Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 50 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
mei 123
 from Mei iowa,  Aug 21, 2012

I bought this writing desk a few days ago. Despite their fast shipping, this writing desk is very easy to put them together. The desk is not that small, it still has space available after I put my laptop there and other paper works. Since I donít have that much room available in my bedroom, it fits perfectly in my room with limited space. I really recommend it to people who want a comfortable workplace with a little space.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor Directions and Quality
 from Salt Lake City Utah,  Jan 9, 2014

The directions and hardware were some of the worst I have ever dealt with-and I have assembled numerous pieces of furniture. It had some worn places on the finish and the wood is soft and the hardware bubbles the wood when assembling. I needed this table for an office utility closet. It will not be seen by anyone but the computer guy, so I am keeping it because I had the exact square inches where it fit.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I've been working on Step 1 for two hours, and I still haven't gotten it put together. And I'm the handy one in the house. Ugh. Miniscule diagrams with poor labeling of parts. I'm having to take a break, and I thought I would be nearly done by now.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Black X Writing Desk
 from Austin, TX,  Jul 30, 2013

I received the desk a few days after I purchased but when I opened the box (which was badly beat up), some of the wood pieces were damaged. The wood on some of the pieces is flimsy. In addition, the instructions were not clear whatsoever so I can see the frustration other purchasers had. The picture looks like a high-quality sturdy desk, but it's very light weight wood.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Correct Color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? OK
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Once its assembled it looks great, but the screws that came with it were very poor quality and broke. We ended up using different screws. Also the assembly instructions are awful, Luckily my husband figured it all out by himself. For someone who is not that handy you will definitely have problems putting it together. In our case it would have been more trouble to return it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect Small Desk
 from Henderson, NV,  Mar 12, 2014

I needed a computer desk but had a limited area & this desk fit perfectly. It took about an hour to assemble & I'm very pleased with it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good buy
 from Lynchburg, VA,  Oct 9, 2013

The only complaint I have about this desk is that the drawers don't pull out smoothly. Other than that, I would recommend this product for small spaces, as a desk, entryway table, or vanity for your bedroom. I purchased two to use as laptop desks in an office space. They look great sitting side-by-side.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
MUST HAVE A TON OF PAITIENCE!
 from New York!,  Jul 14, 2013

Nice looking table...BUTTTTT BEWARE: This table LOOKS like it should be easy to put togehter...IT'S NOT! There are NO written instructions; just pictures (with over 50 kinds of bolts, dowels and screws. The most frustrating was not knowing how to separate the drawer glides (that alone tooks 50 minutes). Totally frustrated putting this simple looking table together. We actually finished and noticed 2 pieces hadn't been put on, but the desk works fine without them. The desk looks adorable, but not worth the frustration of putting it together.. PIck something else!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't do it
 from Laurel, DE,  Apr 4, 2013

Once the desk was FINALLY assembled, it was adorable. It looks just like the picture (except for the paint that we chipped off during a volitile assembly). I dont think I have ever seen my husband so angry or curse so much as when he put this together. He is an intellegent and handy guy and he was ready to throw this peice out the window. The instructions were apparently horrendous and there were so many little pieces. When we thought we were finally done, the drawer didnt line up and he had to reconfigure it. A total of about 3 hours from start to finish. I do love the finished product, but would not go through that headache again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great SMALL desk
 from Boulder, CO,  Jan 30, 2013

Pros: Fits in the spot I have perfectly at 30" wide. Sturdy construction once together Black color is standard and matches all other black furniture Cons: It was a bit tricky to put together by myself. (I did have to enlist my kids to help balance a couple of pieces) The drawer sits in about 1/8" too far (but that's just my OCD liking drawers to be flush with the rest of the desk) Desk surface is a bit smaller than expected at 28 3/4" x 20" (legs make it a 30" width) Pleasantly surprised at how well the desk works for the price. A great deal if you are looking for a small work station

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Actual color is represented
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awful to assemble
 from Atlanta, Georgia,  Jan 30, 2013

I liked the style of the desk and thought the size would be perfect for the bedside space. When we got this out of the box to assemble I knoew it was going to be a challenge. I usually do the assembly on products that I purchase. I was stumped with ths one. There were lots of small pieces and te directions left much to be desired. It took my husband nd I almost 2 hours to put this one together. Not everything lined up perfectly. This desk is cheaply made and while it looks OK I don not exptect that it will last very long with any use. If you only want it to hold a lamp you may be OK. I would not recommend this product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Black color was true
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very well built
 from middletown, new york,  Dec 18, 2012

very well built and easy to assemble.Fits my small area very well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. accurately built
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exactly the same
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Little Desk!
 from Richmond, VA,  Nov 12, 2014

We were looking for a small desk for my son's room. They share a room, so space is limited. This fit perfect in the space that we had available. It took my husband about an hour and a half to put it together, but he also had the "help" of two boys. Very happy with the end result!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Terrible product, poorly constructed, bad design.
 from Kansas City, MO/KS,  Oct 4, 2014

From a visual perspective this is an attractive desk. From an engineering and structural perspective is is a terrible product. It is made of pressboard except for the legs and is held together by a method that allows for easy assembly and also falls apart easily. I worked for years as a journeyman carpenter and was enormously disappointed in the product. My wife ordered it for me as a gift When I attempted to correct design problems with strategic screws I found that unless you drill and countersink the holes the composite material will burst and even then they work poorly. In addition to this, even with the numerous fixes the desk was rickety and rackety. I would not recommend this product to anyone..

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Computer-side desk
 from Southern Cal,  Oct 3, 2014

Very good price. Looks fine. Just what I needed as a small desk that sits next to my computer stand. As I swivel around from in front of my computer there is adequate room for my legs and the single drawer holds all the necessary "desk stuff" that I use daily. I am very satisfied.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very stylish
 from TX,  Sep 6, 2014

Received this desk a few days ago, tried to put it together but found that the box contained two left side vertical pieces. I promptly notified Overstock, they say they are sending a replacement part. I can agree that it is very difficult to decipher the instructions, they are not very clear and the illustrations are somewhat hard to figure out. I do like that the desk is all wood, no pressed wood here. I can't wait to get the replacement piece to get it all together. It is very stylish and sufficient size for my purposes. The drawer does seem somewhat flimsy so I will not put heavy items in there, just to be safe.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Black X Writing Desk
 from Olathe, KS,  Aug 29, 2014

I bought this desk because I had limited space in a spare bedroom designated for my grandkids, and the dimensions of this one seemed perfect. It is perfect for a place to do homework, or use for a laptop computer. The single drawer is big enough to hold writing utensils etc. There was no real problem with the assembly, and the instructions were not too complicated. It took about an hour to assemble it. It is sturdy and stylish, and the black finish matches with other furniture in the room. A good investment.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not happy...
 from muskoka, ontario,  Aug 13, 2014

When I got it I was very excited until I opened the box and saw that the right side of the desk is damaged along with the right leg. It is not a level desk, when I put it in my room I couldn't open the drawer without stabilizing it first with my hand.... The size is good for a small space but if you can, buy one at a store not online. You might end up with c*** like I got.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't do it!
 from Pittsburgh,  Jul 25, 2014

When assembling this desk, you cannot screw the cam screws all the way into the pre-drilled holes or they will be too short to fit into the cam locks provided. After about three and a half hours, I had the desk together. Then I put the drawer in and it wouldn't slide all the way into the slot. When I pulled it out, two cam locks fell out of it and it essentially fell apart in my hands. I'm going to simply glue the drawer facing on the front to hide the hole and not use it as a drawer. Since all I really need is a small table for my computer, I won't return it; but, if you want this to function the way it is designed - DO NOT BUY THIS!!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the Desk,just the right size for my kitchen
 from Hobe Sound Fl,  Jun 4, 2014

Great Desk,got it in less than a week.It was an easy assemble

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 50 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought