Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 21 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great--with a few tweaks!
 from Fresno, CA,  Feb 3, 2010

We love this bed, but we had to make a few adjustments to make it work: 1. Color--It says espresso, but the picture's mahogany color. It's actually gorgeous mahogany wood stained a dark espresso (darker than the picture). It looks almost black with a hint of brown & smooth grain showing through. Looks dark & rich with nice satin finish. (Solid wood frame but flimsy platform slats) 2. Bad Center Support!--It's a short, lightweight piece of wood that runs down the middle of the bed but doesn't connect to anything! It has three legs you screw in, but our bed moved around on our wood floors, and the legs popped out. Then, we weren't even moving, and the center support fell over! We bought rubber gripper coasters for furniture & that seems to work. You have to have the center support or it sags instantly. With the support, the 14 slats seem to hold it fine. 3. Assembly--wasn't bad with two of us (could have done it myself), but we only had about half the screws, and a lot of the holes didn't line up, esp on the center support. We added our own. 4. Height--It's higher than I thought. We didn't use a boxspring, and it was still normal height. It's not high or anything--it's just not low (beware if you have kids that fall out & wood floors!). 5. Seems sturdy now & we love the color. We mixed & matched it with our queen headboard, and it looks great--better than any other higher-priced beds we looked at.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Simple King-size Espresso Platform Bed
 from Washington, DC,  Dec 21, 2010

This bed frame was super easy to put together. I did it myself without the help of my husband. We are very pleased with the look and quality of the frame. The color is rich; one would think it cost three times more then the actual cost. The frame easily supports our quite heavy Tempurpedic king sized mattress. We did not find it necessary to screw in the wooden support beams (unnecessary in my experience with Scan/European style furniture). As soon as the mattress is down, nothing will go anywhere and it will be much easier to take apart should one move. Would absolutely recommend this product!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bed
 from LA, CA,  Jul 6, 2010

This bed is EXACTLY as discribed on the website. The color matches what was pictured / expected and the bed is really easy to assemble. For the price, you can't go wrong. It looks great and is the perfect height. I've been sleeping on it for 2 weeks and have yet to had a problem with the center supports. I'm very happy with this purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good looking and easy to assemble
 from Alden, MI,  Aug 14, 2009

If you don't mind not having a headboard, these beds are great. They are solid wood and are easy to put together. I needed two inexpensive beds for a vacation home that I just purchased and didn't want to spend a ton of money. I saved a lot by only buying the mattress (no box spring) and these platform beds. Good quality and color. Easy to assemble. I recommend!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent choice
 from North Bergen, NJ,  Aug 7, 2012

Bought this bed in king about 1 year ago. Very well made. Love the fact that you can slide containers underneath and have extra storage. Very easy to put together. Highly recommended.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Simple King-size Platform Bed
 from Oregon,  Aug 26, 2011

Nice bed. Very easy to assemble. Nice clean lines. Nice dark color.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very nice quality!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
gorgeous
 Feb 8, 2011

Love it! The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is because you only get 10 screws instead of 24 to secure the slats. I just secured every other one until I can make it to the hardware store to get some that will fit properly. Easy to put together, can support an 18" mattress, and is very sturdy. definately would recommend to anyone.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
value!
 from Sacramento, Ca,  Sep 14, 2010

Bought this in a king size. It arrived quickly, in perfect condition and without incident. It is a very solid piece of furniture. I have a smaller space to fit it into (between door jams and windows and floor vents) and I truly appreciated the conservation of space for an Eastern King bed. I am pretty handy (but still a lady) and even I was able to put it together and fasten the pieces (with help from a friend, as it was so large). If you are looking for a platform bed of high quality and low price, this is it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Inadequate and poor materials
 from Boston, MA,  Aug 5, 2010

When shipped, bad dents on two prominent components of the wood. This is from the poor packaging and shipping. The design is good, but the execution is typically poor offshore final product. There are not enough fasteners for the assembly, although in truth what is provided is likely enough to make the bed rigid. What is really poor? The hidden support lathes and the center support construction. At a price like this (even the best discount price you can imagine) they could build the center posts with better, and longer lags and then wood glue the anchors adequately. My center support has fallen to pieces in less than a month with no reason.... just bad materials and cheap execution of a design. I ended up going to a hardware store, buying some steel angles, wood screws, wood glue and redesigning the entire support feature of the bed. That cost me about two hours and add on another 25 dollars. I would send it back, but it is fixed now. I don't think I'll risk buying any other furniture item from a few bits of information online. I wish I had spent half this much on something from Salvation Army - something that was built 40 years ago.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
ok bed
 from VA,  Jan 31, 2010

This is a cheap bed, but hey it's a pretty good cheap bed. EASY to put together, like 15 min. Looks good and it's a good height with a -11-13 in mattress. Quality? Well i expect some issues with a piece in this price range. The materials are good but ours had some issues, one of the threaded inserts was missing, and the center legs for the king are just crap. NO BIGGIE, I do have to skills to mitigate these small issues and it'll be a fine bed. Be sure to have more 1 3/8 wood screws and a pilot drill when assembling the slats. They only give a few and all the slats really do need to be fastened. The center legs are really worthless, so I'll be making something else for support. You can stack some wood blocks in several spots under the center board and then shim it with wedge shims for a simple fix. When I spend this kid of $ I'm doing it to save money and time and don't mind a little adjustment, yeah I could make this bed myself and it would be great, but spend close to the same $$ but I haven't the time. So I'm satisfied. good luck

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's great as long as you don't sit on it
 from San Luis Obispo, California,  Jul 14, 2009

We've been steadily running into problems with the center supports. On a smaller bed frame perhaps this wouldn't be such a problem, but we have a king sized bed. The center supports have been getting off center and then snapping. Tonight as my husband sat down towards the head of the bed the center beam snapped. It's kind of annoying to have to fix a bed you just bought. Otherwise, it's lovely and was relatively easy to assemble, but we're not thrilled with feeling like it will collapse under us.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A good simple bed! Easy to assemble!
 from Boynton Beach, FL,  Oct 14, 2014

This is just a simple bed. The head and foot are preassembled as are the sides. You simply attach the head and foot to the sides with 2 bolts per corner to create the frame. then you assemble the center support. I suggest you do this last though as our instructions seemed they were for a smaller bed. Or you can attach the center supports to the blank holes on the center beam. Roll the slats out on the rails and line up the first and last holes. The screws didnt line up with holes on each side so we alternated. Finally bolted the center to the slats and their supports and the bed was done! The bed will make creaking sounds when used for activities other than sleeping but nothing horrible or intolerable. That was something we were focused on. All in all, for the money, its a decent bed that gets the job done!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great
 from va,  Mar 20, 2014

I love it... It took a little time putting it together. It was worth it..

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good price for a good bed
 from Fort Worth,  Mar 31, 2012

This is a good bed for the price we paid. We were looking for something simple, and this is definitely simple. The only issue we had with it was assembly. There were some spots where the wood was splintered - not anywhere you can see since the bed would sit on top, but still disappointing to have to glue small bits of wood back to big bits of wood. We've now had it for a few weeks and it's been sturdy and it definitely looks great.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matches
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice surprise
 from Missouri,  Jan 3, 2011

This bed shipped quickly and well supports a heavy memory foam matress. It's very inexpensive for the surprisingly good quality. Great purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

This bed is an incredible value. All wood. Great color (true to website). Easy to assemble. I didn't have any problems with the assembly like others. The holes met up perfectly and if you read the instructions, you do not put screws in each slat, only every other (so they do provide enough hardware). I would no doubt buy this bed again and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a simple, yet very attractive platform bed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it!
 Aug 2, 2010

The bed frame arrived quickly and in great condition.. so easy to put together, looks GORGEOUS in my room, and is quite sturdy. Thnx Overstock!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great price, easy to assemble, looks wonderful
 from Austin, TX,  Jul 30, 2010

I love this bed! I have no complaints. It was very affordable, which is always a good thing. I put it together by myself when my husband was out of town and it was still easy to assemble -- about 1 hr. total, from taking it out of the boxes to assembly to taking the cardboard boxes out to the recycling. Best of all, it feels sturdy and it really looks great. It's a beautiful dark-reddish espresso color, mahogany-esque -- very true to the color on my computer screen.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Real Wood High Quality
 from New Mexico,  Feb 23, 2010

This is a fantastic piece of furniture. Real wood, and high quality wood. Very solid. We already had a headboard that we wanted to keep using, and this has worked out wonderfully! Provides a lot of support with no box springs, but it's not extremely low to the ground either. We can still fit things underneath for storage. Winner. We love it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Platform Bed
 from Hurst, TX,  Aug 9, 2009

The bed looks great and was a great value. I wanted a platform bed without a headboard and this fit the bill. I was surprised at how easy it was to put together. I would definitely recommend this bed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 21 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought