was that I ordered 6 chairs and 5 arrived in perfect condition while 1 arrived severely damaged. I called overstock and they are going to ship out another chair soon. Would have been great if all of the chairs arrived damage free but given the very affordable price for the quality/style of the other chairs, I am happy overall. As for the color, it is very close to a true walnut....we have 3 solid walnut pieces in our house and the color is almost identical (grain of this wood is different though.)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? true to walnut color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. 5 out of 6 chairs were great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very cheaply made
 from san diego,  Jul 30, 2013

First, I cut myself when pulling them from box on one of the MANY splinters of wood hanging from the bottom. There are places where the supports are underneath where the screw don't come close to meeting the leg, you can see 1/2 inch or so of the screw. Don't think this bodes well for durability. Last, there are screw to screw the seats to the frame, but no holes in the seats. Not sure what to do there. Nothing about these chairs was what I expected.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Much lighter
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Cheap-o
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Look completely different in person
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
too tall
 from tucson,  May 8, 2013

I want to like these chairs but they are very uncomfortable as the seat is too high up and my feet dangle. I am 5'4" so maybe not a problem for most people but I am getting rid of them ASAP. Cute style.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? identical
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very stylish dining chair set
 from Detroit,  Mar 6, 2012

The way the backrests are curved is not the most comfortable for long periods of time but they are beautiful dining chairs. I was missing a couple screws but didn't bother with getting replacements from Overstock. Instead, I used some hardware my husband had lying around and they work great.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great look, cheap chair
 from New York, NY,  Dec 21, 2011

quality was horrible. i ordered 6 chairs. 3 were completely broken (legs or arms missing) and the other 3 were very damaged

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. quality was horrible. i ordered 6 chairs. 3 were completely broken (legs or arms missing) and the other 3 were very damaged
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good description of look, but listen to the reviews!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Arrived broken.
 from sacramento,  Nov 14, 2011

Poor Quality. One chair arrived with the entire back cracked in half. Poorly packed...just thrown in a thin box.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor quality. Very frail frame. Ordered 4. On chair arrived cracked in half.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sonore Mid Century Dining Chair
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Jul 28, 2011

Arrived within 4 days. Wood is very light, not as expected. It came missing parts without instructions or any screws to assemble the chair. When called customer service, they said it will take 1-2 days to contact the part department and maybe they will ship soon. I was expecting a lot more due to all the good reviews. Clearly it was a disappointment for me. Probably will not purchase another chair from O again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Similar
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Wood is light, not high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not the color I was looking for
 from Miami, Fl,  Oct 8, 2013

Chairs are beautiful and sturdy. Howeevr the color online is alot dark than the actual product. Just wasnt what I was looking for but seems like a good product otherwise.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
mid-century chairs needed extra padding
 from NW Ohio,  Sep 8, 2013

I bought 4 of these chairs to use with my antique round dining table in the small space designated for dining in my 1950s ranch home. The black vinyl seat cushions were somewhat thin so I had them reupholstered (and some extra padding added) and they now are very comfortable and look great with the decor in my shared living space. The screws holding the cushions in place continue to fall out (could be from extra padding) so I have left them out. The cushions aren't going anywhere when seated. I only wish the chairs were mid-century quality. But, for the initial price and added investment, overall look good and I don't cringe when my young grandsons put sticky fingers on them. I am consistently pleased with my o.co purchases.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Modern chairs at an affordable price!!!
 from San Diego, CA,  Jun 29, 2013

These chairs are wonderful! But when I received the package, there was a small hole on the side of the box with the end of the back piece of the chair poking through the box. The back of one of the chairs had some paint scuffed off. It wasn't worth sending the entire package (35 lbs!) back so I think I'm going to use some varnish to fix the damage. Other than that, the chairs are great! Just wish the back of the chairs were wrapped a little more securely because it does get jostled in the box during shipping.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The wood is a bit lighter in person than in the photo.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality for the price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate description.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
OK
 from gig harbor, wa,  Jun 13, 2013

Not bad for price. Areas where stain had rubbed off, but not enough to warrant return. Seat bottoms are wood screwed into frame. Stain is more yellow than appears on-line; would describe as more of a teak color as opposed to walnut

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? more yellow
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. About what I expected. Areas where the stain had rubbed off.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great find!
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Jun 2, 2013

These are beautiful chairs and a great buy. My husband put them together and said they weren't the easiest to assemble but I'm glad I bought them.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Wood coloring slightly lighter than what I thought based on the picture.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful Chairs!
 from Northeast Ohio,  May 28, 2013

We are so pleased with these chairs. We were looking for chairs with mid-century modern design, and since we have some Adrian Pearsall originals, we needed whatever we purchased to be of good quality and be able to blend nicely with these classics. The Sonore chairs absolutely do the job! They are sturdy and comfortable. We've gotten nothing but compliments on them.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. These chairs are sturdy and easy to assemble. I would have liked a better quality seat cover material, but given we have 4 grandchildren under the age of 4, the fake leather will wipe up easily and can easily be replaced when the kids are more civilized.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great chairs
 from Old Bethpage, NY,  Apr 4, 2013

I am so glad I bought these chairs. Not only do the look great but are comfortable too.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Wonderful
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 40 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top