Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 41 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Bench
 from TN,  Jul 9, 2008

I purchased this bench in the natural wood color - not the black that's pictured here. Because the bench I purchased sold out again, I'm not able to leave a review, except for this item. I still cannot believe I was able to purchase this bench - an exact replica of the Nelson bench - for this price. It's simply stunning. Very easy to put together, is perfect in the front room, or any room in the house. My only issue...only one was left and I couldn't buy another one.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Right on!
 from California,  Jul 27, 2011

Who needs to buy an original super-expensive **** bench when you can get this ridiculously low priced copy on Overstock? This is just like the real thing. Clean lines, tightly constructed, beautifully stained -- itís got everything the original does except the highway robbery price point. Gotta love Overstock! You guys did it AGAIN! Thanks to you, my home looks like a modernist museum for a fraction of the price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A classic design for a nice price
 from LAkewood, CA,  Jul 15, 2011

This is a high quality reproduction of an iconic mid-century design -- the George Nelson hardwood platform bench originally designed in 1946. This beauty is stylish, versatile and functional. Itís a coffee table. Itís a bench. The beautiful architectural lines come together perfectly to create an utterly modern and timeless design. I love this piece so much, it has become a real centerpiece in my apartment. For the price, you really canít go wrong with this piece.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
wonderful
 from houston,  Apr 1, 2011

My living room looks amazing with this Slat Bench in Black. The great style and the classic design matches perfectly with every piece of furniture. My living is a bit classic looking, so this black bench is the perfect solution for a classy decorative element. I put magazine racks under the bench and I have to say it fits. You do not have to sit on this high quality piece to decide that is wonderful. It is enough to look at it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy and I love it!
 from Stuart,  Apr 6, 2009

I made my own cushion to customize the look. You can't go wrong with this item, it's half the price of the competitors. I'm so happy with my purchase, I'm thinking of ordering one for my daughter's house too.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Peeling paint at all the joints
 from Dallas, TX,  Jul 25, 2008

Being that the entire look of this bench is built upon craftsmanship, this item falls WAY short of my expectations. The joinery where the actual seat is looks like my 2 year old child painted it. The black paint is peeling away and worst of all it arrived that way. I can only imagine what it will look like after a little wear- scary! I have not decided if I want a replacment at this point as I feel this problem is most likely a manufacturing issue. I am very disappointed as I have always loved buying from Overstock. :(

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Quality
 from Buckeye, AZ,  May 24, 2014

Although a few minor dings, great quality! Nothing a little stain marker can't fix! This piece is very solid. Although true to size, it does seem pretty large and substantial. I would place the style as modern or traditional. It would go well mixed with rustic or industrial styes.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice bench
 from Cleveland Oh,  Jun 20, 2013

Nice bench. Long enough for the end of a king bed. (Many others were too short) going to get a cushion for the top for more comfort

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good color match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
well worth it the right choice
 from hollywood,ca,  May 11, 2013

I love it so much looks great at my midcentury Palm springs home Cant beat the price no dissappointments

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. wonderful
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? same
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Makes a great coffee table, too
 from New York, NY,  Mar 4, 2013

We use this bench as a coffee table and as backup extra living room seating in a Manhattan apartment, it's great for both purposes. We are having a piece of glass cut to fit the top to dress it up a little and prevent small items from slipping through the slats.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It's very functional and sturdy as both a table and a bench. The stain job is a little weka in a few spots.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
a stylish addition
 from san francisco,  Jan 10, 2013

This black slat bench is a really stylish addition to my hallway. I just purchased a great end table where I can keep the keys, bills and phone, and now I ordered this bench for display. The price was really affordable and the quality great. The piece is solid and durable, I sometimes sit on it when taking off my shoes. Really happy I have you guys.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
perfect for the pool
 from boston,  Jan 7, 2013

We just finished our indoors pool area and needed some useful pieces on which we can sit and leave the towels. Our children love staying there together with their friends so a few chairs would not have been enough. This is why I ordered four benches. They are great; large, spacey, durable and really comfortable.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
really great catch
 from boston,  Jan 4, 2013

I expected lower quality for this price, but fortunately I was wrong. The benches ordered arrived in the best possible quality and they look even better than on picture. They are stable and solid, really comfortable and looking amazing in the hallway.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice bench with a great look
 from Miami, FL,  Dec 30, 2012

I bought two of these benches. One of them is backyard and the other is in my den.For a bench, this piece is very comfortable to sit on. One of the great things about this bench is that it isn't too high. My toddler climbs on and off the bench with ease. The legs are very strong and sturdy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color has no difference from on the one posted
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect!
 from Seattle, WA,  Dec 28, 2012

This is really a great bench, It can be used in your living room or your yard. Great presentation and well-built. You can never go wrong with getting furniture in the color black, it made matching it with my other furniture simple.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. No complaints here
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great investment
 from PA,  Dec 21, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised with how great this bench was when it arrived. I didn't have to put it together and it isn't heavy at all. A really great modern piece of furniture that won't take away from your vintage items.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. superb
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great for outdoor use
 from miami,  Dec 18, 2012

I ordered a few black benches for the garden. They are really stable and really natural, just simple and comfortable. The look is really charming and natural, just as wanted. The benches are great when we have guests as we have enough seating options outside and the children love hem also. Solid, massive and durable, all on a highly affordable price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
excellent service
 from san francisco,  Dec 17, 2012

I wanted these benches outside in the garden, but did not know if they were suitable for outdoor use. This is why I asked for help from teh staff and they were really helpful and kind. I received all the advise and opinion needed so I ordered three benches. Now they look amazing outside in the garden and they are really solid, stable and durable just as I was advised. Excellent quality and service. Thanks.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
really functional and simple
 from chicago,  Dec 14, 2012

We ordered three benches outside on the porch. They are really simple, useful and elegant. Now we have enough space to sit outside when our friends come over and we spend the warm evenings outside with food and drinks. Service was really great and the staff helpful. Perfectly easy to clean and handle.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice copy of a Nelson bench
 from New England USA,  Dec 5, 2012

I've always wanted a Nelson slat bench, but refuse to pay over $1000 for an original. I see "new" ones are being made & cost around $800, so this is a perfect solution. I put it either in front of the fireplace, or I use as a coffee table. I have another black slat bench in my hall that is an original, but made by another company of that era. It has peg style legs and was likely what people with less money bought back in the day when they wanted to achieve this look. So, this bench looks fabulous but, I 've been warned by our designer-daughter not to sit on it as she thinks it would split in two if someone sat in the middle, so this is something to consider. There must be a reason this is so very inexpensive! If someone has sat on theirs, I would love to know....

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good but haven't sat on it.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 41 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Stratford Slat Bench
Today $126.99
(39)
Bauer Wood/ Iron Bench
Today $849.99
Mid-century Bench
Today $94.99
(1)
Back to top