Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 117 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
a modernist classic for a pragmatist's price
 from Edison, NJ,  Jun 11, 2011

This bench is a good copy of designer George Nelson's famous 1946 platform bench, which is a landmark of modern design. The clean, rectilinear lines reflect designer George Nelson's architectural background and his insistence on what he called "honest" design - making an honest visual statement about an object's purpose. For a fraction of the price of the original, I have exactly what Nelson intended in my home -- a multipurpose display and resting place that looks great in virtually any situation. Thank you, Overstock, for carrying this modernist classic for a pragmatist's price!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great value
 from Minnesota,  Oct 7, 2011

for the money it is hard to beat this bench table. It is extremely useful because it serves as a table and is strong enough to support 3 people as a bench. Nothing cheap or flimsy about this unit. I have all the confidence in the world that this piece will not break apart from too much weight on it. If you are looking for a european knockoff, this piece will certainly fit the bill.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? colors matched the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. product build quality is great for the money
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Incroyable! Parfait!
 from Chicago,  Aug 13, 2011

Okay. Here’s the deal. This is a really, really, really well fabricated reproduction of that famous icon of modern design, the George Nelson bench. I have been looking at other repros for many times the price and decided to get this one because of past great experiences with Overtstock. I am so happy I did. This is constructed just as well and looks just as good as other repros that are much more expensive. Incredible deal!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Slat bench in natural
 from Wisconsin,  May 17, 2013

I liked the look of the bench. However, de-laminating paint after less than a year is unacceptable. I purchased three benches to sit side by side, and each bench is slightly different in height. I decided to accept this, but it is strange that each bench is slightly wonky. However, the de-laminating paint is the real problem. I don't want to have to remove paint from all three benches and then re-paint. Big pain. Big time problem. Furniture should last more than 10 months!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? similar
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor. One bench arrived broken. Overstock replaced it. However, in less than 10 months the black paint on the legs began to buckle and peel. It was not mistreated in any manner. Overstock refused to accept return or repair, etc.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? pretty accurate. However, the product had strong outgassing smell.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Simplicity and naturalness
 from Boston,  Oct 5, 2011

Not only had the great and simple look caught my eyes but the natural elegance of this bench also. The classic wooden bench gives the natural atmosphere for my living while it is a great addition to the decor. It is comfortable to sit on, it is easy to clean and it looks fantastic. I ordered one into the hall also as the price was low I managed to buy more than one. Simplicity and naturalness makes this bench so unique and fine.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love This!
 from FL,  Mar 14, 2011

I can't tell you how much I love this bench! It did arrive with a very minor ding (probably due to shipping) but will easily be fixed with wood glue when I get around to it. It fits in perfectly in my semi-modern home. I did expect it to be a bit taller (rather low to the ground) but still absolutely in love with it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sorta Kinda
 from Northern, Michigan,  Mar 3, 2011

The bench arrived quickly, but the box was damaged. Everything inside was okay. The bench is much, much darker than the photo suggests. Its brown...not "natural". The original nelson bench is made of solid maple..this looks to be oak stained brown. The holes did not match up perfectly, but with some work I was able to get all screws in place (The key is to make sure the leg agles match) No directions were given, but it was pretty simple to figure out. Anywho, it is far from the original- there is no joinery - its all tacked, but it doesn't look terrible, it just is obviously not the original. Thinking this should have been in the one hundred dollar price point. Sad that the color is off, but I am able to use it somewhere else so I am keeping it and painting it. If you are looking for a good knock-off...this is not it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Average quality..
 from United States,  May 23, 2014

I like the look of the bench but they seem to have a quality control issue. I've spotted several problems with my bench, there are dents throughout the wood and there's even a tack coming through the side of one of the slats. It's also not very heavy and tips easily.. My two year old can knock it onto its side..

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it!
 from Los Angeles, CA,  May 19, 2014

easy to assemble. looks like an original ****** ****** bench, but costs way less!. so happy with this purchase!

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Attractive, but tippy
 from New York,  Apr 26, 2014

I love the look of this bench. Very classic and attractive. Unfortunately, two people have managed to tip it over by sitting on the end of the bench. with the stands about a foot in from either side, it will tip right over when weight is put on the ends. Fortunately no one was hurt, but they certainly could have been.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

Good copy, solid wood, only lacqured on the top, not the bottom or in between slats. The bottom legs are wood too, so its not very heavy. So if you sit on the edge or on the side it will tip over. Nice as a decorative bench, but if you plan to sit on it all the time, probably not a good bench. I need to add metal weights to the bottom legs so they don't tip over so easily.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good wood, nice color
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poorly made & damaged
 from LA,  Dec 13, 2012

The idea of this bench is great, but the reality is that it's shoddily made: one of the planks on the seat was much lighter than the rest, which looked really odd. Also, the planks were pulling way from the cross beam - I was surprised to find that they aren't glued or nailed in place, they just sit in there held by gravity. Add to that, the corner was crushed in transit. Nice idea, but not worth the money.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Darker; also one of the slats was a totally different color than the others
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor workmanship
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good except the wood is darker
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Slat bench in natural
 from Seattle,  Jan 27, 2012

The holes pre-drilled in the bench do not match up well with the legs you have to attach. Needed to take it into my shop and re-drill the holes. Not recommended.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Darker
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Knock-off
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect addition to any foyer or hallway
 from Charlotte, NC,  Oct 4, 2011

Children love to get muddy on rainy days. After my daughter’s first run-in with a puddle, I purchased this bench for my foyer. It is the perfect height for her to sit on and take off her shoes. It also provides a place to lay her bag when she gets home from school. Easy to clean, which is very helpful.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact wood tone
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. holds up to even jumping kids
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? absolutely accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful bench, perfect fit
 from Boston, MA,  Sep 30, 2011

we love the bench. it is exactly what we were looking for. easy to put together and sturdy once assembled.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? on target
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. seems solid
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? on target
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice!
 from Athens, GA,  Sep 7, 2010

I bought two of these knock-off pieces for less than you can buy one real one! Two of these pushed together looks really great, so I really suggest buying two if you even suspect that you would like that look but are worried about the quality. The quality and finish are good - better than expected, in fact. Assembly is easy (3 parts, 8 allen bolts), but a bit slow for the outer bolts where you can only turn the (included) allen wrench half turns at a time due to the legs. Oh well, it wasn't THAT slow. The parts were well packed and well protected. Delivery was swift (via FedEx) and the boxes were undamaged. I am extremely pleased with this purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Deal for the Price
 from Phoenix, Arizona,  Jan 31, 2010

I bought this knock-off Nelson bench to use as a coffee table in my small apartment. It replaced a two-part coffee table from a furniture store that was too large and dark for the room, and which was, after a couple months, already showing wear. The bench is working out really well. It makes the room feel more open. My living room is an eclectic blend of mid century, antique, and modern, and it fits in really well. I put an antique silver tray on it for setting glasses, and the slats don't interfere with its use. When I want to rest my feet on it, I use a throw pillow. It's also pretty lightweight so I can move it easily for living room workouts. I suppose the lightness could be a problem if you have small kids or something, but I don't, so it's an asset to me. My only complaint is that four out of the eight holes for attaching the legs don't line up. Since I don't use this bench for sitting, and I don't tend to be hard on my furniture, this doesn't really bother me right now, but if I use it as a bench down the road, I'll probably end up drilling new holes. It's kind of a pain, and for the price I would at least expect the holes to match, but I can cope. Some reviewers mentioned that it should be in the 150$ area, but compared my previous set of coffee tables and end tables ($450 for the set) , I don't think the price is bad. Wish I had just bought this in the first place! Plus, can't beat the shipping and quick delivery.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
black slat bench
 from Oklahoma,  May 7, 2009

The paint job on this bench is inferior. The bench was easy to put together but I am definitely disappointed in how it looks because of the bad paint job.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Total failure
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Mar 28, 2009

This thing can't even be assembled. The holes don't match up. Overstock won't respond. You certainly do get what you pay for.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect bench for us
 from San Luis Obispo, CA,  Jul 4, 2014

Watched this item for over a year. Fast shipping. Very well packaged. No damage. Easy to assemble. (8 bolts) No marks or blemishes. Fantastic price. Beautiful modern classic piece! Had it for 2 weeks now. Bench is perfect in our entryway. Love how light from our light panels can still be seen through the slats of the bench versus a solid piece of furniture. The wood is beautiful, even shades of wood chosen for the slat pieces. (No darker pieces) Bench did lift slightly on end once so far- 2 guests were on one half of bench. They got up fast so no one fell. Was not a big deal. It is not too low as I thought it might be. (It's the height of our fireplace hearth.) Overstock Customer Service was exceptional for this day and age, truly helpful, caring, friendly. Totally happy with entire experience, this was my firs purchase from Overstock.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 117 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Mid-century Bench
Sale $85.49
Was $94.99
(1)
Slat Bench in Black
Today $190.99
(41)
Back to top