Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 140 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Cute and very useful
 from Mid-Atlantic,  Jan 16, 2011

Had been considering this cabinet for weeks and finally purchased in the white. I consider myself an experienced furniture assembler who enjoys it and my home is crammed with "rustic" assembled pine furniture, so I discounted the remarks about "wobbliness" and other issues. Well, pride goes before a fall. While made of very soft, lower grade pine with plenty of filler, there seems to have been some care done in the design and assembly instructions. The hardware is various, the cams are strong but the additional screws strip easily. For the most part, holes were drilled correctly, more or less. I coped with 1) Big holes for the thin dowels were lavishly filled with wood glue, but at least all the holes were drilled deeply enough. 2) Re-drilled enlarged cam holes were off in 2 spots, so when the cams were tightened the wood split a bit, also glued 3) Off-drilled pilot holes for the doors - by deliberately forcing the screws I got the doors more or less straight, but the cheap hinge design doesn't allow for adjustment. In the future I may replace the hinges and the plastic shelf pins (I added 1 inch L brackets already top and bottom for more stability). 4) A knob pulled off immediately - there is a little metal collar in the knob to hold the screw, bu the pine is so soft it just pulls out - replaced with longer wood screw. When assembly was over, I had a headache, an eye twitch, and had to go lay down for a while. But, you get this together and it is just so gosh-darned cute, fit the space in my tiny kitchen perfectly, the 5-foot height is great as it fits under fixed shelving and you can put stuff on top, and it's real wood - now assembled I am very happy with it. With all the issues there are a lot of good things to say, like the pre-drilled holes in the pressboard back, the sides are not plywood, the holes were mostly drilled correctly and it went together square (no pounding with a rubber mallet), nice cream color, well-packed, good instructions, holds tall juice bottles etc., and the nice paneled doors. So I'd say purchase this with the reservation - have wood glue on hand, experience is useful, and so is having extra misc. hardware and tools. Definitely a rustic piece with a lot of charm when assembled - also fast ship from Overstock.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Only ok
 from Darien, CT,  Apr 8, 2009

I just received this extra-tall cabinet in the antique white color and I'm not 100% happy with it. It has a crack in the wood in the lower door, which if I didn't have to ship all the way back, I would have returned. The bottom is also yellowed and it is top heavy, so much that it fell over while I was screwing the backside in and could have been a disaster had not someone been there to catch it for me. The top heaviness could definitely be an issue unless you put some heavy stuff maybe in the bottom. But, overall, its ok for the price and the fact that it is real wood is a plus. I wouldn't buy another, but its good enough to keep and not go through the hassle of sending back. If you are looking for cheap storage in a small space, then it is probably fine for that.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not worth the money.
 from Denver, co,  Oct 16, 2011

Very poorly made product. Wood is bowed. Front door is cracked. Not sturdy. Top heavy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very poor!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Pleased
 from Atlanta, GA,  Nov 6, 2011

I was very pleased with this product. I did not find the assembly as difficult as other reviewers, but there definitely were a few pre-drilled holes that were slightly misaligned. However, the extra effort to overcome these minor flaws was well worth it. The cabinet works well for my purposes and looks great.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Extra-tall Pine Cabinet
 from georgia,  May 8, 2009

the pine cabinet is very nice, not bulky and easy to fit together, real pine wood and doesnt look out of place with the other furniture if you have a small apartment and it cannot fit in the kitchen.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for dry goods and cans in the kitchen
 from Seattle,  Oct 5, 2011

Nice cabinet in my kitchen. The white stain used is OK, but will at least make good basecoat if I decide to repaint it later. There were no assembly instructions in the box, but it went together easy anyway.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Worth the price paid. One door knob was stripped so all had to be replaced.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good for the money
 from Hoover, AL,  Sep 28, 2011

The cabinet was a bit unstable, but with a few extra screws and some wood glue that issue was taken care of.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality for the money. Had to add some extra screws to stabilize the cabinet.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
wood tall cabinet
 from Saginaw, MI,  Feb 12, 2014

It is solid pine, except for the back which is hardboard. The instructions leave something to be desired. There are no written instructions, just sequential pictures showing assembly. This would be fine except some key pictures are wrong! Looks like they inverted the picture negative and the resulting picture drawing in the "instructions" are backwards. Just look at the finished picture, look at the well marked parts and just chunk your way through it. It is 1/2 inch pine of average cottage quality which is several steps above the particleboard usually used. Get a tube of carpenters glue, don't over tighten screws, glue the dowels and fillet all the joints. With patience this will assemble into a very attractive cabinet.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor quality control
 from New York,  Oct 2, 2013

I ordered this cabinet from Overstock two years ago and wanted to get another one for extra storage. This one is not as good. The doors don't line up or close properly. There is a big space in the front and the magnetic closures don't work.I am very disappointed as I thought this would be as good as the first one I ordered.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Do Not Buy!
 from North Carolina,  Jan 27, 2013

I took my mine in putting this together to ensure I was doing it correctly. The end product came out wobbly, can't believe I paid over $200.00 for this cabinet. The individual wood pieces have marks within the wood, in some cases they look like a crack is going to form all the way through. Where the hinges get attached and the backing, there are not any "starter" marks for the screws. The back bends if something is pressed against it. Now that I have stuff in it, the bottom draws scrap up against the top of the shelve above it, they did not prior to things being in the cabinet. The shelves are not loose or bowed, so I am not sure why this is happening.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is similar to the photo
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor quality, the wood has many marks in it.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurrate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very disappointed
 from Oklahoma,  Sep 12, 2011

The doors do not fit properly. The top doors must be opened and closed at the same time or you can't close them at all. The bottom doors do not close completely as one of them does not fit properly. Very disappointed in the quality.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fine
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not what was expected
 from Paris, Tn.,  Sep 22, 2013

I was not under the impression that this " cabinet" would be so small. It says " extra tall" and I assumed it would be just that, tall but with adequate room to put things into it to store. It is just a tall skinny cabinet. It is pretty but definitely not what I would pay $200+ dollars on

Average
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
don't waste your money
 from south carolina,  Mar 18, 2013

purchased this as extra storage in the kitchen. it looks so bad it will go into the garage. several of the pieces are warped to include the top, which looks just terrible with a 1/4" gap toward the center. the doors have major gaps between them so you can see what is inside. the longer doors stick out about 1/2" at the bottom, as in they do not close flat. ran out of screws to put the backing on. i went ahead and glued the dowels as i went thinking it would help with the stability but no luck. the thing wabbles so badly i am afrain to put much into it. total waste of money and time for what i wanted. too much trouble to return it. hopefully i can find a spot in the garage fot it, if not you can look for it at a local thrift store.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. pieces were warped. not enough hardware pieces.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? average.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pine extra tall cabinet
 from Ellendale, ND,  Mar 11, 2013

I am very disappointed with this cabinet. First, the color is not a pine color like the picture, much darker. Second I ended up having to add extra screw holes to the cabinet, because there were missing pre-drilled holes. Third, when the final steps were taken and the doors attached, they did not fit nice without sanding the tops down some. Fourth, the back is not one solid piece, so there is a slot down the center of the back and you can see light through to the back when you have the doors open. I would not buy this product again, I feel like I could have spent a little more and gotten a way better, quality product. If you are looking to have this out in the open where visitors can see it or plan on using it daily, then spend a bit more money for a better product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? far off
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Was not impressed
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Close
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cabinet
 from Jacksonville Fl,  Nov 30, 2012

this is a decent size cabinet. assembly was easy . Just be careful with back panel, It may lead to being installed upside down. Qverall a good product for the money.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Complete Disaster
 Aug 21, 2014

It was a complete disaster attempting to put this item together. The screws, bolts, nuts, etc. that came with the item would not hold the item together. Two of my brothers, which are tall and medium built and I could not get the item to stay together; it simply kept falling apart. Finally, my borhters went to the store and got additional nails and screws and were then able to put the item together. The back of the cabinet is sheet wood and should be placed directly against a wall to safely secure your items. I will recommend getting more sturdy wood if available to replace the back. The item is beautiful and for now it is serving its purpose although I am not sure I will be able to take it with me when I move within the next year. My goal was for this item to last about 3 to 5 years.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
**** not worth the money!!!
 from Crossville, TN,  Jul 3, 2014

The cabinet puts you in mind of the*** pressboard cabinet you can get at *** Very poor quality!! Extremely disappointed in this purchase!

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nothing good about this item
 from Arizona,  Feb 2, 2014

Color not as shown. Assembly instructions impossible. Parts did not line up. Some were warped. Horrible quality.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
flimsy, not worth it
 from beverly, ma,  Feb 1, 2014

I like the cabinet for extra space in kitchen, but so flimsy. The cabinet doors don't align properly (design not person putting it together), so the magnets don't line up. The knobs fall off every day, have to use elastics on the knobs to keep the doors shut. Should have returned it. definitely not worth the money

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dont waste your money
 from Missouri,  May 23, 2013

Dont waste your money. Not hardwood as described. It had bad places in the particle board. When nails were nailed in it splitter the boards. Sent it back.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very cheap material, it splitterd when the nails were driven in.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? not accurate. ..site said hardwood. It had paper board for the back.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 140 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Simple Living Tall Cabinet
Sale $122.75
Was $136.39
(127)
Nantucket White Distressed Finish Pantry
Today $472.96
Compare $699.00
Save 32%
(49)
Arts and Crafts Pantry
Today $395.28
Compare $820.99
Save 52%
(8)
Single Door Cabinet with Flat Panel Wooden Doors
Add to cart to see special price
(7)
Back to top