Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 1252 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 63 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Insulated thermal curtains
 from Vermont,  May 18, 2009

A great value! these curtains were so much nicer than I would have expected. The fabric feels like microfiber, instead of the hotel type that has a rubbery backing on it, and it drapes beautifully. The back tabs make it easier to pull the drapes open or closed, rather than the rod pocket--but you have the choice of either of them. I chose the natural beige, which is very neutral in color. I was afraid it would clash with the cream trim in the bedroom, but it doesn't somehow. It does take a little patience to iron out the packaging wrinkles, if that matters to you. The fact that they are machine washable and dryable is a BIG plus! They are also wide enough so that I was able to use one panel on each window (they come in pairs) and drape it to the side. Tiebacks are included, although it does not specifically state that in the ad. Overall, I am very pleased.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Baby and Mom are very happy
 from Pacifica, CA,  Jul 19, 2010

I ordered the navy blue ones for my one-year-old daughter's room. They worked out perfectly. She used to have trouble napping because the wooden blinds in her room allowed virtually all the sunlight in. Also, at her bedtime this time of year, it is still quite bright outside. These curtains saved the day (or night) for us! I didn't need the curtains to be 100% blackout, as these are not. But they really do darken the room considerably. In the mornings when she wakes up (6 to 6:30 am), I can't tell if the sun has risen or not until I open the curtains. As others have mentioned, the curtains look nice too; they have a nice flowing look to them. If you have really high standards about appearance, I would say these are not the curtains for you (i.e.,if you want something special for a formal dining room). Otherwise, these do the job and are just right. I also ordered a 48- to 88-inch telescoping curtain rod (1-inch diameter) from overstock.com. My husband installed it, and said it was pretty simple to install. Once the rod was up, the curtains are a breeze to put on. We used the tabs. The overstock.com website recommends at least twice the width of curtain panels to fit the width of your window. My baby room's window is quite large and has a width of 5 feet. I thought I would have to use two sets of panels, but actually one set of panels works just fine for my taste. Yes, the panels lie kind of flat when completely closed, but honestly, it's the baby room. It doesn't have to be perfect!! And I think they look quite nice! And finally, you can't beat the value. I was considering ordering some custom-made blackout curtains. For the large size of the window, the prices were ridiculous! For materials, labor, and installation for the most basic of blackout curtains, it would have run me $700 and up! I am so thankful I found these on overstock.com! Oh, and I also washed them in the washer and dryer, following the manufacturer's instructions. No problems. I definitely recommend these curtains to anyone requiring darkening of their room.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love These Curtains!
 from Colorado,  Sep 30, 2010

Searched high and low for blackout (not room darkening) curtains, took awhile to find some online that got great reviews. Not only do I love Overstock but I always love the products I get and these curtains were no exception. I bought the Pink curtains in 63" long for my 3 year old daughters room. She desperately needs blackout curtains so that maybe we can all start sleeping in until at least 8 AM on the weekends instead of her waking us up at the crack of dawn because "the sun is up!" as she says. These curtains are soft and came right out of the package with really no wrinkles. They hang beautifully and come with tie backs. The curtains are heavier material and need a sturdy rod. You can hang them either through the top hole for a "crunched" top look or there are also tabs on the back top of the curtains and you can slide the rod through this way to give them a casual look. These curtains black out 99.9% of the room as the package states. There might be a tiny bit of sun that barely seeps through if the sun is beating on your window. We also have mini blinds behind the curtain and when we use them in combo with the curtain my daughters room is completely black.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

Chose to purchase one set of these and use one panel on each of my living room windows, using the tiebacks provided to pull them back for daytime and let them out at night for privacy. These are BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!! Truly plush material. I was concerned about polyester, but these look like a cross between a light velvet and faux suede. SO MUCH better looking and feeling than i ever dared to hope!!!!!!!!!!!!! And using just two panels, one on each window, gives me just the eclectic look i wanted in a room that combines an overstuffed sofa, my family antique wood pieces, and a contemporary chair - also from OS.com. i am absolutely THRILLED with my first purchase, and i ordered on Sun. and got my order on Wed.!!!!!!! AMAZING!!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wheat color?
 from Seeking a cheery cottage look,  Sep 29, 2010

I bought two solid insulated thermal 63-inch blackout panel pairs--one for our family room and one for our bedroom. The Cardinal Red is a beautiful, deep red that matches my home and the on-line color sample. However, the Wheat is no where near the yellow or gold on-line sample. It is plainly Tan. I will be sending them back. Too bad it didn't workout because they are quite nice. The fabric feels silky and after only a few minutes in the dryer all the wrinkles came out. They truly block out any light. I'm very happy with my Cardinal Red pair.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
First Class Curtains
 from Thompson, IA,  Dec 27, 2009

I purchased ALOT of these for my home, because the weather's turned really, really cold, and I was counting on the reviews of others when I ordered. I was HOPING they were as good as everyone said. Nothing prepared me for the wonderful surprise when I opened my box! I ordered beige, black, and burgundy and all were true to my expectations. Not only do they hang wonderfully, but insulate really, really well! As far as blacking out light, they are perfect. I am amazed at how they look like much more expensive drapes, or curtains! Naturally, being folded for packing, I had to iron them, but THAT did not take long at all, and they ironed up BEAUTIFULLY! I would highly recommend them, and I'll be back for more, also!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Curtains
 from California Mountains,  Dec 30, 2009

Nice curtains for the teenagers rooms. Keeps it dark when they want to sleep late (easy to open if I don't want them to). Seems to keep the room warmer from the insulating they provide. I may get some more for other rooms.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great
 from Ontario ,CA,  Oct 22, 2008

I love these Curtains, I have dogs and cats and the hair doesn't stick to them, They look great and they feel great too!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Would buy again and again
 from Weatherford, OK,  Jan 8, 2013

I ordered these curtains for about every room in my house and I love them. They keep the room extremely dark. The only light that is let in is the light that comes from the top because when a curtain is hung on a rod it is a few inches out from the wall or window so yes some light does escape but not because of the curtain. They are very soft and are of a good quality material. There are crease removal directions that come with your product because they are folded up obviously and if you follow the instructions the creases really do come right out!! I am a very indecisive buyer especially when you can't see, hold, and feel a product before purchasing and i read all the reviews and even wondered who was writing the reviews and I am here to say this is a real purchaser and I am very satisfied with these curtains. Also I should add, I did have one small issue, out of 9 panels i purchased 1 had a run down it that is probably a foot to a foot and half long and by "run" i mean kinda like a womens panty hose when they get a run in them or a snag. Anyway, I contacted customer service and I will be receiving a new one in 5-10 business days and a free shipping label to return my defected curtain panel. I really do hope this review helps someone else out who is questioning buying this product. I took a chance, never have ordered from overstock before and I definitely would again. These curtains truly do hold there purpose, great quality, elegant, and are true blackout curtains not to mention they are the same color on both sides not the white on the backside! Go ahead try them and see if you don't like them return them with Overstocks easy return policy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Not the same but similar. The "wheat" like I saw on other posts are more of a tan color with hint of gold but yet still very pretty.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is great. Material doesn't look too shiny, very soft. Elegant looking.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
heavy enough but hideous color
 from vancouver, canada,  Sep 25, 2010

i ordered a set in beige and another in turquoise. the beige looks muddy in color, and the turquoise reminds me of hospital scrubs. curtains are a good weight but the colors are terrible.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
FAB-U-LOUS!!
 from Seattle, WA,  Dec 31, 2009

The pictures on the website look kind of drab, so I was hesitant to buy these... but since Overstock is always great w/ returns, I went ahead and ordered a set of 63-inch + a set of 84-inch in Black. These curtains are FABULOUS!! I was pleasantly surprised to find that they have a nice satin-like look & feel. Definitely more stylish than I thought they'd be. Plus, they really do a decent job with insulation & blackout. I would highly recommend these, if you're looking for style @ a good price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Nice
 from Long Island, NY,  Jun 25, 2009

I bought these curtains a few weeks ago. Arrived ready to hang straight out of the package, no problems with wrinkles. I ordered the olive and the color is off just a bit from the picture on the website, it's a bit more on the tan side, not quite as dark a green as I had hoped but still went with the decor so I kept them. Very nice quality material, extremely soft to the touch. I replaced the blackout shades in my sons room with these and was worried they wouldn't block enough light (since he likes to sleep in a cave!) but they worked wonderfully. I would definetly recommend them to anyone looking for blackout or thermal curtains. Just be aware the color (at least the olive) may be off a bit.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Blackout really works!
 from Indiana,  Apr 21, 2008

I purchased this set of curtains for our TV room, and they really work. We have a window facing West, and in the afternoon, even with light-blocking shades, we still got a reflection on our TV. These curtains totally blocked all light from the window, and now it's as dark as night in the room even during the day. It makes our daytime TV viewing much more enjoyable. The curtains hang nice, and the color is great. I bought the beige color, and it is actually a very pale beige, almost off white, but looks great and blends well with other tan, blue, and even white tones. It is very neutral, so I believe it would go with any color. The "packaging wrinkles" ironed out easily without pre-washing them. Most I've tried had to be laundered or dry-cleaned prior to hanging just to get these wrinkles out, but not these! A warm iron did it in a matter of minutes. That in itself impressed me! I highly recommend these, as I've never found a blackout curtain that hangs so nice, is such easy care, and actually work!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice curtains. Good quality.
 from Michigan,  Mar 27, 2012

These are nice, just as described. They keep out light and sound and drafts. I would have liked a lighter color. I ordered beige, would like to see these in an off white or ivory color.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? it was accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Blocks light and looks good
 from Boston, MA,  Feb 7, 2012

These curtains are exactly as advertised in my opinion. I purchased the black ones for my bedroom because I have bright streetlights outside my window at night, plus traffic noise and bright light in the morning. These block out light amazingly well—to the extent that when I wake up I have to look at my alarm clock to verify the time because it looks like night-time even in the morning. Perfect! Not only do they function well, but I really like the luxe material—it feels like a velvety sateen. Maybe the black ones are different from other colors, but I imagine them all to be similar in look and feel. They do need to be air-dryed or ironed to get the packaging wrinkles out, but this isn't a big deal. Another thing to note is that they have no smell—alot of thermal/blackout curtains have an odor from the lining. These do not at all. I highly recommend!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very fine
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Finally truth in advertising
 from Baltimore, MD,  Jun 26, 2008

I just moved into a very sunny apartment (windows facing due east and due west with no buildings obstructing sunlight), and tried in vain to find blackout curtains that actually blacked out the light. On my third attempt, I found these, and they are just fantastic. Truly block out the light, but also look and feel better (softer, more attractive, no white foam backing) than the other so-called blackout curtains I tried. Also, the back-tabs make it easy to hang tastefully on either curtain rods or tension rods - it doesn't look scrunched like other simple rod curtains do. This really is a terrific buy. Well worth my money.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Outstanding Value
 from Westlake, OH,  Feb 13, 2008

I bought these drapes for two reasons to block light and for insulation. My bedroom blinds don't keep out any light, and I was having trouble sleeping, especially during the long summer days, These drapes have been perfect for the job and are quite attractive, BUT color is not white like in the picture. It is more of a dark beige, which I don't really like, but they look nice enough. They "drape" very nicely and don't have that tacky foam backing you find on other insulating drapes. They were very easy to hang - I just bough a simple rounded pole. They have "loops" on the back so you don't have to fuss with curtain hooks and pleating. The material is very unique and very soft. They are high quality and stitched very nicely. Overall, I'm pleased with this purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Black out success!
 from Boston, MA,  Feb 13, 2014

We bought a bunch of these thinking they would work for our living room. They did not. We sent them back but kept one pair and use them in our son's room. They really do the black out job amazingly. If they are closed, and the door is closed, we have absolutely no idea where we are in the room hahah and the baby sleeps like a dream! The color (we bought the royal blue ones) and texture of the curtains meant they were really overpowering to look at in our small rooms and became a huge focal point for our eyes. I need to get some curtains (2 pairs) for my daughter's room, and will likely get some of these based on the fact I know they work, I am just hesitant because the color/texture thing means I know they will take over the room. These curtains also came with tie backs, which I don't think was mentioned in the listing. Also, always nice to buy curtains in a pair. A great price for curtains that actually work and block out the light and are not totally made of plastic, which we found some brands are. These are very soft man made fiber, with no plastic backing at all.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
satisfied
 from Toms River, NJ,  Jun 26, 2014

good bang for your buck. that is where i normally would end my review but this is requesting fifty words so here i ramble. the curtains block out the sunlight - in the grey color. can't say the seems etc. are all symmetrical and sewn well but it's better than what i would have produced ;)

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Blackout Curtains
 from NC,  Dec 24, 2013

When renovating a bedroom, I replaced the blinds with blackout curtains to improve sleeping conditions. The soft fabric drapes very nicely and the curtains are easy to open and close using the tabs. They are an attractive, useful addition to the room - very effective at keeping out the light when closed yet very attractive when open during the day.The gray color I ordered looks great with the Cathedral Stone paint on the walls, with the curtains having just the tiniest tinge of blue-gray, yet working exceptionally well with the walls. The ample panel size enabled me to use one pair of curtains for each pair of windows, and one panel each on the remaining two separate windows, making it an economical plan as well as an attractive one. I am definitely pleased with my purchase!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 1252 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 63 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top